Military Review

Messerschmitt Me 264 - ultra-long range reconnaissance and bomber

11
In March 1941, RLM issued to Messerschmitt an official order to develop a four-engine super-long-range aircraft that could carry out raids into the United States with a load of about 2 and a range of about 15000 km to spread over American cities, for example, propaganda leaflets. RLM, then under the direction of Ernst Udet, ordered three prototypes and 30 production aircraft.



The United States of America has not officially entered the war yet, but as a “neutral state”, Great Britain was greatly assisted by supplying it with various weapons (for example, the British were given about 50 warships), and besides, they very often violated the rules of warfare sea. The official declaration of the war of Germany followed in December 1941, when the position of active neutrality of Americans more and more often remained so only on paper.



Messerschmitt Me 264 VI, equipped with Junker Jumo 109-211 motors


X-ray of Messerschmitt Me 264 in flight

However, before the implementation of the order is not reached. After the death of Udet, RLM's interest in the project noticeably cooled. Work continued, but there was no question of urgency categories and additional staff. And even the positive calculated flight characteristics, which provided the vehicle with a long-range reconnaissance mission or a long-range bomber (as suggested by Messerschmitt), could not raise interest in the project from the RLM. Messerschmitt Me 264 VI still made its first flight in December 1942. With relatively weak engines, he showed good flight data. Further test flights confirmed the high calculated flight characteristics and gave impetus to the further development of the Me 264.

Variants of the aircraft with six piston engines and additional jet engines, samples with four powerful BMW 109-018 TRDs or two BMW 109-02S turboprop engines were envisaged as further modifications to the project.


Color image of Messerschmitt Me 264 with four turbofan engines

However, even with the basic Me 264 variant and the plan envisaged for equipping the machine with more powerful Jumo 109-213 engines, things progressed extremely slowly. In May, 1944 of the year Me 264 VI was completely destroyed by incendiary bombs. Me 264 V2 also suffered from air raids, and the corresponding repair was never carried out because of the constantly deteriorating martial law of Germany.

Tactical and technical characteristics of the Me 264 VI
Wingspan Length Height
Wing area Wing extension Take-off weight Speed ​​Range Engines
43,00 M
20,90 m
4,30 m
127,70 m2
14,5

Armament Shooting point A Shooting point B1 Shooting point B2 Shooting point C Shooting point D
1MG131 1 MG 131 1 MG 151
1 MG 151
2 MG 151

STROKES TO BIOGRAPHY OF CAPTAIN Karl Baur

1913 - Karl Baur was born on November 13 in Laichingen (Württemberg).
1930 - After school and exams, Karl Baur makes his first glider flight. Together with his friend Wolf Hirt, he belonged to the pioneers of this sport.
1936 - Engineer Experimental Research Institute of Aerodynamics in Göttingen.
1940 - Design Engineer and Test Pilot at Messerschmitt AG in Augsburg. Karl Baur is actively involved in the development of the Me 223 “Giant” wide-body transport aircraft.
1942 - Head of the flight test service of the company Messerschmitt. Test flights on the Me 261 long-range scout and Me 264 long-range bomber (“bomber for America”). There was no such machine Messerschmitt, which would not fly this pilot.
1945 - After the end of the war, Karl Baur goes to the USA, where, as the lead engineer of the VIS, the Vogue Aircraft Company is responsible for the testing of deck bombers. 1963 - Karl Baur died in the USA at the age of 50.



Captain Carl Baur (1913-1963) next to Messerschmitt Me 264 - “bomber for America”. There was no such machine Messerschmitt, which would not fly this pilot.
11 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. tomket
    tomket 26 January 2013 09: 51
    +1
    it looks like a B-29 with a glazing, and so, well, they would have built a couple of dozen and also in 44 they would be thrown at our tank columns in the afternoon without cover, like XE-177, there they would all have disappeared, although not before in Stalingrad as transport workers would be knocked out.
    1. Civil
      Civil 26 January 2013 12: 33
      +3
      sorry engineer ubuzhil in the United States, we would also be useful!
      1. Axel
        Axel 27 January 2013 11: 29
        -1
        Quote: Civil
        sorry engineer ubuzhil in the United States, we would also be useful!

        You must have your own engineers, not shoot!
        1. Zerstorer
          Zerstorer 27 January 2013 14: 22
          +1
          Yes, we had like engineers from Junkers. And by the way, they did not complain about life.
  2. Mik rybalko
    Mik rybalko 26 January 2013 10: 44
    +2
    Yes, attack the tank column protected by air defense and fighter jets, do not kill civilians at night
  3. Thunderbolt
    Thunderbolt 26 January 2013 12: 47
    0
    a four-engine ultra-long-range aircraft that could carry out raids on the territory of the United States with a cargo of about 2 tons and a range of about 15000 km to scatter over American cities, for example, propaganda leaflets. laughing Indeed, why else do you need such a plane? winked
    1. does it
      does it 26 January 2013 22: 23
      +3
      for example, in order to deliver a nuclear bomb to the United States with its subsequent discharge
      1. Thunderbolt
        Thunderbolt 26 January 2013 22: 31
        -2
        Yes, nuclear weapons will be more substantial than informational
      2. Alex
        Alex 21 October 2013 12: 38
        +2
        for example, in order to deliver a nuclear bomb to the United States with its subsequent discharge

        And where to get it, this nuclear bomb? In the future, hit the road and hang from someone?
  4. Mik rybalko
    Mik rybalko 26 January 2013 14: 28
    +4
    What is famous for heavy bombers ?? B-29 plane civilian storm barbaric bombing of Japanese cities with incendiary bombs, savage essentially bombed the outskirts to destroy as many civilians as possible, not to mention the act of barbaric atomic strikes against a defeated enemy!
    And in Europe, the B-17 and Lancaster also mainly engaged in this. Rare raids on German factories and the railway network do not count, as did the actions of the 617th Air Force squadron.
  5. Chicot 1
    Chicot 1 27 January 2013 12: 06
    +3
    The bomber is quite interesting. For its time, it was a good enough car ... And it’s good that the Germans didn’t have enough strength to put it into series. Since, in this case, I do not presume to judge if he would fly overseas with leaflets or not, but he would work for objects on the territory of the Soviet Union for sure ...

Мессершмитт Me 264 - сверхдальний разведчик и бомбардировщик

В марте 1941 года RLM выдало фирме Мессершмитта официальный заказ на разработку четырехмоторного сверхдальнего самолета, который мог бы с грузом около 2 т и дальностью полета около 15000 км совершать налеты на территорию США, чтобы разбрасывать над американскими городами, например, пропагандистские листовки. RLM, тогда еще под руководством Эрнста Удета, заказало три опытных образца и 30 серийных самолетов.

Мессершмитт Me 264 - сверхдальний разведчик и бомбардировщик


Соединенные Штаты Америки официально пока не вступили в войну, однако как «нейтральное государство» оказывали Великобритании огромную помощь, снабжая ее различным вооружением (так, британцам было предоставлено около 50 военных кораблей), а кроме того, сплошь и рядом нарушали правила ведения военных действий на море. Официальное объявление войны Германии последовало в декабре 1941 года, когда позиция активного нейтралитета американцев все чаще и чаще оставалась таковой лишь на бумаге.



Мессершмитт Me 264 - сверхдальний разведчик и бомбардировщик

Мессершмитт Me 264 VI, оснащенный моторами Юнкере Jumo 109-211

Мессершмитт Me 264 - сверхдальний разведчик и бомбардировщик

«Рентгеновский снимок» Мессершмитта Me 264 в полете

Однако до выполнения заказа дело не дошло. После гибели Удета интерес RLM к проекту заметно охладел. Работы продолжались, но при этом не было никакой речи о категориях срочности и дополнительном персонале. И даже положительные расчетные летные характеристики, которые обеспечивали машине применение в качестве разведчика дальнего действия или дальнего бомбардировщика (как это предлагалось Мессершмиттом), так и не смогли повысить интерес к проекту со стороны RLM. Мессершмитт Me 264 VI все же совершил свой первый полет в декабре 1942 года. При относительно слабых моторах он показал хорошие летные данные. Дальнейшие испытательные полеты подтвердили высокие расчетные летные характеристики и послужили толчком для дальнейшего развития машины Me 264.

Варианты самолета с шестью поршневыми моторами и дополнительными реактивными двигателями, образцы с четырьмя мощными ТРД BMW 109-018 или двумя турбовинтовыми двигателями BMW 109-02S предусматривались в качестве дальнейших модификаций проекта.

Мессершмитт Me 264 - сверхдальний разведчик и бомбардировщик

Цветное изображение Мессершмитта Me 264 с четырьмя ТРД

Однако даже с основным вариантом Me 264 и предусмотренным планом оснащения машины более мощными двигателями Jumo 109-213 дело продвигалось крайне медленно. В мае 1944 года Me 264 VI был полностью уничтожен зажигательными бомбами. Me 264 V2 также пострадал от воздушных налетов, а соответствующий ремонт так и не был проведен из-за постоянно ухудшающегося военного положения Германии.

Тактико-технические характеристики Me 264 VI
Размах крыла Длина Высота
Площадь крыла Удлинение крыла Взлетный вес Скорость Дальность Двигатели
43,00 М
20,90 м
4,30 м
127,70 м2
14,5

Вооружение Стрелковая точка А Стрелковая точка В1 Стрелковая точка В2 Стрелковая точка С Стрелковая точка D
1MG131 1 MG 131 1 MG 151
1 MG 151
2 MG 151

ШТРИХИ К БИОГРАФИИ капитана Карла Баура

1913 - Карл Баур родился 13 ноября в г. Лайхингене (Вюртемберг).
1930 - После учебы и экзаменов Карл Баур совершает свой первый полет на планере. Вместе со своим другом Вольфом Хиртом он принадлежал к пионерам этого вида спорта.
1936 - Инженер Экспериментального НИИ аэродинамики в Гёттингене.
1940 - Инженер-конструктор и летчик-испытатель на предприятии «Мессершмитт АГ» в Аугсбурге. Карл Баур активно участвует в разработке широкофюзеляжного транспортного самолета Me 223 «Гигант».
1942 - Руководитель летно-испытательной службы фирмы Мессершмитта. Испытательные полеты на разведчике дальнего действия Me 261 и дальнем бомбардировщике Me 264 («бомбардировщик для Америки»). Не существовало такой машины Мессершмитта, которую не облетывал бы этот пилот.
1945 - После окончания войны Карл Баур отправляется в США, где в качестве ведущего инженера ЛИСа авиафирмы «Воуг» отвечает за испытания палубных бомбардировщиков. 1963 - Карл Баур умер в США в возрасте 50 лет.


Мессершмитт Me 264 - сверхдальний разведчик и бомбардировщик

Капитан Карл Баур (1913-1963) рядом с Мессершмиттом Me 264 -«бомбардировщиком для Америки». Не существовало такой машины Мессершмитта, которую не облетывал бы этот пилот.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 11
  1. tomket 26 января 2013 09:51
    остеклением на Б-29 похож,а так,ну построили б пару десятков и так же в 44 стали бы их бросать на наши танковые колонны днем без прикрытия ,как ХЕ-177,там бы все они и сгинули ,хотя нет ,раньше под Сталинградом в качестве транспортников выбили бы.
    1. Гражданский 26 января 2013 12:33
      жаль инженер уубежал в США, нам бы тоже пригодился!
      1. Axel 27 января 2013 11:29
        Цитата: Гражданский
        жаль инженер уубежал в США, нам бы тоже пригодился!

        Своих инженеров надо иметь , а не расстреливать !
        Axel
        1. Zerstorer 27 января 2013 14:22
          Да у нас были вроде с Юнкерса инженеры были. И на жизнь, кстати, они не жаловались.
  2. Mik Rybalko 26 января 2013 10:44
    Да атаковать танковую колонну защищенную ПВО и истребителями, не мирное население по ночам убивать
    Mik Rybalko
  3. Громобой 26 января 2013 12:47
    четырехмоторного сверхдальнего самолета, который мог бы с грузом около 2 т и дальностью полета около 15000 км совершать налеты на территорию США, чтобы разбрасывать над американскими городами, например, пропагандистские листовки. laughing Действительно,зачем ещё нужен такой самолёт? winked
    1. квирит 26 января 2013 22:23
      к примеру что-бы доставить ядерную бомбу ,на территорию сша с последующим ее сбросом
      1. Громобой 26 января 2013 22:31
        Да уж,ЯО посущественнее будет,чем информационное
      2. Алекс 21 октября 2013 12:38
        к примеру что-бы доставить ядерную бомбу ,на территорию сша с последующим ее сбросом

        И где её взять, эту ядерную бомбу? В будущее смотаться да свиснуть у кого-нибуть?
  4. Mik Rybalko 26 января 2013 14:28
    Чем прославились тяжёлые бомбовозы?? Б-29 самолёт гроза мирного населения варварские бомбёжки японских городов зажигательными бомбами, изуверские по сути бомбили окраины что бы уничтожить как можно больше мирного населения, не говоря уже про акт варварских атомных ударов по поверженному противнику!
    А в Европе Б-17 и Ланкастер тоже в основном этим и занимались. Редкие налёты на заводы и железнодорожную сеть Германии не в счёт, как и действия 617-й эскадрильи ВВС.
    Mik Rybalko
  5. Chicot 1 27 января 2013 12:06
    Бомбер достаточно интересен. Для своего времени это была достаточно хорошая машина... И благо, что у немцев не хватило тямы пустить ее в серию. Поскольку, в этом случае не берусь судить про то, летал бы он за океан с листовками или не летал, а вот по объектам на территории Советского Союза работал бы точно...

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня