How to ease an unbearable burden

The concluding summit in Lisbon, its results, the adoption of a new NATO strategy in the Portuguese capital, and the prospects for Russia and the North Atlantic Alliance to create a joint missile defense pushed the message from the front of the war in Afghanistan into second place. Although very significant events take place there that can affect the situation not only in Central Asia, but also far beyond its borders.

Legitimate target


The Afghan campaign of the West, launched on 7 on October 2001 by the US military, is lost - Afghanistan, in full accordance with Rudyard Kipling, remains a “white man’s burden”. The American army, according to presidential directives of Barack Obama, is to be withdrawn from this country in 2011. Representatives of the Pentagon, commenting on the situation, call other dates, most often - 2014 year. It is assumed that only then the Afghan army and police will be able to independently ensure the law and order in the country. But Afghan President Hamid Karzai claims: Afghan security forces will need direct support from Western troops for at least 10 – 15 years.



The Afghan Army (ANA) currently has 113 thousands of people. In 2011, its strength is expected to bring to the 171,6 thousands of soldiers and officers. The police personnel (ANP) will increase from 120,5 thousand to 134 thousand people at the same time. However, the fighting capacity of the Afghan military and police, judging by the feedback from their instructors, is less than any criticism: switching to the Taliban, desertion from weapons, the commission of crimes and participation in the drug trade are massive. Although local security forces are being trained from 2002, in the first half of 2010, only 10 headquarters, 26 army battalions and several special forces could plan and carry out operations to the battalion level (readiness level of CM1) without external support. 37 units managed to work effectively only together with coalition forces (СМ2), and 25 were unable to participate in such operations and were trained (CM3).

The campaign in Afghanistan revealed the inability of NATO to win the war against an adversary using partisan-sabotage tactics. Today, it can be stated that in addition to the Americans, only British, Canadians and Australian special forces took a real part in the hostilities in Afghanistan. Most contingents of other members of the international coalition of ISAF (about 150 thousands of military personnel and 100 thousands of private security guards from 46 countries) played a demonstrative and representative role. For example, unlike the United States, whose presence in Afghanistan was originally a “crusade against terrorism”, the Bundeswehr, as the official Berlin declares, performs a “humanitarian mission” here, engaging not in combat operations, but in police training, construction of roads and schools. True, for the Taliban and al-Qaeda militants who fight with them (mainly Arabs, Chechens, Uzbeks, Tatars and Uighurs), all ISAF servicemen are unfaithful, occupying Muslims on the land and, therefore, a legitimate target.

Military-political PR

The large-scale Islamist offensive against major Afghan cities, including Kandahar and Kabul, should be expected no earlier than 2011. However, now the only provinces completely free from the presence of the Taliban and kaidists are the Tajik Panjshir and Badakhshan controlled by the Northern Alliance, occupying no more than 10% of the territory of Afghanistan. Recent statements by Vice President Joe Biden, Commander of the US Corps in Afghanistan, General David Petraeus, and CIA Director Leon Panetta, on the defeat of Al-Qaida seem unjustified. The latter expands activities in the historic Khorasan, which includes Afghanistan, Pakistan, Uzbekistan and Iran. In addition to the 55 th "Arab" brigade, its most active unit in this region - led by Abdullah Said "Lashkar al-Zil" ("Army of the Shadow") operates on the Afghan-Pakistan border, where there are more than 160 training camps and "Black Guard" bases ”Al-Qaeda’s senior bodyguard trainee. The organization united the Taliban and kaidists by setting up “field practice” for the militants from Lashkar e-Toiba, Tehrike Taliban Pakistan, Hezbe Islami Gulbuddin Hekmatyyar (clan of the Harot tribe of the Gilzai tribe) and Haqqani (clan Zadran) in the ISAF control zone ).

Preparing to leave the country, the US military, saving manpower, minimizes the very possibility of clashes with the Taliban. The operations advertised in the media as victories in the provinces of Helmand and Kandahar demonstrated that the military actions in Afghanistan had replaced "military-political PR." This tactic includes the preliminary publication of information about the direction and ultimate goal of the “strike” (which allows the militants to disperse), slow progress towards it (in the way of the Americans and the ANA, a small number of the most fanatical extremists remain) and the triumphant “under the camera” of this or that city (while maintaining the surrounding area under the control of the Taliban).

However, even if we forget about the extremely significant losses of the Afghan army, the coalition troops also suffer damage - primarily in the "mine war". It significantly exceeds the officially announced figures due to the "work" of statisticians who do not take into account a number of categories as "combat losses". A special topic is the increase in the number of suicide cases, mainly among those who have gone through at least one “mission to the war”.

The specificity of this stage is the build-up before the withdrawal of the military contingent of the coalition and its reinforcement with armored vehicles. In addition to 30, thousands of soldiers (out of the 40 thousands requested by General Stanley McChrystal, who retired on June 23 of June of this year after a scandalous interview with harsh criticism of the highest political leadership of the country) with heavy 68-ton tanks М1ХXUMUM Аbrams (earlier tan used only Danes and Canadians). The remaining members of the coalition from NATO countries pledged to increase the number of ISAF by seven thousand people, including the German contingent on 1. Not supposing to participate in hostilities, the Bundeswehr refused to use Leopard 850 tanks in favor of the Swiss Eagle IV and German Marder 2A1 tanks with enhanced mine protection (a special agreement on their transit was concluded with Russia). German units deployed in Afghanistan are reinforced by American TOW anti-tank missiles and Dutch Mobat self-propelled howitzers, whose task is to deter attackers at long range, as well as Israeli Heron 5 UAVs. The Taliban, in response, began to massively apply the easy-to-make and effective IED trap with remote control, piercing armor from a distance of 1 meters.



The passive actions of the coalition, which, as Moshtarak (February-March, Helmand) and Chief Chef (March-April, northern provinces) antiterrorist operations have shown, to real military superiority, destruction or ousting of the enemy and control over the territory, actually provided victory of the Taliban and kaidists. The consequences of this victory in the long run (not only in Afghanistan or Central Asia, but also in the entire Middle East) are much worse than the fall of one or another European government or a drop in the rating of the American president. Some - large-scale terrorist attacks in Europe and the United States, the intensification of Islamist organizations around the world, the intensification of terrorist activity in the Russian North Caucasus and the post-Soviet republics bordering Afghanistan, the explosive growth of drug trafficking from this country, the world's largest producer of opiates, are easily predictable. Others - in particular, the intensification of opposition between Shiite and Sunni radicalism with the support of "their own" from Iran and Saudi Arabia - are not so obvious, but no less destructive.

It seems doubtful that a victory over the Taliban could have been achieved by other methods than those used and used by the Taliban themselves. However, the destruction or expulsion from their homes of all those supporting them on the basis of a code of tribal solidarity of the population - a significant part of the Afghan Pashtuns, including the Ghilzais, to which the Taliban leader Mullah Omar belongs, did not even have a chance to discuss. This is evidenced by a sharp public reaction to the publication on WikiLeaks 91 713 of classified materials on Afghanistan, which provided the public with an opportunity to get acquainted with what actually happened and is happening on its territory. The question of the extent to which the rules of war adopted in the modern world are applicable to an adversary who is not constrained by the rules and supported by civilians remains unanswered.


The balance of power

Note that a comparison of the current situation with the war in Afghanistan, which led in the 80-ies of the USSR, rather in favor of Moscow. Soviet troops really fought, and did not demonstrate willingness to fight, economic assistance consisted in the construction of real objects and the road network, and not in wasting funds allocated (more than 80% of which does not reach Afghanistan), and control over the territory was more effective than that of the ISAF . In the current situation, the confrontation between the military (Pentagon) and civilian (State Department) wings of the American administration, copied by the subordinates of Secretary of Defense Robert Gates and Secretary of State Hillary Clinton "on the ground", played a cruel joke with the US, neutralizing pragmatists to please theorists trying to introduce Western democracy in Afghanistan a type as unacceptable to the local population as socialism.

The Taliban control four-fifths of the country’s territory. The attacks and rocket attacks are carried out by them in all areas formally subject to the Karzai government, including Kabul. The fighters, thanks to the passivity of coalition troops who don’t even try to destroy mountain trails, move freely across the Afghan-Pakistan borders with the support of the Pashtun tribes of the North-West Frontier Province (NWFP) and the Federal Tribal Areas (FATA) Territory. The only really working tool to combat them, used by the ISAF, is drones. The use of UAVs for attacking objects in Afghanistan and Pakistan reduced civilian casualties, but caused a sharply negative reaction from Islamabad, including political leadership and the military. As a result, as the anti-Western sentiments increase in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the transport corridor, through which the main supply of coalition forces goes through the IRP, is under growing threat. The destruction of fuel and other cargo convoys for Pakistan in Pakistan’s practice of 2010 was a “soft response” by the Pakistani army command to Washington’s pressure on its demands to “strengthen the fight against terrorism in Pakistani territory” and “insultingly small” financial and economic assistance Islamabad.

Campaign in Afghanistan revealed the inability of NATO to win the war against the enemy, using partisan-sabotage tactics


Pakistan is worried about the strengthening of the position of the traditional regional rival of the PRI - India in Afghanistan. Delhi’s active participation in restoring the Afghan economy, transit trade and police training creates the danger of the appearance of an Indian bridgehead on Pakistan’s north-western border. The United States, despite the protests of Islamabad, welcomes Afghan-Indian cooperation (as opposed to Afghan-Iranian). President Karzai, in order to ensure his own political and physical survival after the departure of the main coalition forces, is trying to establish strong ties with everyone who wishes to. Even with “moderate” Taliban. The latter, however, ignored the Kabul peace jirga, in which 2 – 4 of June this year received 1600, who were ready to work with government delegates. But Pakistan's Inter-Agency Intelligence (ISI), in spite of the United States, is lobbying for the integration of representatives of the Taliban Quetta Shura and the Haqqani Network into the Afghan power system.

The London (28 of January) and Kabul (20 of July) conferences on Afghanistan that have passed this year have given Hamid Karzai the authority necessary to organize a dialogue (which critics consider to be capitulation to the Taliban), including the Peace and Reintegration Program in Afghanistan. Whether he can use these powers is a question. After all, national reconciliation in Afghanistan is complicated not only by the confrontation of the Pashtuns with the Tajiks and other minorities, but also by a split within the Pashtun tribes themselves: among the Taliban, the sleeve is dominated, and Hamid Karzai is the durrani from the clan popolzay. The situation for the Afghan president is complicated by the problem of refugees - the natural personnel reserve of the opposition. More than 940 of thousands of Afghans who left their homeland are registered in Iran in September (their total number in Iran, according to experts, exceeds 1,5 million people). In Pakistan, the number of migrants from Afghanistan is approaching 4 millions. At the same time, more than 2003 million people returned from Iran to Afghanistan from 1,8, and more than 2002 million from Pakistan (from 3,5).

Karzai is balancing between Pakistan, who (represented by the leadership of special services, incumbent President Ali Asef Zardari and his main rival Nawaz Sharif) at the origins of the Taliban movement and still maintaining relations with it (along with assurances of allied relations with the United States), and India , which the Taliban never recognized as the ruling regime. The contacts of the Afghan president with Tehran are less durable. Iran is not interested in the return of the Taliban to power and the strengthening of al-Qaeda hostile to Shiites. In addition to the cultural expansion in the zone of its historical influence (Herat), Tehran supports Shiite-Hazaras in Afghanistan, leads (like Russia) actively combating drug trafficking and (together with the PRI) Baluch separatism. Another major regional player - China is primarily interested in developing the natural resources of Afghanistan (having received a 30-year concession for copper mining in the Ainak Valley), monitoring drug trafficking and eliminating Uygur separatists.

The government of Afghanistan is unprofessional and corrupt, most of the governors and high-ranking officials receive the main income from the production of drugs. Hamid Karzai’s brother, the governor of Kandahar Province, Ahmad Wali Karzai, is openly accused of this. The legitimacy of the parliament and the president is questionable, and the support of the population is minimal. Already in the presidential elections in 2009, the 1,1 fraud of a million ballots for President Karzai was revealed. Following the parliamentary elections, 2010, during which around 2,5 thousands of candidates fought for 249 deputy seats in the People’s Chamber (Wolesi Jirga) - the lower house of the Afghan parliament, had to annul more than a quarter of the vote. The US attempt to introduce the principles of modern democracy in Afghanistan failed.

On the threshold of the withdrawal of coalition forces from Afghanistan and the cessation of cash flows, Hamid Karzai, despite the precariousness of his position, and perhaps precisely for this reason, demonstratively exacting to patrons and donors. At the NATO summit in Lisbon, he fought with Barack Obama, accusing 1,5 of thousands of employees of the American Embassy in Kabul that they act as an independent power structure, demanding that the nightly raids of NATO units be canceled in search of the Taliban and that foreign specialists be controlled by his government. “Putting in place” of US President Karzai failed, but he has already achieved the redistribution of donor aid in his favor. If in London it was announced that 2011 had allocated billion dollars to Afghanistan before 10,5, 30% of which was made available to the country's leadership, then in Kabul Karzai insisted that his government receive 50% of 11 billion dollars allocated to the national economy development strategy ". Note that at the Paris 2008 Conference of the Year, the Afghan government asked donors for more than 50 billions of dollars, of which 29,8 billion was “for road rehabilitation and construction, agriculture, education and health care.” Meanwhile, 40 of the billions of dollars that 2002 – 2009 had received at the disposal of Karzai and his associates from international financial institutions simply disappeared.

Moscow interests

Russia minimized losses in this area, writing off Kabul 11,2 a billion dollars of debt on unpaid military loans of the USSR and clearing calculations, and also transferring 20 thousands of machine guns and more than 2 million cartridges to the Afghan Interior Ministry. It should be noted that the complication of the position of NATO in Afghanistan has significantly advanced the cooperation of Brussels with Moscow, which is interested in ensuring the long-term stay of the alliance troops in the IRA. The growing importance of Russia for the transit of goods to Afghanistan as the difficulties on the Pakistani route worsened and the constructive interaction with the Russian Federation in the post-Soviet republics of Central Asia explains the positive changes in the leadership position of the United States and NATO as a whole with regard to the participation of the Russian Federation in a collective missile defense system, and in the long run, perhaps and in the collective security system of Europe.

The agreement to intensify the joint struggle of Russia and NATO against Afghan drug trafficking is another direction that throughout the entire period of the “war on international terrorism” was ignored by the coalition forces. Deliveries of opiates (and cannabis) to the world market are the main source of funding not only for the corrupt authorities of Afghanistan, but also for terrorist organizations operating on its territory. However, over the years, Moscow’s calls to halt the development of the Afghan drug business have been ignored by Washington and Brussels. Evidence that the situation has changed was a special operation conducted in Afghanistan at the end of October with the participation of the relevant departments of the Russian Federation and the United States, during which morphine and three heroin laboratories were eliminated, more than 900 kilograms of heroin and over 150 kilograms of opiates were destroyed.

In the end, whatever role Russia has played in cooperation with the Central Asian republics, the United States, NATO or individual countries that are members of the alliance to stabilize the situation in Afghanistan is entirely in line with the national interests of our country. Moreover, the Russian troops in Afghanistan will not be sent under any circumstances, as stated by the country's leadership. And this is the main point.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Как облегчить непосильное бремя

Завершившаяся встреча в верхах в Лиссабоне, ее итоги, принятие в португальской столице новой стратегии НАТО, перспективы создания Россией и Североатлантическим альянсом совместной противоракетной обороны фактически оттеснили на второй план сообщения с фронта войны в Афганистане. Хотя там происходят весьма знаменательные события, способные повлиять на обстановку не только в Центральной Азии, но и далеко за ее пределами.

Легитимная мишень

Афганская кампания Запада, начатая 7 октября 2001 года вооруженными силами США, проиграна – Афганистан в полном соответствии с Редьярдом Киплингом остается «бременем белого человека». Американская армия согласно директивам президента Барака Обамы должна быть выведена из этой страны в 2011 году. Представители Пентагона, комментируя ситуацию, называют другие даты, чаще всего – 2014 год. Предполагается, что лишь тогда афганская армия и полиция окажутся способными самостоятельно обеспечивать в стране «закон и порядок». Но президент Афганистана Хамид Карзай утверждает: афганские силовые структуры будут нуждаться в прямой поддержке западных войск на протяжении минимум 10–15 лет.


Как облегчить непосильное бремя


Афганская армия (ANA) в настоящее время насчитывает 113 тысяч человек. В 2011 году ее численность предполагается довести до 171,6 тысячи солдат и офицеров. Личный состав полиции (ANP) в те же сроки увеличится со 120,5 тысячи до 134 тысяч человек. Однако боеспособность афганских военных и полицейских, судя по отзывам их инструкторов, ниже всякой критики: переход на сторону талибов, дезертирство с оружием, совершение преступлений и участие в торговле наркотиками носят массовый характер. Хотя подготовка местных силовых структур ведется с 2002 года, в первой половине 2010-го только 10 штабов, 26 армейских батальонов и несколько спецподразделений могли без поддержки извне планировать и выполнять операции до батальонного уровня (степень готовности СМ1). 37 подразделениям удавалось эффективно действовать только совместно с коалиционными войсками (СМ2), а 25 были неспособны принимать участие в таких операциях и проходили соответствующее обучение (CM3).

Кампания в Афганистане выявила неспособность НАТО одержать победу в войне с противником, применяющим партизанско-диверсионную тактику. Сегодня можно констатировать, что помимо американцев реальное участие в боевых действиях в Афганистане приняли лишь англичане, канадцы и австралийский спецназ. Большинство контингентов прочих членов международной коалиции ISAF (около 150 тысяч военнослужащих и 100 тысяч частных охранников из 46 стран) играли демонстративно-представительскую роль. К примеру, в отличие от США, присутствие которых в Афганистане изначально было «крестовым походом против терроризма», бундесвер, как заявляет официальный Берлин, выполняет здесь «гуманитарную миссию», занимаясь не боевыми операциями, а подготовкой полиции, строительством дорог и школ. Правда, для талибов и сражающихся вместе с ними боевиков «Аль-Каиды» (преимущественно арабов, чеченцев, узбеков, татар и уйгуров) все военнослужащие ISAF – неверные, оккупанты на земле мусульман и, следовательно, легитимная мишень.

Военно-политический пиар

Масштабного наступления исламистов на крупные афганские города, включая Кандагар и Кабул, следует ждать не ранее 2011 года. Впрочем, ныне единственными провинциями, полностью свободными от присутствия талибов и каидистов, являются контролируемые Северным альянсом таджикские Панджшер и Бадахшан, занимающие не более 10% территории Афганистана. Недавние заявления вице-президента США Джо Байдена, командующего американским корпусом в Афганистане генерала Дэвида Петреуса и директора ЦРУ Леона Панетты о разгроме «Аль-Каиды» представляются неоправданными. Последняя расширяет деятельность в историческом «Хорасане», включающем Афганистан, Пакистан, Узбекистан и Иран. Помимо 55-й «арабской» бригады, ее наиболее активное подразделение в этом регионе – возглавляемая Абдаллой Саидом «Лашкар аз-Зил» («Армия тени») действует на афгано-пакистанской границе, где существует более 160 учебных лагерей и баз «Черной гвардии», тренирующей телохранителей высшего руководства «Аль-Каиды». Организация объединила талибов и каидистов, наладив в зоне контроля ISAF «полевую практику» для боевиков из «Лашкар е-Тойба», «Техрике талибан Пакистан», «Хезбе Ислами» Гульбеддина Хекматияра (клан хароти племени гильзаи) и «Хаккани» (клан задран).

Готовясь к уходу из страны, американские военные, сберегая живую силу, минимизируют саму возможность столкновений с талибами. Разрекламированные в СМИ в качестве побед операции в провинциях Гильменд и Кандагар продемонстрировали, что военные действия в Афганистане сменил «военно-политический пиар». Тактика эта включает предварительную публикацию сведений о направлении и конечной цели «удара» (что дает возможность боевикам рассредоточиться), медленное продвижение к ней (на пути американцев и ANA остается небольшое число наиболее фанатичных экстремистов) и триумфальное занятие «под камеру» того или другого города (при сохранении окружающей территории под контролем талибов).

Вместе с тем, даже если забыть о чрезвычайно значительных потерях афганской армии, войска коалиции также несут урон – в первую очередь в «минной войне». Он значительно превышает объявляемые официально цифры за счет «работы» статистиков, которые не учитывают ряд категорий в качестве «боевых потерь». Особая тема – рост числа случаев суицида, в основном среди тех, кто прошел как минимум одну «командировку на войну».

Спецификой настоящего этапа являются наращивание перед выводом воинского контингента коалиции и усиление его бронетехникой. Корпус США в Афганистане пополнен в текущем году помимо 30 тысяч солдат (из 40 тысяч, запрошенных генералом Стэнли Маккристаллом, ушедшим 23 июня сего года в отставку после скандального интервью с жесткой критикой высшего политического руководства страны) тяжелыми 68-тонными танками М1А1 Аbrams (ранее танки использовали только датчане и канадцы). Остальные члены коалиции из стран НАТО обязались увеличить численность ISAF на семь тысяч человек, в том числе немецкий контингент на 850. Не предполагая участвовать в боевых действиях, бундесвер отказался от применения танков Leopard 2 в пользу швейцарских БМП Eagle IV и немецких Marder 1A5 с усиленной противоминной защитой (специальное соглашение об их транзите было заключено с Россией). Германские подразделения, дислоцированные в Афганистане, усилены американскими противотанковыми ракетами TOW и голландскими самоходными гаубицами Mobat, задача которых – сдерживать атакующих на дальней дистанции, а также израильскими БПЛА Heron 1. Талибы в ответ начали массово применять легкую в изготовлении и эффективную мину-ловушку IED с дистанционным управлением, пробивающую броню с расстояния 100 метров.

Как облегчить непосильное бремя


Пассивные действия коалиции, не стремящейся, как показали антитеррористические операции «Моштарак» (февраль-март, Гильменд) и «Шефаф» (март-апрель, северные провинции), к реальному военному превосходству, уничтожению или вытеснению противника и контролю над территорией, фактически обеспечили победу талибам и каидистам. Последствия этой победы в долгосрочной перспективе (не только в Афганистане или Центральной Азии, но и на всем Ближнем и Среднем Востоке) куда хуже, чем падение того или иного европейского правительства или снижение рейтинга американского президента. Одни – масштабные теракты в Европе и Соединенных Штатах, активизация исламистских организаций по всему миру, усиление террористической активности на российском Северном Кавказе и в приграничных с Афганистаном постсоветских республиках, взрывной рост наркотрафика из этой страны, являющейся крупнейшим в мире производителем опиатов, – легко предсказуемы. Другие – в частности усиление противостояния шиитского и суннитского радикализма при поддержке «своих» со стороны Ирана и Саудовской Аравии – не столь очевидны, но не менее разрушительны.

Представляется сомнительным, что победа над талибами могла быть достигнута иными методами, чем те, которые применяли и применяют сами талибы. Однако уничтожение или изгнание из мест проживания всего поддерживающего их на основании кодекса племенной солидарности населения – значительной части афганских пуштунов, включая гильзаев, к которым относится лидер движения «Талибан» мулла Омар, даже не имели шансов на обсуждение. Об этом свидетельствует резкая реакция общественности на публикацию на сайте WikiLeaks 91 713 секретных материалов по Афганистану, предоставивших публике возможность ознакомиться с тем, что на самом деле происходило и происходит на его территории. Вопрос, в какой мере принятые в современном мире правила ведения войны применимы в отношении противника, который правилами не скован и поддерживается гражданским населением, остается без ответа.

Расклад сил

Отметим, что сравнение текущей ситуации с войной в Афганистане, которую вел в 80-х годах СССР, скорее в пользу Москвы. Советские войска действительно воевали, а не демонстрировали готовность сражаться, экономическая помощь заключалась в строительстве реальных объектов и дорожной сети, а не в растрате выделенных средств (более 80% которых не доходит до Афганистана), а контроль над территорией был более эффективным, чем у ISAF. В текущей ситуации противостояние военного (Пентагон) и гражданского (Госдеп) крыльев американской администрации, копируемое подчиненными министра обороны Роберта Гейтса и госсекретаря Хиллари Клинтон «на местах», сыграло с США злую шутку, нейтрализовав прагматиков в угоду теоретикам, пытающимся внедрить в Афганистане демократию западного типа, столь же малоприемлемую для местного населения, как социализм.

Талибы контролируют четыре пятых территории страны. Теракты и ракетные обстрелы осуществляются ими во всех районах, формально подвластных правительству Карзая, включая Кабул. Боевики благодаря пассивности войск коалиции, даже не пытающихся разрушить горные тропы, свободно перемещаются через афгано-пакистанские рубежи при поддержке пуштунских племен Северо-Западной Пограничной провинции (СЗПП) и Территории племен федерального управления (FATA). Единственный реально действующий инструмент борьбы с ними, применяемый ISAF, – беспилотники. Использование БПЛА для нанесения ударов по объектам в Афганистане и Пакистане снизило потери среди мирного населения, однако вызвало резко отрицательную реакцию Исламабада, причем и политического руководства, и военных. Как следствие по мере нарастания в Исламской Республике Пакистан антизападных настроений транспортный коридор, по которому через ИРП идет основное снабжение коалиционных войск, находится под растущей угрозой. Ставшее в 2010 году практикой уничтожение на территории Пакистана конвоев с топливом и другими грузами для Афганистана – «мягкий ответ» командования пакистанской армии на давление Вашингтона, на его требования «усилить борьбу с терроризмом на пакистанской территории» и «оскорбительно малую» финансово-экономическую помощь Исламабаду.

Кампания в Афганистане выявила неспособность НАТО одержать победу в войне с противником, применяющим партизанско-диверсионную тактику


Пакистан беспокоит усиление в Афганистане позиций традиционного регионального соперника ИРП – Индии. Активное участие Дели в восстановлении афганской экономики, транзитной торговле и подготовке полицейских создает опасность появления индийского плацдарма на северо-западной границе Пакистана. США, невзирая на протесты Исламабада, приветствуют афгано-индийское сотрудничество (в отличие от афгано-иранского). Президент же Карзай, чтобы обеспечить собственное политическое и физическое выживание после ухода основных сил коалиции, пытается установить прочные связи со всеми, кто этого пожелает. Даже с «умеренными» талибами. Последние, однако, проигнорировали кабульскую «Джиргу мира», участие в которой 2–4 июня сего года приняли 1600 готовых работать вместе с правительством делегатов. Но Межведомственная разведка Пакистана (ISI) вопреки США лоббирует интеграцию в афганскую систему власти лояльных Исламабаду представителей талибской «Кветтской шуры» и «Сети Хаккани».

Прошедшие в текущем году Лондонская (28 января) и Кабульская (20 июля) конференции по Афганистану предоставили Хамиду Карзаю полномочия, необходимые для организации диалога (который критики считают капитуляцией перед талибами), включая «Программу мира и реинтеграции в Афганистане». Сможет ли он эти полномочия использовать – вопрос. Ведь национальное примирение в Афганистане осложнено не только противостоянием пуштунов с таджиками и другими нацменьшинствами, но и расколом внутри самих пуштунских племен: среди талибов преобладают гильзаи, а Хамид Карзай – дуррани из клана попользай. Ситуацию для афганского президента осложняет проблема беженцев – естественного кадрового резерва оппозиции. На территории Ирана на сентябрь зарегистрированы более 940 тысяч афганцев, покинувших родину (их общая численность в ИРИ, по оценкам экспертов, превышает 1,5 миллиона человек). В Пакистане число перебравшихся сюда из Афганистана приближается к 4 миллионам. При этом из Ирана в Афганистан с 2003 года вернулись более 1,8 миллиона человек, а из Пакистана (с 2002-го) – свыше 3,5 миллиона.

Карзай балансирует между Пакистаном, стоявшим (в лице руководства спецслужб, действующего президента Али Асефа Зардари и его основного соперника Наваза Шарифа) у истоков создания движения «Талибан» и доныне поддерживающим с ним отношения (наряду с заверениями в союзнических отношениях с США), и Индией, которая талибов в качестве правящего режима никогда не признавала. Контакты афганского президента с Тегераном менее прочны. Иран не заинтересован в возвращении «Талибана» к власти и усилении враждебной шиитам «Аль-Каиды». Помимо культурной экспансии в зоне своего исторического влияния (Герат) Тегеран поддерживает в Афганистане шиитов-хазарейцев, ведет (как и Россия) активную борьбу с наркотрафиком и (вместе с ИРП) белуджским сепаратизмом. Еще один крупный региональный игрок – Китай заинтересован в первую очередь в разработке природных ресурсов Афганистана (получив 30-летнюю концессию на добычу меди в Айнакской долине), мониторинге наркотрафика и ликвидации уйгурских сепаратистов.

Правительство Афганистана непрофессионально и коррумпированно, большая часть губернаторов и чиновников высшего ранга получают основной доход от производства наркотиков. В этом открыто обвиняется брат Хамида Карзая – губернатор провинции Кандагар Ахмад Вали Карзай. Легитимность парламента и президента сомнительна, а поддержка со стороны населения минимальна. Уже на выборах главы государства в 2009 году была выявлена фальсификация 1,1 миллиона бюллетеней, поданных за президента Карзая. По итогам парламентских выборов 2010-го, в ходе которых около 2,5 тысячи кандидатов боролись за 249 депутатских мест в Народной палате (Волеси джирга) – нижней палате афганского парламента, пришлось аннулировать более четверти голосов. Попытка США внедрить в Афганистане принципы современной демократии провалилась.

В преддверии ухода из Афганистана коалиционных войск и прекращения денежных потоков Хамид Карзай, несмотря на шаткость своего положения, а возможно, именно по этой причине демонстративно требователен к патронам и донорам. На саммите НАТО в Лиссабоне он пререкался с Бараком Обамой, обвиняя 1,5 тысячи работников американского посольства в Кабуле в том, что они действуют как независимая властная структура, требуя отменить ночные рейды частей НАТО в поисках талибов и передать иностранных специалистов под контроль его правительства. «Поставить на место» президента США Карзаю не удалось, но перераспределения донорской помощи в свою пользу он уже добился. Если в Лондоне было объявлено о выделении Афганистану до 2011 года 10,5 миллиарда долларов, 30% из которых отчислялось в распоряжение руководства страны, то в Кабуле Карзай настоял, чтобы его правительство получило 50% из 11 миллиардов долларов, ассигнуемых «на реализацию стратегии развития национальной экономики». Отметим, что на Парижской конференции 2008 года афганское правительство просило у доноров более 50 миллиардов долларов, из них 29,8 миллиарда – «на восстановление и строительство дорог, сельское хозяйство, образование и здравоохранение». Между тем 40 миллиардов долларов, поступивших в 2002–2009 годах в распоряжение Карзая и его сподвижников от международных финансовых институтов, просто исчезли.

Интересы Москвы

Россия минимизировала потери в этой сфере, списав Кабулу 11,2 миллиарда долларов долга по неоплаченным военным кредитам СССР и клиринговым расчетам, а также передав афганскому МВД 20 тысяч автоматов и более 2 миллионов патронов. Следует отметить, что осложнение положения НАТО в Афганистане значительно продвинуло сотрудничество Брюсселя с Москвой, заинтересованной в обеспечении долгосрочного пребывания в ИРА войск альянса. Усиление значения России для транзита грузов в Афганистан по мере усугубления трудностей на пакистанском маршруте и конструктивное взаимодействие с РФ в постсоветских республиках Центральной Азии объясняют позитивные сдвиги в позиции руководства США и НАТО в целом в отношении участия Российской Федерации в коллективной ПРО, а в перспективе, возможно, и в системе коллективной безопасности Европы.

Договоренность об активизации совместной борьбы России и НАТО с афганским наркотрафиком – еще одно направление, которое на протяжении всего периода «войны с международным терроризмом» игнорировалось войсками коалиции. Поставки на мировой рынок опиатов (а также каннабиса) – главный источник финансирования не только коррумпированных властей Афганистана, но и действующих на его территории террористических организаций. Однако на протяжении ряда лет призывы Москвы пресечь развитие афганского наркобизнеса игнорировались Вашингтоном и Брюсселем. Свидетельством того, что ситуация изменилась, стала проведенная в Афганистане в конце октября при участии соответствующих ведомств РФ и США спецоперация, в ходе которой были ликвидированы морфиновая и три героиновые лаборатории, уничтожено более 900 килограммов героина и свыше 150 килограммов опиатов.

В конечном счете какую бы роль ни довелось сыграть России в сотрудничестве с центрально-азиатскими республиками, США, НАТО или отдельными странами, входящими в альянс, по стабилизации ситуации в Афганистане – это полностью в русле национальных интересов нашей страны. Тем более что российские войска в Афганистан не будут направлены ни при каких условиях, о чем заявило руководство страны. И это – главное.
Автор: Евгений Сатановский, президент Института Ближнего Востока
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://vpk-news.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня