Wirbeiwind: what was the Wehrmacht ZSU, built on the basis of Panzerkampfwagen IV

20
Wirbeiwind: what was the Wehrmacht ZSU, built on the basis of Panzerkampfwagen IV

In 1944, Nazi Germany began developing a self-propelled anti-aircraft gun with a turret that could rotate 360 ​​degrees. At the same time, the vehicle was supposed to protect the crew with its armor.

The requirements for the new ZSU were formulated by Wehrmacht Colonel General Heinz Guderian. The main ones were: low height, an open tower at the top where three soldiers could fit, and high density of fire.



For the production of the above-mentioned SPAAGs, it was decided to use medium-sized ones coming from repairs. Tanks Panzerkampfwagen IV. At the same time, the car itself did not undergo any special modifications. To exaggerate it, the old tower was removed from it and a new one was installed.

In total, 1945 of these “anti-aircraft tanks” were assembled by January 105. The ZSU was named Wirbeiwind (“Whirlwind”).

Regarding the characteristics of the machine. As already mentioned, it was based on the Panzerkampfwagen IV tank. In turn, a nine-sided turret with armor plates 16 mm thick was installed on it.

As prescribed, there were three people in the turret - a gunner in the rear and two loaders on the sides. The weapon used was the FlaK-Vierling 38, a 20mm quad automatic cannon.

This weapon could reach Aviation at an altitude of up to 3,5 km. Moreover, its rate of fire was 600-700 rounds per minute.

Ammunition was supplied by 20-round magazines. The total ammunition load is 3200 shells. Two types of ammunition were used: fragmentation and armor-piercing.

  • archive photo
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 0
    26 March 2024 17: 37
    The chassis seems to have been stolen from the KV.
    1. 0
      26 March 2024 17: 53
      Ball lightning
      the Fritz had it completely beyond their expectations. Thank God they were not able to build them in the series...
    2. +1
      26 March 2024 18: 09
      Quote: Aerodrome
      The chassis seems to have been stolen from the KV.

      Come on, the KV has the drive wheel at the stern, while the Nemchura traditionally has the drive wheel in front. From here the cardans go through all the BOs, through the power take-off, and the gearbox in front.
      1. 0
        26 March 2024 18: 10
        agree. but the configuration is... not like the T4. T 3 had a similar one, yes. although... school is school... the panther was terrified.
        1. 0
          26 March 2024 18: 12
          Quote: Aerodrome
          agree. but the configuration is...

          Well, it’s like everyone is spying on each other. But with four and KV it’s unlikely. They had a very vague idea about our HF, if at all.))
          1. +1
            26 March 2024 18: 19
            I love watching films from "Starina".
  2. 0
    26 March 2024 18: 33
    On the base of the four they installed not only Flak38x4 but also 3.7cm in series. But there was no tower there. Only a shield, Flak43 itself. But the sides are thick around the perimeter. In general, they loaded anti-aircraft guns on everything that rolled around. Military air defense is the best in WW II in terms of equipment.
  3. 0
    26 March 2024 18: 45
    What prevented you from using belt feed with 20 caliber?
    And instead of 2 loaders, put a second gunner and rangefinder?
  4. 0
    26 March 2024 20: 12
    An example of the successful use of an outdated tank chassis. The only remark (albeit insignificant) for the end of 1944, the Flakvierling based on 30-mm MK103 guns would have been more promising. This would make it possible, while maintaining the density of fire, to increase the destructive power of the projectile.
    1. +2
      26 March 2024 21: 40
      Well, it’s just so outdated. The most workhorse of the Wehrmacht. If it were not for the passion for all sorts of prodigies, the production of fours would be many times greater. And a tancheg quite appropriate to the times. I understand that you are a cat apologist?))
      1. 0
        27 March 2024 07: 18
        Of course, I will get a bunch of minuses for this, but the Pz-IV was outdated from birth. The fact that it was produced throughout the war speaks of the plight of the Panzerwaffe in 1942 - 1945.
        There is no need to blindly believe Guderian, a completely beaten commander and a completely worthless engineer, especially based on one phrase spoken in January 1943: “The innovators who proposed completely switching to the production of Tigers and Panthers did not understand that with a monthly production of 25 - 30 Manin, we would have been left without tanks at all, and the Russians would have taken Berlin within a year."
        In the specific situation of 1943, he was absolutely right, but one should not pass off need as good. It’s just that the leaders of Germany didn’t have enough brains to build a new tank plant, like Tankograd and Uralvagonzavod, along with the development of new vehicles. Instead, they continued to play in the investment economy and state defense orders. Well, we finished the game. As for the production of "fours" - its limit at existing capacities is 6000 per year, the same as the total of Panthers and Fours in 1944.
        The tank is bad in everything except reliability. Armament is at the lowest limit, protection is provided by the main anti-tank guns and enemy tank guns in all projections. Passability and mobility are disgusting. The chassis is overloaded, which does not allow the creation of decent self-propelled guns on its basis (here the Guderian Duck Pz IV/70(V) looks most clearly).
        The result for 1943-1945: it cannot go on the attack, it is not suitable for deep breakthroughs, it can only be used for counterattacks from ambushes. And for this purpose the quite budget Stug and Hetzer are quite suitable.
        1. 0
          27 March 2024 07: 24
          And the main drawback of the Panther is its “fishing rod”, which turned a rather interesting vehicle into a tank destroyer, an extremely suboptimal vehicle. Oddly enough, the Tiger-1 was a more versatile and popular vehicle, despite a bunch of shortcomings. And again - the caliber of a 105-mm tank gun with moderate ballistics was determined back in 1940, but there was not enough courage to develop such a machine.
          1. 0
            27 March 2024 07: 36
            Time has shown that a mass sample turned out to be preferable to an even more advanced, but piecemeal product. Our designers also did not stand still; there was both the T34M and the T44. Absolutely new samples.
            1. 0
              27 March 2024 08: 39
              Yes, neither the Panthers, nor the Pershings, nor the Centurions were a piece product. Also quite massive. That's not the point.
              Simply rebuilding factories for a new product during a war always risks losing production volumes, and this is an operational pause at the front. So they drove the T-34-85 to victory. And so - the tank in 1944 was already quite obsolete (albeit much better than the Pz-IV).
              Or they could completely switch to the IS as the main tank from the summer, arming it with an 85-mm cannon with an initial armor-piercing projectile speed of 920 m/s. The gun successfully passed tests, but did not go into production. But the T-34 chassis could be used for various self-propelled guns, in particular, a ZSU with a twin V-11 turned out quite well.
              1. 0
                27 March 2024 08: 56
                I meant Tigger, KT and Jagdtiger. The Panther, yes, was produced in quite a large series. But again there are nuances; for one panther it was possible to produce two fours.
                1. 0
                  27 March 2024 09: 45
                  Pasholok's latest articles refute this. Unlike the T-34-85/IS, the weight ratio does not apply at German factories. Maximum 500 vehicles per month versus 380 Panthers. And the rest - other technological lines. They might have succeeded on DB if they discontinued Stug, I don’t know. And for me, Stug was simpler and more useful in that environment.
                  1. 0
                    27 March 2024 09: 47
                    Oooh, are you a fan of Pasholok? I welcome you very much. Don't you hang out at Tiger Corner for an hour? I'm participating there too.))
                    1. +1
                      27 March 2024 11: 58
                      Yes, I’m too old to get excited, it’s just that he comes across interesting materials, in particular on projects for the development of KV tanks. I myself work at Kirovsky, I often crossed paths with tank crews in my youth, so I’m reading.
                      In particular, the idea that if it had been decided to develop main rather than medium and heavy tanks since 1944, the IS-8 (T-10) would have been completely different, I heard from those involved in the creation of this vehicle.
                      1. 0
                        27 March 2024 13: 38
                        There are also a couple of very knowledgeable people, Alexey Makarov and Igor Zheltov. Both are employees of the T34 museum. Very knowledgeable people. I recommend.
        2. +1
          27 March 2024 07: 25
          Well, one can argue endlessly about German tank building during WWII.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned), Kirill Budanov (included to the Rosfinmonitoring list of terrorists and extremists)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Wirbeiwind: что представляла собой ЗСУ вермахта, построенная на основе Panzerkampfwagen IV

20
Wirbeiwind: что представляла собой ЗСУ вермахта, построенная на основе Panzerkampfwagen IV

В 1944 году в нацистской Германии началась разработка зенитной самоходной установки с башней, которая могла бы вращаться на 360 градусов. При этом своей броней машина должна была защищать экипаж.

Требования к новой ЗСУ сформулировал генерал-полковник вермахта Хайнц Гудериан. Основными из них были: небольшая высота, открытая сверху башня, где могли бы поместиться три бойца и высокая плотность огня.



Для производства вышеупомянутых ЗСУ было решено использовать поступающие из ремонта средние танки Panzerkampfwagen IV. При этом особой переделке сама машина не подвергалась. С нее, если утрировать, снимали старую башню и ставили новую.

Всего до января 1945 года было собрано 105 таких «зенитных танков». ЗСУ получили название Wirbeiwind («Вихрь»).

Касательно характеристик машины. Как уже было сказано, в ее основе лежал танк Panzerkampfwagen IV. В свою очередь, на него устанавливали девятигранную башню с толщиной бронелистов 16 мм.

Как и было предписано, в башне располагались три человека – наводчик в корме и два заряжающих по бокам. В качестве орудия использовалась FlaK-Vierling 38 – 20-мм счетверенная автоматическая пушка.

Данное орудие могло доставать авиацию на высоте до 3,5 км. При этом его скорострельность составляла 600-700 выстрелов в минуту.

Боепитание осуществлялось магазинами на 20 выстрелов. Общий боекомплект – 3200 снарядов. Боеприпасы использовались двух типов: осколочные и бронебойные.

  • архивное фото
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

20 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 0
    26 марта 2024 17:37
    "ходовая" как будто у "КВ" украдена.
    1. 0
      26 марта 2024 17:53
      Шаровая молния
      у фрицев была вообще, за пределами ожиданий. Слава богу построить их не сумели в серии...
    2. +1
      26 марта 2024 18:09
      Цитата: Аэродромный
      "ходовая" как будто у "КВ" украдена.

      Да ладно, у КВ ведущее колесо на корме, у немчуры традиционно впереди. Отсюда карданы через все БО через коробку отбора мощности, КПП впереди.
      1. 0
        26 марта 2024 18:10
        согласен. но конфигурация то... не то что у т4 . у т 3 похожая была да. хотя.... школа есть школа... у пантеры был ужас.
        1. 0
          26 марта 2024 18:12
          Цитата: Аэродромный
          согласен. но конфигурация то...

          Ну как бы все друг у друга что то подсматривают. Но с четверкой и КВ врядли. О наших КВ они имели весьма смутное представление, если вообще имели.))
          1. +1
            26 марта 2024 18:19
            Обожаю, смотреть фильмы от "Старина".
  2. 0
    26 марта 2024 18:33
    На базу четверки не только Flak38х4 ставили но и 3.7см сериийно. Но там башни не было . Только щит, самой Flak43.Зато борта толстенные по периметру. Они вообще на всё ,что каталось, навьючивали зенитки. Войсковое ПВО лучшее в WW ll по оснащению.
  3. 0
    26 марта 2024 18:45
    А что мешало при калибре 20 использовать ленточное питание?
    И вместо 2-х заряжающих поставить второго наводчика и дальномерщика?
  4. 0
    26 марта 2024 20:12
    Пример удачного использования шасси устаревшего танка. Единственное замечание (впрочем несущественное) для конца 1944 года перспективней был бы Flakvierling на базе 30-мм пушек МК103. Это позволило бы при сохранении плотности огня поднять поражающую силу снаряда.
    1. +2
      26 марта 2024 21:40
      Ну уж прямо так и устаревшего. Самая рабочая лошадка Вермахта. Если бы не увлечение всякими вундервафлями, то производство четверок было бы в разы больше. И вполне себе соответствующий времени танчег. Я так понимаю, Вы апологет кошачих?))
      1. 0
        27 марта 2024 07:18
        Конечно, получу за это кучу минусов, но Pz-IV был устаревшим с рождения. То что он выпускался всю войну, говорит о бедственном положении Panzerwaffe в 1942 - 1945 гг.
        Не надо слепо верить Гудериану, вполне так битому полководцу и вполне хреновому инженеру, тем более по одной сказанной фразе в январе 1943 г.: "Новаторы, предлагавшие вообще полностью перейти на выпуск Тигров и Пантер не понимали, что при ежемесячном выпуске в 25 - 30 манин, мы вообще остались бы без танков, и русские взяли бы Берлин в течение года."
        В конкретной ситуации 1943 года он был абсолютно прав, но не стоит выдавать нужду за благо. Просто у вождей Германии не хватило мозгов вместе с разработкой новых машин выстроить новый танковый комбинат, на подобие Танкограда и Уралвагонзавода. Вместо этого они продолжали играть в инвестиционную экономику и гособоронзаказ. Ну и доигрались. А насчет производства "четверок" - его предел при существующих мощностях - 6000 в год, столько же, сколько в сумме Пантер и Четвёрок в 1944 г.
        Танк плох во всём, кроме надёжности. Вооружение - на самом нижнем пределе, защита шьётся основными орудиями ПТО и танковыми пушками противника во всех проекциях. Проходимость и подвижность - отвратительные. Шасси перегружено, что не позволяет создать приличные САУ на его базе (тут наиболее наглядно смотрится "Утка Гудериана" Pz IV/70(V)).
        Итог для 1943-1945 гг.: в атаку ходить не может, для глубоких прорывов не годиться, может использоваться только для контратак из засад. А для этого вполне годиться и вполне бюджетный Stug и Hetzer.
        1. 0
          27 марта 2024 07:24
          А главным недостатком Пантеры является её "удочка", превратившая достаточно интересную машину в танк-истребитель, крайне неоптимальную машину. Как ни странно Тигр-1 являлся более универсальной и востребованной машиной, несмотря на кучу недостатков. Причём опять - калибр танковой пушки 105-мм с умеренной баллистикой был определён ещё в 1940 г., но смелости на разработку такой машины не хватило.
          1. 0
            27 марта 2024 07:36
            Время показало, что массовый образец оказался предпочтительней, чем пусть и более совершенный, но штучный продукт. Наши конструкторы тоже на месте не стояли, был и Т34М, и Т44. Абсолютно новые образцы.
            1. 0
              27 марта 2024 08:39
              Да не были ни Пантеры, ни Першинги ни Центурионы штучным продуктом. Тоже вполне массовым. Не в том дело.
              Просто перестройка заводов под новое изделие в ходе войны - всегда риск потери объемов выпуска, а это - оперативная пауза на фронте. Вот и гнали Т-34-85 до победы. А так - танк в 1944 г. вполне уже морально устаревший ( хоть и много лучше Pz-IV).
              А могли бы с лета полностью перейти на ИС в качестве основного танка, вооружив его 85-мм пушкой с начальной скоростью бронебойного снаряда 920 м/с. Пушка успешно прошла испытания, но в серию не пошла. А вот шасси Т-34 можно было использовать под различные самоходки, в частности вполне получалась ЗСУ со спаркой В-11.
              1. 0
                27 марта 2024 08:56
                Я имел в виду Тигру, КТ и Ягдтигр. Пантерка да, производилась вполне себе крупной серией. Но опять же есть нюансы, на одну пантерку можно было произвести две четвёрки.
                1. 0
                  27 марта 2024 09:45
                  Последние статьи Пашолока это опровергают. В отличие от Т-34-85/ИС на немецких заводах соотношение по массе не проходит. Максимум 500 машин в месяц против 380 Пантер. А прочее - другие технологические линии. Вот могло бы у них получиться на DB, если снять с производства Stug, не знаю. Да и по мне Stug в той обстановке был проще и полезней.
                  1. 0
                    27 марта 2024 09:47
                    Ооо, да Вы поклонник Пашолока? Крайне приветствую. На тигровом углу часом не водитесь? Я тоже там участвую.))
                    1. +1
                      27 марта 2024 11:58
                      Да староват я для восторгов, просто у него попадаются интересные материалы, в частности по проектам развития танков КВ. Я сам на Кировском работаю, с танкистами в молодости часто пересекались, так что почитываю.
                      В частности идею, что будь решение развивать с 1944 года основные, а не средние и тяжёлые танки, то ИС-8 (Т-10) был бы совсем другим я услышал ещё от участников создания этой машины.
                      1. 0
                        27 марта 2024 13:38
                        Есть ещё пара очень знающих людей, Алексей Макаров и Игорь Желтов. Оба сотрудники музея Т34. Очень знающие люди. Рекомендую.
        2. +1
          27 марта 2024 07:25
          Ну по немецкому танкостроению времен ВМВ можно спорить до бесконечности.

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»