The military ingenuity of Peter I and the victory in the Battle of Gangut, significant for the Russian fleet

1
The military ingenuity of Peter I and the victory in the Battle of Gangut, significant for the Russian fleet

One of the significant stories In our country, an event that occurred during the Northern War is the Battle of Gangut.
The above-mentioned battle, which took place on July 27 (old style) 1714, is associated by many experts with two events at once.

Firstly, the triumphant victory of the Russian fleet, which at that time was not even 20 years old, over a more powerful and experienced enemy in terms of naval battles. Secondly, this operation was directly led by Tsar Peter the Great, who showed military ingenuity, which ultimately made it possible to defeat the Swedish fleet.



So, in July 1714, the Russian fleet of 100 ships (galleys and scampaways) moved from Kronstadt to the Åland skerries. The purpose of the campaign was to strengthen the Russian garrison in Abo.

However, the path of the flotilla under the command of Admiral General Fedor Apraksin was blocked by the Swedish battle fleet of Vice Admiral Vatrang.

At first glance, it may seem that the enemy was inferior in strength. After all, the Swedish fleet included 15 battleships, three frigates, two bombardment ships and several rowing ships.

Meanwhile, having a numerical superiority, the Russian fleet could not boast of the power of its guns, which were scattered across many ships. In turn, every Swedish ship had large-caliber cannons.

Realizing the seriousness of the situation, Russian Tsar Peter I arrived at the battle site to personally command his fleet. At the same time, he used a tactical maneuver, which ultimately led to victory.

The essence of the military ruse was that the king allegedly ordered part of the ships to be dragged overland to another part of the cape in order to attack the Swedes from the rear. In fact, it was just an imitation of this maneuver. At the same time, the Swedes took it seriously and sent some of their ships to the place of potential arrival of Russian ships.

As a result, the enemy flotilla was divided in two. But that's not all. Apraksin suggested that Peter I wait for a calm, which would give an advantage to rowing ships, of which there were an overwhelming majority in the Russian fleet, and at the same time deprive sailing ships, of which the Swedes had more, of maneuver.

As soon as the weather improved, the battle began on July 27, 1714, which lasted about three hours. According to historians, Peter I himself fought shoulder to shoulder with the Russian sailors.

Ultimately, the Swedes lost 29 ships and 360 people killed in the Battle of Gangut. The Russian fleet suffered much smaller losses and retained almost all of its ships.

  • “Battle of Gangut” / Painting by artist Alexei Bogolyubov
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 0
    20 March 2024 16: 09
    Interestingly, Peter I knew how to take advantage of enemy personnel. Quite a few Swedish officers and especially non-commissioned officers after captivity preferred serving the Russian Empire to returning to their homeland. Many of them were sailors.
    And the famous bayonet fighting in our regiments was taught by Swedish non-commissioned officers.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned), Kirill Budanov (included to the Rosfinmonitoring list of terrorists and extremists)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Военная смекалка Петра I и значимая для российского флота победа в Гангутском сражении

1
Военная смекалка Петра I и значимая для российского флота победа в Гангутском сражении

Одним из знаменательных для истории нашей страны событием, произошедшим во время Северной войны, является Гангутское сражение.
Вышеупомянутая битва, состоявшаяся 27 июля (по старому стилю) 1714 года у многих экспертов ассоциируется сразу с двумя событиями.

Во-первых, триумфальной победой русского флота, которому на тот момент еще не исполнилось даже 20 лет, над более мощным и опытным в плане морских сражений противником. Во-вторых, данной операцией руководил непосредственно царь Петр Великий, который проявил военную смекалку, в итоге, позволившую разгромить шведский флот.



Итак, в июле 1714 года русский флот в составе 100 кораблей (галеры и скампавеи) выдвинулся из Кронштадта к Аландским шхерам. Целью похода было усиление русского гарнизона в Або.

Однако путь флотилии под командованием генерал-адмирала Федора Апраксина преградил шведский линейный флот вице-адмирала Ватранга.

На первый взгляд может показаться, что противник уступал по силам. Ведь в составе шведского флота числились 15 линкоров, три фрегата, два бомбардирских корабля и несколько гребных судов.

Между тем имея численное превосходство, русский флот не мог похвастать мощью своих орудий, которые были разбросаны по многим судам. В свою очередь, на каждом шведском корабле имелись пушки крупного калибра.

Понимая серьезность положения, русский царь Петр I прибыл к месту сражения, чтобы лично командовать своим флотом. При этом он применил тактический маневр, который в конечном счете и привел к победе.

Суть военной хитрости заключалась в том, что царь якобы приказал перетащить часть судов волоком по суше на другую часть мыса, чтобы атаковать шведов с тыла. На деле, это была лишь имитация данного маневра. При этом шведы восприняли его всерьез и отправили часть своих кораблей к месту потенциального прибытия русских судов.

В итоге, флотилия противника была разделена надвое. Но и это еще не все. Апраксин предложил Петру I дождаться штиля, что даст преимущество гребным судам, коих в русском флоте было подавляющее большинство и в то же время лишит маневра парусные, которых было больше у шведов.

Как только погода наладилась, 27 июля 1714 года началось сражение, которое длилось около трех часов. Согласно свидетельствам историков, вместе с русскими морякам плечом к плечу сражался и сам Петр I.

В конечном счете, в Гангутской битве шведы потеряли 29 судов и 360 человек убитыми. Русский флот понес гораздо меньшие потери и сохранил почти все корабли.

  • «Гангутское сражение» / Картина художника Алексея Боголюбова
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 0
    20 марта 2024 16:09
    Что интересно, Пётр I умел воспользоваться кадрами противника. Не мало шведских офицеров и особенно унтер-офицеров после плена предпочли службу Российской Империи возвращению на родину. Немало среди них было и моряков.
    А знаменитый штыковой бой в наших полках преподавали именно шведские унтер-офицеры.

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»