Military Review

English decked all-weather fighter-bomber "DH.112 Sea Venom" (1947-1965gg)

4
The new jet carrier-based aircraft was developed on the basis of the Vampire fighter. In the initial project, he received the new Ghost MK.10Z turbojet engine and received the name “Vampire FB.Mk.8”. The development was carried out from the 1947 of the year, when an order for the creation of a small series in the 30 of the Sea Venom machines for the arming of aircraft carriers Bulwark and Centaur is being given for a shift in service with the Sea Hornet. At the same time, the company “de Havilland” has already designed its double version “Venom NF.M.K.2”, a night-weather all-weather fighter with a radar station, based on a single-seat fighter.

It is this modification that becomes, after successful tests, the prototype for the development of a deck-based aircraft. The first prototype was named “Venom NF.MK.20”. It was equipped with units and mechanisms that allow starting from a catapult and landing using a brake hook. The tests began to pass two prototypes.

In the following prototypes, devices for folding the tips appeared, the chassis shock absorbers perform with a wide stroke, bumpers were installed under the keels to protect the plumage during takeoff / landing.

The first departure of the Vampire fighter with the Ghost MK.103 engine made 02.09.1949 of the year and later became the basis for the creation of ground-based serial fighter aircraft (BBC). The first flight of the prototype of the deck aircraft Sea Venom took place on 19.04.1951 of the year.

English decked all-weather fighter-bomber "DH.112 Sea Venom" (1947-1965gg)


The crew of the prototype consisted of a pilot and navigator-operator of the radar, sitting in the cockpit, one after the other under the lantern tilting back. A month later, the deck prototype entered with the composition of the experimental squadron under the letter "C". Begin testing of landings on marine carriers on the brake hook.

The first prototype crashes the 27.08.1952 of the year. The plane, after the ejection start, was never able to gain altitude and crashed through 5 kilometers. The second prototype successfully continued test flights and landings — made the first night landing on an aircraft carrier. At the start of the 1953, the prototype went through an upgrade and continued to carry out test flights. In the 1954, on the prototype, we completed various test flights. In 1956, the aircraft is disassembled for parts.

The first DH.112 Venom, under the symbol FB.Mk.1, entered the Air Force in the second half of 1952. He also entered service in the German Air Force, some countries of the Middle / Far East, New Zealand. The following modifications of the NF.Mk.2 / 3 made already as night 2 local fighters come into service in the 1953 year. They were also in service with the Swedish Air Force. Switzerland at one time acquired a license for the production of "Vampire FB.Mk.6". In 1953, Switzerland began the production of a batch of these aircraft, which were upgraded to the basic version of the FB.Mk.1 "DH.112 Venom". In addition, the Swiss designers made modifications to the nose with the installation of UHF communication equipment. In the design of the aircraft, the center section was strengthened to ensure the possibility of arming with NAR units. Standard guns received blocks of collections of slug tapes.

Sea Venom
The first production deck aircraft were called "FAW.Mk.20." It was provided with a reinforced structure for the operation of take-off from the catapult, the folding parts of the wing received power drives, and other equipment and mechanisms characteristic of use aviation from marine carriers. This modification entered service in 1954. In the future, it is also adopted by the French and Australian Navy.



Device and construction
FAW.Mk.20 carried the asymmetrical 2 lanterns of the local cockpit, the equipment designed for the marine version. In the third modification, the lantern provided an emergency discharge system (ejection seats). To be able to take off from the deck of the most loaded aircraft on the tail beams, 6 powder accelerators were installed. The turbojet engine was installed in the stern of the fuselage, air intakes were made in the wing root, which ensured good traction for the established turbojet engine. In the nose of the aircraft there was enough space for the placement of the radar "AI Mk.10". Racks were hydraulically retracted into the wing (main) and into a special compartment located behind the radar (front). There are flaps and two-section air brakes on the wing.

Armament of the serial "Sea Venom" - 4 X-gun caliber 20mm with a total ammunition 600 shots. The guns were located at the bottom of the cabin. Under the wing there were holders for the suspension of NAR or aerial bombs, total weight 900 kilogram.

Aircraft Development - Modifications
FAW.Mk.20 learned a rather complicated machine during operation, therefore instead of the required 60 machines only 50 machines were serially released. The following modification “FAW.Mk.21” is launched into the series. The deck fighter-bomber received an improved engine “Ghost Mk.104”, a reinforced chassis, an updated brake hook, a new pilot seat providing better visibility and a new American-made radar APS-57. The first production aircraft of this series took to the skies in the 1954 year. In total, the FAN.Mk.170 21 aircraft were produced.



