Military Review

The main battle tank 2 generation of China - the project WZ-1224 (1970-1980)

5
To replace the main armament tank "Type 59" Chinese engineers in the 1970s began work on creating a new main tank for their own armed forces. The project was called WZ-1224, while the solutions used to create the tank were new to China. The main decisions were:
- complex welded tower;
- engine with high power;
- automatic loader;
- smooth-bore gun caliber 120mm;
- modern MSA.

The main battle tank 2 generation of China - the project WZ-1224 (1970-1980)


The development of tank guns by Chinese engineers have been going on for a long time, but the creation of guns did not go beyond the creation of prototypes. To overcome this threshold, the production technology of tank guns received from the Israeli side helped, although weapons built on them were not accepted for service. The Chinese military proceeded in a simpler way and purchased 2А46 125mm guns from the Soviet Union. Modern at that time, the MSA had a ballistic computer, combined sights of the commander and gunner with a built-in IR channel.

The fighting crew was 3 man:
- driver-mechanic, who was located in the front left side of the tank in the Shelter;
- gunner, which was located in the tower compartment in its left part;
- The commander of the combat vehicle, which was located in the tower compartment in its right part.



The tower part carries the gun of the main caliber. A smooth bore 120mm caliber was stabilized in two planes, the barrel was made without a casing (Israeli technology was used), and Chinese engineers create an ejector for the gun independently. The aft niche of the tower part had an armored partition from the habitable internal space; in the separated space, a mechanized type ammunition was installed on 17 unitary ammunition (It is worth noting that the development of an automatic loading mechanism ended up with nothing - the Chinese engineers did not manage to bring their own designs to mind) . Additional ammunition was placed in the internal space of the tower compartment. If the Chinese engineers planned to install additional armament on the tank, it was not installed on the prototype, although there was a machine gun turret in front of the commander's hatch of the “Type 59” type. The execution of the hatches of the commander and the gunner also got from the "Type 59". Automatic fire extinguishing systems and protection against weapons of mass destruction were part of the standard equipment of the new tank.

MTO, located in the aft part of the hull, installed an eight-cylinder air-cooled diesel engine “Maybach” with a power of about 1000 hp. (on tests, the engine gave out about 740 hp). The cooling system is made in the German style - two radiator rings. This diesel engine of a famous German company was manufactured in China under license. In China, diesel was used in the civilian sphere — installed on heavy trucks and river / sea vessels with a small displacement. However, for a new tank, the diesel was quite heavy - the maximum speed that the prototype could develop on tests was on equipped roads to 65 km / h, and on non-equipped roads and terrain to 45 km / h.



Chassis WZ-1224 included 12 rubberized dual-track rollers of the support type and 6 supporting rollers with driving wheels in the rear. Tracked truck got rubberized metal hinge and asphalt shoes. The suspension was created by Chinese engineers by the American analogy, it is possible that individual elements of the American M47 / M48 were used or simply copied. These tanks could easily get into China from Pakistan, where they were in service with the Pakistani armed forces. Tanks could also get into China from Vietnam, which remained there (or were captured) during the just ended war.

The armored protection of the tank consisted of rolled monolithic sheets, which were installed at design and calculated angles. Due to the fact that the body armor turned out to be rather average, they tried to increase it using overhead armored sheets, especially in the front part of the tank. The tower part of the developed form, possibly, had anti-cumulative filler to enhance body armor.

The fate of the project WZ-1224
It is known that prototypes were built that underwent various and comprehensive tests. The tests of the prototype WZ-1224 were completed in the 1979 year, a total of more than 200 hours were built with 1500 kilometers of run. During the tests, it turned out that almost all new solutions and improvements are not in real conditions. The tower part with a smooth-bore gun and an automatic loader could not show the required characteristics of automatic fire, accuracy of hits, combat effectiveness. Power did not show the required characteristics of speed and had a high fuel consumption.



After the tests, the turret was replaced, and the tank with the cast turret began to be refined to the required characteristics, changing equipment and units, which eventually led to the development of a new project called the WZ-1226 and the creation of the next prototype of the main tank.

Key Features:
- combat weight - about 44 tons;
- calculation - 3 person;
- total length with the instrument - 9 meters;
- width - 3.3 meters;
- height - 3 meters;
- ground clearance - 47 centimeters;
- mounted weapons - smooth-bore gun caliber 120mm;
- Power - diesel MB8V331TC41;
- diesel power about 1000 hp;
- travel speed up to 65 km / h;
- Ammunition 17 unitary shots;
- obstacles to be overcome: height up to 0.9 meter, water up to 1.2 meter, width up to 2.6 meter.


Information sources:
http://www.otvaga.narod.ru/Otvaga/china-tanks/0tank_t1224.htm
http://alternathistory.org.ua/kitaiskie-opytnye-tanki
http://www.vestnik-rm.ru/news-4-1485.htm
Author:
5 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Spartak
    Spartak 26 October 2012 11: 35
    +4
    Build a tank - do not fart in the water.
  2. Lucky
    Lucky 26 October 2012 12: 24
    0
    It’s very similar to the T-55, well, even it doesn’t inspire confidence, it seems as if it was made of dust! (
  3. Allegedly
    Allegedly 26 October 2012 12: 37
    +4
    Chinese thieves ... lol
  4. borisst64
    borisst64 26 October 2012 12: 48
    +2
    obstacles to overcome: WALL height up to 0.9 meters, water FORD DEPTH up to 1.2 meters, RVA width up to 2.6 meters.

    Allowed myself to complement.
  5. AlexMH
    AlexMH 26 October 2012 20: 12
    +1
    It is very difficult to evaluate Chinese tanks, since they have never been used in large numbers in battle (especially against tanks), the secrecy is there at the level, often we don’t know anything other than appearance, but the real fighting qualities are sometimes lower than declared. Take the same Chinese joke with tanks with bulletproof armor in the dimensions of normal averages. Copying of imported tanks (more often ours) is carried out by the Chinese at a low level, except for the T-55, for which we ourselves built factories for them.

Основной боевой танк 2 поколения КНР – проект WZ-1224 (1970-1980 гг)

Для замены на вооружении основного танка «Тип 59» китайские инженеры в 1970-х годах начинают работы по созданию нового основного танка для собственных вооруженных сил. Проект получил название WZ-1224, в то время применяемые решения при создании танка были новыми для Китая. Основными решениями стали:
- сложная сварная башня;
- двигатель, обладавший большой мощностью;
- автоматический механизм заряжания;
- гладкоствольная пушка калибра 120мм;
- современная СУО.


Основной боевой танк 2 поколения КНР – проект WZ-1224 (1970-1980 гг)


Разработки танковых пушек китайскими инженерами велись уже достаточно давно, однако создание пушек не выходило за рамками создания опытных экземпляров. Преодолеть данный порог помогли технологии производства танковых пушек полученных от израильской стороны, хотя построенные по ним орудия на вооружение не принимаются. Китайские военные пошли более простым путем и приобрели у Советского Союза орудие 2А46 калибра 125мм. Современная на то время СУО обладала баллистическим вычислителем, комбинированными прицельными приспособлениями командира и наводчика со встроенным ИК-каналом.

Боевой экипаж составлял 3 человека:
- водитель-механик, который располагался в передней левой части танка в ОУ;
- наводчик, который располагался в башенном отделении в левой ее части;
- командир боевой машины, который располагался в башенном отделении в правой ее части.

Основной боевой танк 2 поколения КНР – проект WZ-1224 (1970-1980 гг)


Башенная часть несет на себе орудие основного калибра. Гладкоствольное орудие калибра 120мм получило стабилизацию по двум плоскостям, ствол выполнен без кожуха (использованы израильские технологии), а эжектор для орудия китайские инженеры создают для орудия самостоятельно. Кормовая ниша башенной части имела огорожу от обитаемого внутреннего пространства бронированной перегородкой, в отделенном пространстве установили боеукладку механизированного типа на 17 унитарных боеприпасов (Стоит отметить, что разработка автоматического механизма заряжания закончилась в итоге ничем – собственные разработки китайским инженерам так и не удалось довести до ума). Дополнительные боеприпасы были размещены во внутреннем пространстве башенного отделения. Если китайские инженеры и планировали устанавливать на танк дополнительное вооружение, то на опытном образце его установлено не было, хотя имелась пулеметная турель перед командирским люком по типу «Тип 59». Исполнение люков командира и наводчика также достались от «Тип 59». Системы автоматического пожаротушения и защита от ОМП входила в стандартное оборудование нового танка.

В МТО, расположенное в кормовой части корпуса, установили восьмицилиндровый дизельный двигатель с воздушным охлаждением «Maybach» мощностью около 1000 л.с. (на испытаниях двигатель выдавал около 740 л.с.). Система охлаждения выполнена в немецком стиле – два кольца радиатора. Данный дизель известной германской компании производился в Китае по лицензии. В Китае дизель использовали в гражданской сфере – устанавливали на большегрузные машины и речные/морские суда с малым водоизмещением. Однако для нового танка дизель оказался достаточно тяжелым – максимальная скорость, которую опытный образец смог развить на испытаниях составила по оборудованным дорогам до 65 км/ч, и по необорудованным дорогам и местности до 45 км/ч.

Основной боевой танк 2 поколения КНР – проект WZ-1224 (1970-1980 гг)


Ходовая WZ-1224 включала в себя 12 обрезиненных двухскатных катков опорного типа и 6 роликов поддерживающего типа с ведущими колесами заднего расположения. Гусеничный трак получил прорезиновый металлический шарнир и асфальтноходные башмаки. Ходовая создавалась китайскими инженерами по американской аналогии, возможно для этого использовались или просто были скопированы отдельные элементы американских М47/М48. Данные танки вполне могли попасть в Китай из Пакистана, где они стояли на вооружении пакистанских вооруженных сил. Танки также могли попасть в Китай из Вьетнама, которые остались там (или были захвачены) во время только что закончившейся войны.

Бронированная защита танка состояла из катанных монолитных листов, которые устанавливались под проектно-расчетными углами. Из-за того что бронезащита получилась достаточно средней, ее пытались увеличить, используя накладные бронированные листы, особенно в лобовой части танка. Башенная часть развитой формы, возможно, имела для усиления бронезащиты противокумулятивный наполнитель.

Судьба проекта WZ-1224
Известно, что были построены опытные образцы, которые проходили разнообразные и всесторонние испытания. Испытания прототипа WZ-1224 закончены в 1979 году, всего было наработано более 200 часов с 1500 километрами пробега. В ходе испытаний выяснилось, что практически все новые решения и улучшения не являются таковыми в реальных условиях. Башенная часть с гладкоствольным орудием и автоматическим механизмом заряжания так и не смогла показать требуемые характеристики автоматического огня, точности попаданий, боевой эффективности. Силовая не показала требуемые характеристики скорости и имела большой расход топлива.

Основной боевой танк 2 поколения КНР – проект WZ-1224 (1970-1980 гг)


После проведенных испытаний башенную часть сменили, и танк с литой башенной частью стали дорабатывать до требуемых характеристик, меняя оборудования и агрегаты, что в итоге привело к разработке нового проекта под названием WZ-1226 и созданию следующего опытного образца основного танка.

Основные характеристики:
- боевой вес – около 44 тонн;
- расчет – 3 человека;
- общая длина с орудием – 9 метров;
- ширина – 3.3 метра;
- высота – 3 метра;
- дорожный просвет – 47 сантиметров;
- установленное вооружение – гладкоствольная пушка калибра 120мм;
- Силовая – дизель MB8V331TC41;
- мощность дизеля около 1000 л.с;
- скорость хода до 65 км/ч;
- боезапас 17 унитарных выстрелов;
- преодолеваемые препятствия: высота до 0.9 метра, вода до 1.2 метра, ширина до 2.6 метра.


Источники информации:
http://www.otvaga.narod.ru/Otvaga/china-tanks/0tank_t1224.htm
http://alternathistory.org.ua/kitaiskie-opytnye-tanki
http://www.vestnik-rm.ru/news-4-1485.htm
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. Spartak 26 октября 2012 11:35
    Танк построить - не в воду пукнуть.
    Spartak
  2. Везучий 26 октября 2012 12:24
    Очень на Т-55 похож, ну даже свиду как то не внушает доверия, такое ошушение как будто из жерсти сделан!(
    Везучий
  3. ЯКОБЫ 26 октября 2012 12:37
    Китайские воровайки... lol
  4. borisst64 26 октября 2012 12:48
    преодолеваемые препятствия: высота СТЕНКИ до 0.9 метра, вода ГЛУБИНА БРОДА до 1.2 метра, ширина РВА до 2.6 метра.

    Позволил себе дополнить.
    borisst64
  5. AlexMH 26 октября 2012 20:12
    Очень трудно оценивать китайские танки, поскольку массово в бою они никогда не применялись (тем более против танков), секретность там на уровне, часто кроме внешнего вида и не знаем ничего, а вот реальные боевые качества иногда ниже декларируемых. Взять ту же китайскую шутку с танками с противопульной броней в габаритах нормальных средних. Копирование же импортных танков (чаще наших) производится китайцами на невысоком уровне, кроме т-55, заводы для которых мы им сами строили под ключ.
    AlexMH

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня