Military Review

Innovative technology DARPA - floating conveyor "CAAT"

12
Recently, we constantly observe the development and creation of various types of armored military equipment. But universal technical means that can move quickly in several environments are developed mainly as needed. So, for example, when technical means were needed to develop the Arctic, they began to hastily create amphibians that could move on water, ice, snow and earth. Today, the US military required technical means capable of moving goods through water barriers, passing through marshy and sandy terrain. To realize all these features in one machine, the Tactically Expandable Maritime Platform program was developed, within the framework of which a prototype floating tank called "CAAT."

Innovative technology DARPA - floating conveyor "CAAT"


The purpose of this development is to provide with the help of innovative solutions to quickly transform any ships and container ships into original supply bases for use in conducting combat operations, conducting rescue operations without the need for construction or the availability of port-berthing infrastructure. The main purpose is to perform emergency and rescue tasks for the delivery of goods, residential solutions, medical care, food and water.

While it is not planned to supply this solution with weapons - the main purpose will be the transportation and delivery of goods. One can only wonder why the name Saat was called a tank. Maybe the force of habit has affected, to call the massive technique of tracked performance - a tank, maybe for other unknown reasons.

The most important feature of the SAAT is the execution of a tracked drive. It is completely different from the usual iron tracks and created from sealed plastic and soft tanks, inside which there is air. Such an unusual solution allows this technology to quickly and successfully move on the usual ground, overcome water obstacles, move cargo along sandy and swampy areas. The tracks allowed the tank to significantly reduce the pressure exerted on the supporting surface, and it does not exceed 0.14 kilograms per cm2.



Built an experienced amphibious tank is a reduced demonstrator scale 1: 5. DARPA wanted to show that design and innovative solutions embodied in the demonstrator work in real conditions, and work according to calculations. After a research test, CAAT will be transferred to the scientific department of the United States Navy. There they will finally decide the fate of the "Tactically Expandable Maritime Platform" program. Perhaps it will be selected for partial replacement of hovercraft, as a multi-purpose floating transport. If CAAT is adopted for further development, it can be put into service as early as 2015. The demonstrator has a length of just over 10 meters and weighs about four tons. The real CAAT will have a length of 50-60 meters and a weight of about 450 tons.

The concept of CAAT for the Navy is the delivery of standard (ordinary civilian) containers with universal transport from ship to shore or to the coastal region. A floating transporter is not required to unload (load) berthing solutions, he is able to get out onto the rocky or marshy shore, and also to deliver the transported cargo to the depths of the coastal zone. In the armed forces, it can be used in the implementation of unconventional plans for waging war, the rapid delivery of goods and ammunition to impassable areas and assistance to victims of accidents, catastrophes and disasters.

As you know, the delivery of large-tonnage cargo in a given area for any purpose, it is easiest to carry out by water. Thus, an average container ship can deliver about 5 000 20-foot containers or 100 thousand tons of cargo close to shore. A container ship can easily deliver cargo to rivers and lakes. But unloading containers can be quite difficult. With the provision of new floating transporters, using ship cranes, standard containers can be quickly delivered to the desired point of discharge. In addition, CAAT is not very sensitive to the presence in the water of foreign objects that are present in the water during natural disasters and catastrophes.


Information sources:
http://www.dailytechinfo.org/auto/3910-gusenicy-pontony-pozvolyayut-tanku-caat-peredvigatsya-po-vode-i-po-sushe.html
http://www.engadget.com/2012/08/11/darpa-captive-air-amphibious-transporter/
http://www.militaryphotos.net/forums/showthread.php?216094-DARPA-Captive-Air-Amphibious-Transporters-(CAAT)-For-Disaster-Relief
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=aAxpJNI5u4Q
Author:
12 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. itr
    itr 28 November 2012 08: 13
    +1
    In my opinion, this article has already been?
    1. Pimply
      Pimply 29 November 2012 13: 21
      0
      Was, But, in principle, the topic is interesting, you can look at the repetition
  2. Igor
    Igor 28 November 2012 08: 33
    0
    An interesting development, in the future it is possible to replace hovercraft.
  3. understudy
    understudy 28 November 2012 09: 22
    +1
    Quote: Igorek
    it is possible to replace hovercraft in the future


    Rather, it is from the section of engineering curiosities. But the idea is interesting. winked
  4. Edya
    Edya 28 November 2012 11: 19
    0
    He will not go further than testing since he is very expensive and most likely will not be effective for missile hits from a bazooka ....... It’s better to do what you know and not to jump above your head
  5. Wedmak
    Wedmak 28 November 2012 11: 24
    +2
    And how quickly will the tracks wear out when traveling on hard soils? And what will happen when logs fall between the tracks. Or hit a mine? In general, dofiga questions - but the car is interesting.
  6. Kir
    Kir 28 November 2012 14: 07
    0
    Hurray comrades, We are humanity. although everything else didn’t make us happy again with a new miracle of technology! And if without jokes and jokes, then all the same, as always, they are trying to create something with the same enviable stubbornness more like a schiz. more similar to the technique from the films of utopias and unscientific fiction, let the nuns go out, maybe their budget will be finally ruined, at least some benefit to the whole world will be !!!
    The phrase was especially pleased
    "... The goal of this development is to ensure the rapid transformation of any ships and container ships into a kind of supply base with the help of innovative solutions."
    I don’t know about any vessels, how about vessel-vessels. but with regards to others, Yes, and the very replacement of WUAs by this miracle, it is also more likely to say that there is a tendency to attempt to replace more complex and expensive units with less complicated ones.
  7. vladds
    vladds 28 November 2012 14: 36
    0
    Another throwing money down the drain! in this prototype, the big minus is not its mobility, (lack of wheels) the vehicle itself must travel at high speed both in the deserts and on the roads! his water speed is normal, although to be honest with one shot from a grenade launcher you can destroy it, and a barrier 1.5 meters or more above the water level will make him go around and look for a lower barrier! to break such a caterpillar with a mine is harder but possible! and replacing or repairing such a track will be problematic! as you see the caterpillar so far from combustible plastic materials and so on! in other words, it’s not a tank but a fake! to beat the dough from the state!
    1. Igor
      Igor 29 November 2012 06: 32
      0
      Quote: vladds
      in this prototype, the big minus is not its mobility, (lack of wheels) the vehicle itself must travel at high speed both in the deserts and on the roads!


      The article must be read carefully !!! The CAAT concept for the Navy is the delivery of standard (ordinary civilian) containers by universal transport from a ship to the shore or to the coastal area. A floating transporter does not need berth solutions for unloading (loading), he is able to get out onto a rocky or swampy shore, and also deliver a transported cargo to the depths of the coastal zone.

      Quote: vladds
      although to be honest one shot from a grenade launcher can destroy it


      Can't a hovercraft be destroyed?
      1. vladds
        vladds 29 November 2012 12: 40
        0
        Yeah! A FUEL CONSUMPTION OF THESE TRANSPORTERS? it’s easier to stretch the cable from the shore to the ship and transfer loads on the platform along them! only the platform should be wisely designed which also does not need a cushion air cushion! no fuel consumption! add silence to it wink
  8. gridasov
    gridasov 1 December 2012 21: 06
    0
    If DARPA is engaged in the development of such a technique. Primitive at the heart of the physical process by which the movement in space is carried out, then all the other opponents of the Americans can be calm.
  9. Asgard
    Asgard 19 December 2012 17: 20
    0
    \ such a caterpillar is not viable ......
    I think it won’t go further than prototypes or no more than a ton of such pokatushki for entertainment hunters with a carrying capacity ....
    I’m why, it’s planned to make a container carrier on such a base, and It’s 20 tons in a container, 2,4 tons standard 6-meter + tractor itself Well, I think that 15 tons will be packed .... AND-TOGO = 38 tons ... with high center of gravity, When hitting an obstacle or folding terrain, one such block will have to withstand (short-term)) an impact of 15 tons, which with such kinematics of the caterpillar looks suspicious, in the sense of overcoming the loads on the floating segment and resistance to deformation and torsion (lateral loads) ) ...

    Then, such cargo carriers can only move on a level terrain like a table. Departure to a steep coast, when driving on a slope of more than 15% in any direction, will not be able to similar devices with high profile lumps and an overestimated center of gravity of the whole vehicle .....
  10. Honory
    Honory 26 December 2015 16: 23
    0
    The machine is ugly, interesting, probably effective, but it looks like it will remain in 1 copy.

Инновационные технологии DARPA – плавающий транспортер «CAAT»

В последнее время мы постоянно наблюдаем за разработкой и созданием различных видов бронированной военной техники. Но вот универсальные технические средства, способные быстро передвигаться в нескольких средах, разрабатываются в основном по мере необходимости. Так, например, когда потребовались технические средства для освоения Арктики, начали спешно создавать амфибии, способные передвигаться по воде, льду, снегу и земле. Сегодня американским военным потребовались технические средства, способные перемещать грузы через водные преграды, проходить по болотистой и песчаной местности. Для воплощения всех этих возможностей в одной машине была разработана программа «Tactically Expandable Maritime Platform», в рамках которой спроектировали и построили опытный образец плавающего танка под названием «CAAT».

Инновационные технологии DARPA – плавающий транспортер «CAAT»


Цель данной разработки – с помощью инновационных решений обеспечить быстрое преобразование любых судов и контейнеровозов в своеобразные базы снабжения для использования их при ведении боевых действий, проведении спасательных операций без потребности строительства или наличия портово-причальной инфраструктуры. Основное предназначение - выполнение аварийно-спасательных задач по доставке грузов, жилых решений, оказанию медицинской помощи, обеспечению продовольствием и водой.


Пока не планируется снабжать данное решение вооружением – основное предназначение будет транспортировка и доставка грузов. Можно только удивляться, почему же СААТ назвали именно танком. Может, сказалась сила привычки, называть массивную технику гусеничного исполнения – танком, может по другим неизвестным причинам.

Самой главной особенностью СААТ является исполнение гусеничного хода. Он полностью отличается от привычных железных траков и создан из герметичных пластичных и мягких резервуаров, внутри которых находится воздух. Такое необычное решение позволяет данной техники довольно быстро и успешно передвигаться по обычному грунту, преодолевать водные преграды, перемещать грузы по песчаной и болотистой местности. Гусеницы позволили танку существенно снизить давление, оказываемое на опорную поверхность, и она не превышает 0.14 килограммов на см2.

Инновационные технологии DARPA – плавающий транспортер «CAAT»


Построенный опытный танк-амфибия является уменьшенным демонстратором масштаба 1:5. DARPA хотела показать, что проектные и инновационные решения, воплощенные в демонстраторе, в реальных условиях работают, и работают согласно расчетам. После исследовательских испытаний CAAT будет передан научный отдел ВМС Соединенных Штатов. Там будут окончательно решать судьбу программы «Tactically Expandable Maritime Platform». Возможно он будет выбран для частичной замены судов на воздушной подушке, как плавающий транспортник широкого назначения. В случае принятия CAAT к дальнейшей разработке, он может поступить на вооружение уже в 2015 году. Демонстратор имеет длину чуть более 10 метров и весит около четырех тонн. Реальный CAAT будет иметь длину 50-60 метров и вес около 450 тонн.

Концепция CAAT для ВМС – доставка стандартных (обычных гражданских) контейнеров универсальным транспортом с корабля на берег или в прибрежный район. Плавающему транспортнику не требуются для разгрузки (загрузки) причальные решения, он способен выбраться на каменистый или заболоченный берег, а также доставить перемещаемый груз в глубины береговой зоны. В вооруженных силах его можно будет использовать при осуществлении нетрадиционных планов ведения войны, быстрой доставки грузов и боеприпасов в труднопроходимые районы и оказания помощи потерпевшим при авариях, катастрофах и бедствиях.

Как известно, доставку крупнотоннажного груза в заданный район для любых целей, легче всего осуществить по воде. Так, средний контейнеровоз может доставить близко к берегу около 5 000 20-футовых контейнеров или 100 тысяч тонн груза. Контейнеровоз может легко доставить груз в русла рек, озер. А вот выгрузка контейнеров может оказаться достаточно затруднительным делом. Имея на обеспечении новые плавающие транспортники, с помощью корабельных кранов, стандартные контейнеры можно будет быстро доставить в необходимую точку разгрузки. К тому же CAAT мало чувствителен к наличию в воде посторонних предметов, которые присутствуют в воде при стихийных бедствиях и катастрофах.


Источники информации:
http://www.dailytechinfo.org/auto/3910-gusenicy-pontony-pozvolyayut-tanku-caat-peredvigatsya-po-vode-i-po-sushe.html
http://www.engadget.com/2012/08/11/darpa-captive-air-amphibious-transporter/
http://www.militaryphotos.net/forums/showthread.php?216094-DARPA-Captive-Air-Amphibious-Transporters-(CAAT)-For-Disaster-Relief
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=aAxpJNI5u4Q
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. itr 28 ноября 2012 08:13
    По моему статья такая уже была ?
    itr
    1. Пупырчатый 29 ноября 2012 13:21
      Была, Но, в принципе, тема интересная, можно глянуть и повторку
  2. Игорек 28 ноября 2012 08:33
    Интересная разработка,в будущем возможно заменит транспортные средства на воздушной подушке.
    Игорек
  3. Дублер 28 ноября 2012 09:22
    Цитата: Игорек
    в будущем возможно заменит транспортные средства на воздушной подушке


    Скорее это из раздела инженерных курьезов. Но задумка интересная. winked
  4. Эдя 28 ноября 2012 11:19
    Дальше испытаней он не уйдет так как он очень дорогой скорее всего окажется не эфективным к ракетным поподаниям из базуки....... Лутше делать то что умееш и не прыгать выше головы
    Эдя
  5. Wedmak 28 ноября 2012 11:24
    И как быстро будут стираться траки при передвижении по твердым грунтам? А что будет при попадании бревна между траками. Или наезд на мину? В общем дофига вопросов - но машина интересная.
  6. Kir 28 ноября 2012 14:07
    Ура товарищи, Нас то-есть человечество. хотя ине всё и не нас снова осчастливили новым чудом техники! А если без хохм и прибауток, то всё как всегда одни и те-же с завидной упорностью больше похожей на шизу пытаются создать нечто. больше похожее на технику из фильмов утопий и антинаучной фантастики, нуну пущай изголяются может свой бюджет оканчательно угробят хоть какая-то польза Всему Миру будет!!!
    Особенно порадовала фраза
    "... Цель данной разработки – с помощью инновационных решений обеспечить быстрое преобразование любых суден и контейнеровозов в своеобразные базы снабжения "
    Прям таки любых судов, не знаю как насчёт суден-посудин. но касаемо других вопрос , Да и сама замена АВП на это чудо, то-же, скорее уместно говорить о том что имеет место тенденция попытки замены более сложных и дорогих агрегатов менее сложными.
    Kir
  7. vladds 28 ноября 2012 14:36
    Очередное выбрасывание денег на ветер! в данном прототипе большой минус это его не мобильность , ( отсутствие колёс ) транспорт должен сам ездить с высокой скоростью как по пустыням так и по дорогам! скорость по воде у него нормальная, хотя честно говоря одним выстрелом из гранатомёта можно уничтожить его, а барьер высотой в 1.5 метра и более над уровнем воды заставит его объезжать и искать более низкий барьер! разорвать миной такую гусинецу тяжелей но возможно! и замена или ремонт такой гусеницы будет проблематичен! как виже гусеница пока что из горючих матерьялов пластика и тд! другими словами это не танк а фейк! для отбивания бабла от государства!
    vladds
    1. Игорек 29 ноября 2012 06:32
      Цитата: vladds
      в данном прототипе большой минус это его не мобильность , ( отсутствие колёс ) транспорт должен сам ездить с высокой скоростью как по пустыням так и по дорогам!


      Статью надо внимательней читать!!!Концепция CAAT для ВМС – доставка стандартных (обычных гражданских) контейнеров универсальным транспортом с корабля на берег или в прибрежный район. Плавающему транспортнику не требуются для разгрузки (загрузки) причальные решения, он способен выбраться на каменистый или заболоченный берег, а также доставить перемещаемый груз в глубины береговой зоны.

      Цитата: vladds
      хотя честно говоря одним выстрелом из гранатомёта можно уничтожить его


      А судно на воздушной подушке нельзя уничтожить?
      Игорек
      1. vladds 29 ноября 2012 12:40
        АГА! А РАСХОД ТОПЛИВА ЭТИХ ТРАНСПОРТЁРОВ? проще с берега до корабля протянуть трос и по ним передавать грузы на платформе! толька платформа должна быть мудро сконструирована которой также не нужна не подушка воздушная не гусеничный ход! не расход топлива! к нему прибавим безшумность wink
        vladds
  8. gridasov 1 декабря 2012 21:06
    Если DARPA занимается разработкой подобной техники .Примитивной в основе того физического процесса коим осуществляется перемещение в пространстве, Тогда всем остальным оппонентам американцев можно быть спокойным.
  9. Асгард 19 декабря 2012 17:20
    \такая гусеница не жизнеспособна......
    Думаю дальше опытных образцов не пойдет или вот на такие покатушки для охотников за развлечениями с грузоподьемностью не больше тонны....
    Я это к чему, планируется сделать на такой базе перевозчик контейнеров, а Это 20 тонн в контейнере, 2,4тонн сам стандартный 6метровый+ тягач ну думаю, что в тонн 15 уложатся....И-ТОГО=38тонн... с высоким центром тяжести, При наезде на препятствие или складку местности-один такой блок должен будет выдержать(кратковременное ))воздействие в 15 тонн, что при такой кинематике гусеницы выглядит подозрительно, в смысле преодоления нагрузок на плавучий сегмент и сопротивляемости деформациям и кручению(боковых нагрузок))...

    Потом такие грузотранспортеры смогут передвигаться только по ровному как стол местности. Выезд на крутой берег, при движении по уклону больше 15% в любом направлении -будут не по силам подобным устройствам с высокими по профилю гусками и завышенным центром тяжести всего ТС.....
  10. Gonoriy 26 декабря 2015 16:23
    Машинка - уродливая, интересная, наверное эффективная, но похоже так и останется в 1 экземпляре.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня