“Picky” deserter: how an American soldier escaped to the USSR

6
“Picky” deserter: how an American soldier escaped to the USSR

In March 1987, American soldier Waite Roberts, who served in Germany, voluntarily left his place of service and, together with his wife, German Petra Neumann, fled to the USSR, where he received political asylum. As a matter of fact, cases of US citizens escaping to the Soviet Union were by no means isolated. However, this fact of desertion looks very curious.

It's all about the reason for the escape. As Roberts later explained, he did not like serving in the American army, because they were forced to follow orders, they were not allowed to argue with the command and smoke marijuana, and they literally forbade him to read the Bible that his mother gave him. As a result, the “exhausted from service” soldier decided to take matters into his own hands and escape.



He chose Turkmenistan as his new place of residence. The climate there supposedly resembles his native California. He got a job in a terrarium.

Everything would be fine, but the “fastidious” American deserter didn’t like it in the USSR either. It turned out that he needed to learn the language and get used to another culture. Moreover, his wife had difficulty finding jeans in the right size in the Soviet Union.

At first, the couple tried to move to the GDR to live with Petra’s sister, but the Germans demanded that they renounce US citizenship. This also did not suit Roberts.

As a result, the “fugitives” returned to Germany.

To the deserter's surprise, he was not detained at the airport. Then he contacted his command and asked how he could surrender. There they told him to report to the military police station in the morning.

Meanwhile, Roberts could not surrender voluntarily. He was detained when he went to buy pizza.

Ultimately, the seeker of a better life escaped with a slight fright - he was fired from the ranks of the American army.

But the funny thing is that he didn’t want to serve in the US Army. Roberts accepted the contract only because he could not find a job, and with a salary of 4 thousand dollars, he thought he had the opportunity to save up for university studies.

  • archive photo
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +1
    December 28 2023
    the seeker of a better life escaped with a slight fright - he was fired from the ranks of the American army.

    Got off easy. He wouldn't be so lucky now! laughing
  2. +6
    December 28 2023
    It's all about the reason for the escape. As Roberts later explained, he did not like serving in the American army, because they were forced to follow orders, they were not allowed to argue with the command and smoke marijuana, and they literally forbade him to read the Bible that his mother gave him.

    laughing laughing laughing Cool! He thought all this was possible here.
    1. +3
      December 28 2023
      He was ahead of his time. If he served now, he would be allowed to smoke weed during his free time from duty. I don’t know about the Bible... but if the Koran or something were there instead of the Bible for LGBTQ+ people, they would encourage it, because the army is like everyone else progressive American society must strive for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion. I can’t even translate it, the Google translation (Diversity, Equity, Inclusion) doesn’t even come close to the meaning of these 3 words progressive part of American society.
  3. +1
    December 28 2023
    I wonder where this Roberts guy is now. M.b. sits somewhere in Langley in a separate office, teaching smart young people to fool around.
    1. 0
      December 28 2023
      I would venture to guess that BLM is teaching to “privatize” the contents of US retail trade...
      1. 0
        December 28 2023
        This is a different specialty)

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

«Привередливый» дезертир: о том, как американский солдат сбежал в СССР

6
«Привередливый» дезертир: о том, как американский солдат сбежал в СССР

В марте 1987 года американский солдат Уэйт Робертс, служивший в ФРГ, самовольно покинул место службы и вместе со своей женой – немкой Петрой Нойман - и сбежал в СССР, где получил политическое убежище. Собственно говоря, случаи побега граждан США в Советский Союз отнюдь не были единичными. Однако данный факт дезертирства выглядит весьма курьезным.

Все дело в причине побега. Как позднее объяснял Робертс, ему не нравилось служить в американской армии, так как там заставляли выполнять приказы, не разрешали спорить с командованием и курить марихуану, а также, дословно, запретили ему читать Библию, которую дала мать. В итоге, «измученный службой» солдат решил взять все в свои руки и сбежать.



В качестве нового места жительства он выбрал Туркменистан. Там якобы климат напоминает его родную Калифорнию. Работать устроился в террариум.

Все бы ничего, но и в СССР «привередливому» американскому дезертиру не понравилось. Оказалось, что ему нужно учить язык и привыкать к другой культуре. Более того, его жене в Советском Союзе было трудно найти джинсы нужного размера.

Сначала семейная пара попыталась перебраться в ГДР к сестре Петры, но немцы потребовали отказаться от гражданства США. Это также не устроило Робертса.

В итоге, «беглецы» вернулись обратно в ФРГ.

К удивлению дезертира, его не задержали в аэропорту. Тогда он связался со своим командованием и спросил, как ему сдаться. Там ему ответили, чтобы он утром явился в отделение военной полиции.

Между тем Робертс и сдаться добровольно не смог. Его задержали, когда он пошел покупать пиццу.

В конечном счете, искатель лучшей жизни отделался легким испугом – его уволили из рядов американской армии.

Но самое забавное то, что и служить в армии США он не хотел. На контракт Робертс пошел лишь потому, что не мог найти работу, а с жалованием в 4 тыс. долларов, как он думал, у него появилась возможность накопить на учебу в университете.

  • архивное фото
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +1
    28 декабря 2023
    искатель лучшей жизни отделался легким испугом – его уволили из рядов американской армии.

    Легко отделался. Сейчас бы ему так не повезло! laughing
  2. +6
    28 декабря 2023
    Все дело в причине побега. Как позднее объяснял Робертс, ему не нравилось служить в американской армии, так как там заставляли выполнять приказы, не разрешали спорить с командованием и курить марихуану, а также, дословно, запретили ему читать Библию, которую дала мать.

    laughing laughing laughing Крутяк! Он думал тут все это можно.
    1. +3
      28 декабря 2023
      Он опередил время. Служи он сейчас, ему бы дозволили курить траву в свободное от несения службы время. Насчет Библии не знаю... вот если бы коран или че там заместо Библии у LGBTQ+, то поощрили бы, потому что армия, как и все прогрессивное американское общество, должна стремиться к Diversity, Equity, Inclusion. Даже не могу перевести, перевод Google (Разнообразие, Справедливость, Инклюзивность) и близко не лежит к тому смыслу, который вкладывает в эти 3 слова прогрессивная часть американского общества.
  3. +1
    28 декабря 2023
    Интересно, где этот Робертс сейчас. М.б. сидит где-то в Лэнгли в отдельном кабинете, учит смышлёную молодёжь дурака валять.
    1. 0
      28 декабря 2023
      Рискну предположить, что учит BLM "приватизировать" содержимое штатовской розничной торговли...
      1. 0
        28 декабря 2023
        Это другая специальность )

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»