Military Review

"This is the beginning of the end." The beginning of the agony of Napoleon's empire

8
"This is the beginning of the end." The beginning of the agony of Napoleon's empire

On January 6, 1813, the Russian sovereign Alexander I signed a manifesto on the "expulsion of the adversary" from Russia. Back in December 1812, the last remnants of Napoleon's "Great Army" fled Russia.


The myth of the winter general


Of the 600 thousand "Great Army", which included almost all of Western Europe, very few survived ("Army no longer exists"). Others died, froze, died of disease and starvation, were taken prisoner, became vagabonds.

The Russian sovereign decided to lay the Cathedral of Christ the Savior in Moscow to the glory of the Russian army, which defended its Fatherland. The Manifesto also ordered to celebrate the great Victory Day every year on the day of the Nativity of Christ.

Having reached Paris, Napoleon composed a legend, which other defeated generals willingly picked up, about a terrible enemy - the "winter general". This myth was refuted by contemporaries of that Great War: Denis Davydov and Henri Beyl (Stendal). “It would be a mistake to think that winter came early in 1812; on the contrary, the weather in Moscow was most beautiful. When we set out from there on October 19, it was only three degrees of frost and the sun was shining brightly, ”Stendhal wrote. Bonaparte himself repeatedly wrote to Marie Louise about how good and warm she is in Moscow. And near Tarutino, and near Maloyaroslavets (Furious battle for Maloyaroslavets) the weather was fine. She did not help the French.

Napoleon, having decided to leave the remnants of the army, left the city of Smorgon on wheels. He rode in a dormez, a large road carriage. Only more than two days later, already beyond Kovno, there was so much snow that we had to transfer to a sled. Here came the "terrible frost," as Caulaincourt wrote. It was approaching 20 degrees. So it was a normal winter.

Napoleon's great army perished even before the "terrible frosts". By the time the real winter began, pitiful fragments were already left of the army, except for the flank allied corps (Austrians with Saxons and Prussians). The army of the then "world community" was destroyed by the Russian army, which gave a number of battles to the enemy, army partisan (regular cavalry), Cossack detachments and all the people who slowly crushed the western reptile. Plus, the fatal mistake of Napoleon and his marshals, who decided to go deep into Russia, stretching his communications. Even the Great Army was not enough for a strategic operation of this magnitude.

After all, the Russians did not play by the enemy's rules. They did not allow themselves to be surrounded and defeated. They gave a decisive battle on the Borodino field, when they decided that it was time. They washed the enemy with blood, survived and saved the army. They left the ancient capital, but continued to fight, even though the Europeans believed that it was time to make peace on their terms. There was no peace, there were Russian bayonets, Cossack pikes and peasant pitchforks. Meanwhile, the French Grand Army was scattered, losing strength, part of it turned into crowds of deserters, robbers, marauders, having lost their combat effectiveness. Bonaparte had to get out.

Maloyaroslavets was followed by a rapid retreat of the French, attacked by our troops and partisans, to Smolensk, where Napoleon thought to stop. The French also had to quickly leave Smolensk. Defeat in a fierce 3-day battle near Krasnoye and a disaster near the Berezina (The death of Napoleon's Great Army on the Berezina). After the Berezina, the disorderly retreat turned into a run. Almost all corps, divisions and regiments lost their combat capability. In addition to the guard, but it has also extremely thinned out in its composition.

Akela has missed


Napoleon's army was defeated by the Russian army, the Russian people, united in a just struggle against the invaders. Napoleon severely miscalculated when he started a war with Russia on its territory and invaded Russian lands. The European Games are over, a just war of liberation has begun.

The war with Russia was Bonaparte's fatal mistake. In his case, a bad peace with Russia was better than a good quarrel. The British, Austrians, and Prussians benefited the most from the French-Russian clash. Their competitors bled each other. Napoleon's empire could no longer stretch the role of hegemon of the Western world.

Napoleon still believed that everything can be brought back. Military happiness will return to him. Western Europe is subject to the French Empire. That was another mistake. Thus, the French monarch believed that he had large reserves in the form of the Prussian, Austrian, Saxon armies, armies of other allies and vassals. But big politics does not forgive mistakes, it was impossible to go back. Akela missed.

Napoleon himself expressed this situation with the famous phrase: "From the Great to the ridiculous - only a step."

As soon as it became known that the Great Army was no more, everything on the political map of Europe changed. The Prussian corps of York came out of the subordination of Marshal MacDonald. On December 30, an armistice agreement between the Russians and the Prussians was signed in Taurogen. This was the beginning of the Russo-Prussian anti-French alliance.

In France itself, it was alarming. An entire army perished in Russia. They neutralized the plot of General Male, who successfully carried out a coup d'état within a few hours. The dignitaries of France, without verification, believed in the fiction of Male about the death of the emperor and the creation of a provisional government. It was a Republican conspiracy. Male and his accomplices were shot, they tried to consign the case to oblivion. Male was declared insane. But the cunning politician Talleyrand clearly noted: "This is the beginning of the end."

The fight goes on


However, Napoleon was too early to bury. He was a man of great willpower and energy. It was not in his nature to wait for the enemies to come for him. He is used to going towards fate, into battle. In the struggle, his faith in a lucky star grew stronger. Bonaparte developed a vigorous activity in Paris. He was building a new army. His energy and efficiency were again unparalleled. The consciousness of danger tripled his strength. It seemed that the emperor looked 10-15 years younger. It was the young general again. Decisive and fast.

He even became better in communicating with people: simpler, more friendly. Napoleon became an affectionate and flexible diplomat. In long letters sent to the allies - the kings of Westphalia, Bavaria, Württemberg and other German rulers, he explained that one should not believe the Russian bulletins, that everything was going fine. Of course, France and the allies suffered losses, but the "Grand Army" is still a powerful force. It has 200 thousand soldiers, another 260 thousand can be put in the field and another 300 thousand remain in Spain. Huge army. But Bonaparte asked the Allies to increase their armies. The stronger the troops, the more true and honorable the world will be.

Napoleon at the beginning of 1813 already knew that the "Great Army" was no more. Always cautious in dealing with the emperor, Marshal Berthier, the chief of staff of the army, this time said briefly and dryly: "The army no longer exists." In particular, only the brave Marshal Ney remained from the rearguard of the "Great Army", which crossed the Neman.

Napoleon knew all this, but did not give up. He looked to the future. In a few weeks, he created a new French army. 500 thousand fighters. True, the price was huge. France was bled dry by endless wars. Already teenagers, sets of future years, were thrown into battle. France was depopulated: there were no men or young men left. The bloody moloch of war devoured the future of the French Empire.

On April 15, 1813, Napoleon left for the army. In the spring of 1813, he could still negotiate with opponents, retaining power and the dynasty. However, without the hegemony of France in Europe. Metternich persistently offered his mediation in achieving peace. Trumps were: the wounded French lion was still afraid, he was the best commander in Europe; France had a strong army, excellent marshals and generals; allied German kingdoms; the Austrian emperor and the Prussian king were afraid of a confrontation that could cause revolutionary ferment in their countries. A compromise could be found. It is clear that peace would not be lasting. But that would be a different confrontation. Napoleonic France had a chance to survive.

But Napoleon did not want to give in. He still believed in his star and army. He hoped that in the war he would solve all the problems. In a brilliant revenge. Another fatal miscalculation.
Author:
8 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Carat
    Carat 6 January 2023 09: 52
    +1
    Metternich persistently offered his mediation in achieving peace. Trumps were: the wounded French lion was still afraid, he was the best commander in Europe; France had a strong army, excellent marshals and generals; allied German kingdoms; the Austrian emperor and the Prussian king were afraid of a confrontation that could cause revolutionary ferment in their countries.


    Metternich was more afraid of the strengthening of Russia's political influence in Europe, so he wanted to leave a strong France as a counterweight to Russia.
    1. Sergey Valov
      Sergey Valov 6 January 2023 15: 45
      0
      “leave a strong France as a counterweight to Russia” - France could not be a counterweight to Russia in Europe for two reasons:
      1. They did not have a common border.
      2. They did not have foreign policy contradictions in Europe.
      Austria needed a strong France as a counterweight to Prussia.
  2. Viktor Sergeev
    Viktor Sergeev 6 January 2023 18: 29
    +1
    In mid-October minus 3, do you really think that this is warm and the norm for Moscow? For an army not ready for winter, not having warm clothes, on the march, this is a terrible cold.
    1. Sergey Valov
      Sergey Valov 6 January 2023 20: 52
      +2
      The weather was really abnormally warm, this is noted by all memoirists on both sides. This also played its fatal role at the same time - the rivers were not covered with ice and crossing them became a problem. If there was ice on the Berezina, the French would have had fewer problems.
      On the march -3, this is not a problem, the French had overcoats, and at the bivouac the fire could well have warmed up. The problem of the French before the Berezina was not the cold, but wild convoys with loot, and as a result, a drop in discipline. Food supplies were sufficient, but the lack of discipline brought everything to naught. The frosts that finished off the army began after the Berezina.
  3. Viktor Sergeev
    Viktor Sergeev 6 January 2023 18: 55
    +3
    1994, Novosibirsk, late March, night, temperature around 0, we have been loading the C200 division for storage for almost a day, I am dressed in a tank suit with fur (in the afternoon, at minus 20, I sat in the snow in order to cool off), and so here I am he froze as he had never frozen, and the French in 1812 were dressed an order of magnitude worse, more tired.
    1. Sergey Valov
      Sergey Valov 6 January 2023 20: 59
      +1
      In 1807, hostilities were conducted in the winter, both armies survived and did not fall apart. In winter, as crazy as it sounds, the problem was to save the horses.
  4. Alex242
    Alex242 7 January 2023 06: 58
    0
    Quote: Sergey Valov
    In 1807, hostilities were conducted in the winter, both armies survived and did not fall apart. In winter, as crazy as it sounds, the problem was to save the horses.

    - at first they took care of the horses and saved them, and the stream ate them ....
    1. Sergey Valov
      Sergey Valov 7 January 2023 08: 53
      0
      In 1807 they did not eat horses, then everything was fine with the supply.

Военное обозрение

«Это начало конца». Начало агонии империи Наполеона

8
«Это начало конца». Начало агонии империи Наполеона

6 января 1813 г. русский государь Александр I подписал манифест об «изгнании супостата» из России. Ещё в декабре 1812 года последние остатки наполеоновской «Великой армии» бежали из России.


Миф о генерале-зиме


Из 600 тыс. «Великой армии», в которой была практически вся Западная Европа, уцелело совсем немного («Армии более не существует»). Другие погибли, замёрзли, умерли от болезней и голода, попали в плен, стали бродягами-шаромыжниками.

Русский государь постановил заложить в Москве Храм Христа Спасителя во славу Русского воинства, защитившего своё Отечество. Манифестом также предписывалось ежегодно в день Рождества Христова праздновать и великий День Победы.

Добравшись до Парижа, Наполеон сочинил легенду, которую охотно подхватили другие побеждённые генералы, о страшном противнике – «генерале-зиме». Этот миф был опровергнут ещё современниками той Великой войны: Денисом Давыдовым и Анри Бейлем (Стендаль). «Было бы ошибкой думать, что зима в 1812 году наступила рано; напротив, в Москве стояла прекраснейшая погода. Когда мы выступили оттуда 19 октября, было всего три градуса мороза и солнце ярко светило», - писал Стендаль. Бонапарт сам неоднократно писал Марии Луизе о том, какая хорошая и тёплая держится в Москве. И под Тарутином, и под Малоярославцем (Яростная битва за Малоярославец) стояла хорошая погода. Она не помогла французам.

Наполеон, приняв решение оставить остатки армии, выехал из города Сморгони ещё на колёсах. Он ехал на дормезе – большой дорожной карете. Лишь более двое суток спустя, уже за Ковно, снега оказалось так много, что пришлось пересесть в сани. Здесь наступил «ужасный мороз», как писал Коленкур. Он приближался к 20 градусам. То есть это была обычная зима.

Великая армия Наполеона погибла ещё до «ужасных морозов». К моменту начала настоящей зимы от армии уже остались жалкие обломки, кроме фланговых союзных корпусов (австрийцы с саксонцами и пруссаки). Армия тогдашнего «мирового сообщества» была уничтожена русской армией, давшей ряд сражений врагу, армейскими партизанскими (регулярная конница), казачьими отрядами и всем народом, который потихоньку давил западную гадину. Плюс роковая ошибка Наполеона и его маршалов, который решился пойти вглубь России, растянув свои коммуникации. Даже Великой армии не хватило на стратегическую операцию такого размаха.

Ведь русские не играли по вражеским правилам. Не дали себя окружить и разгромить. Дали решительный бой на Бородинском поле, когда решили, что пора. Умыли врага кровью, выстояли и сохранили армию. Оставили древнюю столицу, но продолжили борьбу, хоть европейцы считали, что всё пора заключать мир на их условиях. Мира не было, были русские штыки, казачьи пики и вилы крестьян. Тем временем французская Великая армия распылялась, теряла силы, часть её превратилась в толпы дезертиров, грабителей-мародёров, утратив боеспособность. Бонапарту пришлось убираться восвояси.

За Малоярославцем последовало стремительное отступление французов, атакуемых нашими войсками и партизанами, к Смоленску, где Наполеон думал остановиться. Из Смоленска французам также пришлось быстро уходить. Поражение в ожесточённом 3-дневном сражении под Красным и катастрофа под Березиной (Гибель Великой армии Наполеона на Березине). После Березины беспорядочное отступление превратилось в бег. Боеспособность утратили почти все корпуса, дивизии и полки. Кроме гвардии, но и она крайне поредела в своём составе.

Акела промахнулся


Армия Наполеона была побеждена русской армией, русским народом, объединившимся в справедливой борьбе с захватчиками. Наполеон жестоко просчитался, когда начал войну с Россией на её территории и вторгся в русские земли. Европейские игры кончились, началась справедливая освободительная война.

Война с Россией стала роковой ошибкой Бонапарта. В его случае худой мир с Россией был лучше доброй ссоры. От схватки французов с русскими больше всего выигрывали британцы, австрийцы и пруссаки. Их конкуренты обескровили друг друга. Империя Наполеона уже не могла вытянуть роль гегемона западного мира.

Наполеон ещё считал, что всё можно вернуть назад. Военное счастье вернётся к нему. Западная Европа подчинена Французской империи. То была ещё одна ошибка. Так, французский монарх считал, что у него есть крупные резервы в виде прусской, австрийской, саксонской армий, армий других союзников и вассалов. Но большая политика не прощает ошибок, вернуться назад было нельзя. Акела промахнулся.

Сам Наполеон выразил эту ситуация знаменитой фразой: «От Великого до смешного – только шаг».

Едва стало известно, что Великой армии больше нет, как всё на политической карте Европы изменилось. Прусский корпус Йорка вышел из подчинения маршала Макдональда. 30 декабря в Таурогене было подписано соглашение о перемирии между русскими и пруссаками. Это было начало русско-прусского антифранцузского союза.

В самой Франции было тревожно. Целая армия погибла в России. Обезвредили заговор генерала Мале, который в течение нескольких часов успешно осуществил государственный переворот. Сановники Франции без проверки поверили в выдумку Мале о смерти императора и создании временного правительства. Это был республиканский заговор. Мале и его сообщники были расстреляны, дело постарались предать забвению. Мале объявили безумцем. Но хитроумный политик Талейран чётко отметил: «Это начало конца».

Борьба продолжается


Однако Наполеона рано было ещё хоронить. Это был человек огромной силы воли и энергии. Не в его характере было ждать, пока враги придут за ним. Он привык идти навстречу судьбе, в битву. В борьбе крепла его вера в счастливую звезду. Бонапарт развил в Париже бурную деятельность. Он сколачивал новую армию. Его энергия и работоспособность снова были беспримерными. Сознание опасности утраивало его силы. Казалось, что император помолодел на 10 – 15 лет. Это снова был молодой генерал. Решительный и быстрый.

Он даже в общении с людьми стал лучше: проще, приветливее. Наполеон стал ласковым и гибким дипломатом. В длинных письмах, направленных союзникам – королям Вестфалии, Баварии, Вюртемберга и другим германским правителям, он объяснял, что не следует верить русским бюллетеням, что всё идёт прекрасно. Конечно, Франция и союзники понесли потери, но «Великая армия» все ещё остаётся могучей силой. Она насчитывает 200 тыс. солдат, ещё 260 тыс. можно выставить в поле и ещё 300 тыс. остаются в Испании. Огромная армия. Но Бонапарт просил союзников увеличить армии. Чем сильнее войска, тем вернее и почётнее будет мир.

Наполеон в начале 1813 года уже знал, что «Великой армии» больше нет. Всегда острожный в обращении с императором, начальник штаба армии маршал Бертье на этот раз сказал коротко и сухо: «Армии больше не существует». В частности, от арьергарда «Великой армии», которая форсировала Неман, остался только храбрый маршал Ней.

Наполеон всё это знал, но не сдавался. Он смотрел в будущее. За несколько недель он создал новую французскую армию. 500 тыс. бойцов. Правда, цена была огромной. Франция была обескровлена бесконечными войнами. В бой бросали уже подростков, наборы будущих лет. Франция обезлюдела: не осталось ни мужчин, ни юношей. Кровавый молох войны сожрал будущее Французской империи.

15 апреля 1813 года Наполеон выехал в расположение армии. Весной 1813 года он ещё мог договориться с противниками, сохранив власть и династию. Правда, без гегемонии Франции в Европе. Меттерних настойчиво предлагал своё посредничество в достижении мира. Козыри были: раненого французского льва ещё боялись, он был лучшим полководцем Европы; у Франции была сильная армия, отличные маршалы и генералы; союзные германские королевства; австрийский император и прусский король боялись противостояния, которое могло вызвать революционное брожение в их странах. Компромисс можно было найти. Понятно, что мир не был бы прочным. Но это было бы уже другое противостояние. Наполеоновская Франция имела шансы уцелеть.

Но Наполеон не желал уступать. Он по-прежнему верил в свою звезду и армию. Надеялся, что на войне он решит всё проблемы. В блистательный реванш. Очередной роковой просчёт.
Автор:
8 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, регулярно дополнительные сведения о спецоперации на Украине, большое количество информации, видеоролики, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_official

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Карат
    Карат 6 января 2023 09:52
    +1
    Меттерних настойчиво предлагал своё посредничество в достижении мира. Козыри были: раненого французского льва ещё боялись, он был лучшим полководцем Европы; у Франции была сильная армия, отличные маршалы и генералы; союзные германские королевства; австрийский император и прусский король боялись противостояния, которое могло вызвать революционное брожение в их странах.


    Меттерних больше боялся усиления политического влияния России в Европе, поэтому ему хотелось оставить сильную Францию, как противовес России.
    1. Сергей Валов
      Сергей Валов 6 января 2023 15:45
      0
      «оставить сильную Францию, как противовес России» - Франция не могла быть противовесом России в Европе по двум причинам:
      1. У них не было общей границы.
      2. У них не было внешнеполитических противоречий в Европе.
      Австрии была нужна сильная Франция как противовес Пруссии.
  2. Виктор Сергеев
    Виктор Сергеев 6 января 2023 18:29
    +1
    В середине октября минус 3, Вы реально считаете, что это тепло и норма для Москвы? Для армии не готовой к зиме, не имеющей теплой одежды, на марше, это жуткий холод.
    1. Сергей Валов
      Сергей Валов 6 января 2023 20:52
      +2
      Погода была действительно аномально тёплой, это отмечают все мемуаристы с обеих сторон. Это одновременно сыграло и свою роковую роль - реки не покрылись льдом и переправа через них стала проблемой. Будь на Березине лёд у французов проблем было бы меньше.
      На марше -3 это не проблема, у французов были шинели, а на биваке костёр вполне мог обогреть. Проблемой французов до Березины был не холод, а дикие обозы с награбленным, и как следствие падение дисциплины. Запасов продовольствия было достаточно, но отсутствие дисциплины сводило все на нет. Морозы добившие армию начались после Березины.
  3. Виктор Сергеев
    Виктор Сергеев 6 января 2023 18:55
    +3
    1994 г., Новосибирск, конец марта, ночь, температура около 0, мы почти сутки грузим дивизион С200 для отправления на хранение, я одет в танковый костюм на меху (днем, при минус 20 на снегу сидел, дабы охладиться), так вот я замерз так, как не замерзал никогда, а французы в 1812 г. были одеты на порядок хуже, уставшие поболе.
    1. Сергей Валов
      Сергей Валов 6 января 2023 20:59
      +1
      В 1807 г. боевые действия велись зимой, выжили и не развалились обе армии. Зимой, как бы это не звучало дико, проблемой было спасти лошадей.
  4. Alex242
    Alex242 7 января 2023 06:58
    0
    Цитата: Сергей Валов
    В 1807 г. боевые действия велись зимой, выжили и не развалились обе армии. Зимой, как бы это не звучало дико, проблемой было спасти лошадей.

    - сначала лошадок берегли и спасали, а поток и сьели их....
    1. Сергей Валов
      Сергей Валов 7 января 2023 08:53
      0
      В 1807 г. лошадей не ели, тогда со снабжением все было нормально.