Military Review

The robot has mastered the flight of dragonflies

10
The German company Festo has demonstrated its latest development - the BionicOpter UAV, which is trying to reproduce the flight of a dragonfly.


The robot has mastered the flight of dragonflies

The drone, of course, is still larger than the natural prototype. Nevertheless, it is the most advanced UAV, flying in the manner of a dragonfly. (Here and below is the photo of Festo.)

From the “head” to the tail, the robot has 44 cm, and the wingspan is exactly equal to 63 cm. Of course, there are no such giants among modern dragonflies, but the fossil representatives of these predatory insects have also reached much larger sizes. Low weight - total 175 g - achieved by the skillful use of lightweight materials: the wings are a carbon fiber frame with a polyester membrane stretched over it; other materials are aluminum, ABS-based tripolymer and foamed polyamide. ARM processor is used to control the drone. The role of the muscles controlling the head and tail is played by four bundles of nitinol fibers (a nickel-titanium alloy) that can shrink (“shape memory”) when heated, caused by the passage of electric current through them. The wings are also driven by a more familiar electric motor for robots.
The choice of the frequency of strokes and the changeable angle of attack of the wings is fully automated, so that the operator (using, for example, a smartphone) controls only the steering. A pair of lithium-polymer batteries was chosen as a power source. According to the manufacturer, robostrekoza can quite perfectly copy the flight methods of ordinary dragonflies, including moving backwards and flapping their wings to 15 – 20 once a second. In principle, the words about the perfection of flight, said by the developers, you can believe:



However, with all the advancement of the drone there is something to finish. Thus, the most highly maneuverable flight mode is not shown, with overloads to 9g, in which the dragonflies first flap their hind wings and only then with their front wings:



The flight demonstrated by BionicOpter is characteristic of high-speed movement used by a dragonfly not so often.



In addition, the video shows that the wings of BionicOpter, despite the carbon fiber frame, lacked (in comparison with the natural analogue) stiffness. Dragonflies that do not have carbon fiber and polyester, but have pterostigma, clearly have tougher wings, which can not but affect their aerodynamics:



But let's hide our skepticism: the human experience in copying the aerodynamics of four-winged insects is insignificant for the time being, and its lion’s share belongs to Festo. Taking into account the significance of the demonstrated bionic achievements, it is logical to assume that in the near future, developers will select the most difficult flight regimes of real dragonflies.

Data on the maximum speed reached is not specified, although, judging by the video, they clearly do not exceed 50 km / h, which characterize the prototype insect. Recall that Festo is considered the designer of bird-like drones, widely used by US intelligence services (more precisely, while only one of them is used) for conducting reconnaissance in Pakistan and Iran - areas where ordinary (undisguised) American drones cause some confusion, often turning into firing and active use of air defense. At the same time, although the dragonfly robot is too small for conducting long-range reconnaissance, there is no doubt that with some refinement of the appearance and further miniaturization, such a drone will turn out to be a real find.

Based on Festo
Author:
Originator:
http://science.compulenta.ru/743340/
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Delink
    Delink April 2 2013 07: 38 New
    +2
    To perfection is still far, but impressive.
  2. Boot under the carpet
    Boot under the carpet April 2 2013 07: 52 New
    +1
    Quote: Delink
    To perfection is still far, but impressive.
    I think new investments will not take long and the project will develop.
    1. Kyrgyz
      Kyrgyz April 2 2013 13: 06 New
      0
      Quote: Boot under the carpet
      I think new investments will not take long and the project will develop.

      Investments are made for a project involving returns and not for the curiosity and fantasies of engineers, UAV scouts are simpler and more functional than this fun
  3. shurup
    shurup April 2 2013 08: 55 New
    0
    Development of the level of the Soviet SUT (station for young technicians) with financing of the project, which would be enough for the entire budget of SUT.
    Without ICE, it has no practical value. A one-time option is much more expensive than gold.
  4. USNik
    USNik April 2 2013 10: 26 New
    0
    American drones cause some bewilderment, often turning into shooting and the active use of air defense.

    Uh, I don’t think that a dragonfly-shaped UAV will not cause fire from a bearded man. For this, it’s generally more logical to use some cormorant there or an eagle. tongue
  5. lelikas
    lelikas April 2 2013 10: 28 New
    0
    All the same, this is a very expensive toy ,,, and while the Chinese helicopter for 1t.r. maybe more.
  6. Dyyx
    Dyyx April 2 2013 10: 53 New
    0
    I want to note that UAVs of this type are also being developed by us. Take, for example, the development of the Moscow Aviation Institute, where a 4-year student of 15 cm UAVs flying at a speed of 50 km \ hour for more than 30 minutes can freeze and sharply change the direction of flight, resembles a May bug with a video camera from a hundredth telephone and a 10-meter fountain pen.
  7. Dyyx
    Dyyx April 2 2013 11: 01 New
    0
    And the most interesting thing is that this UAV is made from didoles of Chinese helicopters, it has a very original way of flight, shape and control method.
    It's just that no one needs it.
  8. in reserve
    April 2 2013 12: 38 New
    0
    Even the video does not show. request
  9. Gonoriy
    Gonoriy 26 March 2016 11: 49 New
    0
    Well done boys. But these are only the first steps.

Робот освоил полёт стрекозы

Германская компания Festo продемонстрировала свою последнюю разработку — БПЛА BionicOpter, пытающийся воспроизвести полёт стрекозы.

Робот освоил полёт стрекозы

Дрон, конечно, пока крупнее природного прототипа. Тем не менее это самый совершенный БПЛА, летающий на манер стрекозы. (Здесь и ниже фото Festo.)

От «головы» до хвоста робот имеет 44 см, а размах крыльев и вовсе равен 63 см. Конечно, среди современных стрекоз таких гигантов нет, однако ископаемые представители этих хищных насекомых достигали и куда бóльших размеров. Малый вес — всего 175 г — достигнут умелым использованием лёгких материалов: крылья представляют собой углепластиковую рамку с натянутой на неё мембраной из полиэстера; остальные материалы — алюминий, триполимер на основе АБС-пластика и вспененный полиамид. Для управления дроном используется ARM-процессор. Роль мышц, управляющих головой и хвостом, играют четыре пучка волокон нитинола (никель-титановый сплав), способные сокращаться («память формы») при нагреве, вызванном пропусканием через них электрического тока. Крылья же приводятся в действие более привычным для роботов электромотором.

Выбор частоты взмахов и изменяемого угла атаки крыльев полностью автоматизирован, так что оператор (при помощи, к примеру, смартфона) управляет лишь рулением. В качестве источника питания выбрана пара литий-полимерных аккумуляторов. По заявлению производителя, робострекоза умеет весьма совершенно копировать методы полёта обычных стрекоз, включая движение назад и помахивание крыльями до 15–20 раз в секунду. В принципе, словам о совершенства полёта, сказанным разработчиками, можно поверить:



Впрочем, при всей продвинутости дрона тут есть что доделывать. Так, не показан наиболее высокоманёвренный режим полёта, с перегрузками до 9g, при котором стрекозы сначала взмахивают задними крыльями и лишь затем — передними:



Продемонстрированный же BionicOpter'ом полёт характерен для скоростного передвижения, используемого стрекозой не так часто.



Кроме того, на видео заметно, что крыльям BionicOpter, несмотря на углепластиковый каркас, не хватает (в сравнении с природным аналогом) жёсткости. Стрекозы, не располагающие углепластиком и полиэстером, но обладающие птеростигмой, явно имеют более жесткие крылья, что не может не влиять на их аэродинамику:



Но давайте всё же спрячем свой скептицизм: опыт человека в копировании аэродинамики четырёхкрылых насекомых пока ничтожен, а его львиная доля принадлежит именно Festo. С учётом значимости демонстрируемых бионических достижений логично предположить, что в ближайшее время разработчики подберутся к самым сложным режимам полёта настоящих стрекоз.

Данные по максимальной достигнутой скорости не уточняются, хотя, судя по видео, они явно не превышают 50 км/ч, характеризующих насекомое-прототип. Напомним, что Festo считается конструктором птицеподобных дронов, широко используемых спецслужбами США (точнее, пока применяется только один из них) для ведения разведки в Пакистане и Иране — районах, где обычные (незамаскированные) американские беспилотники вызывают некоторое недоумение, часто переходящее в стрельбу и активное использование ПВО. В то же время, хотя робот-стрекоза слишком мал для ведения дальней разведки, нет сомнений, что при некоторой доработке внешнего вида и дальнейшей миниатюризации, такой дрон окажется настоящей находкой.

Подготовлено по материалам Festo
Автор: Александр Березин
Первоисточник: http://science.compulenta.ru/743340/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 10

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Delink 2 апреля 2013 07:38
    До совершенства еще далеко, но впечатляет.
  2. Сапог под ковром 2 апреля 2013 07:52
    Цитата: Delink
    До совершенства еще далеко, но впечатляет.
    Я думаю новые инвестиции не заставят себя ждать и проект будет развиваться.
    Сапог под ковром
    1. киргиз 2 апреля 2013 13:06
      Цитата: Сапог под ковром
      Я думаю новые инвестиции не заставят себя ждать и проект будет развиваться.

      Инвестиции идут под проект предполагающий отдачу а не под любопытство и фантазии инженеров, БПЛА разведчики есть попроще и по функциональнее чем эта забава
  3. shurup 2 апреля 2013 08:55
    Разработка уровня советской СЮТ(станция юных техников) с финансированием проекта, которого хватило бы на весь бюджет СЮТ.
    Без ДВС практического значения не имеет. Одноразовый вариант стоит гораздо дороже золота.
  4. USNik 2 апреля 2013 10:26
    американские беспилотники вызывают некоторое недоумение, часто переходящее в стрельбу и активное использование ПВО.

    Эээ, не думаю, что БПЛА в форме стрекозы не будет вызывать пальбу со стороны бородачей. Для этого вообще-то логичней использовать какого-нибудь баклана там или орла. tongue
    USNik
  5. леликас 2 апреля 2013 10:28
    Все-же это очень дорогая игрушка,,,а пока китайский вертолет за 1т.р. может больше.
  6. Dyyx 2 апреля 2013 10:53
    Хочу заметить, что БПЛА подобного типа разрабатываются и у нас. Возьмем хотя бы разработку МАИ, где студент 4 курса 15 см БПЛА, летающую со скоростью 50 км\час более 30 минут, может зависать и резко изменять направление полета, напоминает майского жука с видеокамерой от сотого телефона и стреляющей авторучкой на 10 метров.
    Dyyx
  7. Dyyx 2 апреля 2013 11:01
    И самое интересное этот БПЛА сделан из дидалей китайских вертолетов, имеет весьма оригинальный способ полета, форму и способ управления.
    Просто это ни кому не надо.
    Dyyx
  8. в запасе 2 апреля 2013 12:38
    Чет видео не кажет. request
    в запасе
  9. Gonoriy 26 марта 2016 11:49
    Молодцы ребята. а ведь это только первые шаги.
Картина дня