Why did the British use rubber decks on their aircraft carriers?

7
Why did the British use rubber decks on their aircraft carriers?

After World War II, the British wondered how to use carrier-based aircraft without landing gear, since various emergencies and accidents often occurred when landing on an aircraft carrier. Unlike propeller-driven aircraft, jet aviation was theoretically capable of landing without landing gear, but for this it is necessary to prepare a platform that can provide sufficient shock absorption.

Removing the landing gear also made it possible to lighten the aircraft and free up its internal space, thereby improving its performance. The British came up with many different concepts for landing without landing gear, such as floating landing strips on water, landing on soft ground or sand, and even special carts.





However, Major Green came up with the idea of ​​landing on a kind of rubber carpet or, rather, a large air cushion. According to the major's idea, the deck of the aircraft carrier was supposed to be a large sheet of rubber placed on fire hoses under pressure. The British calculated that a rubber carpet 45 meters long and 16 meters wide could withstand the weight of an aircraft weighing 3,5 tons. The plane without landing gear was launched from a catapult, and the rubber coating was doused with water to reduce wear on the surface. This crazy idea was tested by the English pilot Eric Brown, who tried to land on an aircraft carrier, but the landing was unsuccessful due to the high speed of the aircraft and it was only by pure chance that the pilot managed to avoid serious injuries.



By the spring of 1948, the system had been improved, thanks to which Brown was able to make a perfect landing on the rubber deck of an aircraft carrier. During six months of testing, about 200 landings were made both at sea and on land.

However, as jet aircraft became larger and heavier, it finally became clear that rubber decks for aircraft without landing gear were a dead-end development.

7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +5
    April 13 2024 18: 15
    Interesting information, unexpected project, thanks to the author
    1. +1
      April 14 2024 21: 13
      The British are generally unique, as seen only in the project of aircraft carriers made of ice and wood - pykerite.
  2. +2
    April 13 2024 19: 07
    Thank you for another, unknown page from the immense book “The History of World Aviation”.
    It was very interesting!
  3. 0
    April 13 2024 20: 33
    Very valuable information. This info is useful for anti-drone systems. Shock absorbing materials may reduce the impact of kamikaze drones.
  4. 0
    April 14 2024 14: 13
    Extremely entertaining. This is the first time I've heard this
  5. 0
    April 24 2024 19: 22
    I've read everything, but this is the first time
  6. 0
    20 May 2024 12: 31
    The project is of exclusively historical interest, because the rubber will burn in the jets of jet engines.
    If you want to get rid of the chassis, there are more interesting and practical options.

Зачем англичане применяли резиновые палубы на своих авианосцах

7
Зачем англичане применяли резиновые палубы на своих авианосцах

После Второй мировой войны англичане задались вопросом, как применять палубные самолеты без шасси, поскольку при посадке на авианосец нередко возникали различные ЧП и аварии. В отличие от винтовых самолетов, реактивная авиация теоретически была способна приземляться без шасси, однако для этого необходимо подготовить площадку, которая может обеспечить достаточную амортизацию.

Удаление шасси также позволяло облегчить самолет и освободить его внутреннее пространство, тем самым улучшив его характеристики. Англичане придумали множество различных концепций посадки без шасси, например, плавающие на воде посадочные полосы, посадка на мягкий грунт или песок и даже специальные тележки.





Однако, майор Грин придумал посадку на своеобразный резиновый ковер или, скорее, большую воздушную подушку. По задумке майора, палуба авианосца должна была представлять собой большой лист резины, размещенный на пожарных шлангах под давлением. Англичане посчитали, что резиновый ковер длиной 45 и шириной 16 метров способен выдержать вес самолета массой 3,5 тонны. Самолет без шасси при этом запускался с катапульты, а резиновое покрытие поливалось водой, чтобы уменьшить износ полотна. Испытал эту безумную идею английский летчик Эрик Браун, попытавшийся прирезиниться на авианосец, однако посадка была неудачной из-за высокой скорости самолета и лишь по чистой случайности летчику удалось избежать серьезных травм.



К весне 1948 года система была доработана, благодаря чему Браун смог совершить идеальную посадку на резиновую палубу авианосца. За полгода испытаний было совершено около 200 посадок как на море, так и на суше.

Однако, по мере того как реактивные самолеты становились больше и тяжелее, окончательно стало понятно, что резиновые палубы для самолетов без шасси являются тупиковой ветвью развития.

7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +5
    13 апреля 2024 18:15
    Интересная информация, неожиданый проект, спасибо автору
    1. +1
      14 апреля 2024 21:13
      Англичане вообще своеобразны, чего стоит только проект авианосцев из льда и дерева - пайкерита.
  2. +2
    13 апреля 2024 19:07
    Спасибо за ещё одну, неизвестную страницу из необъятной книги "История мировой авиации".
    Было очень интересно!
  3. 0
    13 апреля 2024 20:33
    Very valuable information. This info is useful for anti-drone systems. Shock absorbing materials may reduce the impact of kamikaze drones.
  4. 0
    14 апреля 2024 14:13
    В высшей степени занятно. Первый раз такое слышу
  5. 0
    24 апреля 2024 19:22
    Всякое читал но такое впервые
  6. 0
    20 мая 2024 12:31
    Проект имеет исключительно исторический интерес, ибо резина сгорит в струях реактивных двигателей.
    Если хотите избавиться от шасси, есть более интересные и практичные варианты.