Military Review

Atomic American self-propelled gun - a prototype of the T-162 (1950gg)

5
After the Second World War, between the two superpowers, the United States and the Soviet Union, the Cold War began, which was accompanied by an arms race. One of the priorities was the creation of a nuclear weapons and a variety of means of delivery that would lead one of the parties to world leaders.

In addition to ballistic / intercontinental missiles, submarine / surface / ground /aviation of carriers of missiles and warheads, completely exotic types of both carriers and nuclear charges were created. These types of weapons include atomic weapons.

In the United States, the idea of ​​creating such weapons came in 1950, when engineers were given the task to create long-range self-propelled guns firing nuclear weapons of the smallest caliber. They are based on the well-proven analogue of a self-propelled gun of the Second World War period - МХNUMX / М53. The standard ACS has a caliber 55mm, for the new ACS it is equipped with a barrel caliber 155mm. If the characteristics of combat effectiveness can be judged by the tests, then the outwardly new SAU, which received the designation T-175, looks quite powerful and beautiful.

Atomic American self-propelled gun - a prototype of the T-162 (1950gg)


American engineers have already had experience in creating ammunition with a caliber larger than 200mm, and ammunition with caliber 175mm was chosen as the minimum possible at that time. The location of the tower remained unchanged in the aft hull. The departure of the enlarged trunk with a length of more than 10 meters, the ACS almost did not notice - the trunk comfortably settled along the front of the case. The crew was located in a closed tower and could easily work with nuclear ammunition and shells. The axis of rotation of the tower part was not in the center, but slightly in front, the floor was made along the level of the shelves above the track tracks. Below, under the tower part, reinforced ribs are installed. In addition, if the SAU gets into the zone of OMP, then each crew member does not need to use PPE when performing combat operations, for this SAU is provided with a collective protection system. However, this did not help significantly increase the rate of ACS. But for an atomic weapon, even such a rate of fire in 2 rpm is quite acceptable. Approximate ammunition could be about 10 ammunition.

Tests have shown that the T-162 self-propelled gun has very high recoil, the firing of the gun could be carried out in a limited sector - ± 30 degrees horizontally. This was explained by the fact that only in this sector the most powerful return was extinguished by a powerful opener.



One of the most important problems for the SPG is its full combat weight. The gun had a weight in kilograms 44500, which is quite a bit for a long-range gun. But at the request of the main customer of the United States Army, this atomic SAU was required to be provided with the ability to transport by air.

It was necessary to provide, when the military units were concentrated anywhere, fire support in the form of long-range weapons firing atomic ammunition. A 45-ton self-propelled gun was not suitable for the minimum payload parameters of the most powerful air transport. Therefore, the military had to abandon the use of self-propelled guns T-162 in favor of self-propelled guns based on the M207, the basic version of which had a weight of about 28 kilograms with ammunition in 000 nuclear shots. The weight of the installation made it possible to move it to the theater of operations by American transporters such as BTA. Part of the self-propelled guns was sold to Israel, part went around the world to install the latter in tank museums.

Information sources:
http://ru-armor.livejournal.com/201515.html
http://alternathistory.org.ua/sau-t-162-ssha
http://www.waronline.org/blindage/index1n.htm
Author:
5 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. kov
    kov 27 October 2012 11: 00
    0
    Well, we also had design work in these years, but only the creation of a tank that could survive after a nuclear warhead hit. This is 279 objects

    1. Kars
      Kars 27 October 2012 15: 18
      +2
      Quote: kov
      but only the creation of the tank

      They also dabbled in atomic guns.
      Then the dimensions of the special ammunition were reduced, and super guns were no longer needed.
      1. borisst64
        borisst64 29 October 2012 13: 33
        0
        The real look is even more impressive!
  2. Lucky
    Lucky 27 October 2012 11: 33
    +1
    Well, youth amirikosy, but we are all the same a little better!)))
  3. Kir
    Kir 27 October 2012 14: 33
    0
    If the characteristics of combat effectiveness can be judged by tests, then the outwardly new self-propelled guns, designated T-162, looks quite powerful and beautiful.
    Very dubious beauty! Here is our self-propelled artillery, this is really a combination of beauty and power!
  4. KRAVEN333
    KRAVEN333 31 October 2012 18: 10
    0
    Super! Impressive!

Атомное американское самоходное орудие – прототип Т-162 (1950гг)

После ВОВ между двумя супердержавами, США и Советским Союзом, началась Холодная война, которая сопровождалась гонкой вооружений. Одним из приоритетов было создание ядерного оружия и разнообразных средств его доставки, что выводило бы одну из сторон в мировые лидеры.

