Military Review

The end of the French Revolution

4
The end of the French Revolution

18-19 Brumaire VIII of the Republic (9-10 in November 1799) in France, a coup d'état took place, as a result of which the Directory was deprived of power, and a new provisional government was established, headed by three consuls, Napoleon, Roger Ducos and Syies. This event is considered the end of the Great French Revolution (1789 - 1799).

Early in the morning, 18 Brumaire (9 November), senior officers of the French armed forces began to flock to the mansion on Chantarin street (the house of Napoleon Bonaparte). Among them were commanders, whose names were known by all of France: Moreau, MacDonald, Bernadotte, Lefevre, and others. Almost simultaneously, the Council of Elders (French upper house of the legislative assembly) chaired by Lemercier was assembled in Tuliri. The council was gathered under the influence of rumors about a supposedly prepared Jacobin plot, dismissed by the leader of the moderate-republican party, director Sieyes. He developed his own project of government and entered into an alliance with Napoleon.

At the Council meeting, MP Cornet spoke about the "terrible conspiracy of the Jacobins", then Rainier proposed to adopt a decree on transferring the legislative corps to Saint-Cloud and to appoint General Bonaparte, popular in society, as commander of the garrison of Paris and the district. Bonaparte received the right to take all the measures that are necessary for the security of the republic, all citizens were instructed to assist him at the first request on his part. The Council of Elders was to appeal to the people with a special manifesto in which the decreed measures were justified by the need to pacify people seeking tyranny and thus ensure internal peace in France. The deputies in the conspiracy were taken by surprise and did not object. Rainier’s proposals were unanimously accepted.

At 8 in the morning, a carriage arrived at Napoleon’s house, and the Council’s official representatives solemnly presented the general with high authority. To the assembled senior officers, it was announced that Bonaparte was taking supreme command. Bonaparte, with his brilliant retinue, arrived at the Tuileries Palace, where the generals were awaited by regiments in advance. Everything went smoothly and easily. It was not possible only to bring to the conspiracy most of the members of the Directory. The Goyère President of the Directory was quick-witted and did not come to Napoleon, hurrying to Moulin, and then with him to Barras (he was an accomplice to the conspiracy, but in the end turned out to be among the losers).

In the palace, Napoleon Bonaparte made a short speech before the Council. He emphasized his loyalty to republican principles. Two directors - Siyes and Roger-Ducos, by preliminary agreement, resigned and openly supported the movement. Barras, being without support and abandoned by everyone, making sure that the game was lost, without objection signed the text of the letter of resignation prepared in advance and brought by Talleyrand. The remaining two directors, Goya and Moulin, were taken into custody and also resigned. As a result, the executive branch that existed at that time was destroyed. Directory ceased to exist. Bonaparte ordered his loyal generals to occupy all the important objects of the capital: Lannes was entrusted with the Tuileries, Murat - the Bourbon Palace, Marmont - Versailles, etc.

The Council of Elders and the Council of Five Hundreds (the lower house of the French Legislative Assembly) were to meet in Saint-Cloud for the Brumaire 19. At 12 hours of the day, both chambers of the Legislative Assembly gathered in Saint-Cloud, the Council of Elders - in one of the halls of the palace, and the council of five hundred - in the greenhouse. During the day that has passed since the beginning of the events, the deputies "sobered up" and started asking questions. Why is the directory dissolved? What kind of conspiracy are we talking about? Why did Napoleon have such high powers? In each of the councils there were many participants in the conspiracy. Thus, the Council of Five hundred led Lusen Bonaparte. But they could not take the leadership in their own hands and complete the coup. On the contrary, determination was growing among the deputies, especially in the Council of 500, where the Jacobins prevailed, to change the course of events. They proposed to renew the universal oath of allegiance to the III year constitution.

Bonaparte, Sieyès and their entourage at that time were located in the spacious rooms of the first floor of the palace in Saint-Cloud, awaiting the victorious news. However, the messages were disappointing. The deputies were in no hurry to form a new government and expressed doubts about the need and even the legality of the emergency decisions taken yesterday. Events suddenly began to take a dangerous shade. General Augereau even advised Bonaparte to resign as soon as possible. In the event of defeat Bonaparte and his supporters threatened the death penalty.

Bonaparte, having lost patience, and passed into the meeting room of the Council of Elders. He was given the floor, and he gave a long speech in which he repeated that he was not a dictator, not Caesar, and not Cromwell, that he served only the Republic. Bonaparte was interrupted and demanded precise information about the conspiracy, evidence, and names. Napoleon went away from direct answers, only called Barras and Moulin as the instigators. This only strengthened the doubts of the deputies. Having achieved nothing, the general left the meeting room and entered the hall where the Council of Five Hundred was sitting. Here he was met much worse. The deputies shouted: “Down with the dictator!”, “Beyond his law!” And so on. Napoleon was surrounded by an angry mob, confused, pushed, torn clothes, and in fact was saved by General Lefevre, who with a cry: “Save our general! ", Ordered the grenadiers to bring Napoleon out of the hall.

Murat, who retained full presence of spirit, offered to act harshly, like a soldier. Napoleon doubted he could not decide anything. For some time he was in a state of confusion. The ranks of his supporters quickly thinned. The defeat was close.

By evening, which had become critical, Napoleon returned to his usual vigor. Together with Murat and Lucien, he began to go around the troops and shouted that they wanted to kill him, that conspirators had gathered in the Council of Five Hundred. The soldiers greeted him sympathetically and Bonaparte signaled to Murat. A squad of grenadiers with a drumbeat under the command of Murat and Leclerc moved into the conference room of the Council of Five Hundred. Opening the door, Murat shouted: “Throw all this pack out!” There were no heroes among the deputies, they did not resist, and the hall was quickly cleared.

The coup was completed - the legislative assembly (Council of Elders and Council of Five Hundred) were deleted from stories. The soldiers drove a part of the deputies back into the hall, and they dictated to the decision to create a temporary consular commission consisting of Bonaparte, Siyes and Roger Ducos and two commissions entrusted with the task of drafting constitutional laws. Announcements made by the Minister of Police Fouche, which informed the citizens about important events, pasted on the walls of buildings. The announcements to the Parisians reported that General Bonaparte exposed the counter-revolutionary conspiracy in the Council of Five Hundred, that an attempt was made on him, but the General was saved and the legislative body took all measures to assert "triumph and glory of the Republic."

The Brumerer's 18-19 coup did not meet any resistance, neither power, nor political forces, nor people. Napoleon Bonaparte actually just took power into his own hands. The “last Jacobins” were disappointed with the policies of the Directory and did not intend to defend the murderers of Robespierre and Babeuf, corrupt officials and speculators who profited from the needs of the people. They did not want to fight for such power. They just went to the side, maintaining neutrality. A small part even supported the supporters of Napoleon. The people also remained "silent spectators." Directory mode completely rotted and collapsed naturally, without practically any resistance. Some directors themselves took part in the coup, hoping to extract benefits from it.
Author:
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Construktor
    Construktor 9 November 2012 09: 30
    +3
    The described event is an excellent confirmation of the thesis about the TRUE goals of the revolution.
    The Masonic slogan (SoRaBra) was foreign to the French. As their society was feudal, it remained. And they needed a Power, constantly humiliated under the "old regime". Remember the question to the hero of the Brotherhood of the Wolf: "Is it true that you defeated the British in Canada?"
    Truth! and not only in Canada, but also in India (the French captured Madras!). And the cowardly government of Louis betrayed the victors, having gone to a humiliating peace with England - the wars in Europe were frightened. That's why Bosko was demolished for him.
    And the "directors", I suppose, were also not alien to compromises with an external enemy. But Bonaparte needed only a victory. This coincided with the aspirations of the majority (at that time) of the French. So this coup should be seen as a continuation of the Revolution, and not its completion.
    A great French revolution was completed by our ancestors in 1812.
    1. Oles
      Oles 9 November 2012 20: 48
      0
      if you talk like that, then in 1814 ...
  2. sq
    sq 9 November 2012 10: 23
    0
    The normal continuation of the revolution.
    The revolution is happening how? Dissatisfaction, the overthrow of the existing government, euphoria, the division of power, the bloodbath of the civil war, the division of power, the pacification of the surviving revolutionaries, the construction of a new government, the revival of a destroyed economy, and an external war (not always) for a snack. Somewhere like that or with variations
  3. predator.2
    predator.2 9 November 2012 13: 32
    +2
    All revolutions are made and ended according to one scenario, the English one by the coming to power of Cromwell, the French one by Napoleon, the Russian one by Stalin, and in all three the monarchs were executed.
    A directory for France was that the rule of Yeltsin for Russia, i.e. all sorts of nouveau riche and oligarchs ruled the country!
    1. Oles
      Oles 9 November 2012 20: 44
      +1
      totally agree, Traitor. I sign under every your word here
  4. Oles
    Oles 9 November 2012 20: 52
    +1
    "A detachment of grenadiers with a drumbeat under the command of Murat and Leclerc moved into the meeting room of the Council of Five Hundred. Throwing open the doors, Murat shouted:" Throw out all this pack! " There were no heroes among the deputies, they did not put up resistance, and the hall was quickly cleared "
    yes ... Stalin suffered longer while he was consuming zhidomasonskoe scum in consumption ... not one year
    1. predator.2
      predator.2 10 November 2012 07: 56
      0
      By the way, then these deputies were caught on the way to Paris, so that they approved Napoleon as the first consul, in order to give legitimacy to this.

Конец французской революции

Конец французской революции

18-19 брюмера VIII года Республики (9-10 ноября 1799 года) во Франции произошёл государственный переворот, в результате которого была лишена власти Директория, и было создано новое временное правительство во главе с тремя консулами — Наполеоном, Роже Дюко и Сийесом. Это событие считается концом Великой французской революции (1789 – 1799).

Ранним утром 18 брюмера (9 ноября) к особняку на улице Шантарен (дому Наполеона Бонапарта) стали съезжаться высшие офицеры французских вооруженных сил. Среди них были полководцы, имена которых знала вся Франция: Моро, Макдональд, Бернадотт, Лефевр и др. Почти одновременно в Тюльири был собран Совет старейшин (французская верхняя палата законодательного собрания) под председательством Лемерсье. Совет был собран под влиянием слухов о якобы подготовленном якобинском заговоре, их распустил лидер умеренно-республиканской партии, директор Сийес. Он разработал свой собственный проект государственного устройства и вступил в союз с Наполеоном.

На собрании Совета депутат Корне рассказал о «грозном заговоре якобинцев», затем Ренье предложил принять декрет о перенесение законодательного корпуса в Сен-Клу и о назначении популярного в обществе генерала Бонапарта командующим гарнизоном Парижа и округа. Бонапарт получил право принять все меры, которые необходимы для безопасности республики, всем гражданам предписывалось оказывать ему помощь при первом требовании с его стороны. К народу Совет старейшин должен был обратиться с особым манифестом, в котором декретированные меры были оправданы необходимостью усмирить людей, стремящихся к тирании и тем обеспечить внутренний мир во Франции. Непосвященные в заговор депутаты были застигнуты врасплох и не стали возражать. Предложения Ренье были приняты единодушно.


В 8 часов утра к дому Наполеона прибыла карета, и официальные представители Совета торжественно вручили генералу высокие полномочия. Собравшимся высшим офицерам было объявлено, что Бонапарт принимает верховное командование. Бонапарт со своей блестящей свитой прибыл к Тюильрийскому дворцу, где генералов ожидали заранее стянутые туда полки. Всё шло гладко и легко. Не удалось только привлечь к заговору большинство членов Директории. Президент Директории Гойе проявил сообразительность и не прибыл к Наполеону, поспешив к Мулену, а затем вместе с ним к Баррасу (он был соучастником заговора, но в итоге оказался в числе проигравших).

Во дворце Наполеон Бонапарт произнёс перед Советом краткую речь. Он подчеркнул свою верность республиканским принципам. Двое директоров - Сийес и Роже-Дюко, по предварительному уговору, подали в отставку и открыто поддержали движение. Баррас, оказавшись без поддержки и всеми покинутый, убедившись, что игра проиграна, без возражений подписал заранее подготовленный и принесённый Талейраном текст заявления об отставке. Остальные два директора - Гойе и Мулен были взяты под стражу и также сложили свои полномочия. В результате существовавшая в то время исполнительная власть была уничтожена. Директория прекратила своё существование. Бонапарт приказал верным ему генералам занять все важные объекты столицы: Ланну был поручен Тюильри, Мюрату – Бурбонский дворец, Мармону – Версаль и т. д.

Совет старейшин и Совет пятисот (нижняя палата французского законодательного собрания) должны были 19 брюмера собраться в Сен-Клу. В 12 часов дня обе палаты законодательного собрания собрались в Сен-Клу, Совет старейшин — в одной из зал дворца, совет пятисот — в оранжерее. За сутки, прошедшие с начала событий, депутаты «протрезвели» и стали задавать вопросы. Почему распущена Директория? О каком заговоре идёт речь? Зачем Наполеону предоставлены столь высокие полномочия? В каждом из советов было немало участников заговора. Так, Советом пятисот руководил Лусьен Бонапарт. Но им не удавалось взять руководство в свои руки и завершить переворот. Наоборот, среди депутатов крепла решимость, особенно в Совете пятисот, где преобладали якобинцы, изменить ход событий. Они предложили возобновить поголовную присягу на верность конституции III года.

Бонапарт, Сийес и их приближенные в это время располагались в просторных кабинетах первого этажа дворца в Сен-Клу, ожидая победных известий. Однако сообщения были неутешительны. Депутаты не спешили сформировать новое правительство и выражали сомнения по поводу необходимости и даже законности принятых вчера чрезвычайных решений. События неожиданно стали принимать опасный оттенок. Генерал Ожеро даже посоветовал Бонапарту поскорее сложить свои полномочия. В случае поражения Бонапарту и его сторонникам грозила смертная казнь.

Бонапарт, потеряв терпение, и прошёл в зал заседания Совета старейшин. Ему предоставили слово, и он произнес длинную речь, в которой повторял, что он не диктатор, не Цезарь, и не Кромвель, что он служит только Республике. Бонапарта прервали и стали требовать точных сведений о заговоре, доказательств, имен. Наполеон уходил от прямых ответов, только назвал Барраса и Мулена как зачинщиков. Это только усилило сомнения депутатов. Ничего не добившись, генерал покинул зал заседаний и вошёл в зал, где заседал Совет пятисот. Здесь его встретили намного хуже. Депутаты кричали: «Долой диктатора!», «Вне закона его!» и т. п. Наполеон был окружен разъярённой толпой, растерялся, его толкали, рвали одежду, и фактически его спас генерал Лефевр, который с возгласом: «Спасем нашего генерала!», приказал гренадерам вывести Наполеона из зала.

Мюрат, сохранивший полное присутствие духа, предлагал действовать жестко, по-солдатски. Наполеон сомневался, не мог ни на что решиться. Некоторое время он находился в состоянии растерянности. Ряды его сторонников быстро редели. Поражение было близким.

К вечеру, которая ситуация стала критической, к Наполеону вернулась его обычная энергичность. Он вместе с Мюратом и Люсьеном стал объезжать войска и выкрикивал, что его хотели убить, что в Совете пятисот собрались заговорщики. Солдаты сочувственно встретили его речи и Бонапарт подал Мюрату знак. Отряд гренадер с барабанным боем под началом Мюрата и Леклерка двинулся в зал заседаний Совета пятисот. Распахнув двери, Мюрат крикнул: «Вышвырните всю эту свору вон!» Среди депутатов не оказалось героев, они не оказали сопротивления, и зал быстро был очищен.

Переворот был завершен – законодательное собрание (Совет старейшин и Совет пятисот) были вычеркнуты из истории. Часть депутатов солдаты снова загнали в зал и они под диктовку приняли постановление о создании временной консульской комиссии в составе Бонапарта, Сийеса и Роже Дюко и двух комиссий, на которые возложили обязанность подготовить конституционные законы. На стенах зданий расклеивали объявления, составленные министром полиции Фуше, которые извещали горожан о произошедших важных событиях. В объявлениях парижанам сообщили, что генерал Бонапарт разоблачил контрреволюционный заговор в Совете пятисот, что на него было совершено покушение, но генерал спасен и законодательный корпус принял все меры для утверждения «триумфа и славы Республики».

Переворот 18-19 брюмера не встретил сопротивления ни власти, ни политических сил, ни народа. Наполеон Бонапарт фактически просто взял власть в свои руки. «Последние якобинцы» были разочарованы политикой Директории и не собирались защищать убийц Робеспьера и Бабефа, коррупционеров и спекулянтов, которые наживались на нужде народа. Они не хотели сражаться за такую власть. Они просто ушли в сторону, сохранив нейтралитет. Небольшая часть даже поддержала сторонников Наполеона. Народ также остался «безмолвным зрителем». Режим Директории полностью сгнил и закономерно рухнул, не оказав практически никакого сопротивления. Некоторые директоры сами приняли участи в перевороте, рассчитывая извлечь из него выгоды.
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. Construktor 9 ноября 2012 09:30
    Описанное событие - прекрасное подтверждение тезиса об ИСТИННЫХ целях революции.
    Масонский лозунг (СоРаБра) был чужд французам. Как было их общество феодальным так и осталось. А нужна им была Держава, постоянно унижаемая при "старом режиме". Вспомните вопрос герою хф "Братство волка": "правда, что вы победили англичан в Канаде?".
    Правда! и не только в Канаде, но и в Индии (французы захватили Мадрас!). А трусливое правительство Людовика предало победителей, пойдя на унизительный мир с Англией - испугались войны в Европе. Вот за это бошку ему и снесли.
    И "директора", полагаю, тоже были не чужды компромиссов с внешним врагом. А вот Бонапарту нужна была только победа. Это совпало с чаяниями большинства (на тот момент) французов. Так что переворот сей следует рассматривать как продолжение Революции, а не её завершение.
    Вкеликую французскую революцию закончили наши предки в 1812 году.
    Construktor
    1. Oles 9 ноября 2012 20:48
      если так рассуждать, то в 1814м...
      Oles
  2. kvm 9 ноября 2012 10:23
    Нормальное продолжение революции.
    Революция происходит как? Недовольство, свержение существующей власти, эйфория, делёж власти, кровавая баня гражданской войны, делёж власти, утихомиривание оставшихся в живых революционеров, построение новой власти, возрождение разрушенной экономики, ну и на закуску внешняя война ( не всегда). Вот где-то так или с вариациями
    kvm
  3. predator.2 9 ноября 2012 13:32
    Все революции совершаются и заканчиваются по одному сценарию, английская - приходом к власти Кромвеля, французская -Наполеоном, русская -Сталином и во всех трех казнили монархов.
    А директория для Франции была ,что правление Ельцина для России ,т.е. страной правили всякие нувориши и олигархи !
    predator.2
    1. Oles 9 ноября 2012 20:44
      полностью согласен, Предатор. подписываю под каждым твоим словом здесь
      Oles
  4. Oles 9 ноября 2012 20:52
    "Отряд гренадер с барабанным боем под началом Мюрата и Леклерка двинулся в зал заседаний Совета пятисот. Распахнув двери, Мюрат крикнул: «Вышвырните всю эту свору вон!» Среди депутатов не оказалось героев, они не оказали сопротивления, и зал быстро был очищен"
    да... сталин дольше мучался пока в расход пустил жыдомасонскую мразь... не один год
    Oles
    1. predator.2 10 ноября 2012 07:56
      Кстати, потом этих депутатов отлавливали по дороге в Париж, чтоб они утвердили Наполеона первым консулом, чтоб придать этому легитимность.
      predator.2

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня