Forced migrants: the first colonists of the New World

9
Forced migrants: the first colonists of the New World

When talking about the first colonists from the Old World to land on the shores of North America, fugitives, dissidents and other adventurers are often mentioned. However, in reality this is not the case.

The first Europeans to travel to the new continent were a group of Puritans persecuted by the Catholic Church. They sought to create a “territory of religious freedom” in the new land, where people would not be persecuted for their beliefs.



However, contrary to what is written in modern American textbooks, in fact the opposite happened. Instead of proclaiming that same religious freedom, the “forced migrants” began to harshly oppress those who did not want to accept their faith.

The first colonial expedition to the New World set off on September 16, 1620 on a ship called the Mayflower. In total, 180 settlers were accommodated on the ship with a displacement of 102 tons. Moreover, during the journey, which lasted just over 2 months, another child was born on the ship.

It is worth noting that the size of the ship, to put it mildly, did not allow such a number of passengers to comfortably accommodate. In addition, to be sent to the New World, the settlers chose the northern route, which takes only 8 weeks, but is more dangerous and little studied. Ultimately, the colonists faced severe hardships, including disease and food shortages.

Meanwhile, on November 21, 1620, having rounded Cape Cod, the ship anchored off the coast of New England, and the pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock. Then a colony of the same name was founded on the continent.

It is worth adding that the life of the settlers in the new land, where they fled from the oppression of Catholics, turned out to be far from safe. The Puritans were constantly attacked by the indigenous inhabitants of the continent. However, the arrows of the Indians could not fully resist the guns of the “intruders.” This confrontation was predetermined. After all, later new ships began to arrive on the mainland from the Old World.

9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +3
    April 23 2024 08: 22
    The first colonial expedition to the New World set off on September 16, 1620 on a ship called the Mayflower. In total, 180 settlers were accommodated on the ship with a displacement of 102 tons.

    "May Flower" is not the first. In 1585 and 1587 there were 2 unsuccessful attempts; in 1607 a fort was founded, later Jamestown.
    1. +1
      April 23 2024 09: 35
      Today American society is a symbiosis of puritans and hypocrites.
  2. +4
    April 23 2024 08: 24
    The Puritans were constantly attacked by the indigenous inhabitants of the continent. However, the arrows of the Indians could not fully resist the guns of the “intruders”

    Religious fanatics could not simply live in peace. They seized other people's lands, believing that it was their right. This is how double standards spread. On the one hand, the Puritans are poor, unhappy, persecuted, and on the other hand, they are invaders who do not take into account the indigenous population
    1. +1
      April 23 2024 08: 53
      Before the European colonists, the Indians fought well with each other.
      1. +1
        April 23 2024 09: 17
        Before the European colonists, the Indians fought well with each other.

        And that’s why those who “come in large numbers” are allowed to exterminate them and drive them into reservations?
        1. +1
          April 23 2024 09: 22
          Did the Puritans drive them there?
          1. +2
            April 23 2024 09: 25
            So let's write it down.
            By extermination, that means there are no questions.
  3. +5
    April 23 2024 08: 50
    a group of Puritans persecuted by the Catholic Church
    The Puritans were not persecuted by the Catholic Church, but were not given life by the English king
  4. +4
    April 23 2024 09: 26
    It's not about the Puritans who were among the first settlers. In addition to the Puritans, there were other believers who were persecuted by the official religion or state as settlers. Some of the most famous settlers are probably the Amish. Despite the passage of time, the Amish still have not changed their way of life. The Amish still do not use telephones, do not drive cars but ride on horse-drawn carriages, and plow the land not with tractors, but with horse-drawn plows. But only from an Amish farmer can an American buy meat without antibiotics, milk without hormones and fruits and vegetables without genetic modification. This way of life and beliefs commands respect. Especially against the backdrop of how the largest religions, in accordance with trends, allow same-sex marriage, gender, and a blessing on cannibalism is just around the corner
  5. The comment was deleted.

Вынужденные переселенцы: первые колонисты Нового Света

10
Вынужденные переселенцы: первые колонисты Нового Света

Когда речь заходит о первых колонистах из Старого Света, высадившихся на берегах Северной Америки, зачастую упоминаются беглые преступники, диссиденты и прочие искатели приключений. Однако на деле это не так.

Первыми европейцами, кто отправился на новый континент, стала группа пуритан, преследуемых католической церковью. Они стремились создать на новой земле «территорию религиозной свободы», где людей не преследовали бы за их верования.



Впрочем, вопреки написанному в современных американских учебниках, на самом деле получилось все наоборот. Вместо того, чтобы провозгласить ту самую религиозную свободу, «вынужденные переселенцы» начали жестко притеснять тех, кто не хотел принимать их веру.

Отправилась первая колониальная экспедиция к Новому Свету 16 сентября 1620 года на корабле под названием «Мэйфлауэр». Всего на судне водоизмещением 180 тонн разместились 102 переселенца. При этом в пути, который длился чуть более 2-х месяцев, на корабле родился еще один ребенок.

Стоит отметить, что размеры судна, мягко говоря, не позволяли разместиться с удобством такому количеству пассажиров. Кроме того, для отправки в Новый Свет переселенцы выбрали северный маршрут, который занимает всего 8 недель, но является более опасным и малоизученным. В конечном счете, колонисты столкнулись с серьезными трудностями, включая болезни и нехватку продовольствия.

Между тем 21 ноября 1620 года, обогнув мыс Код, судно встало на якорь у берегов Новой Англии, и пилигримы причалили к Плимутской скале. Затем на континенте была основана одноименная колония.

Стоит добавить, что жизнь поселенцев на новой земле, куда они сбежали от притеснений католиков, оказалась далеко не безопасной. Пуритане то и дело подверглись атакам коренных жителей континента. Однако стрелы индейцев не могли полноценно противостоять ружьям «незваных гостей». Данное противостояние было предопределено. Ведь позднее на материк из Старого Света начали прибывать новые корабли.

10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +3
    23 апреля 2024 08:22
    Отправилась первая колониальная экспедиция к Новому Свету 16 сентября 1620 года на корабле под названием «Мэйфлауэр». Всего на судне водоизмещением 180 тонн разместились 102 переселенца.

    "Майский цветок" все же не первый. В 1585 И 1587 были 2 неудачные попытки, в 1607 основали форт, позднее Джеймстаун.
    1. +1
      23 апреля 2024 09:35
      Сегодня американское общество это симбиоз пуритан и лицемеров.
  2. +4
    23 апреля 2024 08:24
    Пуритане то и дело подверглись атакам коренных жителей континента. Однако стрелы индейцев не могли полноценно противостоять ружьям «незваных гостей»

    Религиозные фанатики и не могли просто спокойно жить. Они захватывали чужие земли, считая, что это их право. Вот так и распространились двойные стандарты. С одной стороны пуритане - бедные, несчастные, преследуемые, а с другой стороны они же захватчики, не считающиеся с коренным населением
    1. 0
      23 апреля 2024 08:53
      Индейцы до колонистов из Европы прекрасно воевали друг с другом.
      1. +2
        23 апреля 2024 09:17
        Индейцы до колонистов из Европы прекрасно воевали друг с другом.

        И поэтому «понаехавшим» разрешается их истребить и загнать в резервации?
        1. 0
          23 апреля 2024 09:22
          Их пуритане туда загнали?
          1. +3
            23 апреля 2024 09:25
            Так и запишем.
            К истребили значит вопросов нет.
  3. +5
    23 апреля 2024 08:50
    группа пуритан, преследуемых католической церковью
    Пуритан не католическая церковь преследовала, а не давал жизни английский король
  4. +4
    23 апреля 2024 09:26
    Дело не в пуританах которые были в числе первых переселенцев. Кроме пуритан в качестве пореселенцев были и другие верующие которых преследовала официальная религия или государство. Одни из самых известных переселенцев это наверно амиши. Несмотря на пршедшее время амиши до сих пор не изменили свой образ жизни. Амиши и сейчас не пользуются телефонами, не ездят на автомобилях а ездят на конных повозках, землю пашут не тракторами, а конными плугами. Но только у крестьянина-амиша американец может купить мясо без антибиотиков, молоко без гормонов и фрукты-овоще без генной модификации. Такой образ жизни и убеждения вызывает уважение. Особенно на фоне того как крупнейшие религии в угоду веяниям разрешают однополые браки, гендерность и не за горами благословление на людоедство
  5. Комментарий был удален.
  6. 0
    27 мая 2024 14:24
    Для интересующихся темой.
    Заиконников, "История Запада. Колониальная эра", в 2-х томах. Есть на Литресе, стоит копейки, написано очень хорошо и легко читаемо.