Boeing B-52 Stratofortress: American long-lived record holder among strategic bombers

5
Boeing B-52 Stratofortress: American long-lived record holder among strategic bombers

Next year will mark 70 years since the American strategic bomber Boeing B-52 Stratofortress entered service with the US Air Force. At the same time, the first prototype of the “Stratospheric Fortress” took off three years earlier - in 1952.

It is worth noting that when developing this aircraft, Boeing designers could not even dream that the winged aircraft would be so successful. In addition, they hardly expected that the plane would “outlive” them.



Meanwhile, Stratofortress has several records to its credit. In particular, in May 1956, it became the first aircraft from which a hydrogen bomb was dropped. In November of the same year, he flew around North America via the North Pole, covering 27 thousand km.

Further more. In 1957, three B-52 Stratofortress flew around the world, covering almost 40 thousand km in 45 hours 19 minutes, moving at an average speed of 850 km/h. Finally, in 1962, the Stratospheric Fortress became the first aircraft in its class to fly 20 km without mid-air refueling.

Typically, created as a carrier for bombs with nuclear warheads, the B-52 was often used by the US Air Force for “carpet bombing” with conventional bombs. It has become the only aircraft in the world that can leave behind a piece of scorched earth measuring more than two square kilometers.

The American army most actively used its “strategists” during the war in Southeast Asia in the 60-70s of the last century. The aircraft was used for the so-called “scorched earth” tactics.



By the way, it was in the skies of South and North Vietnam that the B-52 Stratofortress lost its “invulnerable” title. In December 1972, during a massive raid on Hanoi, 6 American aircraft were shot down by Soviet S-75 systems, and the same number were damaged, which did not allow them to be returned to service in the future. A total of 90 vehicles took part in the air raid.

After that night, pilots at the Andersen base in the Mariana Islands (Guam) started something like a mutiny, calling on the command to reconsider the suicidal practice of massive bombing of areas with active air defense.

However, in Vietnam, American strategic bombers made more than 700 sorties, dropping more than 15 thousand tons of bombs on this country.

It is worth adding that deeply modernized B-52 Stratofortresses still serve in the US Air Force today. At the same time, the American command expects that these vehicles will not be removed from service until 2040.

5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +1
    5 June 2024 17: 30
    We also did the UAZ “Loaf” the first time!
  2. +2
    5 June 2024 17: 30
    There were good engineering schools in those days in the USA, the USSR, and Germany. There is no point in being surprised by longevity.
  3. 0
    5 June 2024 23: 07
    and only Major Kong’s plane, which did not receive the all clear signal, continues to stubbornly break through to the reserve target
  4. +1
    6 June 2024 01: 32
    Next year will mark 70 years since the American strategic bomber Boeing B-52 Stratofortress entered service with the US Air Force. At the same time, the first prototype of the “Stratospheric Fortress” took off three years earlier - in 1952.
    By the way, the Tu-95 also made its first flight in 1952, although it entered service a little later in 1956.
  5. +1
    6 June 2024 10: 48
    Actually, 741 sorties and 15 tons of bombs are Linebacker-237 from December 2 to 18, 29.
    In total, in 1972, B-52s dropped more than 150 thousand tons of bombs on North Vietnam alone.

Boeing B-52 Stratofortress: американский долгожитель-рекордсмен среди стратегических бомбардировщиков

5
Boeing B-52 Stratofortress: американский долгожитель-рекордсмен среди стратегических бомбардировщиков

В следующем году исполнится 70 лет с того момента, как американский стратегический бомбардировщик Boeing B-52 Stratofortress встал на вооружение ВВС США. При этом первый прототип «Стратосферной крепости» поднялся в воздух тремя годами ранее – в 1952 году.

Стоит отметить, что, разрабатывая данный самолет, конструкторы из Boeing не могли даже мечтать, что крылатая машина выйдет настолько удачной. Кроме того, они вряд ли предполагали, что самолет «переживет» их самих.



Между тем на счету Stratofortress имеется сразу несколько рекордов. В частности, в мае 1956 года он стал первым самолетом, с которого была сброшена водородная бомба. В ноябре того же года он совершил полет вокруг Северной Америки через Северный полюс, преодолев 27 тыс. км.

Дальше-больше. В 1957 году три B-52 Stratofortress осуществили кругосветный перелет, преодолев почти 40 тыс. км за 45 часов 19 минут, двигаясь на средней скорости в 850 км/ч. Наконец, в 1962 году «Стратосферная крепость» стал первым самолетом в своем классе, преодолевшим 20 168 км без дозаправки в воздухе.

Что характерно, создававшийся в качестве носителя для бомб с ядерными боеголовками, B-52 часто применялся ВВС США для «ковровых бомбардировок» обычными авиабомбами. Он стал единственным в мире самолетом, который может оставить после себя участок выжженной земли площадью более двух квадратных километров.

Наиболее активно американская армия применяла свои «стратеги» в ходе войны в Юго-Восточной Азии в 60-70-х годах прошлого века. Самолет применялся для так называемой тактики «выжженная земля».



К слову, именно в небе Южного и Северного Вьетнама B-52 Stratofortress потерял свое звание «неуязвимого». В декабре 1972 года в ходе массированного налета на Ханой 6 американских самолетов были сбиты советскими комплексами С-75, а еще столько же получили повреждения, которые не позволяли вернуть их в строй в будущем. Всего в авианалете участвовали 90 машин

После этой ночи летчики на базе «Андерсен» на Марианских островах (Гуам) подняли что-то вроде мятежа, призывая командование пересмотреть самоубийственную практику массированных бомбардировок районов с активно действующей ПВО.

Тем не менее, во Вьетнаме американские стратегические бомбардировщики совершили более 700 вылетов, сбросив на эту страну более 15 тысяч тонн авиабомб.

Стоит добавить, что глубоко модернизированные B-52 Stratofortress несут службу в ВВС США и сегодня. При этом американское командование рассчитывает, что данные машины не будут сняты с вооружения до 2040 года.

5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +1
    5 июня 2024 17:30
    У нас УАЗ - "Буханка" тоже сделали с первого раза !
  2. +2
    5 июня 2024 17:30
    Хорошая инженерная школа была в те времена что в США, что в СССР, что в Германии. Удивляться долголетию лишено смысла.
  3. 0
    5 июня 2024 23:07
    и только самолёт майора Конга, не получивший сигнал отбоя, продолжает упорно прорываться к запасной цели
  4. +1
    6 июня 2024 01:32
    В следующем году исполнится 70 лет с того момента, как американский стратегический бомбардировщик Boeing B-52 Stratofortress встал на вооружение ВВС США.При этом первый прототип «Стратосферной крепости» поднялся в воздух тремя годами ранее – в 1952 году.
    Ту-95 кстати тоже совершил первый полёт в 1952, правда вступил в строй чуть позже в 1956г.
  5. +1
    6 июня 2024 10:48
    Вообще-то 741 самолёто-вылет и 15 237 т бомб - это Linebacker-2 c 18 по 29 декабря 1972 г.
    Всего в 1972 г. В-52 только на Северный Вьетнам было сброшено более 150 тыс.т бомб.