Military Review

Mihail Leontievich Mil

6



Mikhail Leontyevich Mil was born on November 22, 1909 in Irkutsk in a family of intellectuals. His father, Leonty Samoilovich, was a railway employee, and his mother, Maria Efimovna, was a dentist. The future designer was interested in childhood aviation, built model airplanes and after graduating from high school in 1926 he entered the Siberian Technological Institute in Tomsk. There he was enthusiastically engaged in a glider circle. However, the Siberian Institute did not train aviation engineers, so two years later Miles transferred to the third year of the mechanical faculty of the Don Polytechnic Institute, where he had aviation specialization. In 1929, he married his classmate P.G. Rudenko, they had five children - four daughters and a son.

While still a student, ML Mil was interested in rotary-wing aircraft and during the summer internship in the summer of 1929, he participated in the construction of the first Soviet autogyro KASKR in the aviation section of the Central Council of Osoaviakhim.

After graduating from the institute in 1931, a young engineer went to work in the Section of Special Structures (JCS) of the Experimental-Aerodynamic Department of TsAGI, where he soon showed himself as a promising specialist, and after a year, in January 1933, when he converted the JUICE into the Department of Special designs led a team of aerodynamic calculations and experimental studies. At the same time, he published his first printed works describing the winged autogyro TsAGI 2-EA and TsAGI A-4, in the design and testing of which he was directly involved. The subsequent publications of Mile were devoted to the problems of aerodynamics and flight dynamics, aeroelasticity and strength of rotary-wing machines. Under the leadership of ML Mil, a general theory of the rotor was created, which is used in the calculation of various cases of flow. By the beginning of the 40's. Mikhail Leontievich became one of the leading domestic specialists in the theory of autogyros and helicopters.

ML Mil continued to be engaged in TsAGI and design work. He took an active part in the design and testing of winged autogyros TsAGI A-6, A-7 and A-8, designed blades and other units. When in the middle of the 30-ies it became apparent the need to move from winged to wingless autogyros with direct control of the rotor hub, Mil conducted extensive theoretical studies of various versions of such gyros and the effect of changes in the basic parameters on their flight properties. The results of his theoretical studies were tested on autogyros - flying laboratories A-8 and A-14 and in 1936-1937. embodied in the TsAGI A-12 record autogyro and the A-15 scout-spotter. created together with N.K. Skrzhinsky and V.A. Kuznetsov.

Simultaneously, Mile began to study the features of a fundamentally new type of autogyro, with the so-called “jumping” take-off. In 1940, he was appointed Deputy Chief Designer at the Screw Aircraft Plant No. XXUMX, which was established near Moscow near Ukhtomskaya Station, where, under the leadership of N.I. Kamov, he participated in the serial production of A-290-AHT gyros and created an experienced AK jumping-autogyro. .

At the beginning of World War II, ML Mil was seconded as an engineer to an experienced squadron of autogyros, spotters A-7-3. took part in the Smolensk defensive battle. The experience of operating rotary-wing vehicles, acquired directly under combat conditions, was useful to the designer in the future when designing helicopters. However, the squadron was soon disbanded, and plant No. 290 was evacuated to the Urals and closed in 1943. Being in evacuation in Bilimbay, Mile was engaged in the improvement of armament of A-7-ZA autogyros.

In 1942, Mil had the idea of ​​creating an anti-tank gun. Mikhail Leontievich independently conducted the development and testing of a rifle that fired rockets.

In 1943, Mr. Mikhail Leontyevich returned to TsAGI. But all the work on the rotary-winged subject at the institute had been curtailed by this time, and Mile continued his research on the stability and controllability of the aircraft, which he had begun before the war, which served as the basis for his Ph.D. thesis. The defense took place in 1943. The innovations developed by him in the design of the Il-2 and Il-4 aircraft control systems have significantly improved the piloting characteristics of these main Soviet aircraft combat vehicles. For his contribution to the development of aviation technology during the war years, ML Mil was awarded the Orders of the Patriotic War of the II degree and the Red Star.

In 1945, ML. Mile successfully defended his doctoral thesis. The rotor dynamics with hinged blades and its application to the problems of stability and controllability of the gyro and helicopter.

M.L. Mil, V.A. Kuznetsov (fourth from left) and N.I. Kamov among the military before sending A-7 to the front


Dealing with the underlying problems of aircraft manufacturing. ML Mil never ceased to be interested in the actual tasks of the development of rotary-wing aircraft. At his insistence in TsAGI in 1947, a heli-gunter laboratory was created, and then a helicopter design bureau was set up, headed by Mikhail Leontievich.

The OKB first moved from TsAGI to Aviation Plant No.82 in Tushino, and several years later, in the fall of 1951, it was transferred to the oldest specialized helicopter plant GSOZ No.3 in Sokolniki in our country on 2 st Rybinskaya Street. Since that time, all the creative activities of ML Mil took place on his territory. Under his direct supervision, the small plant became the world leader in the development of rotary-wing technology. Miles was the permanent leader of this institution, which from 1953 was named State Union Plant (GSOZ) No. 329, and from 1967 the Moscow Helicopter Plant. After the death of ML Mil, the plant received his name.
Author:
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Denis
    Denis April 11 2013 09: 00 New
    +2
    Mi-8 is already a visiting card of the country, like AK
  2. rennim
    rennim April 11 2013 09: 52 New
    +4
    Mikhail Leontievich Miles, according to his colleagues, was always known as an honest and decent man, which always and at any time was worth its weight in gold. MAN With capital letters .. and a wonderful SPECIALIST. He was respected by all even foreign helicopter builders. Even Sikorsky was of the highest opinion of him.
  3. slava7075
    slava7075 April 11 2013 12: 38 New
    +3
    They were Superhumans. What they did at the time was a culmination and a pencil, coupled with tremendous performance, even now competes with computer models. Honor and Glory to them!
  4. Alikovo
    Alikovo April 11 2013 12: 49 New
    +2
    GENIUS HELICOPTER
  5. Kir
    Kir April 11 2013 18: 40 New
    +2
    Yes time was the Titans, that in politics, that in science !!!
    This biography is another reason to doubt that the purges were supposedly of a national color, those who honestly served their homeland and did not participate in affairs received their deserts and ranks and awards.
  6. m.asfa
    m.asfa April 11 2013 21: 46 New
    0
    Don Polytechnic at present South Russian State Technical University (Novocherkassk Polytechnic Institute)

Михаил Леонтьевич Миль

Михаил Леонтьевич Миль


Михаил Леонтьевич Миль родился 22 ноября 1909 г. в Иркутске в семье интеллигентов. Его отец Леонтий Самойлович был железнодорожным служащим, а мать Мария Ефимовна - дантистом. Будущий конструктор с детства интересовался авиацией, строил модели самолетов и по окончании средней школы в 1926 г. поступил в Сибирский технологический институт в Томске. Там он с увлечением занимался в планерном кружке. Однако Сибирский институт не готовил авиационных инженеров, поэтому через два года Миль перевелся на третий курс механического факультета Донского политехнического института, где имелась авиационная специализация. В 1929 г. он женился на своей однокурснице П.Г.Руденко, у них было пятеро детей - четыре дочери и сын.

Еще студентом М.Л.Миль интересовался винтокрылыми летательными аппаратами и во время производственной практики летом 1929 г. участвовал в постройке в авиасекции Центрального Совета Осоавиахима первого советского автожира КАСКР.


По окончании института в 1931 г. молодой инженер поступил на работу в Секцию особых конструкций (СОК) Экспериментально-аэродинамического отдела ЦАГИ, где вскоре проявил себя как перспективный специалист, и уже через год, в январе 1933 г., при преобразовании СОК в Отдел особых конструкций возглавил бригаду аэродинамических расчетов и экспериментальных исследований. В это же время выходят его первые печатные работы с описанием крылатых автожиров ЦАГИ 2-ЭА и ЦАГИ А-4, в проектировании и испытании которых он принимал непосредственное участие. Последующие публикации Миля были посвящены вопросам аэродинамики и динамики полета, аэроупругости и прочности винтокрылых машин. Под руководством М.Л.Миля была создана общая теория несущего винта, применяемая при расчетах различных случаев обтекания. К началу 40-х гг. Михаил Леонтьевич стал одним из ведущих отечественных специалистов по теории автожиров и вертолетов.

М.Л.Миль продолжал заниматься в ЦАГИ и конструкторской работой. Он принял активное участие в проектировании и испытаниях крылатых автожиров ЦАГИ А-6, А-7 и А-8, конструировал лопасти и другие агрегаты. Когда в середине 30-х годов стала очевидной необходимость перехода от крылатых автожиров к бескрылым с непосредственным управлением втулкой ротора, Миль провел большие теоретические исследования различных вариантов таких автожиров и влияния изменения основных параметров на их летные свойства. Результаты его теоретических изысканий были опробованы на автожирах - летающих лабораториях А-8 и А-14 и в 1936-1937 гг. воплощены в рекордном автожире ЦАГИ А-12 и разведчике-корректировщике А-15. созданных совместно с Н.К.Скржинским и В.А.Кузнецовым.

Одновременно Миль приступил к изучению особенностей принципиально нового типа автожиров, с так называемым -прыжковым- взлетом. В 1940 г. он был назначен заместителем главного конструктора на основанном под Москвой около станции Ухтомская заводе винтовых летательных аппаратов №290, где под руководством Н.И.Камова участвовал в серийном производстве автожиров А-7-ЗА и создании опытного -прыгающего- автожира АК.

В начале Великой Отечественной войны М.Л.Миля прикомандировали в качестве инженера к опытной эскадрильи автожиров-корректировщиков А-7-ЗА. принимавшей участие в Смоленском оборонительном сражении. Приобретенный непосредственно в боевых условиях опыт эксплуатации винтокрылых аппаратов пригодился конструктору в дальнейшем при проектировании вертолетов. Однако эскадрилья вскоре была расформирована, а завод №290 -эвакуирован на Урал и в 1943 г. закрыт. Находясь в эвакуации в Билимбае, Миль занимался совершенствованием вооружения автожиров А-7-ЗА.

В 1942 году у Миля возникла идея создания противотанкового ружья. Михаил Леонтьевич самостоятельно провел разработку и испытания ружья, стрелявшего реактивными снарядами.

В 1943 г. Михаил Леонтьевич вернулся в ЦАГИ. Но все работы по винтокрылой тематике в институте к этому времени были свернуты, и Миль продолжил начатые им еще до войны исследования по устойчивости и управляемости самолетов, которые послужили основой для его кандидатской диссертации. Защита состоялась в 1943 г. Разработанные им нововведения в конструкции системы управления самолетов Ил-2 и Ил-4 значительно улучшили пилотажные характеристики этих основных боевых машин советской авиации. За вклад в развитие авиационной техники в годы войны .М.Л.Миль был награжден орденами Отечественной войны II степени и Красной Звезды.

В 1945 г. МЛ.Миль успешно защитил докторскую диссертацию -Динамика ротора с шарнирным креплением лопастей и ее приложение к задачам устойчивости и управляемости автожира и геликоптера.

Михаил Леонтьевич Миль
М.Л. Миль, В.А. Кузнецов (четвертый слева) и Н.И. Камов среди военных перед отправкой А-7 на фронт


Занимаясь основополагающими проблемами самолетостроения. М.Л.Миль не переставал интересоваться актуальными задачами развития винтокрылых летательных аппаратов. По его настоянию в ЦАГИ в 1947 г. была создана -гели-коптерная- лаборатория, а затем образовано ОКБ по вертолетам, возглавляемое Михаилом Леонтьевичем.

ОКБ сначала переехало из ЦАГИ на авиационный завод №82 в Тушино, а через несколько лет, осенью 1951 г. было переведено на старейший в нашей стране специализированный вертолетный завод ГСОЗ №3 в Сокольниках на 2-й Рыбинской улице. С этого времени вся творческая деятельность М.Л.Миля проходила на его территории. Под его непосредственным руководством маленький завод стал мировым лидером в разработке винтокрылой техники. Миль был бессменным руководителем этого учреждения, носившего с 1953 г. название Государственный союзный завод (ГСОЗ) №329, а с 1967 г. Московский вертолетный завод. После смерти М.Л.Миля завод получил его имя.
Автор: В.Р.Михеев


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 6
  1. Денис 11 апреля 2013 09:00
    Ми-8 уже визитная карточка страны,как и АК
  2. rennim 11 апреля 2013 09:52
    Михаил Леонтьевич Миль по словам его сослуживцев всегда слыл честным и порядочным человеком что всегда и в любые времена было на вес золота.ЧЕЛОВЕК С больших букв..и прекрасный СПЕЦИАЛИСТ.Его уважали все даже иностранные вертолетостроители. Даже Сикорский был о нем высочайшего мнения.
  3. slava7075 11 апреля 2013 12:38
    Это были Сверхлюди.То что они сделали в своё время кульманом и карандашом вкупе с огромной работоспособностью даже сейчас конкурирует с компьютерными моделями. Честь и Слава им!
  4. Аликово 11 апреля 2013 12:49
    ГЕНИЙ ВЕРТОЛЕТОСТРОЕНИЯ
    Аликово
  5. Kir 11 апреля 2013 18:40
    Да время было Титанов, что в политике, что в науке !!!
    Данная биография лишний повод, усомниться в том что чистки имели якобы национальный окрас, тот кто честно служил своей отчизне и не участвовал в делишках получал по заслугам и звания и награды.
    Kir
  6. m.asfa 11 апреля 2013 21:46
    Донской политехнический в настоящее время Южно-Российский государственный технический университет (Новочеркасский политехнический институт)

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня