Military Review

Shot in the air

7
The word "catapult" is associated by the majority either with an ancient throwing weapon, or with a system of emergency rescue of military pilots. At the same time, another ingenious invention remains in the shadows - a takeoff catapult, a device that accelerates the aircraft when it is unable to take off.


At the end of the twentieth century, the aircraft pushed the ship's artillery and became a universal tool of the Navy. Modern steam catapult accelerates 35-ton aircraft to 250 km / h in 2,5 with a plot in 100 m. With the help of four catapults, radio-electronic equipment and well-trained aircraft carrier specialists in the daytime can launch two and take one plane every 37 seconds. But if the catapults cease to work, this hundred-thousand-meter ship becomes a complete military impotent.



First steps

With the need to accelerate the aircraft so that it could take off, the creators of the first vehicles were already heavier than air. In the 1894 year, 10 years before the flight of the Wright brothers, Alexander Bell (the inventor of the telephone) and Samuel Langley (at that time, the scientific secretary of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington) observed the launch of a model with a steam engine on the bank of the Potomac River. Langley gave the command, the aircraft "Airfield number 4" accelerated and ... flopped into the river.

After that, Langley formulated the problem, which to this day faces aviation Engineers: “An airplane, like a bird, needs a certain speed in order for it to start using its flying mechanism. Difficulties with a set of initial speed turned out to be significant, and in ordinary field conditions generally exceeded all expectations. " The device that Langley invented can be called the great-grandfather of all air catapults: the plane was fixed on a trolley that rolled along two wooden rails about 25 m long. The trolley was accelerated using a cable attached to a coil spring removed from the tram and passed through the chain hoist system . When the trolley reached the edge of the runway, the lock was opened, and the trolley moved further by inertia.

In 1903, the Great Airfield, the 300-kilogram “bird with steel ridge and gasoline engine,” waited for its launch from a catapult mounted on a small barge owned by Samuel Langley. The rope was cut down, the springs pulled the plane. Volunteer pilot Matthew Manley, assistant Langley, later recalled: “The car quickly, like lightning, picked up speed 35 km / h. When the plane reached the end of the upper stage, I felt an unexpected blow, followed by an indescribable feeling of free flight. But I did not have time to enjoy this joy, having understood that the car was flying down at a sharp angle ... The blow of the wings against the water was so powerful that I did not immediately come to my senses. Fortunately, I did not drown. ” The lock of the catapult that held the plane and was supposed to release it at the moment of the end of the acceleration did not work. The "airfield" could not gain altitude and, like a load on a rope, flew into the river.

One of the pioneers of aviation - a competitor of the Wright brothers - Professor Samuel Langley. It was he who tried to build the first catapult to launch aircraft


First success

Two months later, Langley made another attempt. Alas, this time the "Great Airfield" did not even get to the end of the acceleration site. The design flaws of the aircraft itself were to blame. Time did not give Langley a third chance - he ran out of money (he spent $ 50 000 on a catapult!), And just nine days after this accident, the Wright brothers made their first successful flight, speeding up a $ 2 4 wood bar using the engine and ... strong wind. The Wright brothers quickly realized that without a wind their plane could not take off. Therefore, they had to create the first working aviation catapult. The energy source was an 500-kg load lifted to the height of 5 m. A finger-thick cable went from the load to the tackle at the base of the supporting tripod, and then along the guide rail to the aircraft. When the load fell, the chain hoist increased the trip length by three times to the required 15 meters. This invention was another proof that all ingenious is simple.

The catapult operated so successfully that the Wright brothers were convinced that all future aircraft will be heavier than air and take off with the help of a catapult. But over time, the aircraft engines became more and more perfect and more powerful, and European pilots mastered the unattended takeoff on pneumatic tires. Soon, the Wright brothers switched to inflatable wheels. However, the catapults not only did not disappear, but bloomed in bloom where planes did not have enough room for dispersal. The main scope of their activities was the deck aircraft.

Shot in the air
And although his attempts did not end in success, his achievements became the basis for modern catapults.


Navy experiments

In 1912, Orville Wright wrote a letter to the command of the newly created US Naval Aviation. The newly minted sea pilots had little idea what to do with the aircraft received. As a temporary measure, Wright proposed building a deck on warships that would serve as a runway. However, everyone understood that this “ceiling” in combat conditions would become an obstacle to guns. The ideal solution would be a special large ship with a full-size runway (which was then called a "floating airfield"), but it was obvious that the number of such ships would be limited. For small ships, Wright suggested a "launch system using a catapult."

Sailors created a catapult based on a pneumatic torpedo trigger. Something, and even compressed air on large warships was enough. In the same year, 1912, the first attempt was made to take an ejection from the Santi warship. Unfortunately, the military poorly studied the experience of Langley. The Curtiss A-1 flying boat was located on the trolley so that the nose was free. During acceleration, the nose rose, the plane sharply reared and ... collapsed into the water. After this incident, the aircraft’s nose was fixed and the air supply was adjusted with a special valve. Just four months later, the military carried out the first ejection start from a stationary barge, and in November 1915, the plane took off with the help of a catapult already from a moving ship.

In the 1916 year, the 30-meter catapults were installed on three American cruisers (North Carolina, Huntington and Seattle). The catapults occupied 20% of the upper deck area and covered half of the guns. In the year 1917, when America entered World War I, they were removed. Then the advantage of catapults and deck aircraft was still not obvious.



From pneumatics to hydraulics

At the start of the 1920's, it became obvious that without air protection, warships would become very vulnerable. Shipboard catapults got into big politics. The US Navy received an improved catapult, which they promised to quickly put on all warships. Experimental catapult length 24 m, installed on the ship "Maryland", could accelerate the aircraft mass 1,6 t to 75 km / h. Within a few years, 3,4 tons of aircraft began to be dispersed to 100 km / h at a distance of 17 meters. By the middle of the 1920's, the US Navy regularly used catapults on ships of various types. Launcher positioned on a turntable, which did not interfere with the guns and allowed to launch aircraft against the wind. At first, pneumatic, and later, gunpowder gas generator starting installations, serviced airplanes weighing up to 3,5 t. This was enough for a limited range and little armament of reconnaissance aircraft. The concept of catapult launches fighters gone into the shadows, the main priority was the creation of large aircraft carriers, providing take-off aircraft without a catapult.

On the first (experimental) aircraft carrier Langley, which entered service in the 1922 year, pneumatic catapults were installed, but in the 1928, after three years of inactivity, they were dismantled. In 1925, two serial aircraft carriers, the Lexington and Saratoga, were launched. Due to the fact that their speed reached the 30 nodes, the entire 120 m was enough for the aircraft to take off. The rest of the 270-meter deck was used for parking and pre-flight preparation of the aircraft. Both aircraft carriers were equipped with flywheels catapults. The electric motors spun the six-ton ​​flywheel, which, using a conical friction mechanism, transferred the stored energy to the booster. The installation could accelerate an 4,5-ton aircraft to 90 km / h, but its main problem was the jamming of a rapidly rotating wheel. The Lexington and Saratoga catapults were rarely used, and soon they were also dismantled. Starting from a large floating airfield for planes of that time did not pose any particular problems, and the question of what happens when planes become heavier and faster doesn’t bother anyone.

In September, the United States Navy 1931 began to develop a new generation launcher, completely located below deck, so as not to interfere with the takeoff and landing. First, the device worked on compressed air, then gunpowder gas generators were tested, and in 1934, they decided to use hydraulics. Five years after that, the first aircraft launches from the new Yorktown and Enterprise ships proved the success of this concept. First time in stories deck aircraft could taxi to the starting position and start on their own wheels.

Unfortunately, these achievements were of no interest to anyone, because the sailors continued to exaggerate the old idea of ​​creating even more high-speed and even larger aircraft carriers that would do without catapults.

Floating airport. The aircraft carrier Constellation, commissioned in 1961 and taking part in the Vietnam War, was a formidable force. Up to 2003 of the year


Back to couple

During World War II, almost all ground-based fighters operating in the Pacific Ocean, were installed nodes for the ejection start. The development of catapults was one of the most important events of wartime in the conduct of naval operations. Immediately after the end of the war, when the first jets appeared, which did not differ in good take-off and landing characteristics, hydrocapults became indispensable elements even on the largest aircraft carriers. Carts, ropes and tackles Langley were present in this design. The weight of the aircraft increased, and the requirements for catapults increased, their power, size and complexity increased. They could already accelerate 6-ton aircraft to 200 km / h, and 28-ton - to 115 km / h. The equipment worked at full load, which sooner or later inevitably should have led to trouble. In 1954, a hydrocapult explosion occurred aboard the Benington ship, killing 103 people and injuring 201. Hydro-catapults have reached their limit, but the aircraft have already outgrown it: the 37-tonne Douglas A-3 Skywarrior, first launched by the Benington catapult a year before the tragedy, exceeded the capabilities of any hydrocapult existing in nature.

In 1950, Englishman Colin Mitchell developed a new starter design that used the good old steam. The first American ships on which steam catapults were installed were aircraft carriers of the Abraham Lincoln class (four on each, with a total mass of 2000 tons, the destroyer of the Second World War weighed so much). Steam catapults are used now - it is these that stand on the most modern aircraft carriers.

The control station for catapults is actually at deck level, provides all-round visibility and is protected by bulletproof glass


Electric future

Writer Sherman Baldwin in the book about the naval pilots who participated in the operation “Desert Storm” described the night start in the following way: “My head was pressed against the head rest of the chair. The devices became unsharp, the eyes went to the eye sockets, the plane shook violently until it finally broke out into the pitch black of the night. ”

At the very beginning of the start, the pilot experiences an overload in 6 g, and then it quickly decreases to 3 – 4 g. Since the deck aircraft must withstand heavy loads at launch, it must have an additional margin of safety, which increases the weight of the structure and degrades the flight characteristics. The human body is sensitive to acceleration, so the pilots have to select and prepare for a special program. Smooth, without jumps, acceleration has a positive effect not only on the health of the pilot, but also on the life expectancy of the aircraft.

To resolve this issue, the US Navy is developing an electromagnetic aircraft launcher, in which the aircraft instead of steam pistons will be accelerated by a linear induction engine (LEAD). This principle is applied on monorail roads, as well as in some high-speed magnetically levitating trains, which can reach speeds up to 400 km / h. The main difficulty is how to get enough energy. The new American aircraft carrier, which must get off the stocks in 2014 – 2015, will need 100 million joules for just one launch. This energy is enough, for example, to throw a car over a distance of 15 km. The new “purely electric” aircraft carrier CVN-21, whose power is three times greater than that of any Nimitz-class aircraft carrier, simply cannot generate this amount of energy. However, it can be saved: electric generators will supply energy to special drives for each of the catapults. Upon command, the electric power will go to the LEAD, in the process of acceleration, the winding segments behind the aircraft will be disconnected, and ahead of the aircraft - to be connected. This will help save energy, and most importantly - more precisely control overclocking. At the end of the acceleration, the cart will not be stopped by a hydraulic brake, as in the steam system, but by electric forces.

The electromagnetic plant has a performance of 29% more than a steam one, and it is able to accelerate an 45-ton aircraft to a speed of 250 km / h. It is assumed that a softer launch mode will increase the aircraft's life by 30%. The novelty will make more departures with a smaller number of technical staff. All this sounds attractive, but it is still unknown how this system will work in real conditions at sea. Will the screens reliably protect people working near the catapult? How will the electronic equipment of the ship and aircraft respond to such powerful electrical installations? LEADs are much less studied than steam engines, so a full-sized ground-based electromagnetic catapult is currently being built at a naval base in Lake Jersey, New Jersey (the world capital of the ejection case).

But despite the extensive experience in the construction of aircraft carriers, the United States is not a "monopolist" in the field of catapults.

At deck level, view of the catapult



Author:
Originator:
http://www.popmech.ru
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. stasimar
    stasimar 30 March 2013 10: 52
    -5
    A fragile and vulnerable thing. IMHO
    1. Vashestambid
      Vashestambid 30 March 2013 18: 33
      +2
      Russian officials on this catapult should be planted))) wassat
  2. Foamas
    Foamas 30 March 2013 11: 10
    +5
    Article - judging by the last paragraph Electric futurequite ancient
    Quote: Author
    now under construction full-sized ground electromagnetic catapult.


    EMALS installation was built long ago, back in 2009
    And by 2011, a total of 722 launch of various types of aircraft, during the EMALS tests the catapult was brought to maximum power, which allowed it to accelerate the F / A-18E fighter to a speed of 333 kilometers per hour at the end point
    1. Hemi cuda
      Hemi cuda 30 March 2013 13: 03
      +1
      Interesting rail)

      “To date, a total of 38 aircraft launches have been carried out using EMALS.
      In particular, the F / A-14 Super Hornet carrier-based fighter made 18 flights. On June 1, 2011, the T-45C Goshawk trainer joined the test program, making 12 sorties, and from June 8, the C-2A Greyhound carrier-based military transport aircraft. According to the US Navy, the problems identified during the first tests of EMALS have been fixed, and the software that is responsible for the operation of the catapult is being finalized and optimized. "

      "During the tests, the interaction of the aircraft onboard systems with the catapult control systems and the effect of launch overloads on the F-35 structure were tested. The fighter was successfully launched. The electromagnetic catapult has been tested in the United States since the end of 2010. To date, the device has made 50 launches of various aircraft, including trainers T-45 Goshawk, E-2D Advanced Hawkeye, C-2A Greyhound and F / A-18 Super Hornet. Experts are currently refining and optimizing the software responsible for the operation of the catapult. "


      The Britons ordered such a thing.
  3. knn54
    knn54 30 March 2013 19: 29
    +3
    When the aircraft starts, steam is etched throughout the movement of the piston of the catapult (90 m). In frost, this vapor leads to the formation of ice, which can lead to jamming of the piston and, consequently, to disaster. Among the advantages of an electromagnetic catapult over a steam one are smaller sizes, smaller overloads experienced by the pilot, and the possibility of launching larger aircraft.
    By the way, the catapult “devours” a huge amount of steam. And it produces steam GEM. According to unverified data from Nimitz, during the operation of its four catapults it is not able to move at a speed above 20 knots.
    With electromagnetic catapults, in terms of gluttony, the situation is worse. Therefore, there is no alternative to a nuclear reactor.
    PS Because it was planned to commission the Ulyanovsk TAVKRs with catapults, for NITKI they also created a training steam catapult for takeoffs - in the photo.
  4. Boa kaa
    Boa kaa 31 March 2013 14: 55
    +3
    Commander in Chief of the Navy Chirkov V.V. announced the requirements for the new Russian aircraft carrier: displacement of the order of 60 thousand tons, to 60 aircraft, the classic scheme of their launch electromagnetic catapult, it seems they will be 3. Those assignment issued, design organizations reviewing previous projects, in relation to the latest fleet requirements. It's a matter of LEADs and shipbuilders, you can even draw a starship on paper. We need new technologies with which we are not yet rich.
  5. xtur
    xtur 31 March 2013 22: 36
    0
    The article is about the fact that the catapult spends 100 million joules for take-off, and the article says that the plane accelerates on a catapult in about 2-3 seconds.
    that means the power needed for using the catapult is less than 50 million watts, which is about several times less than the power of a ship’s nuclear reactor
  6. Andrey58
    Andrey58 April 2 2013 21: 23
    0
    In the light of recent articles about aircraft carriers, I thought, why the heck do we need aircraft carriers at all? From the point of view of combat use. And isn't it easier to build two 60000 ton UDC type "Wasp" instead of one 30000 ton aircraft carrier, which will operate in conjunction with the Eagles and URO frigates?
    Enemy defense points are destroyed by strikes from URO ships and strategic aircraft. What remains is achieved by naval artillery and attack helicopters from the UDC. Then the landing party.

Выстрел в воздух

Слово «катапульта» ассоциируется у большинства либо с древним метательным орудием, либо с системой экстренного спасения военных летчиков. При этом в тени остается другое гениальное изобретение – взлетная катапульта, устройство, которое разгоняет самолет, когда он сам взлететь не в силах.

В конце ХХ века самолеты потеснили корабельную артиллерию и стали универсальным инструментом ВМС. Современная паровая катапульта разгоняет 35-тонный самолет до 250 км/ч за 2,5 с на участке в 100 м. С помощью четырех катапульт, радиоэлектронного оборудования и хорошо обученных специалистов авианосец в светлое время суток может запускать два и принимать один самолет каждые 37 секунд. Но если катапульты перестанут работать, этот стотысячетонный корабль становится полным военным импотентом.

Выстрел в воздух



Первые шаги

С необходимостью разогнать самолет, чтобы он мог взлететь, столкнулись уже создатели первых аппаратов тяжелее воздуха. В 1894 году, за 10 лет до полета братьев Райт, Александр Белл (изобретатель телефона) и Сэмюэль Лэнгли (в то время ученый секретарь Смитсоновского института в Вашингтоне) наблюдали на берегу реки Потомак запуск модели самолета с паровым двигателем. Лэнгли дал команду, самолет «Аэродром номер 4» разогнался и… плюхнулся в реку.

После этого Лэнгли так сформулировал задачу, которая и по сей день стоит перед авиационными инженерами: «Самолету, как и птице, нужна определенная скорость для того, чтобы он начал использовать свой летательный механизм. Трудности с набором начальной скорости оказались значительными, а в обычных полевых условиях вообще превзошли все ожидания». Устройство, которое придумал Лэнгли, можно назвать прадедушкой всех авиационных катапульт: самолет был зафиксирован на тележке, которая катилась по двум деревянным рельсам длиной около 25 м. Разгонялась тележка с помощью троса, прикрепленного к спиральной пружине, снятой с трамвая, и пропущенного через систему полиспастов. Когда тележка доезжала до края взлетной полосы, замок открывался, и те-лежка двигалась дальше по инерции.

В 1903 году «Великий Аэродром», 300-килограммовая «птица со стальным хребтом и бензиновым двигателем», ждала своего запуска с катапульты, установленной на небольшой барже, принадлежавшей Сэмюэлю Лэнгли. Канат перерубили, пружины потянули самолет. Пилот-доброволец Мэтью Манли, помощник Лэнгли, позднее вспоминал: «Машина быстро, как молния, набрала скорость 35 км/ч. Когда самолет достиг конца разгонного участка, я почувствовал неожиданный удар, за которым наступило неописуемое ощущение свободного полета. Но я не успел насладиться этой радостью, поняв, что машина летит вниз под острым углом… Удар крыльями о воду был таким мощным, что я не сразу пришел в себя. К счастью, я не утонул». Замок катапульты, который удерживал самолет и должен был освободить его в момент окончания разгона, не сработал. «Аэродром» не смог набрать высоту и, подобно грузу на веревке, полетел в реку.

Выстрел в воздух
Один из пионеров авиации – конкурент братьев Райт – профессор Сэмуэль Лэнгли. Именно он пытался построить первую катапульту для запуска самолетов


Первый успех

Уже через два месяца Лэнгли предпринял очередную попытку. Увы, на этот раз «Великий Аэродром» даже не добрался до конца разгонной площадки. Виноваты в этом были конструктивные недостатки самого самолета. Время не дало Лэнгли третьего шанса – у него кончились деньги (на катапульту он потратил $50 000!), и всего через девять дней после этой аварии самолет братьев Райт совершил первый успешный полет, разогнавшись по немудреному деревянному брусу (стоимостью в $4), используя двигатель и… сильный ветер. Братья Райт быстро поняли, что без ветра их самолет взлететь не может. Поэтому им пришлось создать первую работающую авиационную катапульту. Источником энергии был 500-кг груз, поднятый на высоту 5 м. Трос толщиной с палец шел от груза к полиспасту у основания опорной треноги, а потом вдоль направляющего бруса к самолету. При падении груза полиспаст увеличивал длину пробега в три раза до необходимых 15 метров. Это изобретение было очередным доказательством, что все гениальное просто.

Катапульта действовала настолько успешно, что братья Райт были убеждены: все будущие летательные аппараты тяжелее воздуха будут взлетать с помощью катапульты. Но со временем авиационные двигатели становились все совершеннее и мощнее, и европейские пилоты освоили бескатапультный взлет на пневматических шинах. Вскоре и братья Райт перешли на надувные колеса. Однако катапульты не только не исчезли, а расцвели буйным цветом там, где самолетам не хватало места для разгона. Основной сферой их деятельности стала палубная авиация.

Выстрел в воздух
И хотя его попытки не завершились успехом, его наработки стали основой для современных катапульт


Флотские эксперименты

В 1912 году Орвилл Райт написал письмо командованию только что созданной американской морской авиации. Новоиспеченные морские летчики плохо представляли, что нужно делать с полученными самолетами. В качестве временной меры Райт предлагал построить на боевых кораблях настил, который будет выполнять роль взлетно-посадочной полосы. Однако все понимали, что этот «потолок» в боевых условиях станет помехой пушкам. Идеальным решением был бы специальный большой корабль с полноразмерной взлетной полосой (который тогда называли «плавучий аэродром»), но было очевидно, что количество таких кораблей будет ограничено. Для небольших кораблей Райт предложил «систему запуска с использованием катапульты».

Моряки создали катапульту, основанную на пневматическом устройстве запуска торпед. Чего-чего, а уж сжатого воздуха на больших военных кораблях было предостаточно. В том же 1912 году была предпринята первая попытка катапультного взлета с военного корабля «Санти». К сожалению, военные плохо изучили опыт Лэнгли. Летающая лодка Curtiss A-1 располагалась на тележке так, что носовая часть оставалась свободной. При разгоне нос поднялся, самолет резко встал на дыбы и… рухнул в воду. После этого случая нос самолета стали фиксировать, а подачу воздуха регулировать специальным клапаном. Всего через четыре месяца военные осуществили первый катапультный старт со стационарной баржи, а в ноябре 1915 года самолет взлетел с помощью катапульты уже с двигающегося корабля.

В 1916 году 30-метровые катапульты были установлены на трех американских крейсерах («Северная Каролина», «Хантингтон» и «Сиэтл»). Катапульты занимали 20% площади верхней палубы и перекрывали половину пушек. В 1917 году, когда Америка вступила в Первую мировую войну, их убрали. Тогда преимущество катапульт и палубной авиации все еще не было очевидно.

Выстрел в воздух


От пневматики к гидравлике

В начале 1920-х стало очевидно, что без защиты с воздуха военные корабли становятся очень уязвимыми. Корабельные катапульты попали в большую политику. ВМС США получили усовершенствованную катапульту, которую обещали быстро поставить на все боевые корабли. Экспериментальная катапульта длиной 24 м, установленная на корабле «Мэриленд», могла разгонять самолет массой 1,6 т до 75 км/ч. Уже через несколько лет самолет массой 3,4 т стали разгонять до 100 км/ч на расстоянии в 17 м. К середине 1920-х ВМС США регулярно использовали катапульты на кораблях разного типа. Пусковую установку располагали на поворотном столе, который не мешал пушкам и позволял запускать самолеты против ветра. Сначала пневматические, а позднее пороховые газогенераторные стартовые установки обслуживали самолеты массой до 3,5 т. Этого было достаточно для ограниченной дальности и незначительного вооружения самолетов-разведчиков. Концепция катапультных стартов истребителей ушла в тень, основным приоритетом стало создание больших авианосцев, обеспечивающих взлет самолетов без катапульты.

На первом (экспериментальном) авианосце «Лэнгли», вступившем в строй в 1922 году, были установлены пневмокатапульты, но в 1928-м, после трех лет бездействия, их демонтировали. В 1925 году на воду спустили два уже серийных авианосца – «Лексингтон» и «Саратога». Благодаря тому, что скорость их достигала 30 узлов, самолетам для взлета было достаточно всего 120 м. Оставшаяся часть 270-метровой палубы использовалась для парковки и предполетной подготовки самолетов. Оба авианосца были оборудованы катапультами с маховиками. Электродвигатели раскручивали шеститонный маховик, который с помощью конического фрикционного механизма передавал запасенную энергию на разгонную тележку. Установка могла разогнать 4,5-тонный самолет до 90 км/ч, но ее основной проблемой оставалось заклинивание быстро вращающегося колеса. Катапульты на «Лексингтоне» и «Саратоге» редко использовались, и вскоре их тоже демонтировали. Запуск с большого плавучего аэродрома для самолетов того времени не представлял особых проблем, а вопрос, что будет, когда самолеты станут тяжелее и быстрее, мало кого волновал.

В сентябре 1931 года ВМС США стали разрабатывать пусковое устройство нового поколения, полностью расположенное под палубой, чтобы не мешать взлету и посадке. Сначала устройство работало на сжатом воздухе, потом были опробованы пороховые патроны-газогенераторы, а в 1934 году решили использовать гидравлику. Через пять лет после этого первые старты самолетов с новеньких кораблей «Йорктаун» и «Энтерпрайз» доказали успех этой концепции. Впервые в истории палубной авиации самолеты могли выруливать на стартовую позицию и стартовать на своих собственных колесах.

К сожалению, эти достижения мало кого интересовали, потому что моряки продолжали мусолить старую мысль о создании еще более скоростных и еще более крупных авианосцев, которые обойдутся без катапульт.

Выстрел в воздух
Плавучий аэропорт. Авианосец «Констеллэйшн» (Constellation), принятый на вооружение в 1961 году и принимавший участие во Вьетнамской войне, представлял грозную силу. До 2003 года


Назад к пару

Во время Второй мировой войны почти на всех истребителях наземного базирования, действующих на Тихом океане, были установлены узлы для катапультного старта. Развитие катапульт было одним из самых важных событий военного времени в проведении военно-морских операций. Сразу же после окончания войны, когда появились первые реактивные самолеты, не отличавшиеся хорошими взлетно-посадочными характеристиками, гидрокатапульты стали обязательными элементами даже на самых больших авианосцах. Тележки, тросы и полиспасты Лэнгли присутствовали и в этой конструкции. Масса самолетов увеличивалась, возрастали и требования к катапультам, увеличивалась их мощность, размеры и сложность. Они уже могли разгонять 6-тонные самолеты до 200 км/ч, а 28-тонные – до 115 км/ч. Оборудование работало на предельных нагрузках, что рано или поздно неизбежно должно было привести к неприятностям. В 1954 году на борту корабля «Бенингтон» произошел взрыв гидрокатапульты, в результате которого погибли 103 человека и были ранены еще 201. Гидрокатапульты достигли своего предела, но самолеты уже переросли его: 37-тонный Douglas A-3 Skywarrior, впервые запущенный катапультой «Бенингтона» за год до трагедии, превосходил возможности любой гидрокатапульты, существующей в природе.

В 1950 году англичанин Колин Митчелл разработал новую конструкцию пускового устройства, которое использовало старый добрый пар. Первые американские корабли, на которых были установлены паровые катапульты, – это авианосцы класса «Авраам Линкольн» (по четыре на каждом, общей массой 2000 т, столько весил эсминец времен Второй мировой). Паровые катапульты применяются и сейчас – именно такие стоят на самых современных авианосцах.

Выстрел в воздух
Пост управления катапультами находится фактически на уровне палуб, обеспечивает круговой обзор и защищен бронестеклами


Электрическое будущее

Писатель Шерман Болдуин в книге о военно-морских летчиках, участвовавших в операции «Буря в пустыне», так описывал ночной старт: «Голову мою прижало к подголовнику кресла. Приборы стали нерезкими, глаза ушли в глазные впадины, самолет жестоко трясло, пока он наконец не вырвался в смоляную черноту ночи».

В самом начале старта пилот испытывает перегрузку в 6 g, а затем она быстро снижается до 3–4 g. Поскольку палубный самолет должен выдерживать большие нагрузки на старте, он обязан иметь дополнительный запас прочности, что увеличивает массу конструкции и ухудшает летные характеристики. Человеческий организм чувствителен к ускорениям, поэтому пилотов приходится отбирать и готовить по специальной программе. Плавное, без скачков, ускорение положительно сказывается не только на здоровье летчика, но и на продолжительности жизни самолета.

Чтобы решить этот вопрос, ВМС США разрабатывают электромагнитную авиационную пусковую установку, в которой самолет вместо паровых поршней будет разгоняться линейным индукционным двигателем (ЛИД). Этот принцип применяют на монорельсовых дорогах, а также в некоторых скоростных магнитно-левитирующих поездах, развивающих скорость до 400 км/ч. Основная трудность заключается в том, как получить достаточное количество энергии. Новому американскому авианосцу, который должен сойти со стапеля в 2014–2015 годах, потребуется 100 млн. джоулей только для одного пуска. Этой энергии достаточно, например, для того, чтобы метнуть легковой автомобиль на расстояние в 15 км. Новый «чисто электрический» авианосец CVN-21, мощность которого втрое больше, чем у любого авианосца класса «Нимиц», просто не может вырабатывать такое количество энергии. Однако ее можно накопить: электрогенераторы будут поставлять энергию в специальные накопители для каждой из катапульт. По команде электроэнергия поступит к ЛИД, в процессе разгона сегменты обмотки позади самолета будут отключаться, а впереди самолета – подключаться. Это поможет сэкономить энергию, а главное – точнее управлять разгоном. В конце разгона тележку будет останавливать не гидротормоз, как в паровой системе, а электрические силы.

Электромагнитная установка имеет производительность на 29% больше, чем паровая, и она в состоянии разогнать 45-тонный самолет до скорости 250 км/ч. Предполагается, что более мягкий режим запуска позволит увеличить ресурс самолета на 30%. Новинка позволит сделать больше вылетов при меньшем количестве технического персонала. Все это звучит привлекательно, однако еще неизвестно, как эта система будет работать в реальных условиях в море. Смогут ли экраны надежно защитить людей, работающих рядом с катапультой? Как электронное оборудование корабля и самолетов будет реагировать на такие мощные электрические установки? ЛИД изучены гораздо меньше, чем паровые машины, поэтому на военно-морской базе в городе Лейкхерс, штат Нью-Джерси (мировой столице катапультного дела) сейчас строится полноразмерная наземная электромагнитная катапульта.

Но несмотря на большой опыт в строительстве авианосцев, США не являются «монополистом» в области катапульт.

Выстрел в воздух
На уровне палубы, вид катапульты


Выстрел в воздух

Выстрел в воздух
Автор: Валерий Евсеев
Первоисточник: http://www.popmech.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. stasimar 30 марта 2013 10:52
    Хрупкая и уязвимая штука. ИМХО
    1. VashEstambid 30 марта 2013 18:33
      Руских чиновников на эту катапульту посадить надо))) wassat
      VashEstambid
  2. FoMaS 30 марта 2013 11:10
    Статья - судя по последнему абзацу Электрическое будущее, довольно древняя
    цитата: Автор
    сейчас строится полноразмерная наземная электромагнитная катапульта.


    Установка EMALS давно построена, ещё в 2009г
    А к 2011г было произведено в общей сложности 722 запуска авиатехники различных типов, в ходе испытаний EMALS катапульта была выведена на максимальную мощность, что позволило ей разгонять истребитель F/A-18E до скорости в 333 километра в час в конечной точке
    1. Hemi Cuda 30 марта 2013 13:03
      Интересная рельса)

      "К настоящему времени при помощи EMALS было осуществлено в общей сложности 38 запусков самолетов.
      В частности, 14 полетов совершил палубные истребитель F/A-18 Super Hornet. 1 июня 2011 года к программе испытаний присоединился учебно-тренировочный самолет T-45C Goshawk, совершивший 12 вылетов, а с 8 июня - палубный военно-транспортный самолет C-2A Greyhound. По данным ВМС США, неполадки, выявленные в ходе первых испытаний EMALS были устранены, и в настоящее время проводится доработка и оптимизация программного обеспечения, отвечающего за работу катапульты."

      "В ходе испытаний проверялось взаимодействие бортовых систем самолета с системами управления катапультой и воздействие пусковых перегрузок на конструкцию F-35. Запуск истребителя прошел успешно. Испытания электромагнитной катапульты проводятся в США с конца 2010 года. К настоящему времени устройство произвело 50 запусков различных самолетов, включая учебно-тренировочные T-45 Goshawk, E-2D Advanced Hawkeye, C-2A Greyhound и F/A-18 Super Hornet. В настоящее время специалисты проводят доработку и оптимизацию программного обеспечения, отвечающего за работу катапульты."


      Бриты себе заказали такую штуку.
  3. knn54 30 марта 2013 19:29
    При запуске самолета пар травится на всем протяжении движения поршня катапульты (90 м). В мороз этот пар ведет к образованию наледи,что может привести к заклиниванию поршня и, соответственно, к катастрофе. В числе преимуществ электромагнитной катапульты перед паровой и меньшие размеры, и меньшие перегрузки, испытываемые летчиком, и возможность запуска более крупных летательных аппаратов .
    Кстати,катапульта «пожирает» огромное количество пара. А производит пар ГЭУ. По непроверенным данным «Нимиц», во время работы своих четырех катапульт не способен двигаться со скоростью выше 20 уз.
    С электромагнитными катапультами ,в плане прожорливости, ситуация похлеще. Поэтому атомному реактору альтернативы нет.
    P.S Т.к планировался ввод в строй ТАВКРов «Ульяновск» с катапультами, для НИТКИ создали и тренировочную паровую катапульту для взлетов – на фото.
  4. Удав КАА 31 марта 2013 14:55
    Главком ВМФ адм. Чирков В.В. объявил требованиях к новому росийскому авианосцу: водоизмещение порядка 60 тыс. т , до 60 летательных аппаратов, классическая схема их запуска электромагнитной катапультой, кажется их будет 3. Тех задание выдано, проектные организации пересматривают прежние проекты, применительно к последним треованиям флота. Дело за ЛИД и корабелами, тк на бумаге можно нарисовать даже звездолет. Нужны новые технологии с которыми у нас пока не богато.
  5. xtur 31 марта 2013 22:36
    В статье речь идёт о том, что для взлёта самолёта катапульта расходует 100 миллионов джоулей, и в статье же говориться, что самолёт разгоняется на катапульте примерно за 2-3 секунды.
    значит мощность необходимая для использования катапультой меньше 50 миллионов ват, что примерно в несколько раз меньше мощности судового атомного реактора
  6. Andrey58 2 апреля 2013 21:23
    В свете последних статей про авианосцы подумалось, а нахрена нам вообще авианосцы нужны? С точки зрения боевого применения. И не проще ли вместо одного 60000 тонного авианосца построить два 30000 тонных УДК типа "Уосп", которые будут действовать в связке с Орланами и фрегатами УРО?
    Пункты обороны противника уничтожаются ударами кораблей УРО и стратегической авиации. То что осталось добивается корабельной артиллерией и ударными вертолётами с УДК. Затем высаживается десант.
    Andrey58

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня