T-72: how the most popular tank of the second generation was created

6
T-72: how the most popular tank of the second generation was created

The Soviet T-72 is considered the most popular a tank second generation in the world. Meanwhile, the path from the project to the assembly line for this unique machine turned out to be very thorny.

On August 15, 1967, a joint resolution was issued by the Central Committee of the CPSU and the Council of Ministers of the USSR “On equipping the Soviet army with new T-64 medium tanks and developing capacities for their production.” According to the document, the production of the above-mentioned tanks was to begin not only at the Kharkov plant named after. Malyshev, but also at other enterprises in the industry, including Uralvagonzavod.

At the same time, at the plant in Nizhny Tagil, on an initiative basis, since 1962, the development of its own tank called “object 166M” has been carried out. It was a variant of the T-62 with a reinforced chassis, allowing the installation of a larger gun.



Against the background of the plans of the CPSU Central Committee to establish mass production of the T-64, the chief designer of Uralvagonzavod L.N. Kartsev instructed the company’s engineers to “figure out” what would happen if a 62 mm gun was installed on the T-115 instead of a 125 mm gun.

The calculations made showed that the old chassis, which the tank inherited from the T-44, will not withstand the added weight of the new gun.
As a result, a machine was developed under the symbol “object 167” with a chassis with 6 support rollers and 3 support rollers on each side. And since the development of a prototype tank for a reinforced gun had been carried out on a proactive basis since 1962, in September 1967 two prototypes of a promising vehicle were presented at once.

In addition to the reinforced chassis, the above-mentioned development also received a new engine, known as V-26, which already had a centrifugal supercharger. In addition, the new chassis with support rollers made it possible to turn the increase in power into an increase in speed up to 60 km/h compared to 50 km/h for the T-62.

Meanwhile, despite the advantages proven during state tests, “Object 167” was not initially put into production. The Soviet leadership justified its position by the fact that the T-62 had already been well mastered and its production had been established. At the same time, while the production of “object 167” is being mastered, the production of the T-64 will already be established.

It is worth noting that Kartsev did not stop working on the new tank and, while the T-64 was being “polished,” he created a further development of the “object 167”, called the “object 167M” or T-62B.

Despite the ban by the USSR government on the production of the T-62B, which, by the way, was better than the T-64 in a number of parameters, this tank ultimately formed the basis for the future T-72. The thing is that the T-64 received an engine, an automatic loader and a chassis from him. This is how the “Object 172M” project was born.

    Our news channels

    Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

    6 comments
    Information
    Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
    1. +6
      18 March 2024 10: 33
      Very informative translation from Wikipedia, bravo.))
    2. +8
      18 March 2024 10: 39
      But I rode the 62 throughout the entire Army in Siberian Military District. First as a gunner, then as a commander. In winter the tower is incredibly cold, and in summer it’s like being in an oven. There are no more impressions left)))
      1. +1
        18 March 2024 10: 50
        Quote: Taskhyl
        It's incredibly cold in the tower in winter.
        Wasn't there a stove in the tank?
        1. +4
          18 March 2024 11: 10
          Where is the stove from?! The canvas “gut” was sometimes pulled from the engine into the turret through the ejection hatch when the frost was completely unbearable. But it was already hard to breathe. But it's warmer)
    3. +1
      18 March 2024 14: 40
      The video quite objectively conveys the history of the appearance of the T-72.
    4. 0
      19 March 2024 11: 38
      A video from the channel "Truth of Life" examines in some detail the history of the appearance of the T-72

    "Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned), Kirill Budanov (included to the Rosfinmonitoring list of terrorists and extremists)

    “Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Т-72: как создавался самый массовый танк второго поколения

6
Т-72: как создавался самый массовый танк второго поколения

Советский Т-72 считается самым массовым танком второго поколения в мире. Между тем путь от проекта до конвейера для этой уникальной машины оказался весьма тернистым.

15 августа 1967 года вышло совместное постановление ЦК КПСС и Совета министров СССР «Об оснащении советской армии новыми средними танками Т-64 и развитии мощностей по их производству». Согласно документу, выпуск вышеупомянутых танков должен был начаться не только на Харьковском заводе им. Малышева, но и на других предприятиях отрасли, включая «Уралвагонзавод».

В то же время на заводе в Нижнем Тагиле в инициативном порядке еще с 1962 года велись разработки собственного танка под названием «объект 166М». Это был вариант Т-62 с усиленной ходовой частью, позволявшей установку более крупной пушки.



На фоне планов ЦК КПСС наладить массовое производство Т-64, главный конструктор «Уралвагонзавода» Л.Н. Карцев поручил инженерам предприятия «прикинуть», что получится, если на Т-62 вместо 115-мм пушки установить орудие на 125 мм.

Произведенные расчеты показали, что старая ходовая часть, которую танк унаследовал от Т-44 прибавки веса новой пушки не выдержит.
В итоге, была разработана машина под индексом «объект 167» с ходовой частью на 6 опорных и 3 поддерживающих катка с каждой стороны. А так как разработка прототипа танка под усиленную пушку велась в инициативном порядке еще с 1962 года, то в сентябре 1967-го были представлены сразу два прототипа перспективной машины.

Помимо усиленной ходовой части, вышеупомянутая разработка получила и новый мотор, известный под индексом V-26, который уже обладал центробежным нагнетателем. Кроме того, новая ходовая часть с поддерживающими катками позволила превратить прибавку мощности и в прибавку скорости до 60 км/ч по сравнению с 50 км/ч у Т-62.

Между тем, несмотря на доказанные в ходе государственных испытаний преимущества, «объект 167» изначально в серию не пошел. Свою позицию советское руководство обосновывало тем, что Т-62 уже хорошо освоен, а его выпуск налажен. При этом пока будет идти освоение производства «объекта 167», уже будет налажен выпуск Т-64.

Стоит отметить, что Карцев работы над новым танком не свернул и, пока «доводился до ума» Т-64, он создал дальнейшее развитие «объекта 167», получившего название «объект 167М» или Т-62Б.

Несмотря на запрет правительства СССР выпускать Т-62Б, который, к слову, по ряду параметров был лучше Т-64, этот танк в конечном счете таки лег в основу будущего Т-72. Все дело в том, что Т-64 получил от него двигатель, автомат заряжания и ходовую часть. Так на свет появился проект «объект 172М».

    Наши новостные каналы

    Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

    6 комментариев
    Информация
    Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
    1. +6
      18 марта 2024 10:33
      Очень содержательный перевод из Википедии, браво.))
    2. +8
      18 марта 2024 10:39
      А я вот на 62-ке всю Армейку катался в СибВО. Сначала наводчиком, потом командиром. Зимой в башне холодрыга невероятная, а летом как в духовке. Больше никаких впечатлений не осталось)))
      1. +1
        18 марта 2024 10:50
        Цитата: Taskhyl
        Зимой в башне холодрыга невероятная
        А печки разве в танке не было?
        1. +4
          18 марта 2024 11:10
          Да откуда там печка?! Брезентовую "кишку" иногда тянули от движка в башню через лючок выброса, когда морозяка совсем невмоготу был. Но дышать уже было хреновато. Зато теплее)
    3. +1
      18 марта 2024 14:40
      Видеофильм довольно объективно передаёт историю появления Т-72.
    4. 0
      19 марта 2024 11:38
      Видео с канала "Правда жизни" довольно обстоятельно рассматривает мсторию появления Т-72

    «Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

    «Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»