Military Review

Rat Sappers

1
To detect mines in Tanzania and Mozambique, specially trained rats are used. The rat training project was launched by the non-governmental organization APOP from Holland. We offer you a photo with these amazing workouts.



1. The little puppy in the miniature harness is constantly tugging with his little little nose, checking the field for the presence of mines. His other relatives have already helped to clear the vast territories in neighboring Mozambique.



2. Two month old little rat crosses a piece of land. Two special trainers go behind, controlling a special crossbar, which helps the rat to move strictly back and forth.



3. Easily motivated by food pieces, African marsupials were very effective in detecting mines. itThe first of its kind training project was launched in Tanzania by the non-governmental organization APOPO from the Netherlands.



4. Rodents are vaccinated with a certain psychology: the sound of a click means that they receive a reward.



5. “Finding mines is the most difficult, dangerous and expensive part of our work. Under these conditions, rats are much more suitable than dogs, because they are easier to train, ”says Bart Veetiens, founder of APOPO.



6. During the day, two sappers manage to clear 200 square meters of territory, but if they work with rats, they can do it in two hours. “Rats are very effective. At the moment, they have already helped to clear two million square meters of land, ”says Bart Veetiens.



7. Other rats undergo another type of training - they help detect tuberculosis in saliva samples.



8. Training starts at the 4 week-old. First, the rats get used to people, and then they are taught to associate the sound of a click with a reward of food.



9. After all this, rats are taught to distinguish the smell of trotyl from everything else.

Rat Sappers


10. Nine months of grueling workouts on and off the field is enough for full training.



11. “Work is not easy at all. You must be patient. Sometimes I get upset, but again and again I take myself in hand, repeating to myself that these are just animals and that my work will save people's lives, ”says trainer Abdul Mkomvu.



12. APOPO also launched a special project that allows individuals and legal entities to contribute to the training and raising of rats in exchange for a certificate that allows us to appropriate animals.



13. Veetiens says that the next step in the training process of rats will be their training in detecting drugs or finding victims in natural disasters.
1 comment
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 3 September 2015 17: 10
    +1
    I really love animals, I read about them. Especially about animals with intelligence. Well, you need --- smarter than a dog! Cool! But according to scientific data, the Rodent Squad has the greatest variety among mammals. And even their ecologically niche is wider than Squad Primates. And still the sociality of rats! In short, an alternative to Humanity and I dream that two civilizations will have the basis for cooperation. Thanks to the Author for a wonderful article, it’s a pity that the Author is not indicated. Regards. Your supporter.

Крысы-саперы

Для обнаружения мин в Танзании и Мозамбике используют специально натренированных крыс. Проект по тренировке крыс был запущен неправительственной организацией APOP из Голландии. Предлагаем Вашему вниманию фото с этих удивительных тренировок.



1. Крысенок в миниатюрной упряжке постоянно дергает своим остреньким носиком, проверяя поле на наличие мин. Другие его сородичи уже помогли расчистить огромные территории в соседнем Мозамбике.




2. Двухмесячный крысенок пересекает участок земли. Два специальных тренера идут сзади, контролируя специальную перекладину, которая помогает крысенку двигаться строго вперед и назад.



3. Легко мотивируемые кусочками еды, африканские сумчатые крысы оказались очень эффективными в обнаружении мин. этот первый в своем роде тренировочный проект был запущен в Танзании неправительственной организацией APOPO из Голландии.



4. Грызунам прививают определенную психологию: звук щелчка означает, что они получают вознаграждение.



5. «Нахождение мин – самая сложная, опасная и дорогая часть нашей работы. В этих условиях крысы подходят гораздо больше чем собаки, потому что их легче натренировать», – говорит Барт Веетиенс, основатель APOPO.



6. За день два сапера успевают расчистить 200 квадратных метров территории, но если они работают с крысами, они смогут сделать это за два часа. «Крысы очень эффективны. На данный момент они помогли расчистить уже два миллиона квадратных метров земли», – говорит Барт Веетиенс.



7. Другие крысы проходят другой вид тренировки – они помогают обнаруживать туберкулез в образцах слюны.



8. Тренировки начинаются в 4-недельном возрасте. Сначала крысы привыкают к людям, а затем их приучают ассоциировать звук щелчка с вознаграждением в виде пищи.



9. После всего этого, крыс учат отличать запах тротила от всего остального.

Крысы-саперы


10. Девять месяцев изнурительных тренировок на поле и вне его достаточно для полной подготовки.



11. «Работа совсем не простая. Необходимо быть терпеливым. Иногда расстраиваюсь, но вновь и вновь беру себя в руки, повторяя себе, что это всего лишь животные и что моя работа спасет жизни людей», – рассказывает тренер Абдула Мкомву.



12. Также APOPO запустило специальный проект, позволяющий физическим и юридическим лицам внести свой вклад в тренировку и выращивание крыс в обмен на сертификат, позволяющий присваивать животных себе.



13. Веетиенс говорит, что следующим шагом в тренировочном процессе крыс будет их обучение обнаружению наркотиков или поиску пострадавших в природных катастрофах.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Reptiloid 3 сентября 2015 17:10
    Я очень люблю животных,читаю про них.Особенно про животных с интеллектом.Ну надо же---умнее собаки!Круто!А ведь согласно научным данным,Отряд Грызуны имеет наибольшее видов разнообразие среди Млекопитающих.и даже экологически ниша у них шире,чем у Отряда Приматы.А ещё социальность крыс!Короче альтернатива Человечеству и я мечтаю что у двух цивилизаций будет почва для сотрудничества.Благодарность Автору за прекрасную статью,жаль что не указан Автор.С уважением. Ваш сторонник.
Картина дня