Military Review

The appearance of the Patriot air defense system in the United States was preceded by a ban on anti-missiles with a nuclear warhead

2
The appearance of the Patriot air defense system in the United States was preceded by a ban on anti-missiles with a nuclear warhead

В stories There were times (mainly in the 1960s and 1970s) of anti-aircraft and anti-missile defense when the missile defense system was built on missiles with a nuclear warhead. There were several variants of such missiles in the American arsenal, including the MIM-14 Nike Hercules and the LIM-49A Nike Zeus. If the first was adopted by the US Army (it was in the late 1950s), then the second, rather, served as a prototype for further developments in this area.


One of the options for the development of Nike Zeus was the Spartan system (LIM-49A Spartan), a three-stage rocket equipped with a thermonuclear warhead. Such weapon was designed to shoot down ballistic missiles, and the process itself was not due to fragments from the explosion of the warhead, but through explosive and light-X-ray-temperature exposure. During tests of one of these complexes in the United States, a target simulating a ballistic missile was actually vaporized by the use of a nuclear-powered anti-missile.

However, in the 1970s, the era of anti-missiles with nuclear warheads (which, by the way, could shoot down satellites in relatively low orbits) ended. An appropriate agreement was signed prohibiting the development, production and use of this type of weapon.

The departure from such systems led to the acceleration of work on those anti-aircraft missile systems (anti-missile systems) that are known today. These are complexes with missiles equipped with high-explosive fragmentation warheads. Today, the main emphasis on hitting targets in the air is on the scattering of fragments of an anti-aircraft missile (anti-missile).

The signing of an agreement to ban anti-missiles with a nuclear warhead eventually led to the fact that the same Patriot appeared in the US arsenal, the supply of which to Ukraine is so much talked about today. The video of the Pravda Zhizn channel tells about the American Patriot air defense systems:

Photos used:
Wikipedia/US Air Force
2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Andy_nsk
    Andy_nsk 7 January 2023 15: 30
    +1
    However, in the 1970s, the era of anti-missiles with nuclear warheads (which, by the way, could shoot down satellites in relatively low orbits) ended. An appropriate agreement was signed prohibiting the development, production and use of this type of weapon.

    What is this contract? Our A-135 complexes were just with thermonuclear warheads.
    1. Nordsc0l
      Nordsc0l 7 January 2023 19: 31
      +1
      They remain nuclear. For, apart from the A-135, we have nothing else from the missile defense system.

Военное обозрение

Появлению ЗРК Patriot в США предшествовал запрет на противоракеты с ядерной боевой частью

2
Появлению ЗРК Patriot в США предшествовал запрет на противоракеты с ядерной боевой частью

В истории противовоздушной и противоракетной обороны были времена (1960-1970-е годы, главным образом), когда система ПРО строилась на ракетах с ядерной боевой частью. В американском арсенале было несколько вариантов таких ракет, включая MIM-14 Nike Hercules и LIM-49A Nike Zeus. Если первая на вооружение армии США была принята (дело было в конце 1950-х годов), то вторая, скорее, послужила прототипом для дальнейших разработок в этой области.


Одним из вариантов развития «Найки Зевса» стала система «Спартанец» (LIM-49A Spartan), трёхступенчатая ракета которой оснащалась термоядерной боеголовкой. Такое оружие было призвано сбивать баллистические ракеты, причём сам процесс шёл не за счёт осколков от взрыва боевой части, а посредством взрывного и светового-рентгеновского-температурного воздействия. В ходе испытаний одного из таких комплексов в США цель, имитирующая баллистическую ракету, была фактически испарена применением противоракеты с ядерной начинкой.

Однако в 1970-х годах эра противоракет с ядерными боеголовками (которые, кстати, могли сбивать и спутники на относительно низких орбитах) закончилась. Был подписан соответствующий договор, запрещающий разработку, производство и применение такого вида вооружения.

Уход от таких систем привёл к ускорению работ над теми зенитными ракетными комплексами (противоракетными системами), которые известны сегодня. Это комплексы с ракетами, оснащёнными осколочно-фугасными боеголовками. Сегодня основной упор на поражение целей в воздухе делается именно на разлёт осколков зенитной ракеты (противоракеты).

Подписание соглашения о запрете противоракет с ядерной боеголовкой в итоге привело к тому, что в арсенале США появился тот самый Patriot, о поставках которого на Украину сегодня так много говорят. В видеоролике канала «Правда жизни» рассказывается об американских ЗРК «Пэтриот»:

Использованы фотографии:
Википедия/ВВС США
2 комментария
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, регулярно дополнительные сведения о спецоперации на Украине, большое количество информации, видеоролики, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_official

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Andy_nsk
    Andy_nsk 7 января 2023 15:30
    +1
    Однако в 1970-х годах эра противоракет с ядерными боеголовками (которые, кстати, могли сбивать и спутники на относительно низких орбитах) закончилась. Был подписан соответствующий договор, запрещающий разработку, производство и применение такого вида вооружения.

    Это что за договор? Наши комплексы А-135 были как раз с термоядерными БГ.
    1. Nordsc0l
      Nordsc0l 7 января 2023 19:31
      +1
      Они и остаются ядерными. Ибо кроме А-135 у нас ничего более нет из системы ПРО.