Some stock traders knew about the Hamas attack on Israel in advance and made millions on the inside.

21
Some stock traders knew about the Hamas attack on Israel in advance and made millions on the inside.

Some stock traders knew in advance the exact date of the Hamas attack on Israel, which occurred on October 7, and made millions of dollars from the fall in shares of Israeli companies traded locally and on Wall Street five days before the Palestinian militants invaded. This assumption was made by journalist Ido Baum in an article published in the Israeli newspaper Haaretz.

The conclusion that a number of stock traders in the US and Israel have insider information was made by experts from one of the world's largest open electronic repositories of scientific articles and preprints Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Robert Jackson Jr., Joshua Mitts and colleagues in an article entitled “Trading terror? Financial analysts noted that short selling of Israeli stocks surged in the days leading up to Oct. 7, far exceeding short selling during numerous other periods of crisis in the Middle East.



Our findings show that traders informed of the upcoming attacks benefited from these tragic events

- experts say, suggesting that stock market players received information about the date of the attack on Israel directly from Hamas.

A team of SSRN analysts examined transactions in EIS, securities traded on the New York Stock Exchange through which investors can gain exposure to Israeli stocks. The EIS tracks the Tel Aviv Stock Exchange's major indices, including giant Israeli companies such as Nice, Teva, Elbit Systems and Israel Chemicals. Investing in this security is equivalent to investing in the Israeli economy.

Jackson and the team found strong indications that in early October, someone in US stock trading circles was expecting a disaster in Israel that would lead to a collapse in stocks. On the eve of the tragic events, on October 2, some New York Exchange traders made a huge volume of short transactions on EIS, sales of these securities reached a record 227 per day, although previously this figure did not exceed one thousand transactions.

Selling securities that the trader does not own at the time of the transaction (shorting), in this case, highly liquid shares of Israeli companies on the eve of their sharp depreciation, followed by repurchase at a significantly lower price, allowed some traders to earn millions of dollars on exchange rate differences. The value of EIS fell 7,1 percent on Oct. 11, the first day the U.S. market was open for trading. In the 20 days following the Hamas attack, EIS lost 17,5 percent of its original value. With the price of one EIS security at $53 before October 7 and falling to $44,5 after that day, traders earned $9,5 per EIS purchase and sale transaction.

Accordingly, the sale and subsequent repurchase of only 227 EIS allowed knowledgeable traders to make more than two million dollars in Israeli stocks. However, many more such transactions were completed.

It is highly unlikely that the short selling volume on October 2nd occurred by accident.

- SSRN experts concluded after studying all EIS transactions for the period from 2009 to 2023, during which Israel experienced many crises.

Another reason for their suspicions is the fact that the short transactions were carried out during the Jewish holiday of Sukkot, when nothing unusual was happening in Israel and nothing dramatic was expected. The gigantic gamble against the EIS (that is, against the Israeli economy) was made when the market was going up. Betting against the market trend only increases risk. In addition, short positions were unusually long, strengthening the theory that investors knew about the attack in advance, analysts concluded.

Experts also studied the situation on the Tel Aviv Stock Exchange (TASE) and found a significant increase in securities sales in the days leading up to October 7. There were no objective justifications for this at that time. Closing TASE positions from mid-September to October was extremely profitable, the researchers calculated. At Bank Leumi alone, the 4,43 million new shares sold short between Sept. 14 and Oct. 5 generated a profit (or averted loss) of NIS 3,2 billion (nearly $900 million) on that additional short sale.

Shorting is not illegal, and US securities law does not prohibit the use of forewarning. This is also not a violation of insider trading rules in Israel. But Israeli sources said there are financially savvy people in Hamas, and it is not implausible that they are behind these shorts. It is possible that Hamas, the leaders of the Palestinian movement, themselves made good money from the collapse of Israeli stock prices, according to the authors of the SSRN study.
  • TASE website
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

21 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +3
    5 December 2023 12: 24
    ***
    - "Nothing personal just business!" ...
    ***
    1. +3
      5 December 2023 12: 28
      Quote: Vladimir Vladimirovich Vorontsov
      ***
      - "Nothing personal just business!" ...
      ***

      And "300%".
      1. +1
        5 December 2023 13: 21
        Quote: Michael
        Quote: Vladimir Vladimirovich Vorontsov
        ***
        - "Nothing personal just business!" ...
        ***

        And "300%".

        It turned out kosher. laughing
        Israel has long financed Hamas.
        So this time, Israeli businessmen made money from the death of their fellow citizens.
        I wouldn't be surprised if Hamas' plan to attack Israel was developed by the Mossad.
    2. +5
      5 December 2023 12: 41
      It is no longer so important who made money from this information, Jews or Arabs, if it became public that both knew about the attack.

      As old Soros said - when asked how a Jew could make money from the death of other Jews during the Second World War - “In those circumstances it was impossible to do otherwise.”
      So it is quite possible that both Jews and Arabs profited from the upcoming events.
      1. +3
        5 December 2023 12: 54
        Quote: credo
        It is no longer so important who made money from this information, Jews or Arabs, if it became public that both knew about the attack.

        In a time before telephones and the Internet, the Rothschilds made huge money on the stock exchange by spreading the rumor that Napoleon had won at Waterloo. A few hours later, of course, the deception was revealed, but no one received the money back.
        So insiders and false rumors in the dirty fraud called the stock exchange were not invented yesterday or even the day before yesterday.
        The same Americans know this very well. At least those few who bothered to read T. Dreiser’s novel “The Financier”. But they consider stock market fraud to be the norm and even heroic.
        And therefore -
        Quote: credo
        it is quite possible that both Jews and Arabs profited from the upcoming events.
  2. +14
    5 December 2023 12: 26
    laughing
    It’s strange, how did the stock exchange Jews know about the Hamas attack, if Hamas was created by Israel? Did Netanyahu urgently need a war, because power was shaking wildly?
    Well, just think, a couple of tens of thousands of killed Arabs from the civilian world. Well, just think, genocide... “These are Arabs, there’s no other way with them” (c) - one local fascist with the nickname Krasnodar. With sidelocks, of course
    1. +2
      5 December 2023 13: 50
      How did the stock exchange Jews know about the Hamas attack?

  3. +8
    5 December 2023 12: 27
    In general, stock traders were aware of the impending Hamas attack, but Israeli intelligence was not. The girls are dancing interestingly.
    1. +2
      5 December 2023 12: 39
      If you believe what was previously published: intelligence knew and reported “to the top”; there were also notifications through diplomatic channels. Only the leadership and, naturally, the civilians designated as victims “didn’t know.”
    2. +7
      5 December 2023 13: 48
      Quote from Pharmacist
      In general, stock traders were aware of the impending Hamas attack, but Israeli intelligence was not. The girls are dancing interestingly.

      Because these are the same people. request
  4. +6
    5 December 2023 12: 31
    It turns out that US and Israeli traders had insider information and knew about the upcoming attack, but the Israeli intelligence agency MOSSAD did not know. There is only one conclusion: the Israeli intelligence services themselves, through their agents, provoked this missile attack with the aim of destroying the Palestinian government and seizing recently discovered hydrocarbon deposits in Palestinian territorial waters. Everything is as always, look for who benefits from the genocide of Palestinians.
  5. +3
    5 December 2023 12: 31
    It looks like Hamas and the Israeli army with their intelligence have warmed their hands there. laughing Management, I mean, they created their own small business...
  6. +1
    5 December 2023 12: 34
    This is called aerobatics. Some traders have secured a comfortable life for themselves and their family (I don’t know what traders call this golden moment “golden flight” among sailors). They can rest and leave this Israel, if they lived there, to the Maldives! !! goodThe Palestinians definitely made money - they have a lot of easy money. Only our comrades at VO who knew everything flew like plywood over the money that was lying on the ground. And it would be cool if some of the traders were Jews and rightly so.
  7. +5
    5 December 2023 12: 35
    Some Jews gave information to other Jews, and together made money on the Holocaust of the Palestinian people!
    1. +1
      5 December 2023 13: 09
      Thrifty. Even if so. Only Nitanyahu and the gop company were not in the know. I’m talking about October 7. I was also for the Palestinians, but what they did right in the front row was no good. I thought it was rear rats, but it turned out that this was not the case. And then Israel chose its own fate, it will come back to haunt him. Thanks to the media. I’m sure the photo of the “Ferris wheel” in Gaza will become a world meme if the IDF doesn’t blow it up. But it’s too late. Yes and Israeli propaganda works clumsily. It’s scorched out of the blue. Musk alone is worth something.
  8. +3
    5 December 2023 12: 39
    In this regard, the 9/11 event in the USA is interesting because of its similarity.
    There is a very large analysis of leaks of preliminary information and how knowledgeable people made money from it
    https://www.corbettreport.com/911suspects/
    (though in English).
    Some of this is on YouTube

    True, this channel has already been demolished there for being “incorrect”.
    1. +1
      5 December 2023 12: 46
      Here a more interesting version of the Corbett Report appeared on VKontakte
      "Follow the Money"
      [media = https: //vk.com/video393917182_456239063]
      But also in English
  9. HAM
    +1
    5 December 2023 13: 02
    Jews - they are Jews in Israel too.... buy, throw, sell and buy again, throw.... in a circle, in a circle...
  10. -1
    5 December 2023 13: 07
    I don’t know about the traders, but the journalists definitely made money on this fake.
  11. 0
    5 December 2023 14: 42
    There is more and more evidence that everything was known to Israel and the authorities. Everything worked, intelligence and so on, but someone needs this war very badly. So they wouldn’t throw the Jews to the mercy of Hamas
  12. +2
    5 December 2023 16: 17
    I suspect that there were not a single Palestinian among these stock traders. wassat

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned), Kirill Budanov (included to the Rosfinmonitoring list of terrorists and extremists)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Некоторые биржевые трейдеры заранее знали о нападении ХАМАС на Израиль и заработали миллионы на инсайде

21
Некоторые биржевые трейдеры заранее знали о нападении ХАМАС на Израиль и заработали миллионы на инсайде

Некоторые биржевые трейдеры знали заранее о точной дате нападения ХАМАС на Израиль, которое произошло 7 октября, и заработали миллионы долларов на падении акций израильских компаний, торгуемых на местном рынке и на Уолл-стрит за пять дней до вторжения палестинских боевиков. Такое предположение в статье, опубликованной в израильской газете «Гаарец» (Haaretz), сделал журналист Идо Баум.

Заключение о наличии инсайдерской информации у ряда биржевых трейдеров в США и Израиле сделали эксперты одного из самых крупных в мире открытых электронных репозиториев научных статей и препринтов Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Роберт Джексон-младший, Джошуа Миттс и коллеги в статье под названием «Торговля террором?». Финансовые аналитики отметили, что короткие продажи акций израильских компаний резко выросли за несколько дней до 7 октября, намного превысив короткие продажи во время многочисленных других периодов кризиса на Ближнем Востоке.



Наши выводы показывают, что трейдеры, проинформированные о предстоящих атаках, извлекли выгоду из этих трагических событий

— считают эксперты, предположив, что инсайд о дате нападения на Израиль биржевые игроки получили напрямую от ХАМАС.

Группа аналитиков SSRN изучили сделки с EIS — ценными бумагами, обращающимися на Нью-Йоркской фондовой бирже, с помощью которых инвесторы могут получить доступ к израильским акциям. EIS отслеживает основные индексы Тель-Авивской фондовой биржи, включая гигантские израильские компании, такие как Nice, Teva, Elbit Systems и Israel Chemicals. Инвестирование в эту ценную бумагу равнозначно инвестированию в экономику Израиля.

Джексон и команда обнаружили убедительные признаки того, что в начале октября кто-то в биржевых кругах США ожидал катастрофы в Израиле, которая приведет к обвалу акций. Накануне трагических событий, 2 октября, некоторые трейдеры Нью-Йоркской биржи совершили огромный объем коротких транзакций по EIS, продажи этих ценных бумаг достигли рекордных 227 000 в день, хотя ранее эта цифра не превышала одной тысячи транзакций.

Продажа ценных бумаг, которыми торговец на момент сделки не владеет (шортинг), в данном случае высоколиквидными акциями израильских компаний накануне их резкого обесценивания, с последующим обратным выкупом по значительно более низкой цене позволили некоторым трейдерам заработать миллионы долларов на курсовой разнице. Стоимость EIS упала на 7,1 процента 11 октября, в первый день, когда американский рынок был открыт для совершения сделок. За 20 дней, последовавших за днем нападения ХАМАС, EIS потеряла 17,5 процента своей первоначальной стоимости. При стоимости одной ценной бумаги EIS в 53 доллара до 7 октября и падении до 44,5 долларов после этого дня, трейдеры заработали 9,5 долларов за одну сделку купли-продажи EIS.

Соответственно, продажа и последующий выкуп только 227 000 EIS позволили осведомленным трейдерам заработать более двух миллионов долларов на израильских акциях. Однако таких сделок было совершено в разы больше.

Крайне маловероятно, что объем коротких продаж 2 октября произошел случайно

— сделали вывод эксперты SSRN после изучения всех транзакций с EIS за период с 2009 по 2023 год, в течение которых Израиль пережил множество кризисов.

Другим основанием для их подозрений является тот факт, что короткие транзакции были проведены во время еврейского праздника Суккот, когда в Израиле не происходило ничего необычного и ничего драматичного не ожидалось. Гигантская авантюра против EIS (то есть против израильской экономики) была сделана, когда рынок шел вверх. Ставки против рыночной тенденции только увеличивают риск. Кроме того, короткие позиции были необычно длительными, что укрепляет теорию о том, что инвесторы знали о нападении заранее, заключили аналитики.

Эксперты также изучили ситуацию на Тель-Авивской фондовой бирже (TASE) и обнаружили значительный рост продаж ценных бумаг за несколько дней до 7 октября. Никаких объективных обоснований этому на тот момент не существовало. Закрытие позиций TASE с середины сентября по октябрь было чрезвычайно прибыльным, подсчитали исследователи. Только в одном Bank Leumi 4,43 миллиона новых акций, проданных без покрытия за период с 14 сентября по 5 октября, принесли прибыль (или предотвратили убытки) в размере 3,2 миллиарда шекелей (почти 900 миллионов долларов) на этой дополнительной короткой продаже.

Шортинг не является незаконным, и закон США о ценных бумагах не запрещает использовать предуведомлённость о теракте. Это также не является нарушением правил инсайдерской торговли в Израиле. Но израильские источники сообщили, что в ХАМАС есть финансово подкованные люди, и нет ничего невероятного в том, что они стоят за этими шортами. Не исключено, что ХАМАС, лидеры палестинского движения, сами неплохо заработали на обвале курсов израильских акций, считают авторы исследования SSRN.
  • Сайт TASE
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

21 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. ***
    — «Ничего личного,только бизнес!» ...
    ***
    1. +3
      5 декабря 2023
      Цитата: Владимир Владимирович Воронцов
      ***
      — «Ничего личного,только бизнес!» ...
      ***

      И "300%".
      1. +1
        5 декабря 2023
        Цитата: михаилл
        Цитата: Владимир Владимирович Воронцов
        ***
        — «Ничего личного,только бизнес!» ...
        ***

        И "300%".

        Кошерно вышло. laughing
        Израиль давно финансировал ХАМАС.
        Вот и в этот раз израильские бизнесмены заработали на смерти своих сограждан.
        Не удивлюсь, если план нападения ХАМАС на Израиль был разработан Моссадом.
    2. +5
      5 декабря 2023
      Уже не столь важно, кто заработал на этой информации евреи или арабы, если достоянием гласности стало то, что об атаке знали и те и другие.

      Как говорил старина Сорос - на вопрос о том, как же он еврей мог зарабатывать на смерти других евреев в годы Второй мировой войны - "В тех обстоятельствах по другому поступить было нельзя".
      Так что вполне возможно, что прибыль от предстоящих событий заработали и евреи и арабы.
      1. +3
        5 декабря 2023
        Цитата: кредо
        Уже не столь важно, кто заработал на этой информации евреи или арабы, если достоянием гласности стало то, что об атаке знали и те и другие.

        Во времена, когда не было телефонов и интернетов, Ротшильды заработали огромные деньги на бирже, распустив слух, что Наполеон победил при Ватерлоо. Через несколько часов, конечно, обман раскрылся, но денег обратно никто не получил.
        Так что инсайды и ложные слухи в грязном мошенничестве, называемом биржей, придумали не вчера и даже не позавчера.
        Те же американцы про это прекрасно знают. По крайней мере, те немногие, кто удосужился прочитать роман их же Т.Драйзера "Финансист". Но считают биржевой обман нормой и даже геройством.
        А потому -
        Цитата: кредо
        вполне возможно, что прибыль от предстоящих событий заработали и евреи и арабы.
  2. +14
    5 декабря 2023
    laughing
    Странно, откуда об атаке ХАМАС знали биржевые евреи, если ХАМАС создан Израилем? А Натаньяху срочно нужна была война, ибо власть шаталась дико?
    Ну подумаешь, пара десятков тысяч убитых арабов из мирняка. Ну подумаешь, геноцид... "Это арабы, с ними иначе нельзя"(с) - один местный фашист с ником Краснодар. С пейсами, само-собой
    1. +2
      5 декабря 2023
      откуда об атаке ХАМАС знали биржевые евреи

  3. +8
    5 декабря 2023
    В общем, биржевые трейдеры были в курсе предстоящего нападения ХАМАС, а израильская разведка нет. Интересно девки пляшут.
    1. +2
      5 декабря 2023
      Если верить ранее опубликованному: разведка знала и докладывала "наверх", так же были уведомления по дипломатическим каналам. "Не знало" только руководство и, естественно, назначенные жертвами гражданские.
    2. +7
      5 декабря 2023
      Цитата: Pharmacist
      В общем, биржевые трейдеры были в курсе предстоящего нападения ХАМАС, а израильская разведка нет. Интересно девки пляшут.

      Потому что это одни и те же люди. request
  4. +6
    5 декабря 2023
    Получается трейдеры США и Израиля имели инсайдерскую информацию и знали о предстоящей атаке, а израильская разведка МОССАД не знала. Вывод один, спецслужбы Израиля сами через своих агентов и спровоцировали эту ракетную атаку с целью уничтожения палестинского правительства и захвата недавно обнаруженных месторождений углеводородов в территориальных водах Палестины. Все как всегда, ищите кому выгоден геноцид палестинцев.
  5. +3
    5 декабря 2023
    Похоже там все руки погрели и ХАМАС и армия Израиля со своей разведкой.. laughing Руководство имею в виду,сделали свой,маленький бизнес...
  6. +1
    5 декабря 2023
    Это называется высший пилотаж .Кто то - из трейдеров обеспечил себе и своей семье безбедную жизнь( я не знаю как этот золотой момент у трейдеров называетсяУ моряков " золотой рейс").Может отдыхать и уезжать из этого Израиля ,если там жил,на Мальдивы!!! goodОднозначно и палестинцы заработали- у них шальных денег много.Только всё знающие товарищи у нас на ВО пролетели как фанера, над деньгами ,которые на земле валялись.И прикольно будет если часть трейдеров евреи и поделом.
  7. +5
    5 декабря 2023
    Одни еврейцы сдали информацию другим еврейцам,и совместно наварили бабла на холокосте палестинского народа!
    1. +1
      5 декабря 2023
      Бережливый .Даже если и так.Только один Нитанияху и гоп компания были не в курсе.Я про 7 октября.Я тоже был за палестинцев,но то что они творили сразу в первых рядах,это уже ни в какие ворота.Я считал что это тыловые крысы,но оказалось это не так.А Израиль потом уже сам выбрал свою судьбу, ему это аукнется.Спасибо сми.Уверен ,фото " колеса обозрения" в Газе, станет мировым мемом ,если цахал его не взорвёт.Но уже поздно.Да и топорно работает израильская пропаганда.Палится на ровном месте.Один Маск чего стоит.
  8. +3
    5 декабря 2023
    В этом плане интересно событие 9/11 в США своей аналогичностью.
    Есть очень большой анализ утечек предварительной информации и как на этом знающие люди делали деньги
    https://www.corbettreport.com/911suspects/
    (правда на английском).
    На ютюбе кое-что из этого

    правда там этот канал уже сносили за "неправильность".
    1. +1
      5 декабря 2023
      Тут более интересная версия Corbett Report-a оказалась В Контакте
      "Следуй за деньгами"
      [media=https://vk.com/video393917182_456239063]
      Но тоже на английском
  9. HAM
    +1
    5 декабря 2023
    Евреи--они и в Израиле евреи....купить,кинуть,продать и опять купить,кинуть....по кругу,по кругу...
  10. -1
    5 декабря 2023
    Не знаю на счет трейдеров, но журналюги на этом фэйке точно заработали.
  11. 0
    5 декабря 2023
    Все больше и больше доказательств ,что все было известно Израилю и властям.Все сработало и разведка и прочее ,но кому то нужна эта война очень сильно .Так бы не кинули евреев, на растерзание Хамас
  12. +2
    5 декабря 2023
    Подозреваю, что ни одного палестинца среди этих биржевых трейдеров не было. wassat

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»