Кроме баллистических/межконтинентальных ракет, подводных/надводных/наземных/авиационных носителей ракет и боеголовок создавались и совершенно экзотические виды как носителей, так и ядерных зарядов. К таким видам вооружения можно отнести атомные орудия.

В Соединенных Штатах к мысли создания такого оружия пришли в 1950 годах, когда инженерам было дано задание создать дальнобойное самоходное орудие, стреляющие ядерными боеприпасами минимально малого калибра. За основу берут хорошо зарекомендовавший себя аналог самоходного орудия времен ВОВ – М53/М55. Стандартная САУ имеет калибр 155мм, для новой САУ его оснащают стволом калибра 175мм. Если о характеристиках боевой эффективности можно будет судить по испытаниям, то внешне новая САУ, получившая обозначение Т-162, выглядит достаточно мощно и красиво.


Атомное американское самоходное орудие – прототип Т-162 (1950гг)


Американские инженеры уже имели опыт создания боеприпаса калибром более 200мм, а боеприпас калибра 175мм был выбран как на то время самый минимальный из возможных. Расположение башни осталось неизменным в кормовой части корпуса. Вылет увеличенного ствола длиною более 10 метров, САУ практически не заметила – ствол комфортно разместился вдоль передней части корпуса. Экипаж размещался в закрытой башне и мог без труда работать с ядерными боеприпасами и гильзами. Ось поворота башенной части находилась не в центре, а немного спереди, пол выполнен по уровне полок над гусеничными траками. Снизу, под башенной частью, установлены ребра усиленного исполнения. Кроме того, если САУ попадет в зону применения ОМП, то каждому члену экипажа не надо пользоваться СИЗ при выполнении боевых работ, для этого САУ обеспечено коллективной системой защиты. Однако это не помогло существенно повысить скорострельность САУ. Но для атомного орудия даже такая скорострельность в 2 выстр/мин является вполне приемлемой. Ориентировочный боезапас мог составить около 10 боеприпасов.

Испытания показали, что САУ Т-162 обладает очень высокой отдачей, стрельба из орудия могла вестись в ограниченном секторе - ±30 градусов по горизонтали. Это объяснялось тем, что только в этом секторе мощнейшая отдача гасилась мощным сошником.

Атомное американское самоходное орудие – прототип Т-162 (1950гг)


Одной из самых важных проблем становится для САУ ее полный боевой вес. Орудие обладало весом в 44500 килограммов, что совсем немного для дальнобойного орудия. Но по требованию основного заказчика армии Соединенных Штатов данную атомную САУ требовалось обеспечить возможностью транспортировать авиатранспортом.

Требовалось обеспечить, при сосредоточении в любом месте войсковых подразделений, огневую поддержку в виде дальнобойных орудий, стреляющих атомными боеприпасами. 45 тонная САУ не подходила по минимальным параметрам полезной нагрузки самых мощных авиатранспортов. Поэтому военным пришлось отказаться от использования САУ Т-162 в пользу САУ на базе М207, базовый вариант которой обладал весом около 28 000 килограммов с боезапасом в 2 ядерных выстрела. Вес установки позволял перемещать ее к театру боевых действий американскими транспортниками типа ВТА. Часть САУ была продана Израилю, часть поехала по свету для установки последних в танковые музеи.

Источники информации:
http://ru-armor.livejournal.com/201515.html
http://alternathistory.org.ua/sau-t-162-ssha
http://www.waronline.org/blindage/index1n.htm
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 5
  1. kov 27 октября 2012 11:00
    Ну а у нас в эти годы тоже проектирование велось, но только создание танка сумевшего бы выжить после попадания атомной боеголовки. Это 279 объект

    kov
    1. Kars 27 октября 2012 15:18
      Цитата: kov
      но только создание танка

      Атомными пушками тоже баловались.
      Потом габариты спецбоеприпаса уменьшильси,и в супер пушках отпала надобность.
      1. borisst64 29 октября 2012 13:33
        В реальном виде еще больше впечатляет!
        borisst64
  2. Везучий 27 октября 2012 11:33
    Ну молодци амирикосы, но мы всетаки чуточку лучше!)))
    Везучий
  3. Kir 27 октября 2012 14:33
    Если о характеристиках боевой эффективности можно будет судить по испытаниям, то внешне новая САУ, получившая обозначение Т-162, выглядит достаточно мощно и красиво.
    Весьма сомнительная красота!Вот наша самоходная артиллерия, это действительно сочетание красоты и мощи!
    Kir
  4. KRAVEN333 31 октября 2012 18:10
    Супер!Впечатляет!
    KRAVEN333

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня