Military Review

Fight for the Caucasus. Late XVI - XVII centuries. Part of 2

6
Shah Abbas I had far-reaching plans for the North Caucasus. After new successes in the war with Turkey, the Iranian Shah decided to completely conquer Dagestan. In 1611-1612, the Persian troops, passing through the southern part of Dagestan, unexpectedly encountered strong resistance from the union of mountain free societies Akush-Dargo. Almost every village of Akushians and Dargins had to be taken by storm. After days of fighting, the Shah's troops were forced to retreat.

In 1614-1615 Shah troops repeated campaign in Dagestan. However, they also did not succeed, and went to Derbent. Abbas did not accept defeat and continued to try to conquer the regions of the North Caucasus. Soon there was news that the Persian shah was collecting troops to conquer the lands of the Kumyks and Kabardian Circassians. Abbas boasted that he would reach the Black Sea and the Crimea. In 1614, the Shah ordered the Shamakhi khan Shikhnazar to prepare for the 12 campaign thousands of warriors. The Persians planned to seize the Russian fortress of Terki, plant the governor there and attach the land of the Kumyks to Shamakha and Derbent. Similar news greatly alarmed the local population. The Russian commanders from the Terek reported to Moscow that they had found "great fear" on the Kumyk princes and murz, and they were asking for help from the Russian kingdom. In Moscow, having learned about the plans of the Shah, they sent him a letter in which they demanded that the shah should not ruin his friendship with Russia, “not to enter the Kabardian and Kumyk lands,” since these territories belonged to the Russian Tsar.

Shah Abbas in relation to the North Caucasus really made strategic plans. Planning an attack on Dagestan, Abbas now wanted to send troops from eastern Georgia through North Ossetia and Kabarda. With the success of the offensive, he planned to build fortresses on the Terek and Koisu Rivers, leaving garrisons there. Thus, the Persian state had to consolidate in the northeastern part of the Caucasus. The Persians "carrots and sticks" were able to attract to their side one Kabardian princes - Mudar Alkasov, whose lands stretched to the Darial gorge. In 1614, the prince traveled to Abbas and returned with the “Shah people”, began work to strengthen the Caucasian road, so that Abbas troops could pass along it.

However, in 1616, the war of Turkey with Iran resumed, and for some time the break continued until 1639 (the 1616 — 1618 and 1623 — 1639 wars). Porta started the war trying to recapture the lost territory. In the autumn of 1616, the Turkish army unsuccessfully besieged Nakhichevan and Yerevan. In 1617, the Crimean detachments attacked Ganja and Julfa, and then, together with the Turkish army, approached Tabriz. However, 10 September 1618, the Turkish-Crimean army was defeated by Shah Abbas in the Serabi Valley. The Turkish government was forced to sign peace in 1619, giving Persia freedom of action in Kartli and Kakheti.

During the war, the Turks sought to enlist the support of mountain lords in order to open the way for the Crimean cavalry to the Caspian coast. Dear gifts were sent to Kabardian princes. However, the Crimean cavalry did not remove the Transcaucasus along the Caspian coast, since the path was closed by Russian fortifications on the Terek. The Turks had to transport Tatar troops from the Crimea to Georgia by ship. The Turks and the Crimean Khan continued their attempts to bribe Kabardian, Kumyk and Nogai feudal lords to attract them to fight Persia, but these actions were not very successful. The feudal lords gladly took gifts, but did not want to fight on the side of Turkey.

After the victory over Turkey, Abbas returned to his plans to conquer the Caucasus. He established control over Georgia and tried to subjugate Dagestan. Shah Abbas I forced the Kakhetian king Teimuraz I to send his mother and two sons to Iran as hostages (they were tortured), another son died in the war with the Persians. The Persian ruler twice with a large army invaded Georgian lands, the country was devastated, villages and churches were plundered, a significant part of the population was resettled. According to some information, up to 100 thousand inhabitants of Kakheti were killed and another 100 thousand were hijacked to Iran. Instead of them, up to 15 thousands of courtyards of the Azerbaijani "Tatars" were settled in Georgia, but soon the Georgians rebelled and killed all of them, not even sparing children. It should be noted that similar methods of warfare were characteristic of that time and region. Opponents regularly arranged acts of local genocide.

Abbas continued to pressure Dagestan. On his orders, the army of the Derbent lord entered the seaside Dagestan and forced Sultan-Mahmud Endireyevsky to recognize the authority of the Shah of Persia. In 1620-1622 under the decree of the Shah, the troops of his vassals of Derbent Barhudar Sultan and Shemakha Yusup Khan made a trip to the Samur Valley of Southern Dagestan, capturing the village of Akhty. However, the success of the Shah's forces could not be achieved.

Board of Sefi I

After the death of Abbas, the Persians continued their policy of expansion in the Caucasus. Sefi I, the grandson of Abbas (he killed the son, appointed his grandson as heir), reigned from 1629 to 1642 for the year, planned to build fortresses on Sunzha and Terek. Fortifications were going to be erected with the help of a detachment of Shagin-Giray, the local population and 15, thousands of legs of the Little Horde. In addition, the work was supposed to cover 10-thousand. Persian Corps. If necessary, it was supposed to send 40-thousand to the North Caucasus the army. However, these plans were not implemented. Almost all local rulers refused to support this project. In addition, the Persian state was busy with the war with Turkey, intense fighting took place in Mesopotamia and Georgia. This linked the main Persian forces, for the war in the North Caucasus there were no significant forces. The war in the South Caucasus was accompanied by the extermination and the hijacking of the local population, unrestrained robbery. The Iranian-Turkish war ended in 1639 with the signing of the Qasr-Shirin (Zohab) treaty, which confirmed the conditions of the 1612 peace of the year, that is, the Persians had to abandon their conquests in Iraq, but they retained the previously occupied territories in Transcaucasia. After this war, peace was established for a long period between the two great powers, since the forces were approximately equal, and the resumption of hostilities seemed hopeless to both governments.

Having completed the war with the Ottoman Empire, Sefi was able to return to the problem of seizing the North Caucasus. This prompted the Dagestan rulers to seek help from the Russian kingdom. The capture of Dagestan by the Persians was not in the interests of Moscow. In 1642, Shah's Ambassador Adzhibek in the Ambassadorial Order was officially informed that "it is necessary for Royal Majesty himself that Kois and Turks should supply cities, because that is the land of Royal Majesty." Sefi could not realize his plans to seize Dagestan, in 1642, he died from drunkenness.



Abbas II Board (1642 - 1667)

Son Sefi continued the policy of his predecessors, trying to implement what they failed. Abbas II was the second to change tactics and from open invasions, he switched to a change of certain objectionable masters. In 1645, a detachment of Shah's troops entered Kaitag and displaced the local feudal lord, utsmy. The origin of this word is unclear: according to one version it comes from the Arabic word “ismi” - “eminent”, on the other - from the Jewish word “otsulo”, meaning “strong, powerful”. It must be said that Kaytag utsmiystvo was considered one of the most influential Kumyk-Dargin feudal possessions of Dagestan in the 16th — 17th centuries. Utsmy Rustam Khan was not going to surrender without a fight, he gathered his supporters and defeated the Persians, pushing them out of their possessions. The enraged Shah Abbas sent a more numerous detachment to Kaytag Utsmiystvo, the Persians again occupied the mountainous region and expelled Rustam Khan. In his place, Amir Khan Sultan, loyal to Persia, was seated. The Persians planned to establish themselves in the province, building a fortress there.

These events forced the Dagestan feudal lords to turn for help to the Russian kingdom. They understood that separately, they have no chance to resist the mighty Persia. Andireevsky Vladyka Kazanalip wrote to the sovereign Alexey Mikhailovich: “Yaz (c) Kyzylbashsky and the Crimea, I don’t refer to the Turks, your sovereign is a slave direct. Yes, I beat you with your brow, the great sovereign: they would only tell me to push Kizylbashen, or our other enemies, to attack us, and you, the great sovereign, would tell me to give aid to the Astrakhan and Terek military men and Big Nagai to help. ” Moscow sent additional military forces to the Terek. At the same time, the Shah of Persia was demanded to withdraw its troops from Dagestan. Abbas did not dare to bring the matter to war with Moscow and withdrew his forces from the North Caucasus. This markedly strengthened the authority of the Russian kingdom among the Dagestan rulers.

Even the Persian appointee Amir Shah gave the terrible governor words about loyalty to the Russian sovereign. He wrote to Turki, that "there will be under the kingdom of the tsar and the shah Abbasov of Majesty with his hand in the slavery 's hands". Utsmiy also said that if the shah allows, he is ready to take the oath of Moscow on behalf of all the possessions in order to be under the royal arm in "eternal relentless servility to his death." True, it is clear that such vows and assurances cost little. The royal governors and the imperial generals quickly learned the lesson that in the East they give oaths easily (including on the Koran), but they also break them easily. In the Caucasus and the East (and throughout the world), force and political will were the most prized.

In the Iranian capital - Isfahan (became the capital under Shah Abbas I) did not accept this defeat, and did not intend to abandon plans for the conquest of Dagestan and the entire North Caucasus. Persia was at the top of its military and political power and was not going to retreat. The Persians began to prepare a new campaign in the North Caucasus. The hike took place in 1651-1652. In addition to the Persian detachments, troops from Shemakha and Derbent took part in it. Utsmiy Amir-Khan Sultan, Shamkhal Surkhay and Kazanlip Endireevsky also joined the Persians under the threat of immediate reprisals. Having ruined the Kabardian lands, the multinational shah's army attempted to take Sunzhensky town, but failed. After this campaign, the Dagestan rulers, who had broken their vows to Moscow, had to explain their behavior. In the letter they explained that they went to war with the Kabardian princes, who also raided their possessions. The letter reported that they did not offend a single Russian.

Abbas II expressed his dissatisfaction with the failure of the march to the Sunzhensky town. It was decided to continue the offensive. By Derbent began to tighten the troops 8 Khans. On the captured territory, the Shah planned to build two powerful fortresses near Terkov and Salt Lake by local forces. Each fortress was supposed to be located on 6 thous. Warriors. The implementation of this plan could dramatically change the geopolitical situation in the region. In such a scenario, Russia was completely expelled from the North Caucasus, and the Persians received powerful outposts to control the region. However, this plan was not realized.

The Iranian Shah was forced to abandon direct campaigns and engage in "diplomacy." Persians tried to replace objectionable feudal lords with more docile, supported feudal civil strife. At the same time, firms (diplomas) were sent to Dagestan with recognition of the ownership rights of local rulers. Thus, the local owners formally became vassals of the Shah. The Iranian government sent expensive gifts.

Under Shah Soleiman Sefi (who ruled between 1666 and 1694 for years), Iran has not advanced in the North Caucasus. This ruler was weak, weak-willed, preferring alcohol and women, not military matters.

Fight for the Caucasus. Late XVI - XVII centuries. Part of 2

Shah Abbas II.

Russian policy. Relations with Georgia

Moscow, in spite of all the difficulties of the first three decades of the 17 century, retained Turkey. During the first Russian tsar from the Romanov dynasty, Dutch engineer Clausen was sent to Turki, who strengthened the fortifications. The second time the fortress was renovated under Alexey Mikhailovich in 1670, the fortification work was carried out under the direction of the Scottish colonel in the Russian service of Thomas Behley.

Virtually the only major military operation of the Russian troops in the North Caucasus in the 17 century was a campaign in 1625 in the year of Terkov's governor Golovin to Kabarda in order to suppress unrest that echoed the Troubles in Russia. Even in this difficult time, most of the Kabardian feudal lords remained loyal to the Russian state, more than once participating in joint campaigns against the Crimean Khanate.

In the 17 century, Daghestan’s aggravation to Russia was caused by the constant pressure of Persia. In 1610, the Tarkovsky owner with a number of Kumyk princes brought an oath to Russian citizenship in the fortress of Turki. But in the future, Shamkhala and other Dagestan rulers had to recognize the supreme power of the Shah of Persia. However, they are in this position. So, Shamkhal from 1614 to 1642 year sent 13 embassies to Moscow. Subjects of Moscow also became Kaytagsky utsmiy Rustam Khan.

In general, it must be said that in the 17 century, Russia advanced much less in the Caucasus than during the reign of Ivan the Terrible. Under Ivan Vasilyevich, strong friendly, dynastic, and religious and cultural ties were established with the North Caucasus and Georgia. It is clear that this weakening of positions was associated with a number of objective factors. Distemper and intervention greatly weakened Russia. Turkey and Iran took advantage of this, having subjugated the vast Caucasian lands, strongly undermined Christianity there, spreading Islam in the North Caucasus. As a result, only the extremely eastern part of the future Caucasian line remained behind Russia.

Relations with Georgia. The Georgians, oppressed by Persia and Turkey, were clearly to the Russian kingdom. In fact, in Moscow was their only hope for survival, the preservation of faith. They hoped for the patronage of a faithful, Orthodox Russia. The essence of their petitions at this time was expressed in the sentence: “But we don’t have hope for anyone except you ...”.

In 1616-1619 ties with Kakheti were restored. Teimuraz I was hoping for military assistance to Russia in the fight against Persia. 1623, another Georgian embassy headed by Archbishop Theodosius visited Russia. In 1635, Teimuraz sent an embassy to Moscow headed by Metropolitan Nikifor, asking for protection and military assistance. In 1639, Metropolitan Nikifor arrived in Moscow for the second time with a request for financial and military assistance. In 1642, the metropolitan, with the Russian ambassadors, Prince EF Myshetsky and clerk I. Klyucharyov, brought a patent on acceptance of the Iversk land under the protection of the Russian state.

In 1638, the king of Megrelia, Leon, sent a diploma with the ambassador, priest Gabriel Gegenava, where he asked for Russian citizenship for his people. In September 1651, the owner of Imereti kissed the cross of allegiance to the Russian sovereign. After that, an embassy led by Japaridze and Archimandrite Evdemon was sent to Moscow. 19 May 1653, Imereti Tsar Alexander III received a letter of appreciation from Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich about accepting Imeretia into Russian citizenship. At the beginning of 1657, citizens of the mountain regions of Eastern Georgia — Tusheti, Khevsureti, and Pshavi — asked for Russian citizenship: “... we implore you, beat us with your head, so that you can take us into your service and army. From today, we have accepted your citizenship. ” Georgia sought to unite with Russia and receive political, military, spiritual and material support from the Russians. True, there was a big “but”, Russia and the Georgian possessions then did not have a common border.
Author:
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. MilaPhone
    MilaPhone 14 December 2012 10: 53
    +2
    Only thanks to Russia, Georgians, Armenians, Ossetians survived as Christians and as a nation.
    1. omsbon
      omsbon 14 December 2012 11: 11
      +1
      Do any of them remember who they owe? NO, they don’t remember, most of them have amnesia.
      They must be driven from Russia to their historical homelands !
      1. MilaPhone
        MilaPhone 14 December 2012 11: 51
        -3
        When I drink with Armenians, we always raise a toast "To Bayazet".
  2. Lakkuchu
    Lakkuchu 14 December 2012 11: 13
    0
    Who just did not climb to the Caucasus .. stsuki! They took advantage of the fact that many peoples and all are relatively small in number, especially in the North Caucasus, and acted on the principle of "divide and rule."
  3. kNow
    kNow 14 December 2012 14: 52
    +1
    "After the death of Abbas, the Persians continued their policy of expansion in the Caucasus."

    Safavids were an Azerbaijani dynasty, not a Persian one.

    http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/Сефевиды
    1. Yeraz
      Yeraz 15 December 2012 00: 41
      +3
      Quote: kNow
      Safavids were an Azerbaijani dynasty, not a Persian one.

      Yes, but with Abbas coming to power, preference was given to the Persians in power.
      By the way, do not own the info why did Abbas personify the Safavids power so to speak?
  4. mamba
    mamba 14 December 2012 16: 24
    +4
    The Georgians, oppressed by Persia and Turkey, were clearly to the Russian kingdom. In fact, in Moscow was their only hope for survival, the preservation of faith. They hoped for the patronage of a faithful, Orthodox Russia. The essence of their petitions at this time was expressed in the sentence: “But we don’t have hope for anyone except you ...”.
    And when they received Russian patronage and security guarantees, behind the broad back of Moscow, the Georgian elite began to feel worse about their defenders, who did not give them free rein in civil strife, robbery and the capture of slaves. It was then that Russophobia arose among Georgian aristocrats, which survived safely to our times and grew to the odious size in modern Georgia, literally permeating the whole society.

Схватка за Кавказ. Конец XVI - XVII вв. Часть 2

Шах Аббас I имел далеко идущие планы в отношении Северного Кавказа. После новых успехов в войне с Турцией, иранских шах решил полностью завоевать Дагестан. В 1611-1612 гг., персидские войска, пройдя южную часть Дагестана, неожиданно столкнулись с сильным сопротивлением союза горских вольных обществ Акуша-Дарго. Чуть ли не каждое селение акушинцев и даргинцев приходилось брать штурмом. После многодневных боев шахские войска были вынуждены отступить.

В 1614-1615 гг. шахские войска повторили поход в Дагестан. Однако также не добились успеха, и отошли к Дербенту. Аббас не смирился с поражением и продолжил попытки завоевания областей Северного Кавказа. Вскоре появились известия, что персидских шах собирает войска для завоевания земель кумыков и кабардинских черкес. Аббас похвалялся, что дойдёт до Чёрного моря и Крыма. В 1614 году шах приказал шемахинскому хану Шихназару подготовить к походу 12 тыс. воинов. Персы планировали захватить русскую крепость Терки, посадить там наместника и присоединить к Шемахе и Дербенту земли кумыков. Подобные новости сильно встревожили местное население. Русские воеводы с Терека сообщали в Москву, что на кумыцких князей и мурз нашёл «великий страх» и они просят помощи у Русского царства. В Москве узнав о планах шаха, отправили к нему грамоту, в которой потребовали, чтобы шах дружбу с Россией не рушил, «на кабардинскую и на кумыкскую землю не вступал», т. к. эти территории принадлежали русскому царю.

Шах Аббас в отношении Северного Кавказа действительно строил стратегические планы. Планируя наступление на Дагестан, Аббас хотел теперь направить войска из Восточной Грузии через Северную Осетию и Кабарду. При успехе наступления, планировал построить крепости на реках Терек и Койсу, оставив там гарнизоны. Таким образом, Персидская держава должна была закрепиться в северо-восточной части Кавказа. Персы «кнутом и пряником» смогли привлечь на свою сторону одного кабардинских князей – Мудара Алкасова, чьи земли тянулись до Дарьяльского ущелья. В 1614 году князь ездил к Аббасу и вернулся с «шахскими людьми», начал работу по укреплению кавказской дороги, чтобы по ней могли пройти войска Аббаса.


Однако в 1616 году возобновилась война Турции с Ираном и некотором перерывом продолжалась до 1639 года (война 1616—1618 и 1623—1639 гг.). Порта начала войну пытаясь отбить утраченные территории. Осенью 1616 года турецкая армия безуспешно осаждала Нахичевань и Ереван. В 1617 году крымские отряды напали на Ганджу и Джульфу, а затем вместе с турецкой армией подошли к Тебризу. Однако 10 сентября 1618 году турецко-крымское войско было разбито шахом Аббасом в Серабской долине. Турецкое правительство было вынуждено в 1619 году подписать мир, предоставив Персии свободу действий в Картли и Кахетии.

Во время войны турки стремились заручиться поддержкой горных владетелей, чтобы открыть дорогу крымской коннице к побережью Каспия. Дорогие подарки слали кабардинским князьям. Однако крымской коннице не удалость пройти в Закавказье по каспийскому побережью, т. к. путь закрыт русскими укреплениями на Тереке. Туркам пришлось перевозить татарские войска из Крыма в Грузию на кораблях. Турки и крымский хан продолжали попытки подкупить кабардинских, кумыкских и ногайских феодалов, чтобы привлечь их к борьбе с Персией, но эти действия большого успеха не имели. Феодалы с удовольствием брали подарки, но воевать на стороне Турции не хотели.

После победы над Турцией, Аббас вернулся к своим планам по покорению Кавказа. Он устанавливал контроль над Грузией и пытался подчинить Дагестан. Шах Аббас I заставил кахетинского царя Теймураза I отправить в Иран в качестве заложников мать и двух сыновей (они были замучены), ещё один сын погиб в войне с персами. Персидский владыка дважды с большой армией вторгался в грузинские земли, страна была опустошена, селения и церкви разграблены, значительная часть населения переселена. По некоторым данным, до 100 тыс. жителей Кахетии было убито и ещё 100 тыс. угнано в Иран. Вместо них в Грузии было поселено до 15 тыс. дворов азербайджанских «татар», однако вскоре грузины восстали и всех их перебили, не жалея даже детей. Надо отметить, что подобные методы войны были характерны для того времени и региона. Противники регулярно устраивали акты локального геноцида.

Аббас продолжал давление на Дагестан. По его приказу войско дербентского владыки вступило в приморский Дагестан и заставило Султан-Махмуда Эндиреевского признать власть персидского шаха. В 1620-1622 гг. по указу шаха войска его вассалов дербентского Бархудар-султана и шемахинского Юсуп-хана совершили поход в Самурскую долину Южного Дагестана, захватив селение Ахты. Однако большего успеха войскам шаха достичь не удалось.

Правление Сефи I

После смерти Аббаса, персы продолжили политику экспансии на Кавказе. Сефи I, внук Аббаса (сына он умертвил, назначив наследником внука), правил с 1629 по 1642 год, планировал возвести крепости на Сунже и Тереке. Укрепления собирались возводить с помощью отряда Шагин-Гирея, местного населения и 15 тыс. ногаев Малой орды. Кроме того, работы должен был прикрывать 10-тыс. персидский корпус. В случае необходимости, предполагалось послать на Северный Кавказ 40-тыс. армию. Однако эти планы не были реализованы. Практически все местные владетели отказались поддержать этот проект. К тому же Персидская держава была занята войной с Турцией, интенсивные боевые действия шли в Месопотамии и Грузии. Это связывало основные персидские силы, для войны на Северном Кавказе значительных сил не было. Война в Закавказье сопровождалась истреблением и угоном местного населения, безудержным грабежом. Ирано-турецкая война завершилась в 1639 году подписанием Касре-Ширинского (Зохабского) договора, который подтвердил условия мира 1612 года, т. е. персам пришлось отказаться от завоеваний в Ираке, но они сохранили ранее захваченные территории в Закавказье. После этой войны довольно на долгий период между двумя великими державами установился мир, т. к. силы были примерно равны, и возобновление боевых действий казалось обоим правительствам бесперспективным.

Завершив войну с Османской империей, Сефи смог вернуться к проблеме захвата Северного Кавказа. Это подталкивало дагестанских владык искать помощи у Русского царства. Захват Дагестана персами не был в интересах Москвы. В 1642 году шахскому послу Аджибеку в Посольском приказе было официально сообщено, что «царскому величеству самому то надобно, чтобы на Койсе и Терках городы поставить, потому что та земля царского величества». Сефи так и не смог реализовать свои планы по захвату Дагестана, в 1642 году он скончался от пьянства.

Схватка за Кавказ. Конец XVI - XVII вв. Часть 2


Правление Аббаса II (1642 — 1667)

Сын Сефи продолжил политику своих предшественников, стараясь осуществить то, что не удалось им. Аббас II второй сменил тактику и от открытых вторжений, перешёл к смене отдельных неугодных ему владык. В 1645 году отряд шахских войск вошёл в Кайтаг и сместил местного феодала – уцмия. Происхождение этого слова неясно: согласно одной версии оно происходит от арабского слова «исми» - «именитый», по другой — от иудейского «оцуло», означающего «сильный, мощный». Надо сказать, что Кайтагское уцмийство считалось одним из самых влиятельных кумыкско-даргинских феодальных владений Дагестана в XVI—XVII вв. Уцмий Рустам-хан не собирался сдаваться без боя, он собрал своих сторонников и нанёс персам поражение, вытеснив их из своих владений. Разгневанный шах Аббас послал в Кайтагское уцмийство более многочисленный отряд, персы снова заняли горный край и выгнали Рустам-хана. На его место был посажен лояльный Персии Амир-хан Султан. Персы планировали утвердиться в крае, построив там крепость.

Эти события заставили дагестанских феодалов обратиться за помощью к Русскому царству. Они понимали, что по отдельности, у них нет шансов устоять перед могущественной Персией. Эндиреевский владыка Казаналип писал государю Алексею Михайловичу: «Яз (с) кызылбашским и с Крымом, из с турским не ссылаюсь, холоп ваш государев прямой. Да бью челом вам, великому государю: толко учнут меня теснить кизылбашеня, или иные наши недруги, учнут на нас посягать, и вам бы, великому государю, велеть меня дать на помощь астраханских и терских ратных людей и Большому Нагаю помогать». Москва послала на Терек дополнительные ратные силы. Одновременно от персидского шаха потребовали вывести войска из Дагестана. Аббас не решился довести дело до войны с Москвой и вывел свои силы с Северного Кавказа. Это заметно укрепило авторитет Русского царства среди дагестанских правителей.

Даже персидский ставленник Амир-шах передал теркому воеводу слова о верности русскому государю. Он написал в Терки, что «будет под ево царскою и шах Аббасова величества рукою в опчем холопстве». Уцмий также сообщил, что если шах позволит, он готов принести присягу Москве от имени всего владения, чтобы быть под царской рукой в «вечном неотступном холопстве до смерти своей». Правда, понятно, что такие клятвы и заверения мало что стоили. Царские воеводы и императорские полководцы довольно быстро усвоили тот урок, что на Востоке клятвы легко дают (в том числе на Коране), но также легко и нарушают. На Кавказе и на Востоке (да и во всём мире) в первую очередь ценилась сила и политическая воля.

В иранской столице - Исфахане (стал столицей при шахе Аббасе I) не смирились с этим поражением, и не собирались отказывать от планов покорения Дагестана и всего Северного Кавказа. Персия находилась на вершине своего военно-политического могущества и не собиралась отступать. Персы начали готовить новый поход на Северный Кавказ. Поход состоялся в 1651-1652 гг. В нём помимо персидских отрядов приняли участие войска из Шемахи и Дербента. Под угрозой немедленной расправы к персам также присоединились уцмий Амир-хан Султан, шамхал Сурхай и Казанлип Эндиреевский. Разорив кабардинские земли, многонациональное шахское войско попыталось взять Сунженский городок, но не смогло. После этого похода, дагестанским правителям, нарушившие перед Москвой свои клятвы, пришлось разъяснить своё поведение. В письме они объяснили, что войной ходили на кабардинских князей, которые также ходили в набеги на их владения. В письме сообщалось, что ни одного русского они не обидели.

Аббас II выразил своё недовольство по поводу неудачи похода к Сунженскому городку. Было принято решение продолжить наступление. К Дербенту стали стягивать отряды 8 ханов. На захваченной территории шах планировал построить силами местных жителей две мощные крепости у Терков и у Солёного озера. В каждой крепости предполагалось расположить по 6 тыс. воинов. Реализации этого плана могла резко изменить геополитическую ситуацию в регионе. Россия при таком сценарии полостью изгонялась из Северного Кавказа, а персы получали мощные форпосты, позволяющие контролировать регион. Однако и этот замысел реализовать не удалось.

Иранских шах был вынужден отказаться от прямых походов и заниматься «дипломатией». Персы пытались заменить неугодных феодалов, более покладистыми, поддерживали феодальные междоусобицы. Одновременно по Дагестану рассылались фирманы (грамоты) с признанием владельческих прав местных владык. Таким образом, местные владельцы формально становились вассалами шаха. Иранское правительство рассылало дорогие подарки.

При шахе Солеймане Сефи (правивший между 1666 и 1694 годами), Иран не продвинулся на Северном Кавказе. Этот правитель был слаб, безволен, предпочитая алкоголь и женщин, а не воинские дела.

Схватка за Кавказ. Конец XVI - XVII вв. Часть 2

Шах Аббас II.

Политика России. Отношения с Грузией

Москва, несмотря на все трудности первых трёх десятилетий 17 столетия, удержала за собой Терки. При первом русском царе из династии Романовых в Терки был направлен голландский инженер Клаусен, который усилил крепостные укрепления. Второй раз крепость обновили при Алексее Михайловиче в 1670 году, фортификационные работы велись под руководством шотландского полковника на русской службе Томаса Бехли.

Практически единственной крупной военной операцией русских войск на Северном Кавказе в 17 столетии был поход в 1625 году терковского воеводы Головина на Кабарду с целью подавления волнений, бывших отголоском Смуты в России. Даже в это тяжёлое время большинство кабардинских феодалов сохранило верность Русскому государству, не раз участвуя в совместных походах против Крымского ханства.

В 17 столетии усиливается тяготение Дагестана к России, что было вызвано постоянным давлением Персии. В 1610 году Тарковский владелец с рядом кумыкских князей принесли в крепости Терки присягу на русское подданство. Но в дальнейшем шамхалу и другим дагестанским владыкам пришлось признать верховную власть персидского шаха. Однако они тяготились таким положением. Так, шамхал с 1614 по 1642 год направил в Москву 13 посольств. Подданным Москвы стал и Кайтагский уцмий Рустам-хан.

В целом же надо сказать, что в 17 столетии, Россия продвинулась на Кавказе намного меньше, чем в правление Ивана Грозного. При Иване Васильевиче были налажены крепкие дружественные, династические и религиозные и культурные связи с Северным Кавказом и Грузией. Ясно, что это ослабление позиций было связано с рядом объективных факторов. Смута и интервенция сильно ослабили Россию. Этим воспользовались Турция и Иран, которые подчинив обширные кавказские земли, сильно подорвали там позиции христианства, распространив ислам на Северном Кавказе. В результате за Россией осталась только крайне восточная часть будущей Кавказской линии.

Отношения с Грузией. Грузины, угнетаемые Персией и Турцией, явно тяготели к Русскому царству. Фактически в Москве была их единственная надежда на выживание, сохранение веры. Они надеялись на покровительство единоверной, православной России. Суть их прошений в это время выражалась в предложении: «А кроме вас ни на кого надежды не имеем…».

В 1616-1619 гг. были восстановлены связи с Кахетией. Теймураз I надеялся на военную помощь России в борьбе с Персией. 1623 году Россию посетило ещё одно грузинское посольство во главе с архиепископом Феодосием. В 1635 году Теймураз отправил в Москву посольство во главе с митрополитом Никифором, с просьбой о покровительстве и военной помощи. В 1639 году митрополит Никифор второй раз прибыл в Москву с просьбой об оказании финансовой и военной помощи. В 1642 году митрополит с русскими послами князем Е. Ф. Мышецким и дьяком И. Ключаревым привезли жалованную грамоту о принятии Иверской земли под покровительство Российского государства.

В 1638 году царь Мегрелии Леон послал с послом священником Гавриилом Гегенавой грамоту, где попросил русского подданства для своего народа. В сентябре 1651 года владелец Имеретии целовал крест на верность русскому государю. После этого в Москву было направлено посольство во главе с Джапаридзе и архимандрита Евдемона. 19 мая 1653 года имеретинский царь Александр III получил жалованную грамоту государя Алексея Михайловича о принятии Имеретии в русское подданство. В начале 1657 года русского подданства попросили жители горных областей Восточной Грузии – Тушетии, Хевсуретии и Пшави: «… умоляем тебя, бьем челом, чтобы ты взял нас в свою службу и войско. С нынешнего дня мы приняли подданство твоё». Грузия стремилась объединиться с Россией и получить политическую, военную, духовную и материальную поддержку со стороны русских. Правда, существовало большое «но», у России и грузинских владений тогда не было общей границы.
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 6
  1. Милафон 14 декабря 2012 10:53
    Только благодаря России, грузины, армяне, осетины сохранились как христиане и как нации.
    Милафон
    1. omsbon 14 декабря 2012 11:11
      Кто-нибудь из них помнит кому обязаны ? НЕТ, не помнят, у большинства из них амнезия.
      Гнать их надо из России по историческим родинам !
      1. Милафон 14 декабря 2012 11:51
        Когда пью с армянами всегда поднимаем тост "За Баязет".
        Милафон
  2. Lakkuchu 14 декабря 2012 11:13
    Кто только не лез на Кавказ.. сцуки! Пользовались тем, что множество народов и все относительно малочисленны, особенно на Северном Кавказе и действовали по принципу "разделяй и властвуй".
    Lakkuchu
  3. kNow 14 декабря 2012 14:52
    "После смерти Аббаса, персы продолжили политику экспансии на Кавказе. "

    Сефевиды были азербайджанской династией, а не персидской.

    http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/Сефевиды
    kNow
    1. Yeraz 15 декабря 2012 00:41
      Цитата: kNow
      Сефевиды были азербайджанской династией, а не персидской.

      Да,но с приходом Аббаса к власти предпочтение было отдано персам во власти.
      Кстати не владеете инфой почему Аббас так сказать персиризировал власть Сефевидов?
  4. мамба 14 декабря 2012 16:24
    Грузины, угнетаемые Персией и Турцией, явно тяготели к Русскому царству. Фактически в Москве была их единственная надежда на выживание, сохранение веры. Они надеялись на покровительство единоверной, православной России. Суть их прошений в это время выражалась в предложении: «А кроме вас ни на кого надежды не имеем…».
    А когда получили русское покровительство и гарантии безопасности, то за широкой спиной Москвы грузинская элита стала всё хуже относиться к своим защитникам, которые не давали им воли в междоусобицах, грабежах и захвате рабов. Вот тогда и возникла русофобия среди грузинских аристократов, которая благополучно дожила до наших времён и выросла до одиозных размеров в современной Грузии, буквально пропитав всё общество.
    мамба

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня