Military Review

Strengthening self-defense: Japan intends to increase the military budget

18
Strengthening self-defense: Japan intends to increase the military budget
Ceremonial calculation of the Self-Defense Forces


In connection with the deterioration of the military-political situation in the region and the emerging confrontation with neighboring states, the Japanese leadership plans to increase defense spending. It is proposed to gradually increase the defense budget, and by fiscal year 2027 it will increase by 50%, and its size relative to gross domestic product will double. Due to such measures, it is proposed to carry out a general modernization of the Self-Defense Forces, incl. develop a number of promising programs.

Financing Issues


The Japanese constitution and legislation in general impose serious restrictions on the construction and development of the Self-Defense Forces. The maximum number of troops has been set, certain types of weapons and certain activities are prohibited. In addition, since the 1s, there has been an unspoken rule that defense spending should not exceed XNUMX% of GDP.

Nevertheless, the general growth of the economy made it possible to gradually increase the nominal size of the military budget, while remaining within the required limits. So, in FY2012. Japan's military budget was 4,645 trillion yen, and for FY2022. allocated 5,37 trillion - 15% more. At the same time, in 2020, for the first time in half a century, the budget exceeded the unspoken limit of 1% of GDP, although by only a few hundredths of a percent.

Depending on the exchange rate in different years, the dollar equivalent of the Japanese budget fluctuated between 42-58 billion dollars. Thus, this year it does not exceed 50 billion. With this level of spending, Japan has consistently ranked among the top ten countries with the largest defense spending.


One of the first F-35s transferred to Japan

In general, this level of funding corresponded to the current goals and objectives. It made it possible to maintain the general indicators of the Self-Defense Forces at the required level, to carry out the necessary military construction, to carry out rearmament, etc. However, now the Japanese government plans to develop the Self-Defense Forces more actively, and therefore additional funding is required.

Rising costs


In November 2021, Prime Minister Fumio Kishida said that Japan should seriously increase its defense capability and expand the combat capabilities of the Self-Defense Forces. Later, in January 2022, the Prime Minister spoke about his intentions to revise the defense doctrine, as well as gradually increase the military budget. In April, the ruling Liberal Democratic Party proposed bringing military spending to 2% of GDP.

Over the past months, the Japanese government has been considering this proposal and preparing a future solution. At the end of November, the Prime Minister officially announced his intention to increase the defense budget. According to the new plans, spending on the Self-Defense Forces will increase annually until FY2027. not reach the required level of 2% of GDP. The Ministry of Finance and the military department were instructed to work out specific measures to solve this problem.


Helicopter destroyer "Izumo"

The first steps in this direction have already been taken. Japan is currently working on a new budget for the next fiscal year starting April 1st. The Ministry of Defense has not yet fully formulated its requirements, but has already requested approx. 5,6 trillion yen (about $40 billion). Obviously, in the future, his requests will increase. As a result, the military budget for FY2023 will increase by a few percent compared to the current one.

It became known how the Japanese government plans to find additional funding for the Self-Defense Forces. General information on this subject on December 12 was disclosed by the Kyodo edition. With reference to its sources in the country's leadership, it writes about the possible use of part of the funds collected earlier for the restoration of regions after the disasters of 2011.

In addition, it is proposed to increase the corporate income tax, currently at 23,2%, as well as the excise tax on tobacco products (61,7%). It is assumed that their increase from FY2024. will allow an additional collection of at least 1,1 trillion yen (approx. 8 billion dollars) annually. About 70% of such fees will come from corporate tax.


Non-nuclear submarine "Taigei" of the new project

It is not difficult to calculate that the increase in excise and tax, if the additional fees are fully spent on defense, will increase the military budget to 6,6-6,8 trillion yen. This is 20-24 percent. more than the current one. At the same time, more growth is required to reach the 2% of GDP target. According to the latest estimates, to solve such a problem, the defense budget will have to be increased by almost one and a half times. Accordingly, the government should look for new sources of funding. How successful this process will be, only time will tell.

New spending


How exactly the Ministry of Defense will use the increased military budget has not yet been reported. However, earlier officials have repeatedly spoken about the need for a general modernization of the Self-Defense Forces and various transformations. The need for rearmament is also regularly mentioned, for which various promising projects are launched. Far from all such plans and proposals can be implemented while remaining within the current military budgets.

Obviously, a significant share of the increased budgets will go to the development and purchase of advanced weapons and equipment. Therefore, one should hardly be surprised that against the backdrop of recent News news about the budget, there were reports of the launch or continuation of various rearmament programs, incl. the most daring.

So, on December 9, Japan, Great Britain and Italy announced the launch of a joint Global Combat Air Program (GCAP), the goal of which is to create a promising next-generation fighter by 2035. Japanese industry in this project will be represented by Mitsubishi Heavy Industries. What will be the financial participation of Japan has not yet been reported, but it is obvious that the work will be paid for precisely by increasing the defense budget.


Design appearance of the aircraft GCAP

On the same day, the Japanese Ministry of Defense announced the results of the WAPC program, during which they chose a new wheeled armored personnel carrier for the ground forces. The winner of the competition was the AMVXP project from the Finnish company Patria, and now Japan intends to acquire a license for the production of such equipment. The required vehicles will be produced over the next few years - during a period of gradual increase in the military budget.

A number of other programs and projects are at various stages. First of all, issues of strengthening air and missile defense are being worked out. New ships are being developed and proposals are being made to build full-fledged aircraft carriers. Work has begun in the field of hypersonic weapons, etc. All of these projects require funding, and the planned increase in the military budget is likely to allow them to be implemented.

Threats and answers


As an official reason for increasing defense spending, the Japanese leadership calls the worsening situation in the Asia-Pacific region. China and North Korea are building up their military power, and Japan sees them as a threat to its security. In addition, the Japanese leadership follows its main ally and is not going to improve relations with Russia.

In response to the general deterioration of the situation, the Japanese government plans to modernize and strengthen the army, and one of the first steps in this direction is to increase the budget. Now he has to find additional money, increase expenses within the specified time frame and achieve a competent distribution of funds. Whether it will be possible to cope with such tasks, time will tell.
Author:
Photos used:
Ministry of Defense of Japan, BAE Systems
18 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Kote Pan Kokhanka
    Kote Pan Kokhanka 15 December 2022 07: 14
    +7
    In fact, having shown our inconsistency in a number of, albeit minor, moments in the hall of the NWO, we initiated “salivation” in almost half of the neighbors. Who began to harbor "revanchist" dreams of what to "bite off", go somewhere or sell themselves to someone.
    In fact, only a few have no claims to the “Kemsky volost” against us: Mongolia, North Korea and Belarus.
    It is sad.
    1. hohol95
      hohol95 15 December 2022 07: 29
      +5
      The Japanese have long been strengthening their "Self-Defense Forces". And they have not hidden their desires regarding the "Northern Territories" since the end of the Second World War!
      Already in 2006, school atlases on the history of China were published in the PRC, which indicated that "Western Siberia, including the Tomsk region, is temporarily lost Chinese territories."
      It didn't happen today...
      1. Civil
        Civil 15 December 2022 07: 46
        +2
        How is our Pacific Fleet? In fact, only nuclear weapons now somehow hold our Asian partners.
        1. hohol95
          hohol95 15 December 2022 08: 10
          +2
          Our Pacific Fleet was not very strong even with ampyators ...
          1. Uncle lee
            Uncle lee 15 December 2022 08: 24
            +1
            Quote: hohol95
            wasn't very strong...

            But the cruiser "Varyag" is available!
            1. hohol95
              hohol95 15 December 2022 08: 35
              +2
              There is no gunboat "Korean"!
              And in Chemulpo there is no berth for the Varyag.
              1. Uncle lee
                Uncle lee 16 December 2022 05: 30
                0
                Quote: hohol95
                There is no gunboat "Korean"!

                There is a "Vympel" nearby. Will it fit?
            2. UAZ 452
              UAZ 452 15 December 2022 20: 27
              0
              Which sistership is "Moscow"? And which was "repaired" in the same way as "Moscow" - having shamanized the undercarriage so that it would go to parades under its own power, but in the same way ignoring the fire extinguishing system (due to its unimportance for parades, like air defense, anti-aircraft defense and most of everything else, what makes a warship a combat unit)? And what - the fact that such a "Varangian" exists, is this a reason for joy and pride?
              1. Uncle lee
                Uncle lee 16 December 2022 01: 28
                +1
                Quote: UAZ 452
                there is such a "Varangian", is this a reason for joy and pride?

                He only needs to repeat the feat of "Varyag"
          2. Kote Pan Kokhanka
            Kote Pan Kokhanka 15 December 2022 08: 33
            +3
            Quote: hohol95
            Our Pacific Fleet was not very strong even with ampyators ...

            To be honest, in the Russian Empire there was no Pacific Fleet or even the Northern Fleet. The security of the Far Eastern borders was provided by the Pacific squadrons and flotillas. It was assumed that we would be able to increase the number of warships at the expense of the Baltic and Black Sea fleets. The result of the fallacy of this theory, we all know.
            1. hohol95
              hohol95 15 December 2022 08: 38
              +2
              And there were no borders...
              And customs.
              How many fish and other bio-resources the Japanese and Norwegians "stuck" until the Border Troops of the NKVD of the USSR got stronger!
            2. monster
              monster 23 January 2023 19: 41
              0
              the banks of Tsushima were sprinkled with bloody rain (
        2. Kote Pan Kokhanka
          Kote Pan Kokhanka 15 December 2022 08: 28
          +1
          On my shelf is the 2000 Jane reference book, where our Pacific Fleet, although sadly, imagined something. Today is sadder.
          1. hohol95
            hohol95 15 December 2022 08: 33
            +1
            Are there any suggestions for strengthening the Pacific Fleet?
            Shall we call "Emiram of Bukhara" and set up new warships of the "a la Volunteer of the 21st century" type in different Germany?
            1. Kote Pan Kokhanka
              Kote Pan Kokhanka 15 December 2022 11: 16
              +1
              The idea is good, but the first step must be taken by the state with the development of a sane doctrine for the use of the fleet. Then develop a program for the construction of ships, deploy shipyards for its implementation, and only then look for the "Emirs of Bukhara".
      2. Eule
        Eule 15 December 2022 15: 01
        0
        An aging population and a declining birth rate. Under these conditions, apart from cruise missiles with chemical and bacteriological warheads, there is nothing to fight back from the Chinese.
  2. Ezekiel 25-17
    Ezekiel 25-17 16 January 2023 13: 24
    0
    Japan needs to be clearly explained: that in the event of an attempt to seize the Kuril Islands, she, Japan, will go to the bottom of the Pacific Ocean.
  3. monster
    monster 23 January 2023 19: 40
    0
    pray, fakin americans!!! it was not worth it to make hell in Tokyo, Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Amaterasu and samurai will not calm down until you are destroyed! These are not peace-loving Chinese, these are bloodthirsty Japanese!

Военное обозрение

Усиление самообороны: Япония намерена увеличить военный бюджет

18
Усиление самообороны: Япония намерена увеличить военный бюджет
Парадный расчет Сил самообороны


В связи с ухудшением военно-политической обстановки в регионе и намечающимся противостоянием с соседними государствами, руководство Японии планирует увеличить расходы на оборону. Предлагается постепенно наращивать оборонный бюджет, и к 2027 финансовому году он увеличится на 50%, а его размер относительно внутреннего валового продукта удвоится. За счет таких мер предлагается провести общую модернизацию Сил самообороны, в т.ч. разработать ряд перспективных программ.

Вопросы финансирования


Японская конституция и законодательство в целом накладывают серьезные ограничения на строительство и развитие Сил самообороны. Установлены максимальная численность войск, запрещены некоторые виды вооружений и некоторая деятельность. Кроме того, с шестидесятых годов действует негласное правило, согласно которому расходы на оборону не должны превышать 1% от ВВП.

Тем не менее, общий рост экономики позволял постепенно увеличивать номинальный размер военного бюджета, оставаясь в требуемых рамках. Так, в 2012 ф.г. военный бюджет Японии составлял 4,645 трлн иен, а на 2022 ф.г. выделили 5,37 триллиона – на 15% больше. При этом в 2020 г. бюджет впервые за полвека превысил негласное ограничение в 1% от ВВП, хотя и всего на несколько сотых процента.

В зависимости от курса валют в разные годы, долларовый эквивалент японского бюджета колебался в пределах 42-58 млрд долл. Так, в текущем году он не превышает 50 миллиардов. С таким уровнем трат Япония стабильно входила в десятку стран с крупнейшими оборонными расходами.


Один из первых F-35, переданных Японии

В целом такой уровень финансирования соответствовал актуальным целям и задачам. Он позволял поддерживать общие показатели Сил самообороны на требуемом уровне, осуществлять необходимое военное строительство, выполнять перевооружение и т.д. Однако теперь японское правительство планирует более активно развивать Силы самообороны, и потому требуется дополнительное финансирование.

Рост расходов


В ноябре 2021 г. премьер-министр Фумио Кисида заявил, что Япония должна серьезно нарастить свою обороноспособность и расширить боевые возможности Сил самообороны. Позже, в январе 2022-го премьер рассказал о намерениях пересмотреть оборонную доктрину, а также постепенно увеличить военный бюджет. В апреле правящая Либерально-демократическая партия предложила вывести военные расходы на уровень 2% от ВВП.

В течение последних месяцев японское правительство рассматривало это предложение и готовило будущее решение. В конце ноября премьер-министр официально заявил о намерении увеличить оборонный бюджет. В соответствии с новыми планами, расходы на Силы самообороны ежегодно будут расти, пока в 2027 ф.г. не достигнут требуемого уровня в 2% от ВВП. Министерству финансов и военному ведомству дано поручение проработать конкретные меры для решения такой задачи.


Эсминец-вертолетоносец "Идзумо"

Первые шаги в этом направлении уже сделаны. Сейчас в Японии разрабатывается новый бюджет на следующий финансовый год, начинающийся 1 апреля. Минобороны еще не полностью сформировало свои требования, но уже запросило ок. 5,6 трлн иен (ок. 40 млрд долл). Очевидно, что в дальнейшем его запросы увеличатся. В результате военный бюджет на 2023 ф.г. вырастет на несколько процентов в сравнении с нынешним.

Стало известно, как японское правительство планирует найти дополнительное финансирование для Сил самообороны. Общую информацию на этот счет 12 декабря раскрыло издание Kyodo. Со ссылкой на свои источники в руководстве страны оно пишет о возможном использовании части средств, собранных ранее на восстановление регионов после катастроф 2011 г.

Кроме того, предлагается повысить налог на прибыль корпораций, сейчас составляющий 23,2%, а также акциз на табачные изделия (61,7%). Предполагается, что их увеличении с 2024 ф.г. позволит ежегодно дополнительно собрать не менее 1,1 трлн иен (ок. 8 млрд долл.) Порядка 70% от таких сборов придется на корпоративный налог.


Неатомная подлодка "Тайгэй" нового проекта

Нетрудно подсчитать, что увеличение акциза и налога, если дополнительные сборы полностью пустить на оборону, позволят увеличить военный бюджет до 6,6-6,8 трлн иен. Это на 20-24 проц. больше нынешнего. При этом для достижения планки в 2% от ВВП требуется больший рост. Согласно последним подсчетам, для решения такой задачи оборонный бюджет придется увеличить почти в полтора раза. Соответственно, правительство должно искать новые источники финансирования. Насколько успешным будет этот процесс, покажет время.

Новые траты


Как именно Минобороны будет использовать увеличенный военный бюджет, пока не сообщается. Однако ранее официальные лица неоднократно говорили о необходимости общей модернизации Сил самообороны и различных преобразований. Также регулярно упоминается необходимость перевооружения, для чего запускаются различные перспективные проекты. Далеко не все подобные планы и предложения удастся выполнить, оставаясь в рамках текущих военных бюджетов.

Очевидно, что значительная доля увеличенных бюджетов пойдет на разработку и закупку перспективных вооружений и техники. Поэтому вряд ли следует удивляться тому, что на фоне последних новостей новостей о бюджете появились сообщения о запуске или продолжении различных программ перевооружения, в т.ч. самых смелых.

Так, 9 декабря Япония, Великобритания и Италия объявили о начале совместной программы Global Combat Air Programme (GCAP), целью которой является создание к 2035 г. перспективного истребителя следующего поколения. Японскую промышленность в этом проекте будет представлять компания Mitsubishi Heavy Industries. Каким будет финансовое участие Японии, пока не сообщалось, но очевидно, что работы оплатят именно за счет увеличения оборонного бюджета.


Проектный облик самолета GCAP

В тот же день японское Минобороны объявило результаты программы WAPC, в ходе которой выбирали новый колесный бронетранспортер для сухопутных войск. Победителем конкурса стал проект AMVXP от финской компании Patria, и теперь Япония намерена приобрести лицензию на производство такой техники. Требуемые машины будут выпускаться в течение нескольких следующих лет – в период постепенного увеличения военного бюджета.

На разных стадиях находится целый ряд других программ и проектов. В первую очередь, прорабатываются вопросы усиления противовоздушной и противоракетной обороны. Разрабатываются новые корабли и звучат предложения строить полноценные авианосцы. Начаты работы в области гиперзвукового вооружения и т.д. Все эти проекты требуют финансирования, и запланированное увеличение военного бюджета, вероятно, позволит реализовать их.

Угрозы и ответы


В качестве официального повода для увеличения расходов на оборону японское руководство называет ухудшение обстановки в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Китай и КНДР наращивают свою военную мощь, и Япония рассматривает их в качестве угрозы для своей безопасности. Кроме того, японское руководство следует за своим главным союзником и не собирается улучшать отношения с Россией.

В ответ на общее ухудшение обстановки японское правительство планирует модернизировать и усиливать армию, причем одним из первых шагов в этом направлении становится увеличение бюджета. Теперь ему предстоит найти дополнительные деньги, нарастить расходы в указанные сроки и добиться грамотного распределения средств. Удастся ли справиться с такими задачами, покажет время.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Минобороны Японии, BAE Systems
18 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, регулярно дополнительные сведения о спецоперации на Украине, большое количество информации, видеоролики, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_official

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Коте пане Коханка
    Коте пане Коханка 15 декабря 2022 07:14
    +7
    По сути показав свою несостоятельность по ряду пускай и второстепенных моментов в холе СВО, мы возбудили «слюноотделение» почти у половины соседей. Которые начали вынашивать «реваншистские» мечты что лиьо «откусить», куда-нибудь податься или ком-нибудь продаться.
    По сути, претензий на «кемскую волость» к нам не имеют единицы: Монголия, КНДР и Белорусия.
    Печально.
    1. hohol95
      hohol95 15 декабря 2022 07:29
      +5
      Японцы давно усиливают свои "Силы Самообороны". И желаний своих по поводу "Северных территорий" не скрывают с момента окончания Второй Мировой!
      Уже в 2006 году в КНР были изданы школьные атласы по истории Китая в которых указано, что "Западная Сибирь по Томскую область включительно — временно утраченные китайские территории".
      Это случилось ведь не сегодня...
      1. Гражданский
        Гражданский 15 декабря 2022 07:46
        +2
        Как там наш ТОФ? По сути только ядерное оружие сейчас хоть как-то удерживает наших азиатских партнеров.
        1. hohol95
          hohol95 15 декабря 2022 08:10
          +2
          Наш ТОФ и при ампяраторах был не шибко силён...
          1. Uncle Lee
            Uncle Lee 15 декабря 2022 08:24
            +1
            Цитата: hohol95
            был не шибко силён...

            Но крейсер "Варяг" имеется !
            1. hohol95
              hohol95 15 декабря 2022 08:35
              +2
              Канонерской лодки "Кореец" нет!
              И в Чемульпо отсутствует причал для "Варяга".
              1. Uncle Lee
                Uncle Lee 16 декабря 2022 05:30
                0
                Цитата: hohol95
                Канонерской лодки "Кореец" нет!

                Там рядом стоит "Вымпел". Подойдет ?
            2. УАЗ 452
              УАЗ 452 15 декабря 2022 20:27
              0
              Это который систершип "Москвы"? И который "отремонтировали" так же, как "Москву" - подшаманив ходовую часть, чтобы своим ходом на парады выходил, но точно так же обойдя вниманием систему пожаротушения (ввиду её неважности для парадов, как и ПВО, ПЛО и большей части всего остального, что делает военный корабль боевой единицей)? И что - тот факт, что такой "Варяг" имеется, это повод для радости и гордости?
              1. Uncle Lee
                Uncle Lee 16 декабря 2022 01:28
                +1
                Цитата: УАЗ 452
                такой "Варяг" имеется, это повод для радости и гордости?

                Ему только остается повторить подвиг "Варяга"
          2. Коте пане Коханка
            Коте пане Коханка 15 декабря 2022 08:33
            +3
            Цитата: hohol95
            Наш ТОФ и при ампяраторах был не шибко силён...

            Если по честному в Российской Империи не было ТОФ или даже СФ. Безопасность дальневосточных рубежей обеспечивали Тихоокеанские эскадры и флотилии. Предполагалось, что мы сможем нарастить количество боевых кораблей за счет Балтийского и Черноморского флотов. Результат ошибочности данной теории, мы все знаем.
            1. hohol95
              hohol95 15 декабря 2022 08:38
              +2
              И границ там по сути небыло...
              И таможни.
              Японцы и норвеги сколько рыбы и прочих биоресурсов "натырили" пока не окрепли Пограничные войска НКВД СССР!
            2. монстрила
              монстрила 23 января 2023 19:41
              0
              берега Цусимы окропил кровавый дождь (
        2. Коте пане Коханка
          Коте пане Коханка 15 декабря 2022 08:28
          +1
          У меня на полке лежит справочник «Джейн» 2000 года, где наш ТОФ, хоть и с грустью, но что-то из себе представлял. Сегодня - печальнее.
          1. hohol95
            hohol95 15 декабря 2022 08:33
            +1
            Есть предлодения по усилерию ТОФ?
            Кинем кличь "Эмирам Бухары" и настроим в разных Германиях новых боевых кораблей типа "а-ля Доброволец 21 века"?
            1. Коте пане Коханка
              Коте пане Коханка 15 декабря 2022 11:16
              +1
              Идея хороша, но первый шаг необходимо сделать государству с разработки вменяемой доктрины применения флота. Потом разработать программу строительства кораблей, развернуть верфи для ее реализации и только потом искать «Эмиров Бухарских».
      2. eule
        eule 15 декабря 2022 15:01
        0
        Стареющее население и спад рождаемости. В этих условиях, кроме крылатых ракет с химическими и бактериологическими БЧ - ничем от китайцев от отбиться.
  2. Иезекиль 25-17
    Иезекиль 25-17 16 января 2023 13:24
    0
    Японии надо доходчиво объяснить: что в случае попытки захвата Курильских островов она, Япония, уйдёт на дно Тихого океана.
  3. монстрила
    монстрила 23 января 2023 19:40
    0
    молитесь,факин американцы!!!не стоило устраивать ад в Токио,Хиросиме и Нагасаки.Аматэрасу и самураи не успокоятся,пока вас не уничтожат!Это не миролюбивые китайцы-это кровожадные японяки!