Military Review

648 Athens-Cairo Flight Tragedy

7
Hostage-taking is the most common reception of any terrorists. Often gangsters capture and airliners. In the limited space of the aircraft it is easy for them to control the situation and the prisoners. The special services, who are trying to free the hostages, have to act in very difficult conditions. Therefore, very often such operations end in tears both for prisoners and for fighters of special units. An example of this is the notorious operation to free the hostages of the Egyptian Boeing 737 in Malta.

648 Athens-Cairo Flight Tragedy


In the evening of November 23, the 1985 of the 648 flight from Athens airport to the capital of Egypt went to the EgyptAir airliner. On board were ten crew members and ninety-eight passengers. Some time after takeoff, five young guys got up from their seats, announcing that the plane had been hijacked. They had pistols and grenades in their hands, which they somehow managed to carry through the airport security monitoring station. After that, they headed for the cockpit. Using the onboard special equipment, the terrorists broke down the door to the cabin. Finding inventory was not difficult, while at the Boeing and Airbuses crowbar and hatchets were placed in the most conspicuous places and provided with pointers for proper use. Bursting to the pilots, the bandits ordered to go to Malta.

The airline EgyptAir was founded on 7 May 1932 of the year. It is fully owned by the government of Egypt and is the second largest airline in Africa. Since 11 July 2008, EgyptAir is part of the Star Alliance Alliance, becoming the first of the Middle East countries. Hosni Mubarak, who was a military pilot in his youth, patronized the airline in every way, taking it out of crisis in due time. Since June 2008, the EgyptAir emblem has become the golden image of the sky god Horus, painted as a man with a falcon head. The average age of the airline's aircraft is five years.


Then the air pirates began to transplant hostages. In the front of the plane near the door pushed the citizens of the United States, Israel and Canada. Thus, they all became a “human shield” from attempts to liberate them. In the middle of the cabin were citizens of Greece and the Philippines, who apparently did not cause any feelings to the bandits. In the rear, safe from the point of view of the militants of the "Boeing", placed the Arabs and children.

The first bloodshed occurred during the transplant. This aircraft, like all the rest of EgyptAir airlines used on foreign flights, was accompanied by armed guards disguised as ordinary passengers. On that day, there were four of them on board. Following the instructions, they did nothing until the situation was completely clarified. Later, their actions were justified, because when the number and armament of the bandits became known, the chances of success in the event of an attempt to neutralize them were very small. Nevertheless, one of the security staff, taking advantage of the confusion as a result of moving people, took out a pistol and fired at the nearest hijacker. But the bandits were on the alert, the agent literally covered a squall of bullets. Some of them have asked for a body liner. In an effort to reduce the difference in pressure and saving people from decompression in the cabin and the destruction of the vessel's plating, the pilot sent the plane sharply down, lining it only at a height of two thousand meters. During independent actions, the guard received heavy bullet wounds, while the terrorist got off with only a scratch.

In 20: 05 Boeing asked the dispatchers of the Luka airfield, that La Valetta is, permission to sit down. The Maltese refused them, putting out the landing lights. However, under the threat of terrorists the crew of the hijacked vessel still had to land the plane. In absolute darkness, they landed successfully, rushing a couple of centimeters from the Singapore-based Boeing -747.

And almost after the landing, the bandits began to shoot the hostages. The first was killed by a twenty-four-year-old Israeli woman. Putting the girl on his knees in the door of the plane, the gangsters shot her with a shot in the head. They shot the next Israeli in the mouth. Tourists from America were thrown out of the plane, having previously tied up their hands. A falling man was shot from several trunks. Then they killed two Jewish women from the United States. Their bodies were also thrown onto the airfield. After each murder, the terrorists laughed and sang songs.

The Maltese authorities, until the last moment, did not want to interfere in what was happening, but they could not get rid of uninvited guests. They gave permission for the landing of two military transport aircraft such as Hercules C-130, which brought the Egyptian anti-terrorist group Saka, which in our opinion means "Lightning", in the amount of twenty-five people.

Having landed, the specialists immediately began to prepare for an assault operation. In parallel with this, the administration of Malta and the representatives from Egypt that began to appear began negotiations. But the terrorists did not ask for anything. They refused money, the release of comrades, and the fulfillment of political demands. Later it became known that the seizure was carried out with one sole purpose - to kill all the hostages. The gangsters hoped to disgrace in the eyes of all mankind Hosni Mubarak, who, being the president of Egypt, was obliged to take full responsibility for what happened. "This is a complete" scumbag "! - said one of the negotiators about the results of the dialogue.

At this time, the fighters from the special forces, using special equipment, watched the captured "Boeing". The development of the situation left no options other than an assault. The group took a position under the belly of the aircraft in anticipation of the signal. But then the unexpected happened. The only lantern that burned above the entrance to the terminal went out. Who decided to turn it off, to find out and failed. The Maltese explained that they did it by order of the Egyptians. Egyptians blamed the airport employees. However, the bandits perceived the darkness as the beginning of the assault and managed to prepare for a reflection. The special forces of the Egyptians lost their only advantage - the element of surprise.

The first group of "Lightning" broke into the plane through the hatch for luggage in the cabin floor. At the same time, the second group undermined the emergency exit doors located above the wing. In the ensuing short battle, the terrorists managed to hurl three grenades. The crew also participated in the battle with air pirates. After the appearance of the special forces, one of the bandits jumped into the cockpit to shoot the pilots. But the captain of the ship Galal, having seized an emergency ax, killed the militant in a fight. Then both pilots smashed the window and jumped out. The shootout with the units of the “Lightning” ended in the death of three terrorists, and their leader, twenty-year-old Omar Morzuki, was wounded and captured.

Already at the very beginning of the assault, a fire began in the tail of the aircraft, quickly spreading through the entire avilayner. When the terrorists were eliminated, a fight with fire began. The commandos, the crew members and the passengers jumped out of the burning Boeing to the ground of the airfield. Fifty-nine people died as a result of the chaos and the absence of any rescue actions as a result of smoke poisoning. Thirty-seven passengers and crew members escaped from the fire, including an Egyptian guard seriously wounded. Many special forces were seriously burned and wounded during the battle.

Despite the fact that none of the terrorist groups has claimed responsibility, this act is attributed to the organization of Abu Nidal, one of the most dangerous terrorist leaders. This scumbag opposed any peaceful settlement of the Arab-Israeli conflict. His goal was to arrange a general Arab revolution for the liberation of occupied Palestine. The cells of his organization were scattered throughout the Middle East. Terrorist actions were committed by separate groups. Moreover, members of one cell did not know anything about the composition, activities, locations of others. Abu Nidal was found guilty of more than 120 terrorist attacks in twenty countries around the world. His favorite actions were attacks on airports, crowded places, abductions, contract killings, captures of ships and airplanes. In the course of these attacks, more than a thousand people died. The organization received tens of millions of dollars from its own business enterprises and racketeering. Iraq, Syria, Libya, Jordan provided logistical support, training and shelter to terrorists. 19 August 2002, the year of Abu Nidal found dead in Baghdad. According to the official version, he committed suicide.


Many useful lessons can be learned from this operation. For nothing teaches as well as the mistakes of the past. Judging by the results, the Lightning commanders underestimated the enemy. The youth of the bandits and their intoxication with the killings of unarmed people should have been alerted. It is clear that this is the handiwork of far from nervous and inexperienced adolescents. This is confirmed by an instantaneous reaction to an attempt to resist a security officer. Young guys, who decided to seize the aircraft, were terrible opponents, who gladly went to the world themselves and took as many hostages with them as possible.

It should also be taken into account that the plane was damaged during the shooting during the flight. Shots could touch the fuel system or electrical wiring. Overloads during the sharp decline only aggravated the condition of the vessel. Of course, the fuel line could be destroyed in the shootout during the attack. But it was just necessary to take into account such a probability in order to clearly understand what means can be used during the assault, and which not. Indeed, during the fight, the fighters actively used light and sound grenades. It is possible that they caused a fire on board the aircraft, igniting fuel vapors.

The only flashlight that was extinguished at the crucial moment says that no one conducted a briefing with the airport staff. Or he was superficial. Obviously, the actions of the staff no one took into account. They were not told what to do and what not under any circumstances. Maybe even one of the employees decided in this way to help the fighters. Later it was the lack of a clear instruction that led to mutual recriminations that did not allow to identify the true culprit.

At the beginning of the assault, nothing was used to distract the terrorists. Probably hoping for all the same sound and sound grenades. In Mogadishu, in 1977, GSG9 suddenly lit a bright fire near the plane. And the storming of the train in Holland was accompanied by the breaking of the sound barrier by two “mirages” over the car.

The fire on board the aircraft was a logical continuation of the shooting and use of mine-explosives. Therefore, one of the elements of actions to rescue hostages should have been a plan for their evacuation as a result of a fire, agreed with the airport employees. The evacuation of passengers should have been carried out by special forces soldiers. But the plan was absent, and no one worked on the passengers running in panic. This was the main cause of death for so many people.

Mr. Chance always intervenes in the course of events when people make mistakes and in assessing the situation, and in planning actions. Sometimes the cost of these errors is prohibitive. Unfortunately, Beslan is a clear confirmation of this ...
Author:
7 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Middle-brother
    Middle-brother 23 November 2012 10: 14
    0
    I can understand "terror for the sake of terror". To understand this, of course, is difficult, but if we proceed from the fact that the performers are complete scumbags, then it is possible. But the hostage-taking by bandits - why is this done? After all, there will be one outcome. I wonder if there have been "successful" captures and successful liberations (without sacrifices) in history?
    Article plus.
    1. desava
      desava 23 November 2012 13: 31
      +2
      The most spectacular and successful operation to free the hostages in my opinion was carried out by the Israelis at Enteba airport. From various sources scooped info on this operation. As for the tragedy being described, I read that things were a little different.
      1. Middle-brother
        Middle-brother 23 November 2012 16: 09
        0
        I’ve read about this operation now - effectively, you won’t say anything.
        Thanks for the interesting information. hi
  2. vladimirZ
    vladimirZ 23 November 2012 15: 46
    0
    Given the peculiarity of air transport, strict pre-flight control of passengers and baggage, video control of the behavior of passengers in the cabin is mandatory and justified. Here concessions should not be for anyone.
  3. Chern
    Chern 24 November 2012 00: 55
    0
    The reaction of the Maltese authorities is incomprehensible. Deny landing on a hijacked plane? Is it like - like my hut from the edge?
    1. desava
      desava 24 November 2012 10: 07
      0
      This is a normal reaction. Many airports in many countries prohibit the landing of hijacked aircraft.
  4. revnagan
    revnagan 25 November 2012 19: 47
    0
    Christmas trees, 5 terrorists in 1985 killed more Israelis than 100 Scud missiles in 2012. And yet it is not clear, if they wanted to destroy all the hostages, why sort them into amers, Israelis and the rest? Why didn't they blow up the plane right away, didn't crash it during landing? No, there is something "with flies."

Трагедия рейса 648 "Афины-Каир"

Захват заложников является самым распространенным приемом любых террористов. Зачастую бандиты захватывают и авиалайнеры. В ограниченном пространстве самолета им легко контролировать ситуацию и пленных людей. Спецслужбам же, пробующим освободить заложников, приходиться действовать в очень сложных условиях. Поэтому очень часто подобные операции заканчиваются плачевно как для пленников, так и для бойцов специальных подразделений. Примером этого может служить печально известная операция по освобождению заложников египетского «Боинга-737» на Мальте.

Трагедия рейса 648 "Афины-Каир"


Вечером 23 ноября 1985 года рейсом 648 из аэропорта Афин в столицу Египта отправился авиалайнер компании EgyptAir. На борту находилось десять членов экипажа и девяносто восемь пассажиров. Спустя некоторое время после взлета с кресел поднялись пятеро молодых парней, объявив во всеуслышанье, что самолет захвачен. В руках у них были пистолеты и гранаты, которые они каким-то образом смогли пронести через пункт контроля службы безопасности аэропорта. После этого они направились к кабине пилотов. Используя бортовой специнвентарь, террористы взломали дверь в кабину. Разыскать инвентарь не составило труда, в то время на «Боингах» и «Эрбасах» ломики и топорики были размещены на самых заметных местах и снабжены указателями по правильному использованию. Ворвавшись к пилотам, бандиты приказали направляться на Мальту.


Авиакомпания EgyptAir была основана 7 мая 1932 года. Она полностью принадлежит правительству Египта и является второй по размеру авиакомпанией в Африке. С 11 июля 2008 года EgyptAir входит в альянс Star Alliance, став первой из стран Среднего Востока. Хосни Мубарак, бывший в юности военным лётчиком, всячески покровительствовал авиакомпании, выведя её в свое время из кризиса. С июня 2008 года эмблемой EgyptAir стало золотое изображение бога неба Хора, нарисованного в виде человека с головой сокола. Средний возраст самолетов авиакомпании составляет пять лет.


Затем воздушные пираты начали пересаживать заложников. В переднюю часть самолета возле дверей запихнули граждан США, Израиля и Канады. Таким образом, все они стали «живым щитом» от попыток их освобождения. Посередине салона оказались граждане Греции и Филиппин, которые очевидно не вызывали у бандитов никаких чувств. В задней, безопасной с точки зрения боевиков части «Боинга», разместили арабов и детей.

В ходе пересадки произошло первое кровопролитие. Данный самолет подобно всем остальным авиакомпании EgyptAir, использующимся в зарубежных рейсах, сопровождала вооруженная охрана, замаскированная под обычных пассажиров. В тот день на борту самолета их было четверо. Следуя инструкциям, они ничего не делали до полного прояснения обстановки. Позже их действия оправдали, поскольку, когда численность и вооружение бандитов стали известны, шансы на успех в случае попытки их нейтрализации были очень малы. Тем не менее, один из секьюрити, воспользовавшись сумятицей в результате перемещения людей, достал пистолет и выстрелил в ближайшего угонщика. Но бандиты были начеку, агента буквально накрыл шквал пуль. Некоторые из них прошили навылет корпус лайнера. Стремясь уменьшить разницу давления и спасая людей от декомпрессии в салоне и разрушения обшивки судна, пилот направил самолет резко вниз, выровняв его только на высоте в две тысячи метров. В ходе самостоятельных действий охранник получил тяжелые пулевые ранения, террорист же отделался лишь царапиной.

В 20:05 «Боинг» попросил у диспетчеров аэродрома «Лука», что возле Ла Валетты, разрешение сесть. Мальтийцы отказали им, погасив посадочные огни. Однако под угрозами террористов экипажу захваченного судна пришлось все же посадить самолет. В абсолютной темноте они успешно приземлились, промчавшись в паре сантиметров от сингапурского «Боинга -747».

И почти сражу же после посадки бандиты принялись расстреливать заложников. Первой убили двадцатичетырехлетнюю израильтянку. Поставив девушку на колени в дверях самолета, бандиты застрелили ее выстрелом в голову. Следующему израильтянину они выстрелили в рот. Туриста из Америки выбросили из самолета, предварительно связав руки. В падающего человека стреляли из нескольких стволов. Потом убили двух женщин-евреек из США. Их тела также выкинули на летное поле. После каждого душегубства террористы смеялись и распевали песни.

Мальтийские власти до последнего момента не хотели вмешиваться в происходящее, но и отделаться от непрошенных гостей не могли. Они дали разрешение на посадку двух военно-транспортных самолетов типа «Геркулес» С-130, привезших египетскую антитеррористическую группу «Сака», что по-нашему означает «Молния», в количестве двадцати пяти человек.

Высадившись, специалисты сразу же стали готовиться к операцию по штурму. Параллельно с этим администрация Мальты и появившиеся представители из Египта начали переговоры. Но террористы ничего не просили. Они отказались от денег, освобождения соратников, выполнения политических требований. Уже потом стало известно, что захват осуществлялся с одной единственной целью – перебить всех заложников. Бандиты надеялись опозорить в глазах всего человечества Хосни Мубарака, который, являясь президентом Египта, обязан был взять всю ответственность за произошедшее. «Это полные «отморозки»! – сказал один из переговорщиков о результатах диалога.

В это время бойцы из спецподразделения, используя специальную аппаратуру, наблюдали за захваченным «Боингом». Развитие ситуации не оставляло иных вариантов, кроме штурма. Группа заняла позицию под брюхом самолета в ожидании сигнала. Но тут произошло непредвиденное. Погас единственный фонарь, горевший над входом в терминал. Кто принял решение выключить его, выяснить так и не удалось. Мальтийцы объясняли, что сделали это по приказу египтян. Египтяне обвиняли служащих аэропорта. Однако наступившую темноту бандиты восприняли как начало штурма и успели подготовиться к отражению. Спецназ египтян лишился своего единственного преимущества – элемента внезапности.

Первая группа «Молнии» вломилась на борт самолета через люк для багажа в полу салона. Одновременно с этим вторая группа подорвала двери аварийного выхода, расположенного над крылом. В ходе последовавшего короткого боя террористы успели швырнуть три гранаты. Экипаж также поучаствовал в сражении с воздушными пиратами. После появления спецназа один из бандитов заскочил в пилотскую кабину, чтобы застрелить летчиков. Но капитан судна Галаль, завладев аварийным топором, убил боевика в драке. Потом оба пилота разбили окно и выскочили наружу. Перестрелка с отрядами «Молнии» закончились гибелью троих террористов, а их руководитель двадцатилетний Омар Морзуки был ранен и схвачен.

Уже в самом начале штурма в хвосте самолета начался пожар, быстро распространившись по всему авилайнеру. Когда террористы была ликвидированы, началась схватка с огнем. Из горящего «Боинга» на землю аэродрома выскакивали бойцы «коммандос», члены экипажа и пассажиры. В результате творящегося хаоса и отсутствия каких-либо действий по спасению в результате отравления дымом погибло пятьдесят девять человек. Из огня спаслось тридцать семь пассажиров и членов экипажа, включая тяжелораненого египетского охранника. Многие спецназовцы получили серьезные ожоги и ранения в ходе боя.

Несмотря на то, что ни одна из террористических группировок не взяла на себя ответственность, это деяние приписывают организации Абу Нидаля, одному из опаснейших террористических лидеров. Этот подонок выступал против любого мирного улаживания арабо-израильского конфликта. Его целью было устроить всеобщую арабскую революцию для освобождения оккупированной Палестины. Ячейки его организации были раскиданы по всему Ближнему Востоку. Террористические акции совершались отдельными группами. Причем члены одной ячейки ничего не знали о составе, деятельности, местах расположения других. Абу Нидаль признан виновным более чем в 120 терактах в двадцати странах мира. Его излюбленными действиями были нападения на аэропорты, места скоплений людей, похищения, заказные убийства, захваты кораблей и самолетов. В ходе этих терактов погибло более тысячи человек. Десятки миллионов долларов организация получала от собственных бизнес-предприятий и рэкета. Ирак, Сирия, Ливия, Иордания обеспечивала террористам тыловую поддержку, обучение и убежища. 19 августа 2002 года Абу Нидаля нашли убитым в Багдаде. По официальной версии он покончил с собой.


Из этой операция можно извлечь много полезных уроков. Ибо ничто не учит так хорошо, как ошибки прошлого. Судя по результатам, командиры «Молнии» недооценили противника. Молодость бандитов и их упоение убийствами безоружных должны были насторожить. Понятно, что это дело рук далеко не слабонервных и малоопытных подростков. Это подтверждает и мгновенная реакция на попытку сопротивления сотрудника безопасности. Молодые парни, решившиеся на захват воздушного судна, являлись страшными противниками, которые с радостью отправились на тот свет сами и забрали с собой как можно больше заложников.

Также следовало учесть, что самолет имеет повреждения в ходе стрельбы еще во время полета. Выстрелы могли коснуться топливной системы или электропроводки. Перегрузки в ходе резкого снижения лишь усугубили состояние судна. Конечно, топливопровод мог быть разрушен в перестрелке в ходе атаки. Но просто необходимо было учесть подобную вероятность, чтобы ясно представлять, какие средства можно применять в ходе штурма, а какие нет. Ведь во время схватки бойцы активно использовали светозвуковые гранаты. Вполне возможно, что они и вызвали пожар на борту самолета, воспламенив топливные пары.

Погасший в самый ответственный момент единственный фонарь говорит о том, что с сотрудниками аэропорта никто не проводил инструктажа. Или он был поверхностным. Очевидно, действия персонала никто не брал в расчет. Им не объяснили, что можно делать, а чего нельзя ни при каких условиях. Может быть даже кто-то из служащих решил подобным образом помочь бойцам. Позже именно отсутствие четкого инструктажа привело к взаимным упрекам, не позволившим выявить истинного виновника.

В начале штурма ничего не использовали, чтобы отвлечь террористов. Наверное, надеялись на все те же светозвуковые гранаты. В Могадишо в 1977 году GSG9 внезапно зажгла яркий огонь возле самолета. А штурм поезда в Голландии сопровождался преодолением звукового барьера двумя «миражами» над вагоном.

Пожар на борту самолета являлся логическим продолжением стрельбы и использования минно-взрывных средств. Поэтому одних из элементов действий по спасению заложников должен был быть план их эвакуации в результате возгорания, согласованный со служащими аэропорта. Эвакуацию пассажиров должны были осуществлять бойцы спецназа. Но план отсутствовал, а пассажирами, бегающими в панике, никто не занимался. Именно это и стало основной причиной смерти стольких людей.

Господин Случай всегда вмешается в ход событий, когда люди допускают оплошности и в оценке ситуации, и в планировании действий. Иногда цена этих ошибок непомерно велика. К сожалению, Беслан наглядное тому подтверждение...
Автор: Игорь Сулимов


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 7
  1. Средний брат 23 ноября 2012 10:14
    Я могу понять "террор ради террора". Понять это, конечно, сложно, но если исходить из того, что исполнители полные отморозки, то возможно. А вот захват заложников бандитами - зачем это делается? Ведь исход будет один. Интересно, бывали ли в истории "удачные" захваты и удачные освобождения (без жертв)?
    Статье плюс.
    1. desava 23 ноября 2012 13:31
      Наиболее эффектная и удачная операция по освобождению заложников на мой взгляд была осуществлена израильтянами в аэропорту Энтебе. Из различных источников черпал инфу по данной операции. Насчет описываемой трагедии я читал, что дела обстояли несколько по-другому.
      1. Средний брат 23 ноября 2012 16:09
        Прочитал сейчас об этой операции - эффектно, ничего не скажешь.
        Спасибо за интересную информацию hi
  2. vladimirZ 23 ноября 2012 15:46
    Учитывая особенность авиационного транспорта, строгий предполётный контроль пассажиров и багажа, видео контроль за поведением пассажиров в салоне обязателен и оправдан. Здесь поблажек не должно быть ни для кого.
  3. Chern 24 ноября 2012 00:55
    Непонятна реакция мальтийских властей. Отказывать в посадке захваченному самолету? Это как - типа моя хата с краю?
    Chern
    1. desava 24 ноября 2012 10:07
      Это нормальная реакция. Многие аэропорта многих стран запрещают посадку захваченых самолетов.
  4. revnagan 25 ноября 2012 19:47
    Елки-палки, 5 террористов в 1985 году убили больше израильтян,чем 100 ракет "Скад" в 2012 году. И всё-таки не понятно-если хотели уничтожить всех заложников,зачем было их сортировать на амеров,израильтян и остальных?Почему не взорвали самолёт сразу, не разбили при посадке?Нет, тут что-то "с мухами".

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня