Military Review

Experimental fighter with UVP T-58VD Dry

2
T-58VD - an experimental fighter developed at the Sukhoi Design Bureau, having a short take-off and landing. This machine to improve the Su-15 had nothing to do. The T-58VD was used as a flying laboratory under the program for creating the T-6-1, an attack aircraft with a short take-off and landing, from which the Su-24 front-line bomber leads its pedigree. At that time in the world the idea of ​​improving takeoff and landing characteristics by installing additional PDs (lifting engines) was very popular. For example, in France, the experimental Dassault Balzac was tested, in England - Short SC.1. It was necessary to pay for the improvement of take-off and landing characteristics by reducing the combat load and significantly reducing the flight range, however, the inefficiency of the chosen scheme did not seem obvious then. This was a "growth disease" of the military aviationsymptoms of which have been noted in various countries.

Experimental fighter with UVP T-58VD Dry


6 May 1965 of the year issued an order from the Ministry of Anti-Monopoly Policy, according to which the Sukhoi design bureau was entrusted with the construction of a flying laboratory for field inspections of FOC regimes. The car was given the designation T-58VD. The plane was created on the basis of the first experienced fighter Su-15. In this case, the aircraft fuselage was modified. Between the air channels, in one row, at an angle of 10 degrees to the vertical, 3 elevating engines RD-36-35 (thrust of each 2540 kgf) were installed. The upper part of the fuselage was equipped with two opening air intake flaps: the front for one engine, the back for two. At the bottom of the set managed profiled blinds, having two working positions, ensuring the deflection of the jet of gases. The construction of the T-58VD was completed in December 1965 of the year, after which the mining on the special stand began. The stand was a platform with a metal coating, to which the aircraft was moored, as well as the NK-12 engine, installed in front of the platform as a fan, creating a kind of shaped wind tunnel. The flow at the exit of the pipe made it possible to simulate the run-up of the aircraft at speeds up to 400 km / h. Bench tests allowed to work out all the main systems of the T-58VD fighter. Unfortunately, it didn’t go without state of emergency: in February, 1966 of the year Ukhov died, a power plant laboratory mechanic who inadvertently approached the nose of the aircraft when the fan unit was in operation.

26 April 1966, the aircraft was relocated to LIiDB. Leading test engineer left Yarkarkov, and Solovyov was appointed the leading pilot. In June, conducted taxiing and approach with the inclusion of PD. 6 July Solovyov performed the first flight on the T-58VD, with the lifting engines are not involved. Flight tests with the inclusion of PD started in late July. Until the end of the year, 19 taxiways and fly-ins were carried out, including taxiing on a dirt lane and 37 flights. It was found that with lift engines turned on, the take-off speed decreased from 390 to 285 kilometers per hour, and the landing speed decreased from 315 to 225, the takeoff length decreased from 1170 meters to 500, and the run from 1000 meters to 560. On takeoff, the aircraft's behavior with the included lift engines practically did not differ from the usual Su-15. However, landing, performed at lower speeds, was significantly hampered by a significant converging moment, to eliminate which it was necessary to turn off the front RD-36-35.



Tests of the experimental aircraft continued until the end of 1967 year. They showed that the benefits derived from improved takeoff and landing performance are overlapping with disadvantages. The jet of hot air from lifting engines had a negative effect on the elements of the car, the runway and did not allow the payload to be hung under the fuselage. Significant also were the reduction in weight output and the reduction in fuel reserves (3970 kg). In addition to Solovyov, only Ilyushin flew on T-58VD, having performed an 1967 flight in March 3, in preparation for the testing of an experienced T6-1. In the period from 1968 to 1969, the flying laboratory flew sporadically into the air, then LIiDB stood "at the fence" for a long time. In 1976, it was transferred to MAI for use as a training tool. However, the T-58VD century turned out to be short-lived there too: already in 1980, it was cut for scrap.



Aircraft performance characteristics:
Modification - T-58VD;
Wingspan - 8,62 m;
The length of the aircraft - 22,07 m;
The height of the aircraft - 5,00 m;
Wing area - 34,56 m2;
Empty weight - 10800 kg;
Maximum take-off weight - 15500 kg;
Type of main engines - 2 TRDF R-11F2C-300;
Type of lifting engines - 3 TRD RD-36-35;
The main engines - 2 x 6175 kgf;
Hoisting engine - 3 x 2540 kgf;
Maximum speed - 2000 km / h;
Landing speed - 225 km / h;
Practical ceiling - 18500 m;
Practical range - 1550 km;
The length of the run-up with PTB - 500 m;
Run length - 560 m;
Maximum operating overload - 6,5;
Crew - 1 man;
Armament - 2 medium-range air-to-air guided missiles equipped with P-98 or P-8 semi-active radar and infrared guidance systems. PTB can be replaced with two containers UPK-23-250 with guns GSH-23L (250 shells, caliber 23 mm).

2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. neri73-r
    neri73-r 15 November 2012 11: 46
    0
    Interesting!!!
  2. MilaPhone
    MilaPhone 15 November 2012 15: 52
    -1
    Aircraft Dassault Balzac (France) и Short SC.1 (UK) - vertical take-off and landing aircraft (VTOL) therefore it would be more appropriate here MiG-23 PD (Leading engineer V.A. Mikoyan).
    А UVP T-58VD Sukhoi must be compared with Mig-21 PD .
    Article +

Экспериментальный истребитель с УВП Т-58ВД Сухой

Т-58ВД – разработанный в ОКБ Сухого экспериментальный истребитель, имеющий укороченный взлет и посадку. Данная машина к совершенствованию Су-15 не имела никакого отношения. Т-58ВД использовался как летающая лаборатория по программе создания Т-6-1 – ударного самолета укороченного взлета и посадки, от которого ведет свою родословную фронтовой бомбардировщик Су-24. В то время в мире сама идея улучшить взлетно-посадочные характеристики за счет установки дополнительных ПД (подъемных двигателей) была очень популярной. Например, во Франции испытывали опытный самолет Dassault Balzac, в Англии – Short SC.1. За улучшение взлетно-посадочных характеристик пришлось заплатить снижением боевой нагрузки и существенным уменьшением дальности полета, однако неэффективность выбранной схемы тогда очевидной не казалась. Это было «болезнью роста» военной авиации, симптомы которой были отмечены в различных странах.

Экспериментальный истребитель с УВП Т-58ВД Сухой


6 мая 1965 года вышел приказ МАП, по которому ОКБ Сухого поручалась постройка летающей лаборатории для натурных проверок режимов КВП. Машине дали обозначение Т-58ВД. Самолет создавался на базе первого опытного истребителя Су-15. При этом был доработан фюзеляж самолета. Между воздушными каналами, в один ряд, под углом 10 градусов к вертикали установили 3 подъемных двигателя РД-36-35 (тяга каждого 2540 кгс). Верхняя часть фюзеляжа оснащалась двумя открывающимися створками воздухозаборника: передняя для одного двигателя, задняя для двух. В нижней части установили управляемые профилированные жалюзи, имеющие два рабочих положения, обеспечивающих отклонение струи газов. Постройку Т-58ВД завершили в декабре 1965 года, после чего начались отработки на спецстенде. Стенд представлял собой площадку, имеющую металлическое покрытие, к которой швартовался самолет, а также двигатель НК-12, установленный перед площадкой в качестве вентилятора создавая некое подобие профилированной аэродинамической трубы. Поток на выходе из трубы давал возможность имитировать разбег самолета на скорости до 400 км/ч. Стендовые испытания позволили отработать все основные системы истребителя Т-58ВД. Без ЧП, к сожалению, не обошлось: в феврале 1966 года погиб Ухов, механик лаборатории силовых установок, неосторожно приблизившийся к носовой части самолета при работе вентиляторной установки.


26 апреля 1966 года самолет был перебазирован на ЛИиДБ. Ведущим инженером по испытаниям оставили Ярмаркова, а ведущим летчиком назначили Соловьев. В июне провели рулежки и подлеты с включением ПД. 6 июля Соловьев выполнил первый полет на Т-58ВД, при этом подъемные двигатели не задействовали. Летные испытания с включением ПД начали в конце июля. До конца года осуществили 19 рулежек и подлетов, включая рулежки на грунтовой полосе и 37 полетов. Было установлено, что при включенных подъемных двигателях взлетная скорость снижалась с 390 до 285 километров в час, а посадочная - с 315 до 225, длина разбега уменьшалась с 1170 метров до 500, а пробега - с 1000 метров до 560. На взлете поведение самолета с включенными подъемными двигателями от обычного Су-15 практически не отличалось. Однако посадка, выполняемая на меньших скоростях, существенно затруднялась значительным кабрирующим моментом, для устранения которого нужно было отключать передний РД-36-35.

Экспериментальный истребитель с УВП Т-58ВД Сухой


Испытания экспериментального самолета продолжались до конца 1967 года. Они показали, что выгоды, получаемые от улучшения взлетно-посадочных характеристик, с лихвой перекрываются недостатками. Струя горячего воздуха от подъемных двигателей негативно влияла на элементы машины, взлетно-посадочную полосу и не позволяла подвешивать полезную нагрузку под фюзеляжем. Существенными также оказались снижение весовой отдачи и уменьшение запаса топлива (3970 кг). На Т-58ВД кроме Соловьева летал только Ильюшин, выполнивший в марте 1967 года 3 полета в рамках подготовки к испытаниям опытного Т6-1. В период с 1968 по 1969 годы летающая лаборатория в воздух поднималась эпизодически, затем долго стояла «у забора» ЛИиДБ. В 1976 году ее передали в МАИ для использования в качестве учебного пособия. Однако век Т-58ВД и там оказался недолгим: уже в 1980 году его разрезали на металлолом.

Экспериментальный истребитель с УВП Т-58ВД Сухой


Летно-технические характеристики:
Модификация - Т-58ВД;
Размах крыла – 8,62 м;
Длина самолета – 22,07 м;
Высота самолета – 5,00 м;
Площадь крыла – 34,56 м2;
Масса пустого самолета – 10800 кг;
Максимальная взлетная масса – 15500 кг;
Тип основных двигателей - 2 ТРДФ Р-11Ф2С-300;
Тип подъемных двигателей - 3 ТРД РД-36-35;
Тяга основных двигателей - 2 х 6175 кгс;
Тяга подъемных двигателей – 3 х 2540 кгс;
Максимальная скорость – 2000 км/ч;
Посадочная скорость - 225 км/ч;
Практический потолок – 18500 м;
Практическая дальность – 1550 км;
Длина разбега с ПТБ – 500 м;
Длина пробега – 560 м;
Максимальная эксплуатационная перегрузка – 6,5;
Экипаж – 1 человек;
Вооружение – 2 управляемые ракеты класса воздух-воздух средней дальности, оснащенные полуактивной радиолокационной и инфракрасным системами наведения Р-98 или Р-8М. ПТБ могут быть заменены двумя контейнерами УПК-23-250 с пушками ГШ-23Л (250 снарядов, калибр 23 мм).

Экспериментальный истребитель с УВП Т-58ВД Сухой


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. neri73-r 15 ноября 2012 11:46
    Интересно!!!
  2. Милафон 15 ноября 2012 15:52
    Самолёты Dassault Balzac(Франция) и Short SC.1(Великобритания) - самолёты вертикального взлёта и посадки (СВВП ) поэтому уместней здесь был бы МиГ-23 ПД (ведущий инженер В.А. Микоян).
    А УВП Т-58ВД Сухой надо сравнивать с Миг-21 ПД .
    Статье +
    Милафон

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня