Military Review

How did you plan a nuclear explosion on the moon

2
The outbreak of the Cold War and the arms race contributed to the rapid development of rocketry in the USSR. If at the beginning of 50, we still continued to launch the P-1 rocket, essentially an improved version of the V-2, then already on October 4, a powerful multi-stage rocket launched the world's first artificial Earth satellite. For American scientists and politicians, this event was an unpleasant surprise. And the successful launch of a 1957 kilogram satellite spoke a lot to military specialists.

A sensitive blow was struck to the myth of the unconditional scientific, technical, and military superiority of the United States. And when only one month later our second satellite went into orbit, weighing about 0,5 tons, and even having dog Laika on board, and behind him, at the beginning of 1958, the third weighing 1327 kilograms, the Americans began to develop a plan for "reciprocal motion."



An American nuclear physicist Leonard Raifel, who lives in Chicago, in an interview with a local newspaper in May 2000, said that at the height of the Cold War, the US Air Force commanded the American scientists to prepare and conduct a nuclear explosion on the surface of the moon. Raifel was involved in the development of such a project.

The main purpose of the explosion, he said, would be the device of a grand spectacle at a time when the Soviet Union overtook America in the competition for space exploration.

“In the work on the project,” said Raifel, “we did not reach the stage of selecting a particular type of explosive device and launch vehicle, however, we determined what visual effect such an explosion would have. People could see a bright flash, especially well marked, if an explosion occurred on a new moon, when the side of the moon facing the earth, not illuminated by the sun. Perhaps there would also be visible clouds of dust and fragments of lunar rocks raised by an explosion over the moon.

The project, which scientists worked on from the end of 1958 to the middle of 1959, was highly classified, had the code name “A 119” and was called “Development of research flights to the Moon”. The project included the Air Force Special Weapons Center.

One of the objectives of the project was to determine the possible scientific results in a nuclear explosion on the moon. However, any alleged discoveries, in the opinion of Raifel, "could not compensate for the losses that humanity would have incurred from radioactive contamination of the moon after the explosion."
Originator:
http://www.folmen.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://www.folmen.ru
2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Watch
    Watch 20 January 2012 18: 48
    0
    Mad proud
  2. kvs45
    kvs45 4 May 2015 12: 35
    0
    such figures should be planted in advance on a chain

Как планировали ядерный взрыв на Луне

Начавшаяся холодная война и гонка вооружений способствовали быстрому развитию ракетостроения в СССР. Если в начале 50-х годов у нас еще продолжался выпуск ракеты «Р-1», по существу, усовершенствованного варианта «Фау-2», то уже 4 октября 1957 года мощная многоступенчатая ракета вывела на орбиту первый в мире искусственный спутник Земли. Для американских ученых и политиков это событие явилось неприятной неожиданностью. Да и военным специалистам успешный запуск спутника весом 84 килограмма говорил о многом.

Был нанесен чувствительный удар по мифу о безоговорочном научном, техническом и военном превосходстве США. А когда всего через месяц на орбиту ушел второй наш спутник, весящий около 0,5 тонны, да еще и с собакой Лайкой на борту, а за ним, в начале 1958 года, — третий весом 1327 килограммов, американцы начали разрабатывать план «ответного хода».

Как планировали ядерный взрыв на Луне



Американский физик-ядерщик Леонард Райффель, живущий в Чикаго, в интервью корреспонденту одной из местных газет в мае 2000 года рассказал, что в разгар холодной войны командование ВВС США обра тилось к американским ученым с просьбой подготовить и осуществить на поверхности Луны ядерный взрыв. Райффель принимал участие в разработке такого проекта.

Главной целью взрыва, по его словам, было бы устройство грандиозного зрелища в то время, когда Советский Союз обгонял Америку в соперничестве за освоение космоса.

— В работе над проектом, — рассказывал Райффель, — мы не дошли до стадии выбора конкретного типа взрывного устройства и ракеты-носителя, однако определили, какой визуальный эффект имел бы такой взрыв. Люди могли бы увидеть яркую вспышку, особенно хорошо заметную, если бы взрыв произошел в новолуние, когда к Земле обращена сторона Луны, не освещенная Солнцем. Возможно, были бы видны также тучи пыли и обломков лунных пород, поднятые взрывом над Луной.

Проект, над которым ученые работали с конца 1958 до середины 1959 года, был строго засекречен, имел кодовое обозначение «А 119» и назывался «Разработка исследовательских полетов на Луну». В качестве заказчика проекта фигурировал Центр специальных вооружений ВВС.

Одна из задач проекта заключалась в определении возможных научных результатов при осуществлении ядерного взрыва на Луне. Однако любые предполагаемые открытия, по мнению Райффеля, «не могли компенсировать те потери, которые понесло бы человечество от радиоактивного загрязнения Луны после взрыва».
Первоисточник: http://www.folmen.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://www.folmen.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. Дозор 20 января 2012 18:48
    Безумные гордецы
    Дозор
  2. kvs45 4 мая 2015 12:35
    подобных деятелей надо заблаговременно на цепь сажать
    kvs45

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня