Robots with a sharp "scent" in the service of the US Navy

Robotics is developing quite actively today. The US Navy is about to embark on a project that is completely based on the use of modern robotics. The meaning of the project is that naval sailors will use a robotic group to deliver ammunition with it. The highlight of the project is that the robots themselves will select the necessary projectile or rocket using the active electronic determination of the type of pheromone smell.

Robots with a sharp "scent" in the service of the US Navy




Those people who were engaged in sorting and delivering to the deck of an aircraft-carrying cruiser know very well how exhausting this work is. That is why the US Navy decided to entrust it not to people, but to robots.

Initially, the US military are planning to use the so-called exoskeleton. The point is that over time, special software and hardware systems that will be equipped with robotic systems will be able to find the desired ammunition in the literal sense of the word by smell. As soon as the electronic “nose” of the robot finds the ammunition, it (the ammunition) will also deliver it on deck to the aircraft.

Today there is already a similar project, which is designed for the use of robots, which determine the version of the ammunition for special optical markers. These markers are applied both to missiles with missiles, and to certain deck locations to which they need to be delivered. However, this project stalled due to the fact that the robot often has to work in conditions of minimum illumination, and therefore they could only qualitatively recognize the necessary ammunition in a small percentage of cases.

The new principle involves the chemical side, namely the process of recognizing the smell, which will be emitted by markers of another type. Robots in this case will be able to work even in total darkness.

However, here its difficulties emerge. Smells are ephemeral. For example, if the work will be carried out in conditions of smoke or torrential rain, how will the robotic “sniffer” behave, even experienced specialists will not say so. In addition, odor can be affected by high humidity or exposure to ultraviolet rays, which can also disorient the robot.

For the time being, the task of the US Navy is to create semi-autonomous robotic systems that are capable, including under human control, of raising ammunition to the ship’s deck from storage facilities and delivering them to the necessary air board. After 20 min. after the right rocket is in the right place, the marker must lose its smell, otherwise other robots might “become interested” and start re-working. The robot in the mode of intensive labor, according to the ideas of sailors, should work successfully for about a week - this is at least.

The timing of the implementation of this robot project is not specified yet. According to preliminary data, it can be translated into reality by 2020 year. The presence of new-generation robots will reduce the crew of aircraft carriers.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Роботы с острым «нюхом» на службе ВМС США

Роботехника сегодня развивается достаточно активно. ВМС США собираются приступить к реализации проекта, который полностью основан на использовании современной робототехники. Смысл проекта заключается в том, что военные моряки будут использовать роботизированную группировку для доставки с ее помощью боеприпасов. «Изюминкой» проекта является то, что роботы самим будут выбирать необходимый снаряд или ракету с помощью активного электронного определения вида запаха феромонов.

Роботы с острым «нюхом» на службе ВМС США



Те люди, которые занимались сортировкой и доставкой на палубу авианесущего крейсера отлично знают, насколько изнурительной является эта работа. Именно поэтому ВМС США решили доверить ее не людям, а роботам.

Первоначально американские военные планируют использование так называемых экзоскелетов. Смысл в том, что со временем специальные программные и аппаратные комплексы, которыми будут оснащаться роботизированные системы, смогут находить нужный боеприпас в прямом смысле слова по запаху. Как только электронный «нос» робота найдет боеприпас, его (боеприпас) он же и доставит на палубу к самолету.

Сегодня уже существует подобный проект, который рассчитан на использование роботов, которые определяют вариант боеприпаса по специальным оптическим маркерам. Эти маркеры наносятся как на снаряды с ракетами, так и на определенные места палубы, к которым их нужно доставить. Однако этот проект забуксовал в связи с тем, что роботом чаще приходится работать в условиях минимальной освещенности, а потому качественно распознать нужные боеприпасы они могли лишь в небольшом проценте случаев.

Новый принцип задействует химическую сторону, а именно процесс распознавания запаха, которые будут источаться маркерами другого типа. Роботы в этом случае смогут работать даже в кромешной тьме.

Однако и здесь вырисовываются свои сложности. Запахи – вещь эфемерная. К примеру, если работа будет проводиться в условиях задымленности или проливного дождя, то как поведет себя роботизированный «нюхач», пока не берутся сказать даже опытные специалисты. К тому же на запах может влиять повышенная влажность или воздействие ультрафиолетовых лучей, что тоже может дезориентировать робота.

Пока задача ВМС США состоит в том, чтобы создать полуавтономные роботизированные системы, которые способны, в том числе, и под контролем человека, поднимать из хранилищ боеприпасы на палубу корабля и доставлять их к нужному воздушному борту. Через 20 мин. после того как нужная ракета оказалась на нужном месте, маркер должен сам потерять запах, иначе им могут «заинтересоваться» другие роботы и начать повторную работу. Робот в режиме интенсивного труда, по задумкам военных моряков, должен успешно работать около недели – это как минимум.

Пока не уточняются сроки реализации этого робот-проекта. По предварительным данным, он может быть воплощен в реальность к 2020 году. Наличие роботов нового поколения позволит сократить экипаж авианосцев.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

19 комментариев

Объявление

Сайту «Военное обозрение» требуются авторы в новостной отдел. Требования к соискателям: грамотность, ответственность, работоспособность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно. Работа оплачивается. Обращаться: smirnovvad@gmail.com

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти