Military Review

Russia is developing a nuclear engine for spacecraft

4
The Federal Space Agency (Roskosmos) on Tuesday announced that it plans to begin work on creating standardized modules of atomic power plants for spacecraft next year.

RSC Energia Director Vitaly Lopota said that the first start-up of reactors with power from 150 to 500 kW could be carried out in 2020.

Earlier, the head of Roskosmos, Anatoly Perminov, said that the development of megawatt-class nuclear power systems for manned spacecraft is crucial for maintaining Russia's competitiveness in the space industry, including studies of the Moon and Mars. The project will require about 17 billion rubles. In addition, the corporation is working on the concept of an atomic space tug, which can more than halve the cost of launching cargo into orbit.

A nuclear reactor used as an energy source for an ion engine can bring astronautics to a whole new level. The principle of operation of the engine is to ionize the gas and accelerate it by an electrostatic field to high speeds exceeding 210 km / s, which is much more than that of classical chemical rocket engines (3 — 4,5 km / s). Currently, ion engines are widely used on spacecraft. However, these are mostly low-powered, low-powered power plants, since the ion engine requires a lot of electricity, measured in hundreds of kilowatt-hours.

Also, a nuclear reactor can heat up to several thousand degrees of hydrogen and produce a large jet thrust, without the need to use an oxidizer.

In any form, a cosmic nuclear reactor will be able to provide the spacecraft with the necessary energy, a burden, and provide a quick flight to the most remote corners of the solar system, where there is not enough sunlight to use solar batteries.
Originator:
http://rnd.cnews.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://rnd.cnews.ru
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. den34rus
    den34rus 17 November 2011 20: 03
    0
    will wait
  2. CARTRIDGE
    CARTRIDGE 17 November 2011 20: 30
    0
    It’s understandable for rockets, they radiate there in space, but it’s already passed aviation ...
  3. Sarus
    Sarus 9 January 2012 12: 32
    0
    Finally we started thinking. Recently, the Russian Federation has been very actively returning to the "Soviet fields of science." Remained current with the Caucasus and drug addiction to solve. Well, kindergartens.
  4. Honory
    Honory 19 August 2012 17: 52
    0
    I would like to see it. I hope I will hold out.

Россия разрабатывает ядерный двигатель для космических кораблей

Россия разрабатывает ядерный двигатель для космических кораблей
Федеральное космическое агентство (Роскосмос) во вторник объявило, что в следующем году планирует начать работу по созданию стандартизированных модулей атомных силовых установок для космических аппаратов.

Директор РКК "Энергия" Виталий Лопота сказал, что первые запуски реакторов мощностью от 150 до 500 кВт можно будет осуществить в 2020 году.

Ранее глава Роскосмоса Анатолий Перминов заявил, что разработка ядерных энергосистем мегаваттного класса для пилотируемых космических кораблей имеет решающее значение для сохранения конкурентоспособности России в космической отрасли, в том числе исследованиях Луны и Марса. На реализацию проекта потребуется около 17 млрд руб. Кроме того, корпорация работает над концепцией атомного космического буксира, который может более чем в два раза сократить количество расходов на выведение грузов на орбиту.


Ядерный реактор, используемый в качестве источника энергии для ионного двигателя, способен вывести космонавтику на качественно новый уровень. Принцип работы двигателя заключается в ионизации газа и его разгоне электростатическим полем до высоких скоростей, превышающих 210 км/с, что намного больше, чем у классических химических ракетных двигателей (3—4,5 км/с). В настоящее время ионные двигатели довольно широко используются на космических аппаратах. Однако это в основном маломощные силовые установки со слабой тягой, поскольку ионный двигатель требует очень много электроэнергии, измеряемой в сотнях киловатт-часов.

Также ядерный реактор может разогревать водород до нескольких тысяч градусов и давать большую реактивную тягу, при этом без необходимости использования окислителя.

В любом виде космический ядерный реактор сможет обеспечить космические аппараты необходимой энергией, тягой и обеспечит быстрый перелет в самые удаленные уголки Солнечной системы, где слишком мало солнечного света для использования солнечных батарей.
Первоисточник: http://rnd.cnews.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://rnd.cnews.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. den34rus 17 ноября 2011 20:03
    будем ждать
    den34rus
  2. ПАТРОН 17 ноября 2011 20:30
    Для ракет понятно,излучайте они там в космосе,но авиацию то вроде уже проходили...
    ПАТРОН
  3. Sarus 9 января 2012 12:32
    Наконец то задумались. В последнее время РФ очень активно возвращается в "советские области науки". Осталась тока с Кавказом и наркоманией решить. Ну и детсадами.
    Sarus
  4. Gonoriy 19 августа 2012 17:52
    Хотелось бы это увидеть.Надеюсь дотяну.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня