Unmanned aerial vehicle suppression system "Umbrella"

11
Unmanned aerial vehicle suppression system "Umbrella"
The radiating part of the "Umbrella" system. Graphics "ELIARS"


In modern military conflicts, countermeasures against enemy unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) play a special role. Russian industry is actively developing and producing such products.



Recently, another specialized electronic warfare system called “Umbrella” was brought into mass production. This product can be installed on equipment or stationary objects and provides protection against the most dangerous UAVs.

From project to operation


The Umbrella system was created by the Eliars enterprise from Zelenograd, Moscow region. This organization has extensive experience in the development and production of various electronic systems for military and civilian needs.

Recently, ELIARS also began developing electronic warfare (EW) systems to counter unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs). As a result of this work, the “anti-drone gun” PARS appeared.

Recently it became known about the development of a similar system, but with different characteristics and purpose. This project was first reported by Izvestia on July 5. With reference to the management of "ELIARS", basic information about the progress of the project, its intermediate results was disclosed, and the main features and characteristics of the promising product were named.

Work on the new project, called “Umbrella,” reportedly began earlier this year. The reason for launching the work was requests from military personnel who participated in the special operation. They pointed to the current threat in the form of UAVs with ammunition release devices and FPV copters, and also talked about the need to develop specialized countermeasures.


PARS anti-drone gun. Graphics "ELIARS"

The Eliars company listened to the requests and within a few months developed a specialized electronic warfare system with the working name "Umbrella". By the beginning of spring, the system was ready for the first tests. In April, the prototype successfully passed new tests in the combat zone, after which its use among the troops began.

Over the past months, developers and military personnel who have used the Umbrella system have accumulated extensive experience in its use. The system received positive reviews, and the Eliars company decided to launch its mass production and begin supplying new products to the troops.

For obvious reasons, details of the current production process are not disclosed. It is unknown when the assembly of new systems began, how soon the finished devices will enter the army, what the pace of production is, and so on. In addition, the development company has not yet demonstrated the new system and its application.

Transportable protection


As part of the Umbrella project, an electronic warfare system was created. It is designed to counter multicopters that can carry ammunition.

The product can be installed on various machines or stationary objects. The system refers to “dome-type” protection. It creates a hemispherical zone around a position in which unauthorized activity by unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) is excluded.


Russian FPV drone and its operator. Photo by the Russian Ministry of Defense

According to published materials, the Umbrella system is created on a modular basis. It consists of several emitters (the diagrams presented show a combination of three such devices), as well as control and power supplies.

The three-emitter system has a diameter of approximately 960 mm and a height of 460 mm. The total weight of the system is 20 kg.

The emitter is a block on an inclined base with a large radio-transparent casing, inside of which there is a transmitting antenna. The device operates at frequencies from 0,4 to 5,8 GHz, which allows you to suppress signals from all popular models drones, used for reconnaissance or strikes. The declared suppression radius is 500 meters.

The Umbrella system creates interference in the communication channels of the unmanned system. This results in the operator not receiving the unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) camera image and telemetry, and commands cannot be sent back. As a result, full use of the drone becomes impossible.

During recent tests, the Umbrella system confirmed its design characteristics and capabilities. None of the UAVs used were able to deliver a simulated strike on the protected object.

Due to its small size and weight, the Umbrella system can be installed on both armored vehicles and automotive vehicles. For its operation, power is supplied from the carrier, and there are no special requirements for the power source.

Under the dome


Today, our country has created many special electronic warfare (EW) systems to counter unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs). These systems differ in operating principles and characteristics.

In particular, non-directional products are being developed that create a “dome” of interference over the protected object. Such systems include, for example, “Umbrella” from the company “ELIARS”.


FPV copter in the process of aiming at a target. Photo Telegram / "BOBR"

“Dome” electronic warfare (EW) systems have their own characteristics, which, if used correctly, can give a positive result. The main advantage of such systems is that they create interference in all directions simultaneously. Thanks to this, enemy unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) cannot approach either the system, its carrier, or protected objects. At the same time, protection from air targets does not require additional effort - just turn on the electronic warfare system.

In this regard, "dome" systems such as the "Umbrella" are more convenient than the numerous "anti-drone guns". The latter require monitoring the air situation and precise target designation, and their use requires fairly accurate guidance. At the same time, “Umbrella” and similar systems are not manual and require a carrier, for example, in the form of some kind of machine.

It is reported that the Umbrella suppresses two-way communication channels between the UAV and the operator, which makes the effective use of the drone impossible. Judging by the published information, the new electronic warfare system does not affect satellite navigation radio signals. However, in the case of light copter-bombers or kamikazes, this is not required - they can be rendered useless by simply transmitting communication signals.

It is worth noting that non-directional electronic warfare systems, similar to the new Umbrella, are produced by several domestic organizations and have long been used in combat zones. They are equipped with various types of armored vehicles and stationary objects, such as military locations. In addition, the products are placed on special vehicles operating in dangerous border areas.


T-80BVM tank with a set of additional protection. On the front part of the tower, emitters of a “dome” electronic warfare system of the “Breakfast” type are installed - an analogue of the “Umbrella”. Photo "Rostec"

All of these products have proven themselves in a variety of conditions and help reduce risks. They significantly reduce the amount of damage to equipment, which allows you to save material resources and personnel, and also contributes to the successful completion of basic tasks.

However, it is worth considering that the widespread use of FPV by the enemydrones and other unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) is largely due to the shortage of other types of weapons. In such a situation, electronic warfare (EW) systems installed on equipment and objects become especially important. They not only protect, but also systematically neutralize the enemy’s strike potential.

Promising direction


The special operation to protect Donbass showed that unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) of various classes have great potential. It also demonstrated the need to create effective means of protection against them.

As a result, various electronic warfare (EW) systems have emerged designed to combat UAVs. These systems can be either manual or installed on media. The development process of such systems has become continuous, and the industry regularly introduces new designs.

One of the representatives of this class is the “Umbrella” system. The development of this system began at the beginning of the year, and by now it has been brought to mass production. It is expected that it will soon be fully introduced into the troops. The prototype "Umbrella" performed well in testing, and one can hope that serial products will be no less successful.
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +3
    10 July 2024 05: 37
    There are several questions for this "Umbrella"
    1. The enemy, by any other means, can detect the operation of the “Umbrella” and determine the location of the source of interference, for subsequent strike with conventional ammunition at this place?
    2. The “umbrella”, as I understand it, needs a pretty good power source, you won’t last long on a battery, and the power plant is a revealing sign, how is this issue resolved?
    3. The “umbrella” produces radiation, how does this affect the health of the defenders?
    1. +8
      10 July 2024 06: 09
      1) is detected like any signal source. and electronic warfare is generally the first to be fired. and nothing can be done about it, physicist....
      2) there are not kilowatts of power there, so the batteries may be enough (depending on the operating time)
      3) has a bad effect, so for now they make homemade suits from the same foil (but this is for backpack electronic warfare systems, which will be even weaker than emitters for equipment), but this is for infantry, for the crew of equipment there is almost no radiation because it shields through the metal
  2. +1
    10 July 2024 11: 05
    Isn't it time to streamline and organize the process? Electronic warfare systems against UAVs are produced by dozens of companies and individual artisans, different in design and performance characteristics. Large production and a conveyor belt will always be better than assembling on your knees in a makeshift workshop.
    1. +4
      10 July 2024 16: 15
      As far as I understand, certain products are made on the assembly line, but no one needs them in the troops.
      But they are already everywhere and everything is listed, so they will be done.
      And in order to put something new into the defense order, huge kickbacks need to be introduced along the entire chain.
      Alas, semi-handicraft firms do not have that kind of money. request
      It's simple.
      And this applies to everything: FPV, sniper rifles, electronic warfare, thermal imagers, and first aid kits (the huge list can be continued here)
      Kickbacks.
      All MO is rotten and stale. And this purge that has taken place will not give anything. Because the chain never ends somewhere in the middle.
      The fact that our guys are somehow fighting there, even attacking (heroes for sure!), is not thanks to the Ministry of Defense, it is in spite of it.
      1. +2
        10 July 2024 17: 20
        This is bad, this is what needs to be changed.
    2. 0
      10 July 2024 20: 52
      Quote: TermNachTER
      Large production and a conveyor belt will always be better than assembling on your knees in a makeshift workshop.

      It's debatable in this case. Large production requires the same parameters, for example frequencies. And this is easily avoided by drone manufacturers simply by changing the control frequencies.
      1. 0
        10 July 2024 22: 36
        If there is feedback from the front, then production can be quickly rebuilt. Going down 100 MHz does not require a radical restructuring of production. Any more or less decent plant has even a small design bureau.
        1. 0
          12 July 2024 03: 50
          So they are not at the same frequency, but jump across them. This is the problem, why now our electronic warfare systems are ineffective against military FPV drones (previously they simply adapted civilian drones). Now, if you look at how the video signal works, it is obvious that it is encrypted and, moreover, with jumps.
          1. 0
            12 July 2024 08: 34
            Moving down or up is adding or replacing one module (transmitter). You can make them quick-changeable and have the necessary frequencies from 450 MHz to 1 GHz included in the package.
  3. 0
    11 July 2024 11: 20
    The radiation source is the first and easiest target to destroy. It’s annoying that this “Umbrella” will be on the protected vehicles.
    It’s another matter if this “Umbrella” vibrates electronics or elements of homing systems.
    1. 0
      12 July 2024 08: 38
      The “umbrella” must stand on the protected equipment and not “allow” drones to attack it. And you will burn out the electronics with the help of a fire and some mother.

Система подавления беспилотных летательных аппаратов «Зонт»

11
Система подавления беспилотных летательных аппаратов «Зонт»
Излучающая часть системы "Зонт". Графика "ЭЛИАРС"


В условиях современных военных конфликтов особую роль играют средства противодействия беспилотным летательным аппаратам (БПЛА) противника. Российская промышленность активно разрабатывает и производит такие средства.



Недавно была доведена до серийного производства ещё одна специализированная система радиоэлектронной борьбы под названием «Зонт». Это изделие может быть установлено на технике или стационарных объектах и обеспечивает защиту от наиболее опасных БПЛА.

От проекта до эксплуатации


Система «Зонт» была создана предприятием «ЭЛИАРС» из Зеленограда, Московская область. Эта организация имеет большой опыт в разработке и производстве различных радиоэлектронных систем для военных и гражданских нужд.

Недавно «ЭЛИАРС» также начала заниматься разработкой систем радиоэлектронной борьбы (РЭБ) для противодействия беспилотным летательным аппаратам (БПЛА). В результате этой работы появилось «противодроновое ружье» ПАРС.

Недавно стало известно о разработке аналогичной системы, но с другими характеристиками и предназначением. Впервые об этом проекте рассказало издание «Известия» 5 июля. Со ссылкой на руководство «ЭЛИАРС» были раскрыты основные сведения о ходе проекта, его промежуточных результатах, а также названы основные особенности и характеристики перспективного изделия.

Как сообщается, работы по новому проекту под названием «Зонт» начались в начале этого года. Причиной для запуска работ стали обращения военнослужащих, участвовавших в специальной операции. Они указывали на актуальную угрозу в виде БПЛА с устройствами сброса боеприпасов и FPV-коптеров, а также говорили о необходимости разработки специализированных средств противодействия.


Противодроновое ружье ПАРС. Графика "ЭЛИАРС"

Компания «ЭЛИАРС» прислушалась к просьбам и в течение нескольких месяцев разработала специализированную систему радиоэлектронной борьбы с рабочим названием «Зонт». К началу весны система была готова к первым испытаниям. В апреле опытный образец успешно прошёл новые испытания в зоне боевых действий, после чего началось его использование в войсках.

За прошедшие месяцы разработчики и военные, которые использовали систему «Зонт», накопили большой опыт её применения. Система получила положительные отзывы, и компания «ЭЛИАРС» приняла решение запустить её серийное производство и начать поставки новых изделий в войска.

По понятным причинам, подробности текущего процесса производства не разглашаются. Неизвестно, когда началась сборка новых систем, как скоро готовые устройства поступят в армию, какими темпами идёт производство и так далее. Кроме того, компания-разработчик пока не демонстрировала новую систему и её применение.

Возимая защита


В рамках проекта «Зонт» была создана система радиоэлектронной борьбы. Она предназначена для противодействия мультикоптерам, которые могут нести боеприпасы.

Изделие можно устанавливать на различные машины или стационарные объекты. Система относится к защите «купольного типа». Она создаёт полусферическую зону вокруг позиции, в которой исключается несанкционированная деятельность беспилотных летательных аппаратов (БПЛА).


Российский FPV-беспилотник и его оператор. Фото Минобороны РФ

Согласно опубликованным материалам, система «Зонт» создана по модульному принципу. Она состоит из нескольких излучателей (на представленных схемах показана комбинация из трёх таких устройств), а также средств управления и электропитания.

Система с тремя излучателями имеет диаметр около 960 мм и высоту 460 мм. Общий вес системы составляет 20 кг.

Излучатель представляет собой блок на наклонном основании с большим радиопрозрачным кожухом, внутри которого находится передающая антенна. Устройство работает на частотах от 0,4 до 5,8 ГГц, что позволяет подавлять сигналы всех популярных моделей беспилотников, используемых для разведки или нанесения ударов. Заявленный радиус подавления составляет 500 метров.

Система «Зонт» создаёт помехи в каналах связи беспилотной системы. Это приводит к тому, что оператор не получает изображение с камеры беспилотного летательного аппарата (БПЛА) и телеметрию, а команды не могут быть отправлены в обратном направлении. В результате полноценное использование беспилотника становится невозможным.

В ходе недавних испытаний система «Зонт» подтвердила свои расчётные характеристики и возможности. Ни один из использованных БПЛА не смог нанести условный удар по защищаемому объекту.

Благодаря своим небольшим размерам и весу, система «Зонт» может быть установлена как на бронемашинах, так и на автомобильной технике. Для её работы используется электропитание от носителя, при этом особые требования к источнику питания отсутствуют.

Под куполом


На сегодняшний день в нашей стране создано множество специальных систем радиоэлектронной борьбы (РЭБ) для противодействия беспилотным летательным аппаратам (БПЛА). Эти системы отличаются по принципу работы и характеристикам.

В частности, разрабатываются изделия ненаправленного действия, которые создают над защищаемым объектом «купол» из помех. К таким системам относится, например, «Зонт» от компании «ЭЛИАРС».


FPV-коптер в процессе наведения на цель. Фото Telegram / "БОБР"

«Купольные» системы радиоэлектронной борьбы (РЭБ) имеют свои особенности, которые при правильном использовании могут дать положительный результат. Главное преимущество таких систем заключается в том, что они создают помехи во всех направлениях одновременно. Благодаря этому беспилотные летательные аппараты (БПЛА) противника не могут приблизиться ни к системе, ни к её носителю, ни к защищаемым объектам. При этом защита от воздушных целей не требует дополнительных усилий — достаточно просто включить систему РЭБ.

В этом отношении «купольные» системы, такие как «Зонт», более удобны, чем многочисленные «противодроновые ружья». Последние требуют наблюдения за воздушной обстановкой и точного целеуказания, а их применение нуждается в достаточно точной наводке. В то же время «Зонт» и аналогичные системы не являются ручными и нуждаются в носителе, например, в виде какой-либо машины.

Сообщается, что «Зонт» подавляет каналы двусторонней связи между БПЛА и оператором, из-за чего эффективное применение беспилотника становится невозможным. Судя по опубликованной информации, новая система РЭБ не влияет на радиосигналы спутниковой навигации. Однако в случае с лёгкими коптерами-бомбардировщиками или камикадзе это и не требуется — их можно сделать бесполезными, просто подав сигналы связи.

Стоит отметить, что ненаправленные системы РЭБ, похожие на новый «Зонт», производятся несколькими отечественными организациями и уже давно применяются в зоне боевых действий. Ими оснащаются различные типы бронетехники и стационарные объекты, такие как военные расположения. Кроме того, изделия размещаются на специальном транспорте, работающем в опасных приграничных районах.


Танк Т-80БВМ с набором дополнительной защиты. На лобовой части башни установлены излучатели "купольной" системы РЭБ типа "Волнорез" - аналог "Зонта". Фото "Ростех"

Все эти изделия отлично зарекомендовали себя в различных условиях и помогают снизить риски. Они значительно уменьшают количество повреждений техники, что позволяет сохранить материальные ресурсы и личный состав, а также способствует успешному выполнению основных задач.

Однако стоит учитывать, что широкое использование противником FPV-дронов и других беспилотных летательных аппаратов (БПЛА) во многом связано с нехваткой других видов вооружений. В такой ситуации системы радиоэлектронной борьбы (РЭБ), установленные на технике и объектах, приобретают особую важность. Они не только защищают, но и планомерно нейтрализуют ударный потенциал противника.

Перспективное направление


Спецоперация по защите Донбасса показала, что беспилотные летательные аппараты (БПЛА) разных классов обладают большим потенциалом. Она также продемонстрировала необходимость создания эффективных средств защиты от них.

В результате появились различные системы радиоэлектронной борьбы (РЭБ), предназначенные для борьбы с БПЛА. Эти системы могут быть как ручными, так и устанавливаться на носители. Процесс разработки таких систем стал непрерывным, и промышленность регулярно представляет новые образцы.

Одним из представителей этого класса является система «Зонт». Разработка этой системы началась в начале года, а к настоящему времени она была доведена до серийного производства. Ожидается, что вскоре она будет полноценно внедрена в войска. Опытный образец «Зонта» хорошо проявил себя на испытаниях, и можно надеяться, что серийные изделия будут не менее успешными.
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +3
    10 июля 2024 05:37
    Есть несколько вопросов к этому "Зонту"
    1. Противник, какими либо другими средствами, может обнаружить работу "Зонта" и определить место источника постановки помех, для последующего нанесения удара обычным боеприпасом по этому месту?
    2. "Зонту", как я понимаю, нужен нехилый источник питания, на АКБ долго не протянешь, а электростанция является демаскирующих признаком, как решается этот вопрос?
    3. "Зонт" производит излучение, как это сказываетсЯ на здоровье обороняющихся?
    1. +8
      10 июля 2024 06:09
      1) обнаруживается как и любой источник сигнала. а РЭБ палится вообще самыми первыми. и с этим ничего не поделать, физикас ....
      2) там не киловаты мощности так что и аккумов может хватить (в зависимости от времени работы )
      3) плохо влияет , поэтому пока что самодельные костюмы из той же фольги делают (но это для ранцевых РЭБов которые будут даже послабее чем излучатели для техники), но это для пехоты, для экипажа техники почти не фонит ибо через металл экранирует
  2. +1
    10 июля 2024 11:05
    Не пора ли уже упорядочить и организовать процесс. Системы РЭБ против БПЛА производят десятки фирм и кустарей - одиночек, разные по конструкции и ТТХ. Большое производство и конвеер - всегда будут лучше, чем сборка на коленке, в кустарной мастерской.
    1. +4
      10 июля 2024 16:15
      Насколько я понимаю, на конвеере делаются определенные изделия, но они в войсках нафиг никому не нужны.
      Но за них уже везде и все занесено, поэтому они и будут делаться.
      А чтобы поставить в оборонзаказ что-то новое, нужно огромные откаты занести по всей цепочке.
      Увы, таких денег у полукустарных фирм нет. request
      Все просто.
      И это касается всего: и FPV , и снайперских винтовок, и РЭБ, и тепловизоров, и аптечек (тут можно огромный список продолжать)
      Откаты.
      Все МО прогнило и стухло. И эта чистка, которая была, она ничего не даст. Потому что цепочка никогда не кончается где-то посередине.
      То что наши парни там как-то сражаются, даже атакуют (герои-однозначно!), это не благодаря МО, это - вопреки.
      1. +2
        10 июля 2024 17:20
        Вот это и плохо, вот это и нужно менять.
    2. 0
      10 июля 2024 20:52
      Цитата: ТермиНахТер
      Большое производство и конвеер - всегда будут лучше, чем сборка на коленке, в кустарной мастерской.

      Спорно в данном случае. Большое производство это одинаковые параметры, к примеру частоты. А это легко обходится производителями дронов просто сменой управляющих частот.
      1. 0
        10 июля 2024 22:36
        Если будет обратная связь с фронтом, то производство можно оперативно перестраивать. Уход на 100 МГц вниз - не требует коренной перестройки производства. На любом мало - мальски приличном заводе есть пусть и небольшое КБ.
        1. 0
          12 июля 2024 03:50
          Так они же на не одной частоте, а прыгают по ним. В этом и проблема, почему сейчас наши РЭБ неэффективны против военных FPV-дронов(раньше просто гражданские дроны адаптировали). Вот если посмотреть как работает видеосигнал, то очевидно что он зашифрован и к тому же с перескоками.
          1. 0
            12 июля 2024 08:34
            Переход вниз или в верх - это добавление или замена одного модуля (передатчика). Можно сделать их быстросменными и чтобы в комплекте поставки шли необходимые частоты от 450 МГц до 1 ГГц.
  3. 0
    11 июля 2024 11:20
    Источник излучения первая и самая легкая цель для уничтожения. Напрягает что етот "Зонт" будет стоят на защищаемих машин.
    Другое дело если етот "Зонт" въижигает електронику или елементи систем самонаведения.
    1. 0
      12 июля 2024 08:38
      "Зонт" и должен стоять на защищаемой технике и не "подпускать" к ней дроны для удара. А выжигать электронику будешь ты с помощью костра и какой-то матери.