Military Review

Infantry fighting vehicle AB-13 - the first heavy infantry fighting vehicles in the post-Soviet space

14
Infantry fighting vehicle AB-13 - the first heavy infantry fighting vehicles in the post-Soviet space


After the Soviet Union ceased to exist, the newly formed Ukrainian state refused to purchase Tanks and military equipment for their armed forces. This led to the fact that the Kharkov plant named after Malyshev, who was one of the leaders in tank building in the USSR, was forced to take up the production of equipment, which in the old days had nothing to do with it.

Thus, in the middle of 90-ies, the design bureau of the plant began to develop the first heavy infantry fighting vehicle. I must say, this company was not the only one who was engaged in the development of heavy infantry fighting vehicles, such work was carried out, for example, in Leningrad. However, it was at the Malyshev plant that this development was translated into reality. It was assumed that this technique will be intended for export. The main task, which was set before the developers, was to create an inexpensive combat vehicle, which at the same time would have high technical characteristics, firepower and enhanced security.

It is noteworthy that the basis for the new machine was not the newest tank of that time, the T-84, or even the T-80, but the British “Centurion” modernized in Jordan, which was called the “Tarik”. This choice was explained primarily by the fact that it was this state that was interested in purchasing BMPs.

The tank fleet of Jordan is armed with the 300 order of outdated British-made tanks, which were modernized in Tariqi. The main results of the improvements were the replacement of the Meteor gasoline engine with AVDS-1790-2А diesel engines, the installation of a Belgian-made SABCA fire control system, which also resembled the Leopard-1 tank system. weapons and stabilization systems for hydropneumatic suspension. Thus, the Jordanian military chose the path of many states that also modernized the Centurions to their own needs: Israel, Sweden, and South Africa.

By the beginning of 2000, the development came to an end. The result of the work of designers was a prototype of AB-13 (it is known as the “AV13 project”). This sample participated in a tender for the supply of heavy infantry fighting vehicles for the Jordanian armed forces.

If we talk directly about the design and technical characteristics of the AB-13, then it should be noted that the tank chassis, as well as rollers, tracks remained almost unchanged. It was explained quite simply: in 1981-1985, Tariq underwent a deep modernization, as a result of which the above-mentioned hydropneumatic suspension was installed. At the same time, the body was largely modified, as a result, the AB combat vehicle began to resemble very much its design features of BDM-1 and BMP-3, albeit many times larger.

In front of the BMP is a department of management. The driver's seat is equipped with three periscopes and a hatch. Nearby is a place for one of the crew members, which is also equipped with periscopes (2 units) and a hatch. In the middle part of the AB-13 is the fighting compartment, which houses the gunner-operator and the commander of the machine. The full revolving tower is made in the shape of a truncated cone. It contains an automatic gun KBA-2 caliber 30 millimeters, which is analogous to the Russian 2А72, as well as 7,62-mm machine gun, ammunition and fire control system. On the outside of the tower are smoke grenade launchers, eight-barrel - in the back and tri-barrel on the sides. In addition, the possibility of installing an anti-tank missile complex, as well as an AG-17 automatic grenade launcher is also envisaged.

The engine compartment is located in the rear part. Between this section and the turret is located the troop compartment. For firing of small arms in the sides of the hull, several embrasures are provided, which are combined with periscopes. In order to ensure a more or less trouble-free landing of the landing force, Ukrainian designers decided to make a continuous passage over the engine-transmission compartment, ending with aft hatches. A small height of the MTO is provided by the installation of a Ukrainian diesel turbocharged 6TD or 5TDF, in which the cylinders are located horizontally.



The entire undercarriage of the combat vehicle has steel bulwarks, which can be quickly dismantled. In addition, the tower also provides for an additional reservation, which is the armor plates, bent around the perimeter. It must be said that in comparison with the Centurion chassis, the reservation of the AB-13 is significantly strengthened, which allows for the protection of the crew inside from both small arms and artillery shells.

Ab_13 weight is about 31 tons, width - 3,5 meters, length - 7,8 meters, height - 2,4 meters. BMP has a specific power in 22,5 horsepower per ton of weight, while the power reserve is 400 kilometers. The crew of the machine is 3 man plus 7 man landing.

Despite the fact that the Ukrainian development was quite interesting and promising, the Jordanian military preferred their own-developed BMP, which was all based on the same Tariq tanks. This combat vehicle is known as the Thames. The reason for the rejection of the Ukrainian infantry fighting vehicles, according to some sources, was the lack of security of the tower, which in terms of protection was largely inferior to the hull.

Note, the AB-13 infantry combat vehicle never entered service ...

Materials used:
http://www.vestnik-rm.ru/news-4-3067.htm
http://lib.rus.ec/b/212811/read
http://sfw.org.ua/1148886009-proekt-av-13.html
14 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. rkka
    rkka 26 November 2012 09: 33
    +3
    Why can’t you go along the Jewish path and make a normal passage in the stern? It will be especially fun to land on the MTO's red-hot roof as a result of a fire. The same applies to our bmp3.
    1. kotdavin4i
      kotdavin4i 26 November 2012 09: 39
      +1
      Quote: rkka
      Why can’t you go along the Jewish path and make a normal passage in the stern?


      You can do everything, just run into money, transfer the engine into the nose, change the layout of nodes and mechanisms and much more, it will be easier then to design and build from scratch.
      1. rkka
        rkka 26 November 2012 10: 02
        0
        Quote: kotdavin4i
        transfer the engine into the nose, change the layout of nodes and mechanisms and much more, it’s easier then to design and build from scratch.

        so the fact of the matter is that the Jews did not rearrange anything, but just stuck a smaller engine and cut the door from the back
        1. Common sense
          Common sense 26 November 2012 19: 15
          0
          they cut out the front passage for the soldiers in front, put armor in the back, moved the driver's cab and turned it over.
    2. cth; fyn
      cth; fyn 26 November 2012 10: 27
      0
      so yes, this spectacle will look sad.
      1. igor67
        igor67 26 November 2012 13: 21
        0
        engine at Centurion. true It is in Israel
    3. vladsolo56
      vladsolo56 26 November 2012 18: 32
      0
      The whole question is in height, with such a height, landing can only be at the top, of course, the higher the machine, the easier it is to get into it. and the harder it is
  2. cth; fyn
    cth; fyn 26 November 2012 10: 29
    0
    And what if you make two power plants and the passage between them that ends with a ramp?
    1. kotdavin4i
      kotdavin4i 26 November 2012 12: 13
      +1
      Quote: cth; fyn
      And what if you do
      ...
      Geometric dimensions will not allow, an engine that is too compact is low-power, the cooling system, fuel lines, etc. to the engine should be carried out 2 times. Like Israel's Akhzarit, they changed the Soviet engine to a more compact gasoline engine and made a narrow passage. In general, the front-mounted engine provides additional protection for the crew and troops in the front projection.
    2. igor67
      igor67 26 November 2012 13: 18
      0
      this is a centurion without engine space enough
      1. kotdavin4i
        kotdavin4i 26 November 2012 15: 33
        +1
        Quote: igor67
        enough space

        Enough for what? its width is 3390 mm - for a normal soldier to come out in full gear it is necessary to see so 60 at least - 2,7 meters remain - in principle, now you can pick up the engine - but still the front layout seems to me preferable.
  3. vladimirZ
    vladimirZ 26 November 2012 16: 37
    0
    And that this small hole in the stern is a hole for landing? And why is a BMP.
  4. bazilio
    bazilio 26 November 2012 18: 05
    0
    About MTO in the front end and protection, as the article says, this unit is positioned as a heavy BMP. therefore, she will have to act on the "front line" and most likely from the main battlefield, therefore the risks and threats of such a vehicle will be tank-based. If you look at the photo of the nose of the car, you will notice that its front armor plate is located almost 90 degrees. and judging by the driver's hatch, he sits immediately behind the front armor plate. given the lack of rational angles of inclination of the armor and the likelihood of hitting the "forehead" - I do not envy the driver mechanic. If there was an MTO in front of him, then in this case the threats to his life would be less. At the same time, if you pierce the forehead, for example, with a cumulative ammunition, then, it seems to me, not only the driver will suffer, but also other members of the crew and the landing force due to the fact that the driver's seat is hardly protected by any kind of armor plate from the combat and landing branches. but here I can be wrong
    1. OvsyannikovVA
      OvsyannikovVA 26 November 2012 21: 33
      0
      you would at least look at Wikipedia for decency or look at the photo.
      57 degrees is not 90 at all.
      completely behind the front location of the MTO, the inclusion is probably bmd.
  5. balyaba
    balyaba 24 December 2012 15: 57
    0
    Oops! 300 "Tariks" were bought, modernized, equipped with dry rations with bacon, and the Arabs refused to buy, well, are they bastards? crying

Боевая машина пехоты АБ-13 – первая тяжелая БМП на постсоветском пространстве

Боевая машина пехоты АБ-13 – первая тяжелая БМП на постсоветском пространстве


После того, как Советский Союз прекратил свое существование, новообразованное украинское государство отказалось закупать танки и военную технику для своих вооруженных сил. Это привело к тому, что харьковский завод имени Малышева, который был одним из лидеров танкостроения в СССР, вынужден был взяться за производство техники, к которой в прежние времена вообще не имел никакого отношения.

Так, в середине 90-х годов Конструкторское бюро завода начало проводить разработки первой тяжелой боевой машины пехоты. Нужно сказать, данное предприятие было не единственным, кто занимался разработками тяжелых БМП, подобная работа проводилась, к примеру, в Ленинграде. Однако именно на заводе имени Малышева эта разработка была воплощена в реальность. Предполагалось, что данная техника будет предназначена на экспорт. Основное задание, которое ставилось перед разработчиками, заключалось в создании недорогой боевой машины, которая при этом обладала бы высокими техническими характеристиками, огневой мощью и повышенной защищенностью.


Примечательно, что основой для новой машины стал вовсе не самый новый танк того времени Т-84, и даже не Т-80, а модернизированный в Иордании британский «Центурион», который получил название «Тарик». Такой выбор объяснялся в первую очередь тем, что именно это государство было заинтересовано в закупках БМП.

Танковый парк Иордании имеет на вооружении порядка 300 устаревших танков английского производства, которые и были модернизированы в «Тарики». Основные итоги усовершенствований сводились к замене бензинового двигателя «Метеор» на дизельные двигатели АVDS-1790-2А, установке системы управления огнем SABCA бельгийского производства, которая напоминала данную систему танка «Леопард-1», а также установке американских приводов наведения оружия и системы стабилизации гидропневматической подвески. Иорданские военные, таким образом, пошли по пути многих государств, которые также модернизировали «Центурионы» под свои нужды: Израиля, Швеции, ЮАР.

К началу 2000 года разработки подошли к концу. Результатом работы конструкторов стал опытный образец АБ-13 (он известен как «проект АВ13»). Этот образец принимал участие в тендере на поставки тяжелых боевых машин пехоты для вооруженных сил Иордании.

Если говорить непосредственно о конструкции и технических характеристиках АБ-13, то нужно отметить, что шасси танка, а также катки, гусеницы остались практически без изменений. Объяснялось это довольно просто: в 1981-1985 годах «Тарик» прошел глубокую модернизацию, в результате которой и была установлена упомянутая выше гидропневматическая подвеска. В то же время корпус был в значительной степени видоизменен, в итоге боевая машина АБ стала очень напоминать своими конструктивным особенностям БДМ-1 и БМП-3, правда, во много раз увеличенную.

В передней части БМП находится отделение управления. Место водителя оборудовано тремя перископами и люком. Рядом находится место для одного из членов экипажа, которое также оснащено перископами (2 единицы) и люком. В средней части АБ-13 находится боевое отделение, в котором размещаются наводчик-оператор и командир машины. Полноповоротная башня выполнена в форме усеченного конуса. В ней расположены автоматическая пушка КБА-2 калибра 30 миллиметров, которая является аналогом российской 2А72, а также 7,62-миллиметровый пулемет, боекомплект и система управления огнем. На внешней стороне башни находятся дымовые гранатометы, восьмиствольный – в задней части и трехствольные по бокам. Помимо этого, предусматривается также возможность установки ракетного противотанкового комплекса, а также АГ-17 - автоматического гранатомета.

Моторно-трансмиссионное отделение располагается в кормовой части. Между этим отделением и башней расположено десантное отделение. Для ведения огня из стрелкового оружия в бортах корпуса предусмотрены по несколько амбразур, которые объединены с перископами. Для того чтобы обеспечить более-менее беспроблемную высадку десанта, украинские конструкторы решили сделать сплошной проход поверх моторно-трансмиссионного отделения, заканчивающегося кормовыми люками. Небольшая высота МТО обеспечена благодаря установке украинского дизеля с турбонаддувом 6ТД или 5ТДФ, в которых цилиндры расположены по горизонтали.

Боевая машина пехоты АБ-13 – первая тяжелая БМП на постсоветском пространстве


Вся ходовая часть боевой машины имеет стальные фальшборты, которые можно быстро демонтировать. Помимо этого, на башне также предусмотрено дополнительное бронирование, которое представляет собой бронелисты, загнутые по периметру. Нужно сказать, что по сравнению с шасси «Центуриона» бронирование АБ-13 значительно усилено, что позволяет обеспечить защиту находящемуся внутри экипажу, как от стрелкового оружия, так и от артиллерийских снарядов.

Масса Аб_13 составляет около 31 тонны, ширина – 3,5 метра, длина – 7,8 метра, высота – 2,4 метра. БМП обладает удельной мощностью в 22,5 лошадиных силы на тонну веса, при этом запас хода составляет 400 километров. Экипаж машины составляет 3 человека плюс 7 человек десанта.

Несмотря на то, что украинская разработка была довольно интересной и перспективной, иорданские военные отдали предпочтение БМП собственной разработки, которая была основана все на тех же танках «Тарик». Эта боевая машина известна как «Темсах». Причиной отказа от украинских боевых машин пехоты, по некоторым данным, была недостаточная защищенность башни, которая по уровню защиты в значительной степени уступала корпусу.

Отметим, боевая машина пехоты АБ-13 на вооружение так и не поступила…

Использованы материалы:
http://www.vestnik-rm.ru/news-4-3067.htm
http://lib.rus.ec/b/212811/read
http://sfw.org.ua/1148886009-proekt-av-13.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 14
  1. rkka 26 ноября 2012 09:33
    Почему нельзя пойти по еврейскому пути и сделать нормальный проход в корме ? Особенно весело будет десантироваться по раскаленной в результате пожара крыше МТО. Это же относится к нашей бмп3 .
    1. kotdavin4i 26 ноября 2012 09:39
      Цитата: rkka
      Почему нельзя пойти по еврейскому пути и сделать нормальный проход в корме ?


      Можно все, просто тут упираеться в денежки, движок переносить в нос, компоновку узлов и механизмов менять и много еще что, легче уж тогда будет с нуля спроектировать и построить.
      1. rkka 26 ноября 2012 10:02
        Цитата: kotdavin4i
        движок переносить в нос, компоновку узлов и механизмов менять и много еще что, легче уж тогда будет с нуля спроектировать и построить.

        так в том то и дело, что евреи ничего не перекомпоновывали, а просто движок поменьше засунули и дверь сзади вырезали
        1. Здравый смысл 26 ноября 2012 19:15
          вырезали спереди проход для солдат,навесли сзади брони , перенесли водительскую кабину и перевернули .
          Здравый смысл
    2. cth;fyn 26 ноября 2012 10:27
      так то да, печально будет выглядеть это зрелище.
      1. igor67 26 ноября 2012 13:21
        двигатель на Центурионе. правда Это в Израиле
    3. vladsolo56 26 ноября 2012 18:32
      Весь вопрос в высоте, при такой высоте десантирование может быть только в верх, понятное дело чем выше машина тем легче в нее попасть. и тем она тяжелее
      vladsolo56
  2. cth;fyn 26 ноября 2012 10:29
    А че если сделать две силовые установки и проход между ними который заканчивается аппарелью?
    1. kotdavin4i 26 ноября 2012 12:13
      Цитата: cth;fyn
      А че если сделать
      ....
      Геометрические размеры непозволят, слишком компактный двигатель - маломощный, к двигателю систему охлаждения, топливопроводы, и т.д проводить и так 2- раза. Можно как у Израиля "Ахзарит" там да поменяли советский двигатель на более компактный бензиновый и сделали узкий проход. И вообще переднее расположение двигателя дает дополнительную защиту экипажу и десанту в передней проекции.
    2. igor67 26 ноября 2012 13:18
      это Центурион без двигателя места достаточно
      1. kotdavin4i 26 ноября 2012 15:33
        Цитата: igor67
        места достаточно

        Достаточно для чего? его ширина 3390мм - для нормального выхода солдата в полной экипировке необходимо см так 60 минимум - остается 2,7 метра - в принципе сейчас можно подобрать двигатель - но все же передняя компоновка мне кажется предпочтительней.
  3. vladimirZ 26 ноября 2012 16:37
    А, что вот это маленькое отвертстие в корме и есть дырка для десантирования? И зачем такое БМП.
  4. bazilio 26 ноября 2012 18:05
    Про мто в передке и защиту- как говориться в статье, данный агрегат позиционируется как тяжелая бмп. следовательно ей предстоит действовать на "передовой" и скорее всего всмете с обт, следовательно и риски и угрозы у такой машины будут танковыми. Если посмотреть на фото носовую часть машины, то заметно что е нее фронтальный броневой лист расположен почти под 90 гр. и судя по люку механика-водителя, он сидит сразу же за фронтальным брон.листом. учитывая отсутствие рациональных углов наклона брони и вероятность поражения в "лоб"- не завидую я механику водителю. Если бы перед ним был мто, то в таком случае угроз для его жизни стало бы меньше. При этом, если пробить лоб, например кумулятивным боеприпасом, то, как мне кажется, пострадает не только механик-водитель, но и и другие члены экипажа и десанта по причине того, что место водителя вряд ли ограждено какой либо бронь плитой от боевого и десантного отделений. но тут я могу ошибаться
    1. OvsyannikovVA 26 ноября 2012 21:33
      вы бы хоть в википедию для приличия заглянули или присмотритесь к фотке.
      57 градусов это совсем не 90.
      полностью за передние расположение мто, иключение, наверно, бмд.
      OvsyannikovVA
  5. balyaba 24 декабря 2012 15:57
    Упс! 300 "Тариков" купили, модернизировали, укомплектовали сухпайками с салом, а арабы отказались от покупки, ну не сволочи ли crying
    balyaba

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня