Military Review

Tactical American aircraft B-57 Canberra (1950-1981)

4
The B-57 Canberra was developed on the basis of the British electric bomber Canberra and is a tactical reconnaissance and bomber for the United States Air Force. The main American developer is the company Glenn L. Martin. Start of development - 1950-1951 year. The aircraft was assembled under license from the British company English Electric. The American version of the British bomber rises into the sky 20.07.1951 of the year. In total, the license was collected 403 "B-57 Canberra". In addition to supplies for its own air force, it was delivered to Taiwan and Pakistan. RB-57D reconnaissance aircraft were also created based on the B-57 Canberra. The main difference between the scout is the enlarged wing. Used to carry out reconnaissance missions over the territories of the Warsaw Pact states.

Tactical American aircraft B-57 Canberra (1950-1981)


To replace the B-26 Invader bombers, which in the Korean War proved to be not the best side (age of aircraft), the United States Air Force decides to hold an urgent tender to adapt the already built aircraft that will perform its night tactical functions. bomber. And although the choice almost immediately fell on the British Electric Canberra aircraft, the military made a short list of pretender planes that could quickly replace the B-26 Invader bombers at the battlefield (Korean War):
- American North American B-45 Tornado. It was used by the United States Air Force as a tactical aircraft;
- American AJ Savage. It was used in the United States Navy;
- Canadian Avro Canada CF-100 Canuck. The aircraft was soon to enter service;
- British Electric Canberra. The aircraft was soon to go into service with the British Air Force;
- American Martin XB-51. Developed by Glenn L. Martin.

Due to the fact that many aircraft from the list were in development, it was decided to postpone the final selection of the aircraft to the end of 1950 year, in order to fully evaluate the aircraft for the required characteristics.



However, despite the decisions taken and the existing list of suitable aircraft, the established committee responsible for the final selection of the aircraft for the role of a tactical bomber, independently assessing the performance of all aircraft, decides whether to purchase the English “Electric Canberra”. In addition to the English aircraft, the XB-51 is also recognized as the best replacement for the B-26 Invader. British planes decide to equip 2 bomber air groups, after which the US XB-51 should have begun to arrive at the troops. Electric Canberra offered a contract to create a batch of aircraft in the amount of 300 units for the needs of the United States Air Force. However, the British company already had a large order from its own Air Force and its capacity did not allow to meet the needs of the United States Air Force. During the negotiations, an agreement was reached on the licensed production of British aircraft at the facilities of Glenn L. Martin. The new aircraft, which was to be assembled by an American company, receives the designation B-57 Canberra.

All other companies, whose planes were included in the list of candidate planes, were not informed of the negotiations held and the decisions taken on them. Therefore, the main tender for the replacement of the B-26 Invader bomber continued.

Flight tests of the candidate aircraft were postponed to 26.02.1951 of the year, due to the unavailability of Glenn L. Martin before the deadline to submit a ready-made version of the licensed aircraft B-57 Canberra.

According to the tender, the candidate planes were supposed to demonstrate the main characteristics of the aircraft and its control during 10 minutes. Although the B-57 Canberra presented the average performance during the demonstration, it was he who announced the tender winner in the early spring of 1951. Glenn L. Martin was given an order to assemble 250 night tactical bombers. The serial aircraft received the designation B-57A Canberra, which was a modification of the Canberra B. Mk 2 with the installed engine J65 (TRD Sapphire) of the American company “Wright Aeronautical”.



In the United States, as in any country, there are powerful industrial lobby that counteract the purchase of foreign technology. It did its best to lobby the order of the US military aircraft, in particular the HV-51. However, the Air Force did not suit the XB-51 on the characteristics of range and maneuverability.

The military was “forced” to require various changes in British aircraft to improve its performance and attract American companies, but this and one of the 2 British Canberra Mk 2 airplanes, the delayed release of American engines led to the first B-57A 20.07.1953's first flight of the year, and that is worse for the US military just a few days before the end of hostilities in Korea. For the first bomber release another seven B-57A.

The main differences from the Canberra Mk 57 B-2 include: 8 machine guns X-NUMXmm caliber made in the wing of the aircraft; 12.7 pylon located under the wing, etc. In addition to the serial release, work was constantly carried out to meet the requirements of the military, which they had previously put forward - improving the view from the cockpit to pilots when bombarded at low altitudes. In the end, the designers were able to achieve the desired, creating a cockpit with a tandem arrangement of pilots and new air brakes. From the ninth dozen, the aircraft is equipped with 4 4mm 39 guns instead of 20 machine guns with 8 guns.

The first 8 planes are designed as tactical bombers, the next 67 planes are designed as photo reconnaissance planes, which are called the RB-57A. Then again began to produce tactical bombers, which received some changes - this modification gets the name В-57В. It is the B-57B that is considered the basic (basic) version of the B-57 Canberra and the 202 units released them. At one time, 38 aircraft B-57B converted to TCB. It receives the name В-57С, which was distinguished by the presence of dual control. Next came from the factory RB-57D. This modification had an enlarged wing. Total released a small batch in 20 units. The latest modification is the aircraft B-57E. They were intended to tow targets. Glenn L. Martin has released X-NUMX B-68 units based on the B-57 modification.



In total, the company has released 403 aircraft in several versions of the B-57 Canberra. The first aircraft entered service in the 1954 year. The RB-57A is placed at the disposal of the 363 tactical aircraft tactical reconnaissance aircraft. The next aircraft are B-57B, which arrived in 1955 at the disposal of the four bomber groups.

Participation in hostilities
The combat use of the B-57 Canberra begins on the 19.02.1965 of the year, when the planes of the third bomber group bombarded enemy positions near Saigon. It was the first use of jet tactical bombers for the United States Air Force. Until 1971, airplanes were used mainly for night bombardments of partisan bases and enemy communications.

The 1969 created a special modification of the aircraft on the project "Tropic Moon III", which were used in the last two years of hostilities in Vietnam called B-57G. Next, the aircraft began to slowly withdraw from the combat force of the Air Force, many of which were transferred to the National Guard under. The latest B-57 Canberra is being decommissioned by the Air Force in 1981. At one time, South Vietnam received about a dozen B-57 Canberra from the United States, and Pakistan received various 25 aircraft of various modifications.



Key features of the B-57 Canberra:
- Length - 19.9 meters;
- wing - 19.5 meter;
- height - 4.75 meters;
- crew - 2 pilot;
- weight empty / normal / max -12.3 / 18.3 / 25.7 tons;
- engine - two J65-W-5;
- speed cruiser / max - 680 / 980 km / h;
- distance to 3700 kilometers;
- combat radius - 900 kilometers;
- High-altitude ceiling - kilometer 12.2;
- payload - 4.5 tons;
- armament: 8X12.7mm machine guns (4X20mm М39); 2X Mk.9 nuclear, 4X454 or 8X340 or 17X227 kilogram bombs; 32X127mm “HVAR” or 4X70mm “FFAR”.


Information sources:
http://crimso.msk.ru/Site/Crafts/Craft20667.htm
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/bomber/b57.html
http://militera.lib.ru/h/nenahov1/02.html
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhnkGAUCtUY
Author:
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Chicot 1
    Chicot 1 11 December 2012 13: 44
    +4
    A very, very successful car ... And in principle and in essence, it was a kind of analogue and "classmate" of our famous Il-28. Which, by the way, was also an excellent plane for its time ...
  2. Santa Fe
    Santa Fe 11 December 2012 14: 27
    +3
    In the late 50s, high-altitude Canberra violated the airspace of the USSR without identification marks and, despite numerous attempts to intercept, broke through to the Kapustin Yar missile range (Volgograd region). However, it was not possible to complete the photographing of the secret object qualitatively - the queues of MiGs riddled the host part of the plane, strong vibration spoiled the pictures. The beaten plane literally "on one wing" returned back to the UK.

    Even in preparation for the raid on Kapustin Yar, the operation was nearly ruined by young aviation enthusiasts - they caught and photographed an unusual airplane on the runway of the air base.
  3. marshes
    marshes 11 December 2012 18: 25
    +4
    Canberra at one time spoiled the nerves of our Pvoshniki.
  4. ICT
    ICT 15 December 2012 09: 32
    +1
    Quote: marshes
    Canberra at one time spoiled the nerves of our Pvoshniki.

    it is believed that the brothers were interested in him lol

Тактический американский самолет B-57 Canberra (1950-1981 гг)

Самолет B-57 Canberra разработан на основе английского бомбардировщика Electric Canberra и является тактическим разведчиком и бомбардировщиком для ВВС Соединенных Штатов. Основной американский разработчик компания «Glenn L. Martin». Начало разработок - 1950-1951 год. Самолет собирался по лицензии британской компании «English Electric». Американская версия британского бомбардировщика поднимается в небо 20.07.1951 года. Всего по лицензии было собрано 403 «B-57 Canberra». Кроме поставки для собственных ВВС, поставлялся Тайваню и Пакистану. Также были созданы самолеты разведчики RB-57D на основе B-57 Canberra. Основным отличием разведчика становится увеличенное крыло. Использовался для проведения разведывательных задач над территориями государств Варшавского договора.

Тактический американский самолет B-57 Canberra (1950-1981 гг)


Для смены на вооружении бомбардировщиков «B-26 Invader», которые в корейской войне показали себя не с самой лучшей стороны (сказался возраст самолетов), ВВС Соединенных Штатов принимает решение срочно провести тендер для адаптации уже построенного самолета, который станет выполнять его функции ночного тактического бомбардировщика. И хотя выбор практически сразу пал на британский самолет Electric Canberra, военные составили короткий список самолетов-претендентов, которые могли бы быстро заменить бомбардировщики «B-26 Invader» на театре боевых действий (Корейская война):
- американский North American В-45 Tornado. Его использовали ВВС Соединенных Штатов как тактический самолет;

- американский AJ Savage. Его использовали в ВМС Соединенных Штатов;
- канадский Avro Canada CF-100 Canuck. Самолет в скором времени должен был поступить на вооружение;
- британский Electric Canberra. Самолет в скором времени должен был поступить на вооружение британских ВВС;
- американский Martin XB-51. Разрабатывался компанией «Glenn L. Martin».

Вследствие того, что многие самолеты из списка были в разработке, было решено перенести срок окончательного выбора самолета на конец 1950 года, чтобы полностью оценить самолеты на предмет требуемых характеристик.

Тактический американский самолет B-57 Canberra (1950-1981 гг)


Однако несмотря на принятые решения и существующий список подходящих самолетов, созданный комитет, ответственный за окончательный выбор самолета на роль тактического бомбардировщика, самостоятельно оценив ТТХ всех самолетов, приходит к решению о целесообразности закупки английского «Electric Canberra». Кроме английского самолета, ХВ-51 также признан лучшей заменой «B-26 Invader». Английскими самолетами решают укомплектовать 2 бомбардировочные авиагруппы, после чего в войска должны были начать поступать американские ХВ-51. Компании «Electric Canberra» предложили контракт на создании партии самолетов в количестве 300 единиц для нужд ВВС Соединенных Штатов. Однако английская компания имела уже большой заказ от собственных ВВС и ее мощности не позволяли удовлетворить потребности ВВС Соединенных Штатов. В ходе проведенных переговоров, было достигнуто соглашение на лицензионное производство английских самолетов на мощностях компании «Glenn L. Martin». Новый самолет, который должен был собираться американской компанией, получает обозначение B-57 Canberra.

Все остальные компании, чьи самолеты попали в список самолетов-претендентов, не были поставлены в известность о проведённых переговорах и принятых по ним решениям. Поэтому основной тендер на замену бомбардировщика «B-26 Invader» продолжался.

Летные испытания самолетов-претендентов были перенесены на 26.02.1951 года, в связи с неготовностью компании «Glenn L. Martin» до назначенного срока представить готовый вариант лицензионного самолета B-57 Canberra.

Самолеты-претенденты, согласно тендеру, должны были в течении 10 минут продемонстрировать основные характеристики самолета и его управления. Хотя представленный B-57 Canberra в ходе демонстрации продемонстрировал средние характеристики, именно он в начале весны 1951 года объявляется победителем тендера. Компании «Glenn L. Martin» был дан заказ на сборку 250 ночных тактических бомбардировщиков. Серийный самолет получил обозначение B-57А Canberra, который являлся модификацией Canberra В. Мк 2 с установленным двигателем J65 (ТРД Sapphire) американской компании «Wright Aeronautical».

Тактический американский самолет B-57 Canberra (1950-1981 гг)


В Соединенных Штатах, как и в любой стране, существуют мощные лобби промышленников, которые противодействуют закупке иностранной техники. Оно сделало все возможное для лоббирования заказа военными американских самолетов, в частности ХВ-51. Однако ВВС не устраивал ХВ-51 по характеристикам дальности и маневренности.

Военных «заставили» потребовать внесения различных изменений в британские самолеты, для улучшения его характеристик и привлечения к созданию американских компаний, но это и авиакатастрофа одно из 2 британских Canberra Mk 2, задержка выпуска американских двигателей привели к тому, что первый серийный В-57А совершил первый полет 20.07.1953 году, и что для американских военных хуже всего за несколько дней до завершения военных действий в Корее. За первым бомбардировщиком выпускают еще семь В-57А.

К основным отличиям В-57А от Canberra Mk 2 относят: 8 пулеметов калибра 12.7мм выполненные в крыле самолета; 4 пилона, расположенных под крылом и т.д. Кроме серийного выпуска постоянно велись работы по выполнению требований военных, которые ранее были ими выдвинуты – улучшения обзора из кабины пилотам при бомбардировке на малых высотах. В конце концов, конструкторы смогли добиться требуемого, создав кабину с тандемным расположением пилотов и новые воздушные тормоза. С девятого десятка самолет оснащают 4 орудиями М39 калибра 20мм вместо 8 пулемётов калибра 12.7мм.

Первые 8 самолетов выполнены как тактические бомбардировщики, следующие 67 самолетов выполнены как самолеты-фоторазведчики, которые получают название RB-57A. Далее снова стали выпускать тактические бомбардировщики, которые получили некоторые изменения – эта модификация получает название В-57В. Именно В-57В считается базовой (основной) версией самолета B-57 Canberra и их выпустили 202 единицы. В свое время 38 самолетов В-57В переоборудовали по УТС. Он получает название В-57С, который отличался наличием двойного управления. Следующими с завода стали выходить RB-57D. Эта модификация имела увеличенное крыло. Всего выпустили малую партию в 20 единиц. Последней модификацией становятся самолеты В-57Е. Они предназначались для буксировки мишеней. Компания «Glenn L. Martin» выпустила 68 единиц В-57Е, построенных на основе модификации В-57С.

Тактический американский самолет B-57 Canberra (1950-1981 гг)


Всего компания выпустила 403 самолетов в нескольких модификациях B-57 Canberra. Первые самолеты поступили на вооружение в 1954 году. RB-57A поступают в распоряжение 363 авиационного тактического разведкрыла. Следующими самолетами становятся В-57В, которые поступили в 1955 году в распоряжение четырех бомбардировочных групп.

Участие в боевых действиях
Боевое применение B-57 Canberra начинается 19.02.1965 года, когда самолеты третьей бомбардировочной группы провели бомбардировку позиций противника около Сайгона. Это было первое применение реактивных тактических бомбардировщиков для ВВС Соединенных Штатов. До 1971 года самолеты использовались в основном для ночных бомбардировок партизанских баз и сообщений противника.

В 1969 создана специальная модификация самолета по проекту «Tropic Moon III», которые применялись последние два года военных действий во Вьетнаме под названием B-57G. Далее самолеты стали потихоньку выводить из боевого состава ВВС, многие из которых были переданы в нацгвардию. Последние B-57 Canberra снимают с вооружения ВВС в 1981 году. В свое время Южный Вьетнам получил от Соединённых Штатов около десятка B-57 Canberra, 25 самолетов разных модификаций получил Пакистан.

Тактический американский самолет B-57 Canberra (1950-1981 гг)


Основные характеристики B-57 Canberra:
- длина – 19.9 метра;
- крыло – 19.5 метра;
- высота – 4.75 метра;
- экипаж – 2 пилота;
- вес пустой/норма/макс -12.3/18.3/25.7 тонны;
- двигатель – два J65-W-5;
- скорость крейсер/макс – 680/980 км/ч;
- дальность до 3700 километров;
- боевой радиус – 900 километров;
- высотный потолок – 12.2 километра;
- полезная нагрузка – 4.5 тонны;
- вооружение: 8Х12.7мм пулеметов (4Х20мм М39); 2Х Мк.9 ядерные, 4Х454 или 8Х340 или 17Х227 килограммовых бомб; 32Х127мм «HVAR» или 4Х70мм «FFAR».


Иcточники информации:
http://crimso.msk.ru/Site/Crafts/Craft20667.htm
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/bomber/b57.html
http://militera.lib.ru/h/nenahov1/02.html
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhnkGAUCtUY
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 4
  1. Chicot 1 11 декабря 2012 13:44
    Очень и очень удачная машина... И в принципе и по сути своей являлась неким аналогом и "одноклассником " знаменитого нашего Ил-28. Который тоже кстати был отменным для своего времени самолетом...
  2. SWEET_SIXTEEN 11 декабря 2012 14:27
    В конце 50-х годов высотная Канберра без опозновательных знаков нарушила воздушное пространство СССР и, несмотря на многочисленные попытки перехвата, прорвалась к ракетному полигону Капустин Яр (Волгоградская обл.). Однако качественно вполнить фотографирование секретного объекта не удалось - очереди МиГов изрешетили хостовую часть самолета, сильная вибрация подпортила снимки. Избитый самолет, буквально "на одном крыле" вернулся назад в Великобританию.

    Еще при подготовке к налету на Капустин Яр, операцию едва не испортили юные любители авиатехники - подловили и сфотографировали необычный самолет на ВПП авиабазы.
  3. болот 11 декабря 2012 18:25
    Канберра в свое время по портили нервы нашим ПВОшникам.
  4. TIT 15 декабря 2012 09:32
    Цитата: болот
    Канберра в свое время по портили нервы нашим ПВОшникам.

    есть мнение ,что и братья им интересовались lol
    TIT

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня