Indian prototype DRLO Aircraft joint development BAE / HAL - HS.748 AEW (1980-1990gg)

2
This aircraft for radar detection and control has several names in which the names of the manufacturers are encrypted: HS.748 AEW - English BAE or Indian HAL. In addition, the Israeli company Elbit took part in the development of the aircraft and supplied its Phalcon AEW radar.

Indian prototype DRLO Aircraft joint development BAE / HAL - HS.748 AEW (1980-1990gg)


Work on the creation of a new DRLO aircraft for its own aircraft begins in 1985, one of the branches of the Indian company HAL. Hawker Siddeley HS 748, built under British license by HAL (20 aircraft), was the base for the new aircraft, they were twin-engine passenger aircraft. It was intended for testing the installation and operation of an external radome with a radar antenna (test aircraft), for further installation on Soviet Il-76, also built under license from an Indian company (meaning some of 72 Il-72).

The radar antenna was installed almost over the middle of the body in a rotating radome. The fairing had a 7.2 meter in diameter and a 1.5 meter in height. Rotation of the antenna passes over the tip of the keel of the DRLO aircraft, which reduces the reflection of the signal from the aircraft body. An antenna fairing was created using the German company DASA, which also helped in the design of the installation of a rotating radar antenna. The onboard equipment included a hybrid navigation system and a cryptographic data transmission system.



The main work on the creation of the Indian DRLO aircraft completed by 1990 year. A prototype with a fairing, in which so far there was no radar antenna, first rose to the sky at the beginning of November 1990. For various reasons, tests of the upgraded aircraft under the DRLO capabilities lasted periodically for almost a decade, and at least three prototypes of the DRLO aircraft were built until the 1999 crashed in January 4, and after completing the flight, the DRLO aircraft began to enter the Arakons' naval base of the Indian Navy and crashed. All the people on board - the crew (4 man) and equipment (XNUMX man) died. The main cause of the crash is a fire on board or engine failure with a further fire.

This catastrophe was the end of the project of the DRLO aircraft based on HS 748. Previously it was assumed that this radome with a radar antenna will eventually be installed on the Soviet Il-76MD aircraft. However, the crash that resulted in the crash resulted in the complete cancellation of the program to create its own AWACS aircraft for the Indian Armed Forces. In 2003, the United States insisted on the return by Israel of its Phalcon AEW radar from the Indian contract.

Key Features:
- Length - 20.4 meters;
- height - 7.5 meters;
- wing span - 31.2 meter;
- unsecured / curb weight / max - 13.2 / 21.9 / 23.8 tons;
- weight of fuel 6.5 tons;
- Power - Dart RDa.2 TVS 7 Mk 536-2 from Rolls-Royce;
- engine power - HP 4560;
- average speed - 450 km / h;
- flight range - 2.6 thousands of kilometers;
- average flight time - 6 hours;
- practical ceiling - 7.6 kilometers;
- crew - 3 person.
- radar antenna radome length - 7.2 meter;
- radar antenna radome height - 1.5 meter;
- The weight of the radar antenna - 160 kilogram.



Information sources:
http://raigap.livejournal.com/165710.html
http://www.spyflight.co.uk/hs%20748%20aew.htm
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/spy/hs748aew.html
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Lucky
    0
    October 29 2012
    Hindus are youths, they think about their safety, they buy everything from everyone, they will soon start doing it themselves!
  2. +1
    October 29 2012
    Rajiv Gandhi almost bought the A-50 at this time. Only his death interrupted this contract. ILE and TO RTK Bumblebee were translated into English. If this event happened, the development of both our airplanes and helicopters could not stop

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Индийский опытный самолёт ДРЛО совместной разработки ВАе/HAL - HS.748 AEW (1980-1990гг)

Данный самолет дальнего радиолокационного обнаружения и управления имеет несколько наименований, в которых зашифрованы названия производителей: HS.748 AEW - английская ВАе или индийская HAL. Кроме того, в разработке самолета принимала участие израильская компания «Elbit», которая поставила свои РЛС типа Phalcon AEW.

Индийский опытный самолёт ДРЛО совместной разработки ВАе/HAL - HS.748 AEW (1980-1990гг)


Работы по созданию нового самолета ДРЛО для собственных ВС начинаются в 1985 году одним из отделений индийской компании HAL. Базой для нового самолета выбирают Hawker Siddeley HS 748, построенных по британской лицензии компанией HAL (20 самолетов), это были двухмоторные пассажирские самолеты. Он предназначался для отработки установки и работы внешнего обтекателя с РЛС-антенной (тестовый самолет), для дальнейшей установки на советские Ил-76, построенные также по лицензии индийской компанией (имеется ввиду на некоторые из 72 Ил-72).


Радиолокационную антенну установили практически над серединой корпуса во вращающемся обтекателе. Обтекатель имел 7.2 метра в диаметре и 1.5 метра в высоту. Вращение антенны проходит над законцовкой киля самолета ДРЛО, что снижает отражение сигнала от корпуса самолета. Антенный обтекатель создавали при помощи германской компании «DASA», которая также помогала в проектировании установки вращающейся радиолокационной антенны. В бортовое оборудование входили гибридная система навигации и шифровальная система передачи данных.

Индийский опытный самолёт ДРЛО совместной разработки ВАе/HAL - HS.748 AEW (1980-1990гг)


Основные работы по созданию индийского самолета ДРЛО закончены к 1990 году. Опытный образец с обтекателем, в котором пока отсутствовала радиолокационная антенна, впервые поднялся в небо в начале ноября 1990 года. Испытания модернизированного самолета под возможности ДРЛО по разным причинам длились периодически почти десятилетие, и было построено минимум три опытных образца самолета ДРЛО, пока в январе 1999 года не случилась катастрофа – завершив полет, самолет ДРЛО стал заходить на ВПП авиабазы индийских ВМС Араконами и разбился. Все находившие на борту люди – экипаж (4 человека) и техники (4 человека) погибли. Основная причина авиакатастрофы - пожар на борту или отказ двигателей с дальнейшим пожаром.

Эта катастрофа стала концом проекта самолета ДРЛО на базе HS 748. Ранее предполагалось, что данный обтекатель с РЛС-антенной будет в итоге установлен на советский самолет Ил-76МД. Однако случившаяся авиакатастрофа привела к полному аннулированию программы создания собственного самолета ДРЛО для индийских ВС. В 2003 году Соединенные Штаты настояли на возврате Израилем своих РЛС Phalcon AEW из индийского контракта.

Основные характеристики:
- длина – 20.4 метра;
- высота – 7.5 метра;
- размах крыла – 31.2 метра;
- вес неснаряженный/снаряженный/макс – 13.2/21.9/23.8 тонны;
- вес топлива 6.5 тонны;
- силовая – 2 ТВД Dart RDa.7 Mk 536-2 от Rolls-Royce;
- мощность двигателей – 4560 л.с;
- средняя скорость – 450 км/ч;
- дальность полёта – 2.6 тысячи километров;
- среднее время полета – 6 часов;
- практический потолок – 7.6 километров;
- экипаж – 3 человека.
- длина обтекателя РЛС-антенны – 7.2 метра;
- высота обтекателя РЛС-антенны – 1.5 метра;
- вес РЛС-антенны – 160 килограмм.



Источники информации:
http://raigap.livejournal.com/165710.html
http://www.spyflight.co.uk/hs%20748%20aew.htm
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/spy/hs748aew.html
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. Везучий 29 октября 2012 14:01
    Индусы молодци, думают о свое безопасности, покупают все и у всех, скоро сами начнут делать!
    Везучий
  2. GregAzov 29 октября 2012 18:56
    Раджив Ганди почти купил в это время А-50. Только его смерть прервала этот контракт. На английский были переведены ИЛЭ и ТО РТК Шмель. Случись это событие может не остановилось бы развитие и наших самолетов и вертолетов ДРЛОУ

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня