Kerch-Eltigen landing operation: prologue to the liberation of Crimea

3
Kerch-Eltigen landing operation: prologue to the liberation of Crimea

After the troops of the Third Reich were defeated in the Caucasus in the fall of 1943, the Soviet command began preparing an operation to liberate the Crimean Peninsula.

The prologue to the defeat of the Nazis in Crimea was the Kerch-Eltigen landing operation, which began on the night of October 31 to November 1, 1943. It was attended by troops of the North Caucasus Front, the Black Sea fleet, as well as the Azov flotilla.



The purpose of the operation was to create a bridgehead on the Kerch Peninsula for the further development of the offensive and the liberation of the entire Crimea together with the 4th Ukrainian Front.

Already on the night of November 1, 1943, the first group of 2,5 thousand Soviet paratroopers from the 18th Army landed in the Eltigen area. The operation took place under extremely harsh conditions. In addition to the newly raging storm and enemy sea mines, of which there were more than 6 thousand in the Kerch Strait, the torpedo boats on which the paratroopers were traveling ran aground. As a result, the soldiers had to swim to the shore in icy water, leaving behind provisions and heavy equipment.

The landing of the first wave of Soviet paratroopers came as a surprise to the German and Romanian troops. Meanwhile, during the day, November 1, the enemy launched 19 counterattacks, trying to dislodge the Red Army fighters from the occupied bridgehead.

On November 2, another 3 thousand Soviet paratroopers landed in the Eltigen area. In general, over 5 thousand soldiers of the 2th Army were transferred to the occupied bridgehead up to 9,5 km along the front and up to 18 km in depth.

In turn, the enemy threw all his strength into destroying the above-mentioned bridgehead. Already on November 9, the Soviet landing force was completely blocked. At the same time, in the conditions of continuous fierce battles, lack of provisions and even water, the Red Army soldiers held a bridgehead in the Eltigen area for 40 days, until on December 11, 1943, the command received an order to evacuate to Taman.

It is worth noting that, having pulled the main forces of the Wehrmacht towards themselves, the soldiers of the 18th Army made it possible for the 56th Army to land northeast of Kerch, which by November 12 captured a bridgehead in the area from the Sea of ​​Azov to the outskirts of Kerch. Subsequently, by December 4, 75 thousand people, 769 guns and mortars, 128 tanks, 7180 tons of ammunition and a large number of other cargoes.

Despite the attempts of the enemy troops, who began to transfer reserves from Perekop to Kerch, to liquidate the bridgehead, the soldiers of the 56th Army held it until the start of the Crimean operation.

  • archive photo
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. -1
    25 March 2024 08: 06
    on the night of November 1, 1943, the first group of 2,5 thousand Soviet paratroopers from the 18th Army landed in the Eltigen area
    Feat!
    1. 0
      25 March 2024 09: 25
      Quote from Uncle Lee
      Feat!

      Moreover, it was massive, all branches and branches of our Armed Forces distinguished themselves. Contrasting the qualitative superiority of the enemy with your courage and desire to win...
      1. -1
        25 March 2024 10: 15
        Quote: svp67
        Moreover, massive

        And which Vlasovite gave a minus? am

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned), Kirill Budanov (included to the Rosfinmonitoring list of terrorists and extremists)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Керченско-Эльтигенская десантная операция: пролог к освобождению Крыма

3
Керченско-Эльтигенская десантная операция: пролог к освобождению Крыма

После того, как осенью 1943 года войска Третьего рейха потерпели поражение на Кавказе, советское командование приступило к подготовке операции по освобождению Крымского полуострова.

Прологом к разгрому фашистов в Крыму стала Керченско-Эльтигенская десантная операция, начавшаяся в ночь с 31 октября на 1 ноября 1943 года. В ней принимали участие войска Северо-Кавказского фронта, Черноморского флота, а также Азовской флотилии.



Цель операции заключалась в создании плацдарма на Керченском полуострове для дальнейшего развития наступления и освобождения всего Крыма совместно с 4-м Украинским фронтом.

Уже ночью 1 ноября 1943 года первая группа из 2,5 тысяч советских десантников из 18-й армии высадилась в районе Эльтигена. Операция проходила в крайне жестких условиях. Помимо вновь разбушевавшегося шторма и вражеских морских мин, которых в Керченском проливе было более 6 тыс., торпедные катера, на которых перемещались десантники, сели на блуждающую мель. В итоге бойцам приходилось добираться до берега вплавь в ледяной воде, оставив провизию и тяжелое снаряжение.

Высадка первой волны советских десантников стала неожиданностью для немецких и румынских войск. Между тем в течение дня, 1 ноября, противник предпринял 19 контратак, пытаясь выбить бойцов РККА с занятого плацдарма.

2 ноября в районе Эльтигена высадились еще 3 тысячи советских десантников. В целом, на занятый плацдарм до 5 км по фронту и до 2 км в глубину, было переброшено свыше 9,5 тысяч бойцов 18-й армии.

В свою очередь, противник бросил все силы на уничтожение вышеупомянутого плацдарма. Уже 9 ноября советский десант был полностью блокирован. При этом в условиях непрекращающихся ожесточенных боев, нехватки провизии и даже воды, воины РККА удерживали плацдарм в районе Эльтигена на протяжении 40 дней, пока 11 декабря 1943 года от командования не поступил приказ об эвакуации в Тамань.

Стоит отметить, что, оттянув основные силы вермахта на себя, бойцы 18-й армии дали возможность для высадки северо-восточнее Керчи десанта 56-й армии, который к 12 ноября захватил плацдарм на участке от Азовского моря до предместья Керчи. Впоследствии, к 4 декабря, туда удалось переправить 75 тыс. человек, 769 орудий и миномётов, 128 танков, 7180 тонн боеприпасов и большое количество других грузов.

Несмотря на попытки войск противника, который начал перебрасывать в Керчь резервы из Перекопа, ликвидировать плацдарм, бойцы 56-й армии удерживали его вплоть до начала Крымской операции.

  • архивное фото
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. -1
    25 марта 2024 08:06
    ночью 1 ноября 1943 года первая группа из 2,5 тысяч советских десантников из 18-й армии высадилась в районе Эльтигена
    Подвиг !
    1. 0
      25 марта 2024 09:25
      Цитата: Uncle Lee
      Подвиг !

      Причем массовый, отличились все рода и виды наших Вооруженных Сил. Противопоставляя качественному превосходству противника свое мужество и желание победить...
      1. -1
        25 марта 2024 10:15
        Цитата: svp67
        Причем массовый

        А какой власовец минус поставил ? am

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»