Military Review

The genius of the Russian artillery - VS Baranovsky

6
A talented Russian inventor, son of a professor at the University of Helsingfors and inventor Stepan Baranovsky. 1 was born on September 1846, 7 died in March 1879. Education itself contributed to the development of a vocation for mechanics and mathematics, studying the latter under the guidance of the best professor (his father). Already from the 11 age, he was practically acquainted with mechanics, accompanying his father on trips abroad to familiarize himself with the then state of the issue of compressed air, like a mechanical engine.

In 1861, the city of Baranovsky, in the 15 year of his life, was an active accomplice in his father's work on the device of the “wind scooter” (self-propelled trolley with pneumatic drive).

With him, in 1862, I participated in the execution of a government order for the construction of a pneumatic engine for a submarine, and here, having designed a special design of bows between the pipes of the oven, made it possible to reduce the amount ordered by Rosnelei for pounds sterling.

Without receiving any diplomas, Baranovsky nonetheless stocked up with an excellent scientific education, listening to public lectures at one of the institutes of Paris and attending the University of St. Petersburg as an auditor. From here, Baranovsky first entered the factory of A. I. Shpakovsky, then moved on to Ludwig Nobel, parting with whom, shortly before his death, set about building his own mechanical and shipbuilding factory.

Contributing to the general development of technology, Baranovsky enriched the latter with a whole range of his inventions. The most important of them are: a drainage machine for working on gold mines, a special type of fire pipe and hydraulic control unit. He himself made many useful improvements to the cause of artillery equipment; on the comparative test of mitraliase, produced in Egypt, the improved six-barreled "small-arms" of Baranovsky was recognized as the best. Original advantages stood out on the experiments invented the charging box.

But Baranovsky's most important invention in this area was his 2½-inch rapid-fire gun. In general, in 1872 — 1875, he creates a whole family of 2,5-inch artillery systems — a light cannon for horse artillery, a mountain cannon, and an amphibious assault cannon, which marked the beginning of domestic rapid-fire artillery.

The merit of V. S. Baranovsky is that he was the first to equip his guns with devices that became the indispensable accessories of any riflemen. These included a piston valve, equipped with a self-propelled axial drummer, which automatically worked when the valve closed. At the same time, a special safety device excluded the possibility of an accidental shot when the shutter was not tightly closed, but in the event of a misfire, the drummer was instantly cocked by turning the special handle. For the vertical (from —10 to + 200) and horizontal pickups, Baranovsky was the first to use high-speed helical turning and lifting mechanisms. Instead of a simple rifle scope with a front sight on the front of the barrel, he equipped his guns with an optical sight of S. K. Kaminsky, which provided a quick tip-off.

The process of loading dramatically accelerated the use of unitary cartridges, and the rollback after the shot reduced the hydraulic brake in a cylindrical case, on which a spring-loaded knurling was put on, returning the barrel to its original position. Thanks to these engineering solutions, the guns of V.S. Baranovsky developed an unprecedented rate of fire for those times: 5 rounds per minute.

V. Baranovsky's rapid-fire artillery systems, which opened a new era in stories artillery were immediately adopted by the Russian army. It is curious that when testing his 2,5-inch mountain cannon, the German “cannon king” A. Krupp hurried to offer the Russian military department his 75-mm high-speed rifle gun. But after comparative firing, the head of the Main Artillery Directorate, General A. A. Barents, reported to Minister of War D. A to Milutin that the Russian gun was superior to Krupp in all respects.

The genius of the Russian artillery - VS Baranovsky



The guns of the Baranovsky system as part of the whole battery took part in the last Turkish campaign and brilliantly withstood the test defined for them.

Not limited to the development of rapid-fire cannons, V.S. Baranovsky in the 1875 created the original model of the gun-case, as those years were called multi-barrel, small-caliber systems, the predecessors of machine guns. For mass production of unitary cartridges, he creates a machine, the design of which has not changed for almost a century. Much more could have been done for the Russian artillery by a talented engineer, but 7 March 1879, he tragically died during the trials of unitary cartridges. The premature explosion of the projectile, while loading the gun by Baranovsky himself, mortally wounded him, and an hour later, in terrible agony, he died.
The case of the inventor was continued by his cousin P.V. Baranovsky, who had previously created gun carriages for speed fighters Vladimir Baranovsky.
Author:
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Mikhado
    Mikhado 7 December 2012 08: 49
    +2
    Real Russian Engineer! Both in life and in death. Although the name is not well known even in special resources, but the person practically created the first gun, which determined all the main signs of modern artillery.
    I have not been in Leningrad for a long time, but I visited my favorite museum all the time and always went to this beautiful woman, which is pictured. What a formidable grace! For half an hour I could not move)))
  2. broker
    broker 7 December 2012 08: 59
    +1
    Here are the scientists who are now needed, relying only on their own strength and going abroad, only in order to return with more knowledge !!!
  3. donchepano
    donchepano 7 December 2012 09: 40
    +1
    These are our domestic heroes of their time, a model for modern gunsmiths and patriots of the motherland in general
  4. Beer66
    Beer66 7 December 2012 10: 13
    +2
    thanks for the article, sorry plus I can’t put
  5. Vlaleks48
    Vlaleks48 7 December 2012 15: 28
    0
    Article plus!
    While such people will be born on Russian soil, Russia will not be lost!
  6. kov
    kov 7 December 2012 15: 31
    0
    Film about howitzers and artillery

Гений русской артиллерии - В.С. Барановский

Гений русской артиллерии - В.С. БарановскийТалантливый русский изобретатель, сын профессора Гельсингфорского университета и изобретателя Степана Барановского. Родился 1-го сентября 1846 г., погиб 7-го марта 1879 г. Само воспитание способствовало развитию в нем призвания к механике и математике, изучая последнюю под руководством лучшего профессора (своего отца). Уже с 11-летнего возраста практически знакомился с механикой, сопровождая отца в его заграничных поездках для ознакомления с тогдашним состоянием вопроса о сжатом воздухе, как механическом двигателе.

В 1861 г. Барановский на 15 году жизни явился деятельным пособником в работах отца по устройству «духового самоката» (самоходной тележки с пневматическим приводом).

С ним же в 1862 г. участвовал в выполнении правительственного поручения постройки пневматического двигателя для подводной лодки, и здесь, спроектировав особую конструкцию смычек между трубами духовика, дал возможность уменьшить, затребованную заводом Росселей заказную сумму на 1000 фунтов стерлингов.


Не получая никаких дипломов, Барановский тем не менее запасся прекрасным научным образованием, слушая публичные лекции в одном из институтов Парижа и посещая в качестве вольнослушателя петербургский университет. Отсюда Барановский поступил сначала на завод А. И. Шпаковского, затем перешел к Людвигу Нобелю, расставшись с которым, незадолго до своей смерти, приступил к устройству собственного механического и судостроительного завода.

Способствуя общему развитию техники, Барановский обогатил последнюю целым рядом своих изобретений. Главнейшие из них: водоотливная машина для работ на золотых приисках, особого типа пожарная труба и гидропульт. Им же внесено немало полезных усовершенствований в дело артиллерийской техники; на сравнительном испытании митральез, произведенном в Египте, лучшею была признана усовершенствованная шестиствольная "скорострелка" Барановского. Оригинальными достоинствами выделился на опытах изобретенный им зарядный ящик.

Но важнейшим изобретением Барановского в этой области явилась его 2½-дюймовая скорострельная пушка. Вообще он в 1872—1875 годах он создает целое семейство 2,5-дюймовых артсистем — легкую пушку для конной артиллерии, горную пушку и морскую десантную пушку, которые и положили начало отечественной скорострельной артиллерии.

Заслуга В. С. Барановского состоит в том, что он первым оснастил свои орудия устройствами, ставшими непременными принадлежностями любых скорострелок. К ним относился поршневой затвор, снабженный самовзводящимся осевым ударником, автоматически срабатывавшим при закрывании затвора. При этом особый предохранитель исключал возможность случайного выстрела при неплотно закрытом затворе, зато при осечке ударник мгновенно взводился поворотом специальной рукоятки. Для вертикальной (от —10 до +200) и горизонтальной наводок Барановский первым же применил быстродействующие винтовые поворотные и подъемные механизмы. Вместо простого реечного прицела с мушкой на передней части ствола он оснастил свои пушки оптическим прицелом С. К. Каминского, обеспечившим быструю наводку.

Процесс заряжания резко ускорило применение унитарных патронов, а откат после выстрела сокращал гидравлический тормоз в цилиндрическом корпусе, на который надевался пружинный накатник, возвращавший ствол в первоначальное положение. Благодаря этим инженерным решениям пушки В. С. Барановского развивали невиданную по тем временам скорострельность: 5 выстрелов в минуту.

Скорострельные артсистемы В. С. Барановского, открывшие новую эру в истории артиллерии, были сразу же приняты на вооружение российской армии. Любопытно, что при испытаниях его 2,5-дюймовой горной пушки германский «пушечный король» А. Крупп поспешил предложить российскому военному ведомству свою 75-мм горную скорострелку. Но после сравнительных стрельб начальник Главного артиллерийского управления генерал А А. Баренцев доложил военному министру Д. А Милютину, что отечественное орудие по всем статьям превосходит крупповское.

Гений русской артиллерии - В.С. Барановский

Гений русской артиллерии - В.С. Барановский


Орудия системы Барановского в составе целой батарей приняли участие в последнем турецком походе и блестяще выдержали определенное для них испытание

Не ограничиваясь разработкой скорострельных пушек, В. С. Барановский в 1875 году создает оригинальный образец картечницы, так в те годы именовали многоствольные, малокалиберные системы, предшественницы пулеметов. Для массового изготовления унитарных патронов он создает станок, конструкция которого практически не менялась почти столетие. Многое мог бы еще сделать для российской артиллерии талантливый инженер, но 7 марта 1879 года он трагически погиб при испытаниях унитарных патронов. Преждевременный взрыв снаряда, при заряжании орудия самим Барановским, смертельно ранил его, и час спустя, в страшных мучениях он скончался.
Дело изобретателя продолжил его двоюродный брат П. В. Барановский, ранее создававший лафеты для скорострелок Владимира Барановского.
Автор: Скоморохов Роман (Banshee)


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 6
  1. Mikhado 7 декабря 2012 08:49
    Настоящий Русский Инженер! И в жизни, и в смерти. Хотя имя не так на слуху даже в специальных ресурсах, а человек практически создал первую пушку, определившую все основные признаки современной артиллерии.
    Давно в Ленинграде не был, но все разы посещал любимый музей и всегда шел именно к этой красавице, что на фото. Этакое грозное изящество! По пол-часа отойти не мог)))
  2. broker 7 декабря 2012 08:59
    Вот какие нынче нужны учёные, расчитывающие только на свои силы и уезжающие за рубеж, только для того чтобы вернуться с более большим багажом знаний!!!
    broker
  3. donchepano 7 декабря 2012 09:40
    Это наши отечественные герои своего времени образец для современных оружейников и вообще патриотов Родины
    donchepano
  4. Beer66 7 декабря 2012 10:13
    спасибо за статью, жаль плюс не могу поставить
    Beer66
  5. Vlaleks48 7 декабря 2012 15:28
    Статье плюс!
    Пока будут рождаться на Русской земле такие люди, Россия не пропадет!
  6. kov 7 декабря 2012 15:31
    Фильм про гаубицы и артиллерию
    kov

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня