Armored personnel carrier "Kangaroo": how Canadians created armored personnel carriers from tanks and self-propelled guns

2
Armored personnel carrier "Kangaroo": how Canadians created armored personnel carriers from tanks and self-propelled guns

In 1944, the Canadian Army created an armored personnel carrier based on tanks and self-propelled guns, called "Kangaroo". It is worth noting that this unique approach was a necessary measure.

Despite the fact that the Canadians received a number of M3 half-track armored personnel carriers from the United States, their supplies were subsequently significantly reduced, since the Americans themselves needed armored personnel carriers.



As a result, the Canadian military leadership made a completely logical decision. Against the backdrop of a shortage of armored personnel carriers, but at the same time an excess of tanks and self-propelled guns, it was decided to convert some of the Shermans and M7 Priests into armored personnel carriers.

The first Kangaroos were converted from 72 M7 self-propelled guns. The 105-mm gun and ammunition rack were removed from the latter, and the driver's seat was separated from the rest of the hull. Only the machine gun armament was preserved. At the same time, additional machine guns could be installed.

Typically, the conversion process was reversible. If necessary, the Kangaroo could be converted back into a Priest.

Subsequently, the practice of creating the above-mentioned armored personnel carriers was transferred to the Sherman, Churchill tanks and old Canadian SEMs.
The process was similar. Turrets and ammunition racks were removed from the tanks. In pursuit of the turret, seats were installed, as well as additional machine guns.

Due to the fact that the process of landing and boarding the vehicle was difficult, additional handrails were welded to the tanks and self-propelled guns.

As planned, the Kangaroo was supposed to carry from 8 to 15 people. However, in practice, Canadian fighters were crowded into the car like “herrings in a barrel.”

  • archive photo
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 0
    18 March 2024 13: 13
    She's such a healthy fool that you can push her inside if you want.
  2. +1
    18 March 2024 13: 52
    Kangaroos were first used by the Canadians of the 4th Canadian Infantry Brigade and the British 154th Infantry Brigade on 7 August 1944 during Operation Totalise in the Caen area. The operation lasted from August 7 to August 14, 1944. "Kangaroos" were used both for combat operations and for transporting food and wounded to the front. Then I read in some sources that despite the good performance, engine maintenance created problems for mechanics due to long working hours.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned), Kirill Budanov (included to the Rosfinmonitoring list of terrorists and extremists)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

БТР «Кенгуру»: как канадцы создавали бронетранспортеры из танков и САУ

2
БТР «Кенгуру»: как канадцы создавали бронетранспортеры из танков и САУ

В канадской армии в 1944 году создали БТР на основе танков и САУ, получившие название «Кенгуру». Стоит отметить, что данный своеобразный подход был вынужденной мерой.

Несмотря на то, что канадцы получили от США некоторое количество полугусеничных БТР М3, в дальнейшем их поставки были существенно сокращены, так как американцы сами нуждались в бронетранспортерах.



В итоге, военное руководство Канады приняло вполне логичное решение. На фоне нехватки бронетранспортеров, но при этом избытка танков и САУ, было решено переделать часть «Шерманов» и М7 «Прист» в БТР.

Первые «Кенгуру» были переоборудованы из 72-х САУ М7. С последних убрали 105-мм орудие и боеукладку, а место мехвода отделили от остального корпуса. Сохранялось только пулеметное вооружение. При это могли устанавливаться и дополнительные пулеметы.

Что характерно, процесс переоборудования был обратим. В случае необходимости, «Кенгуру» можно было снова превратить в «Прист».

В дальнейшем практика создания вышеупомянутых БТР была перенесена на танки «Шерман», «Черчилль» и старые канадские РЭМ.
Процесс был аналогичен. С танков снимались башни и боеукладка. В погоне башни устанавливались сидения, а также дополнительные пулеметы.

В связи с тем, что процесс десантирования и посадки в машину был затруднен, к танкам и САУ приваривались дополнительные поручни.

По задумке «Кенгуру» должны были перевозить от 8 до 15 человек. Однако на практике канадские бойцы набивались в машину, как «селедки в бочке».

  • архивное фото
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 0
    18 марта 2024 13:13
    Так дура здоровая, что хошь можно внутрь натолкать.
  2. +1
    18 марта 2024 13:52
    Кенгуру впервые были использованы канадцами 4-й канадской пехотной бригады и 154-й британской пехотной бригады 7 августа 1944 года во время операции Totalise в районе Кана. Операция продолжалась с 7 по 14 августа 1944 года. «Кенгуру» использовались как для боевых действий, так и для перевозки продовольствия и раненых на фронт. Потом я прочитал в некоторых источниках, что, несмотря на хорошие характеристики, обслуживание двигателя создавало проблемы механикам из-за продолжительного рабочего времени.

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»