Military Review

On the 40 anniversary of the first test of a prototype laser weapon in the USSR

1
About 60 years ago, the first quantum generator was born that emitted coherent waves in the microwave range — waves that are not visible to the human eye. Such a quantum generator was named a maser, and Soviet physicists Nikolai Basov and Alexander Prokhorov took the most direct part in its creation, and through 10 years after creating the maser, they received the Nobel Prize.


The next step in the creation of quantum generators was the creation of a laser. The first letter in the word "maser" was replaced by the letter "l", which corresponded to the English version of the term "light." In other words, the laser emitted already visible waves. Today, the use of laser is truly limitless. Lasers for disco, shows and parties - This is the part that can be attributed to the entertainment industry. And there are also laser (optical disks), laser measuring devices, laser scalpels and even laser weapon.

It is believed that the first laser weapon was developed in 60-s, but it is not. Soviet scientists began their development in the military sphere in terms of the use of lasers for anti-space defense back in the 50-s. One of the first Soviet programs, the purpose of which was to create a reliable missile defense system, was launched at the end of 50's. In 60's, she began to take on her form thanks to the very same Nikolai Basov (born in the Tambov region). In 1965, the idea reached the Central Committee of the CPSU. In one of the memos it was reported that a high-power laser beam can strike the head of a ballistic missile at high altitude, thereby leveling the threat of a nuclear strike from a potential enemy.

The Central Committee took into account this possibility, and work on the creation of laser complexes in the USSR was the beginning. It was planned to create a special Balkhash test site where new weapons would be tested. The landfill was created on the territory of the Kazakh SSR. The first experimental events at the Balkhash test site were held exactly 40 years ago - in 1973 year. He planned that the main anti-satellite defense base based on the use of photodissociation lasers would be located here. At the same time, the power of such lasers could not be brought to the values ​​necessary for the destruction of ballistic missiles.

After the collapse of the USSR, work on testing laser weapons in Russia was curtailed due to lack of funds. However, in the West, such work was not only not curtailed, but, on the contrary, developed and was financed on a more substantial scale.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Black Colonel
    Black Colonel 25 March 2013 12: 56 New
    0
    "... they did good things in 14!" (x / f "Vendetta in Corsican")

К 40-летию первого испытания прототипа лазерного оружия в СССР

К 40-летию первого испытания прототипа лазерного оружия в СССРОколо 60 лет назад на свет появился первый квантовый генератор, который излучал когерентные волны в диапазоне микроволн – волн, не видимых человеческим глазом. Такой квантовый генератор был назван мазером, а в его создании самое непосредственное участие приняли советские физики Николай Басов и Александр Прохоров, которые через 10 лет после создания мазера получили Нобелевскую премию.

Следующим этапом создания квантовых генераторов стало создание лазера. Первая буква в слове «мазер» была заменена на букву «л», которая соответствовала английскому варианту термина «свет». Другими словами, лазер излучал уже видимые волны. Сегодня использование лазера поистине безгранично. Лазеры для дискотек, шоу и вечеринок - это та часть, которую можно отнести к индустрии развлечений. А есть еще и лазерные (оптические диски), лазерные измерительные приборы, лазерные скальпели и даже лазерное оружие.

Считается, что первое лазерное оружие стало разрабатываться в 60-е годы, однако это не так. Советские учёные начали свои разработки в военной сфере в плане использования лазеров для противокосмической обороны ещё в 50-х годах. Одной из первых советских программ, назначение которой заключалась в создании надёжной системы ПРО, была начала в конце 50-х. В 60-х годах она начала обретать свою форму благодаря всё тому же Николаю Басову (уроженцу Тамбовской области). В 1965 году идея дошла до ЦК КПСС. В одной из служебных записок сообщалось, что лазерный луч большой мощности может поражать головную часть баллистической ракеты противники на большой высоте, тем самым нивелируя угрозу ядерного удара со стороны потенциального противника.


В ЦК приняли во внимание такую возможность, и работа по созданию лазерных комплексов в СССР была начала. Планировалось создать специальный Балхашский полигон, на котором бы проводились испытания нового оружия. Полигон был создан на территории Казахской ССР. Первые экспериментальные мероприятия на Балхашском полигоне были проведены ровно 40 лет назад – в 1973 году. Планировал, что именно здесь будет размещаться главная база противоспутниковой обороны, основанная на использовании лазеров фотодиссоционного типа. При этом мощность таких лазеров так и не удалось довести до нужных для уничтожения баллистических ракет значений.

После распада СССР работа по испытанию лазерного оружия в России была свёрнута из-за нехватки средств. Однако на Западе такая работа не только не сворачивалась, а, наоборот, развивалась и финансировалась в более существенных масштабах.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1. Чёрный Полковник 25 марта 2013 12:56
    "...хорошие вещи делали в 14-м году!" (х/ф "Вендетта по-корсикански")

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня