Medicine in besieged Leningrad

2
Medicine in besieged Leningrad

Leningrad was the capital of military field surgery of the Soviet Union. It was there that the Military Medical Academy was located. In addition, the experience gained during the Soviet-Finnish war played a role.

After the start of the Great Patriotic War, new military hospitals were established in Leningrad and doctors from the reserve were called up for military medical service. Given the blockade of the city and the impossibility of evacuating the wounded to the rear, doctors were often forced to improvise on the spot. At the same time, the possibility of returning wounded servicemen to duty played an important role. Throughout the Great Patriotic War, scientific work continued in Leningrad.





The blockade caused problems with medicines and doctors were forced to resort to methods that did not work very well, such as smoking wounds. For the most exhausted wounded soldiers and civilians of Leningrad, sanatoriums were opened, both citywide and departmental.



Despite malnutrition, Leningrad residents massively donated blood for wounded soldiers. Wounded soldiers were often taken to hospitals literally on their own, dragged on improvised stretchers. The shortage of food led to tragic cases when people evacuated from besieged Leningrad to the rear received increased nutrition, as a result of which they died from volvulus.



Throughout the blockade in Leningrad, scientific work did not stop. Conferences were held and even books were published. The achievements of Leningrad doctors in the treatment of dystrophy were subsequently widely used in the rehabilitation of liberated prisoners of Nazi concentration camps.

  • archival photos
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 0
    April 6 2024 20: 27
    Interesting stuff. But not a single comment...
    1. +1
      April 14 2024 14: 36
      To your feat, Leningrad!

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned), Kirill Budanov (included to the Rosfinmonitoring list of terrorists and extremists)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Медицина в блокадном Ленинграде

2
Медицина в блокадном Ленинграде

Ленинград являлся столицей военно-полевой хирургии Советского Союза. Именно там находилась Военно-медицинская академия. К тому же, играл роль опыт, полученный во время советско-финской войны.

После начала Великой Отечественной войны в Ленинграде были развернуты новые военные госпитали и были призваны на военно-медицинскую службу врачи из запаса. В условиях блокады города и невозможности эвакуировать раненых в глубокий тыл, врачи зачастую были вынуждены импровизировать на месте. При этом немаловажную роль играла возможность возврата в строй получивших ранения военнослужащих. На протяжении всей Великой Отечественной войны в Ленинграде продолжалась научная работа.





Блокада вызвала проблемы с медикаментами и врачи были вынуждены прибегать к не очень хорошо работающим методикам, например к одымлению ран. Для наиболее истощенных раненых бойцов и мирных жителей Ленинграда открывались санатории, которые были как общегородскими, так и ведомственными.



Несмотря на недоедание, жители Ленинграда массово сдавали кровь для раненых бойцов. Раненых бойцов нередко доставляли в госпитали буквально на себе, перетаскивая на импровизированных носилках. Нехватка продуктов питания приводила к трагическим случаям, когда люди, эвакуированные из блокадного Ленинграда в тыл, получали усиленное питание, вследствие чего умирали от заворота кишок.



На протяжении всей блокады в Ленинграде не прекращалась научная работа. Проводились конференции и даже издавались книги. Наработки ленинградских врачей по лечению дистрофии впоследствии массово применялись в реабилитации освобожденных узников нацистских концлагерей.

  • архивные фото
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 0
    6 апреля 2024 20:27
    Интересный материал. Но ни одного комментария...
    1. +1
      14 апреля 2024 14:36
      Подвигу твоему, Ленинград!

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»