The next modification, “FAW.M.22,” began to be produced in the 1955 year. In the 1956 year, part of the FAW.Mk.21 aircraft was brought to this modification. The aircraft receives an improved engine “Ghost MK.105”, which provided the best lifting speed (the maximum flight altitude in 12.2 kilometers was reached in 12 minutes). In 1957, the airplanes of all modifications of the Sea Venom were heavily exploited - the Suez Crisis military conflict.

Major modifications:
- FAW.Mk 20 - the basic version of the deck aircraft "Sea Venom";
- FAW.Mk 21 - modification of the basic version with improved hardware;
- FAW.Mk 22 - the last serial modification. Improved engine, the ability to use air-to-air missiles, ejection seats;
- Mk 52 - the name of the French version of "Sea Venom";



- Mk 53 - the name of the Australian version of «Sea Venom».

The fate of the "Sea Venom"
The last decked Sea Venom was decommissioned from fleet in 1965. However, many copies remained "in the air" as training or test aircraft. The last training aircraft was decommissioned in 1970. The combat service of the Sea Venom series aircraft is over 16 years old. It was used in all the conflicts of the 1950s by the countries that had it in service. Being the forerunner of the Vampire, it itself eventually became the basis for the creation of the decked twin-engine aircraft Sea Vixen.



Key Features:
- crew - 1 pilot and 1 navigator-operator;
- wing - 13.06 meter;
- Length - 11.1 meters;
- height - 2.6 meters;
- weight empty / max - 5.2 / 7.1 tons;
- engine - TRD of the Gnost series (depending on version);
- Ghost Mk.105 - 2400 kgf;
- lifting speed up to 30 m / s;
- speed up to 930 km / h;
- range to 1100 kilometers;
- High-altitude ceiling - kilometer 12.2;
- armament: 4 guns "Hispano Mk.5" caliber 20mm, NAR or bombs up to 900 kilogram (8 suspension units). Bombs caliber 113 / 227 kg, NAR to 4 launch 2X76mm.


Information sources:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/De_Havilland_Sea_Venom
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/fighter/seavenom.html
http://www.dogswar.ru/voennaia-aviaciia/samolety/6399-istrebitel-dh112-ve.html
Author:
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Manager
    Manager 12 November 2012 10: 23
    +4
    Interesting project
  2. Brother Sarych
    Brother Sarych 12 November 2012 10: 30
    +2
    I have never heard of such a plane! I first read about Vampire in the magazine Around the World, either thirty or nearly forty years ago - there was a story about how in some Latin American country (I don’t remember exactly, it’s not Cuba, but maybe it is) the rebels fought these planes. The dictator received a squadron of new aircraft and they had to be destroyed. We got out the bombs and agreed with the owner of the old Dakota, but the police covered the transport with bombs. Then someone decided to bomb with ordinary bricks - nets with bricks were hung on the bomb racks and with such "ammunition" they flew to the bombardment. In general, they "bombed" successfully, all opponents were destroyed on the ground, although the last Vampire had to be rammed on takeoff ...
    After this story, I tried to find out what the Vampire plane was ...
    1. InkGrey
      InkGrey 12 November 2012 16: 46
      +1
      About 10 years ago I got a book of the publishing house "AST" and it was called "Jet planes". It describes about 300 models and modifications of various military aircraft. Each page looked like this: a side view of the aircraft, below a third of the page is a description of the history and main differences of a particular modification, and below is a plate with characteristics. I cannot vouch for the accuracy of the plate, but I learned about many models and experimental samples from this book. The same Venoms there - 3 modifications are described. A little earlier - several Vampires, a little further - Sea Vixen. Try, if you're interested, to find in pdf - maybe it is.
  3. Num lock U.A.
    Num lock U.A. 16 November 2012 21: 24
    0
    http://www.airwar.ru/enc/fighter/dh112.html
    there are others who need

Английский палубный всепогодный истребитель-бомбардировщик «DH.112 Sea Venom» (1947-1965гг)

Новый реактивный палубный самолет разработали на базе истребителя «Vampire». В начальном проекте он получил новый турбореактивный двигатель «Ghost Мк.10З» и получил название «Vampire FB.Mk.8». Разработка велась с 1947 года, когда для смены на вооружении «Sea Hornet», дается заказ на создание малой серии в 30 машин «Sea Venom» для вооружения авианосцев «Bulwark» и «Centaur». В это же время компания «de Havilland» уже спроектировала на базе одноместного истребителя его двухместный вариант «Venom NF.Мк.2» - ночной всепогодный истребитель с РЛС.

Именно эта модификация и становится после успешных испытаний прототипом для разработки самолета палубного базирования. Первый прототип получил название «Venom NF.Мк.20». Его оснастили агрегатами и механизмами позволяющими стартовать с катапульты и производить посадку используя тормозной гак. Испытания начали проходить два опытных образца.

В следующих опытных образцах появились устройства для складывания законцовок, амортизаторы шасси выполняют с широким ходом, под кили установили бамперы для защиты оперения при взлете/посадке.


Первый вылет истребитель «Vampire» с двигателем «Ghost Мк.10З» совершил 02.09.1949 года и в дальнейшем стал основой для создания серийных истребителей наземного базирования (ВВС). Первый вылет прототипа палубного самолета «Sea Venom» состоялся 19.04.1951 года.

Английский палубный всепогодный истребитель-бомбардировщик «DH.112 Sea Venom» (1947-1965гг)


Экипаж прототипа состоял из пилота и штурман-оператора РЛС, сидящие в кабине один за другим под фонарем откидывающим назад. Через месяц палубный прототип вошел с состав опытовой эскадрильи под литерой «С». Начинаются испытания посадок на морские носители на тормозном гаке.

Первый прототип терпит аварию 27.08.1952 года. Самолет, после катапультного старта так и не смог набрать высоту и через 5 километров рухнул. Второй прототип успешно продолжал испытательные полеты и посадки – совершил первую ночную посадку на авианосец. В начале 1953, прототип прошел модернизацию и продолжил выполнять испытательные полеты. В 1954 году на прототипе закончили выполнять различные испытательные полеты. В 1956 году самолет разбирают на запчасти.

Первый «DH.112 Venom» под индексом «FB.Mk.1» поступил в ВВС во второй половине 1952 года. Он также поступил на вооружение в ВВС ФРГ, некоторых стран Ближнего/Дальнего Востока, Новой Зеландии. Следующие модификации NF.Mk.2/3 выполненные уже как ночные 2 местные истребители поступают на вооружение в 1953 году. Они также стояли на вооружении Шведских ВВС. Швейцария в свое время приобрела лицензию на производство «Vampire FB.Mk.6». В 1953 году в Швейцарии начали производство партии данных самолетов, которые были модернизированы до базовой версии FB.Mk.1 «DH.112 Venom». Кроме того, швейцарские конструкторы внесли модификации в носовую часть с установкой оборудования связи УВЧ. В конструкции самолета был усилен центроплан, для обеспечения возможности вооружения блоками НАР. Стандартные пушки получили блоки сборников снарядных лент.

Sea Venom
Первые серийные палубные самолеты получили название «FAW.Mk.20». Он был обеспечен усиленной конструкцией для эксплуатации взлета с катапульты, складывающие части крыла получили силовые приводы, и другим оборудованием и механизмами характерными при использовании авиации с морских носителей. На вооружение данная модификация поступает в 1954 году. В дальнейшем его также принимают на вооружение ВМС Франции и Австралии.

Английский палубный всепогодный истребитель-бомбардировщик «DH.112 Sea Venom» (1947-1965гг)


Устройство и конструкция
FAW.Mk.20 несли несимметричные фонари 2 местной кабины, переработанное под морской вариант оборудование. В третьей модификации фонарь обеспечили системой аварийного сброса (катапультируемые кресла). Для возможности взлета с палубы максимально загруженного самолета на хвостовые балки доустанавливали 6 пороховых ускорителей. Турбореактивный двигатель был установлен в корме фюзеляжа, воздухозаборники были выполнены в корне крыла, что позволило обеспечить хорошую тягу установленному ТРД. В носовой части самолета было достаточно места для размещение РЛС «AI Мк.10». Стойки гидравлически убирались в крыло (основные) и в специальный отсек расположенный за РЛС (передняя). На крыле выполнены закрылки и воздушные двухсекционные тормоза.

Вооружение серийного «Sea Venom» - 4 малокалиберных пушки калибра 20мм с общим боезапасом 600 выстрелов. Орудия располагались в нижней части кабины. Под крылом имелись держатели для подвески НАР или авиационных бомб, общей массой 900 килограмм.

Развитие самолета – модификации
FAW.Мк.20 поучился довольно сложной машины при эксплуатации, поэтому вместо требуемых 60 машин было серийно выпущено только 50 машин. В серию запускают следующую модификацию «FAW.Мк.21». Палубный истребитель-бомбардировщик получил усовершенствованный двигатель «Ghost Мк.104», усиленное шасси, обновленный тормозной крюк, новое пилотное кресло, обеспечивающее лучший обзор и новую РЛС «APS-57» американского производства. Первый серийный самолет этой серии поднялся в небо в 1954 году. Всего было выпущено порядка 170 самолетов «FAW.Мк.21».

Английский палубный всепогодный истребитель-бомбардировщик «DH.112 Sea Venom» (1947-1965гг)


Следующая модификация «FAW.Мк.22» начала выпускаться в 1955 году. В 1956 году были доведены до данной модификации часть самолетов «FAW.Мк.21». Самолет получает улучшенный двигатель «Ghost Мк.105»,обеспечивший лучшую скорость подъема (предельная высота полета в 12.2 километров достигалась за 12 минут). В 1957 году самолеты всех модификаций «Sea Venom» усиленно эксплуатировались - военный конфликт «Суэцкий кризис».

Основные модификации:
- FAW.Mk 20 – базовая версия палубного самолета «Sea Venom»;
- FAW.Mk 21 – модификация базовой версии с улучшенным оборудованием;
- FAW.Mk 22 – последняя серийная модификация. Улучшенный двигатель, возможность использования ракет класса «воздух-воздух», катапультные кресла;
- Mk 52 – название французского варианта «Sea Venom»;

Английский палубный всепогодный истребитель-бомбардировщик «DH.112 Sea Venom» (1947-1965гг)


- Mk 53 – название австралийского варианта «Sea Venom».

Дальнейшая судьба «Sea Venom»
Последний палубный самолет «Sea Venom» был списан со флота в 1965 году. Однако многие экземпляры остались «в воздухе» в качестве учебных или испытательных самолетов. Последний из учебных самолетов был списан в 1970 году. Боевая служба самолетов серии «Sea Venom» - более 16 лет. Он использовался во всех конфликтах 1950 годов странами имевших его на вооружении. Являясь предшественником «Vampire», он сам со временем стал основой для создания палубного двухдвигательного самолета «Sea Vixen».

Английский палубный всепогодный истребитель-бомбардировщик «DH.112 Sea Venom» (1947-1965гг)


Основные характеристики:
- экипаж – 1 пилот и 1 штурман-оператор;
- крыло – 13.06 метра;
- длина – 11.1 метра;
- высота – 2.6 метра;
- вес пустой/макс – 5.2/7.1 тонны;
- двигатель – ТРД серии «Gnost» (в зависимости от модификации);
- тяга «Ghost Мк.105» - 2400 кгс;
- скорость подъема до 30 м/с;
- скорость до 930 км/ч;
- дальность действия до 1100 километров;
- высотный потолок – 12.2 километра;
- вооружение: 4 пушки «Hispano Mk.5» калибра 20мм, НАР или авиабомбы до 900 килограмм (8 узлов подвески). Бомбы калибра 113/227 кг, НАР до 4 пусковых 2Х76мм.


Источники информации:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/De_Havilland_Sea_Venom
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/fighter/seavenom.html
http://www.dogswar.ru/voennaia-aviaciia/samolety/6399-istrebitel-dh112-ve.html
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. Манагер 12 ноября 2012 10:23
    Интересный проект
  2. Братец Сарыч 12 ноября 2012 10:30
    Про такой самолет я и не слышал! Вот про Вампир впервые прочитал в журнале Вокруг света не то тридцать, не то под сорок лет назад - была рассказ, как в какой-то латиноамериканской стране (не помню точно, вроде не Куба, но может и она) повстанцы боролись с этими самолетами. Диктатор получил эскадрилью новых самолетов и их надо было уничтожить. Достали авиабомбы и договорились с владельцем старой Дакоты, но полиция транспорт с бомбами накрыла. Тогда кто-то решил бомбить обычными кирпичами - на бомбодержатели повесили сетки с кирпичами и с таким "боезапасом" вылетели на бомбардировку. В общем "отбомбились" удачно, все противники были уничтожены на земле,правда последний Вампир пришлось таранить на взлете...
    После этой истории я и постарался узнать, что из себя представлял самолет Вампир...
    Братец Сарыч
    1. InkGrey 12 ноября 2012 16:46
      Лет 10 назад у меня появилась книга издательства "АСТ" и называлась она "Реактивные самолеты". Описаны там около 300 моделей и модификаций различных самолетов военного назначения. Каждая страница выглядела так: вид самолета сбоку, ниже треть страницы описание истории и основных отличий конкретной модификации и ниже табличка с характеристиками. За точность таблички не ручаюсь, но о многих моделях и экспериментальных образцах узнал из этой книги. Тех же Веномов там - 3 модификации описано. Чуть раньше - несколько Вампиров, чуть дальше - Sea Vixen. Попробуйте, если интересно, в pdf найти - может и есть.
      InkGrey
  3. Num Lock UA 16 ноября 2012 21:24
    http://www.airwar.ru/enc/fighter/dh112.html
    там и другие есть, кому надо
    Num Lock UA

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня