Military Review

Feat pilot Boris Gomolko

11
... In the 30s of the last century, many Kharkov newspapers wrote with some pathos and enthusiasm characteristic of the Soviet press about the opening of the first All-Ukrainian flying club in the southern republic. The enthusiasm was, in general, understandable: air transport at that time was actively developing, helping to explore the vast expanses of the young Soviet state, without aviation it was impossible to imagine agriculture, military industry. The ideological campaign in support of developing aviation was carried out on a large scale - editorials in newspapers, radio broadcasts, speeches of leaders ...


Probably, succumbing to this particular call - “Komsomol member on the plane!”, The young Boris Mefodievich Gomolko signed up for the Kharkiv Aero Club. The lessons in him helped Boris to further enter the Armavir Military Aviation Pilot School.

A month after the start of the war, Boris Gomolko entered the service in the 520 th Fighter Aviation Regiment, commanded by Major Stepan Nikitovich Chirva.

The regiment in August 1941 of the year was formed in Rybinsk (initially consisted of LaGG-3 planes, fighters having the naming of "grand pianos" or "irons" among the pilots). The regiment began the war on the Volkhov front, and since mid-April 1942, it was based in the Saratov region, in the village of Balanda. Here, the 520-iap is equipped with the Yak-1 aircraft, including improved and faster vehicles. Accordingly, the retraining of flight crews on the new Yakis also takes place.

Already in the first days of September, the 1942, the 520 th regiment, flies to Kamyshin city, near Stalingrad, at Vihlyantsevo Airport. The task assigned to the pilots of the Supreme Commander is serious enough: to keep the enemy army on the outskirts of Stalingrad, to prevent the German troops from reaching Kamyshin, that is, to the Volga.

Despite the fact that the war had already lasted more than a year, the Germans still held air supremacy. The Soviet aviation units needed more airplanes, young pilots - graduates of aviation schools and colleges - sometimes they lacked combat experience. And working out methods of piloting, air battles, navigator training and flights in the group - all this had to be worked out at advanced, front-line airfields, directly in combat ...

The Vihlyantsevo regiment together with the 431-IAP and 563-IAP is part of the 283 Air Division. The divisional commander, Colonel V. A. Kitaev, gives the order to cover Kamyshin with couples for several days: this allowed the entire technical staff to pull up onto the airfield, while the pilots could get acquainted in detail with the area of ​​future military operations and conduct airborne training.

On September 7, the command received instructions to relocate to the Altukhovo airfield (located only 7 kilometers from the command post of the 16 Air Army).


Group of pilots from the 520 th Fighter Aviation Regiment


And the next day can be restored in some detail from the descriptions of eyewitnesses. Major Chirva flew with the first group of aircraft in the 11 area around one o'clock in the morning, brought them to Altukhovo, and followed the second division. When approaching Vihlyantsevo, Chirva heard the rumble of German bombers approaching the aircraft - there were ten Heinkels-111s in total, at the height of 2000-2500 meters: they flew to bomb Kamyshin.

The decision of Chirva was made instantly - to attack the enemy. The order of the group commander (consisting of ten planes) to start the pursuit of German bombers by a “right turn with climb”. The first Heinkel was shot down by Major Chirva himself, and seeing such a rapid onslaught of Soviet aviation, the Germans did not stand up and turned around, having lost their combat order, randomly flew back.

Soviet pilots, however, continued to attack. Senior sergeant Boris Gomolko boldly rushed to the attack, shot down one plane, and even having spent all the ammunition, he did not leave the battle. Heading toward the second bomber, he comes close to him and he cuts off his tail. Another Heinkel goes to the ground ...

The plane of Boris Gomolko himself suddenly begins to fall apart right in the air, and the hero has no choice but to leave the flight machine by parachute.

Interestingly, this feat Gomolko is not exhausted. Down on the ground, he sees as close to him - just as two parachutes descended on parachutes. The reaction of Boris was lightning-one German he immediately kills a pistol. The second Gomolko captures and leads to his unit.

For some reason, in different sources, different discrepancies concerning how much Boris Mefodevich has captured a man write that he alone has almost captured a group of German officers. For example, the front-line correspondent of the newspaper Krasnaya Zvezda N. N. Denisov in his book 1418 days of the front-line correspondent writes: “We were present at the interrogation of one of these pilots, the lieutenant. The squadron in which he served, suffered more than three hundred percent loss - its composition has recently been updated three times by aircraft and crews. Of the other prisoners of the Hitlerites, I remember Ober-Lieutenant ... a red-haired fellow with a fleshy face and running watery eyes. He said: "We did not think that the Russians would be so stubborn."

Feat pilot Boris Gomolko


September 13 The pilot Boris Gomolko was awarded the rank of lieutenant to 1942, and he was awarded the Order of Lenin.

After spending a few days in the infirmary, Gomolko again flies up in the air on an airplane, already in the new post of flight commander. And continues combat sorties, knocking down the next enemy bombers. However, unfortunately, the hero did not have long to fight ...

Order №247 People's Commissar of Defense of the USSR

about courage and courage shown by the 2 th squadron of the 520 th fighter air regiment by senior sergeant B. Gomolko in aerial combat


No.0759 10 September 1942

8 September 1942. At the height of 2500, a group of 520 Fighter Fighter Aviation Regiment met 10 X-111 bombers.

Senior Sergeant Gomolko Boris Mefodievich, making his first combat flight, crashes into their ranks and fires machine guns and cannons to shoot down one He-111, in subsequent attacks, having spent all the ammunition, went on a ram of another bomber.

A propeller and a motor chop off the tail of the Xe-111, causing the enemy's bomber to collapse in the air and fall.

Senior Sergeant Gomolko, landing on a parachute, prepared to meet the Nazi pilots descending on parachutes, while trying to resist them, shot one pilot, and captured the other.

Tov. Gomolko, as the true son of his homeland, showed exceptional heroism and courage.

This heroic deed com. Gomolko confirms once again that who, sparing no effort, despising death, selflessly shows courage, resilience, courage and heroism, he always seeks victory over the enemy.

It is a matter of honor and valor of the entire flight personnel of the Air Force of the Red Army - to beat the fascist air pirates, as their senior sergeant Gomolko beats.

I order:

For their courage and bravery in aerial combat with ten Xe-111 bombers to the pilot of the 2 squadron of the 520 th Fighter Regiment, Senior Sergeant Gomolko Boris Mefodievich assign an extraordinary military title of “Lt.” and I’t use the speed of the “L” command and I’t use the speed of the “L” command and I didn’t use the speed of the “L” command and I didn’t use the speed of the first line of the “fighter squadron” of the 283 Fighter Aviation Regiment. Gomolko to the government award.

Order to read the entire staff of the Air Force of the Red Army.

Deputy People's Commissar of Defense of the USSR Lieutenant-General Aviation Novikov

RGVA, f. 4, op. 11, d. 72, l. 433-434. Script.


In military sources there is a confusion with the date of death of Boris Mefodievich. The fact is that his namesake, also a pilot, Alexander Gomolko died at the Kursk Bulb 12 in July 1943. The hero of our story died 24 September 1942 of the year.

On this day, on the next combat mission (also not far from Stalingrad) together with the 563 iap pilots, Gomolko confronted a squad of twenty German Me-109 fighters. In the course of a hard fight, Boris Mefodievich is seriously wounded, but he nevertheless manages to land his plane. The pilot’s injury, however, was so serious that the doctors of the hospital, where an ambulance car quickly brought him from the crash site, could do nothing: Boris Gomolko dies.

Gomolko was buried in Altukhovo, near the sanatoria located here during the war years. Later, in the 70-s, the remains of Boris Mefodievich and other fighters were reburied in a mass grave of Soviet soldiers of the October settlement, in the Volgograd region ...

Reburial of the remains of the pilot in the village of Oktyabrsky, Olkhovsky district of the Volgograd region
Author:
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. cth; fyn
    cth; fyn April 4 2013 09: 58 New
    +6
    A man is cool, no one can catch a bullet and land a plane, eternal glory to the Hero!
  2. Nagaibak
    Nagaibak April 4 2013 10: 02 New
    +4
    "In the 30s of the last century, many Kharkiv newspapers with a certain pathos and enthusiasm characteristic of the Soviet press wrote about the opening of the first All-Ukrainian flying club in the southern republic."
    Interestingly, and now how much is left from Soviet times? And even more interesting is how many are newly created? And here too ... I wonder how much is left. How much is created, you can not ask. With pathos ... eva out like ... but how else was it to write. There was nothing, but here they created an aero club !!! And now there is no money for anything. Youth was then engaged and young people saw that they had an advanced country. Therefore, they fought in the war for it, accomplished feats. And B. Gomolko himself was handsome ... he also figured out the crew. The article is good, but it seems to me that the introduction was somewhat unsuccessful. The author noted this fact from a position of today. And then ... then everything was first and again, hence the delight and pathos.
  3. Snoop
    Snoop April 4 2013 10: 45 New
    +6
    The article is a plus, but the irony about pathos and enthusiasm at the beginning of the article is also incomprehensible.
    I think if in my area they opened a free flying club for young people and established a scholarship for mastering flight business without interruption from production or study ... local newspapers would write with no less pathos and enthusiasm.
  4. Prapor Afonya
    Prapor Afonya April 4 2013 11: 00 New
    +2
    Glory to the Heroes, recent fascist invaders trample our Motherland, Glory to the Victors !!!
  5. Black
    Black April 4 2013 11: 09 New
    +3
    In the 70s I studied at the Oktyabrskaya school for several years. At the site of the airfield near Altukhov, we boys found a lot of "interesting" things at that time. And somewhere in 77 they found a whole dugout - abandoned, as if recently. The school has a very nice museum of the 16th Air Army.
    The reburial took place in May 75, the 30th anniversary of the victory. A monument was erected. On May 9, in the year 75, more than two hundred veteran pilots gathered in the village. Then still so young ....
    On the photo - May 9, 2010.
  6. avt
    avt April 4 2013 14: 26 New
    +1
    Quote: Chen
    . On May 9, in the year 75, more than two hundred veteran pilots gathered in the village. Then still so young ....
    On the photo - May 9, 2010.

    good THANKS for remembering! And honor the memory! Meaning life was given not in vain.
    1. Black
      Black April 4 2013 19: 40 New
      +1
      Quote: avt
      THANKS for remembering

      We need to say this thanks to THEM, to those to whom we owe.
  7. Sirocco
    Sirocco April 4 2013 14: 31 New
    +1
    Yeah, live and learn. I did not know about such a feat, and about this man. No worse than Gastelo.
  8. dmitry46
    dmitry46 April 4 2013 17: 00 New
    +1
    And how many more heroes lie in the ground .... Heroes of which we do not know ...
    On the example of such People it is necessary to educate our youth !!! Eternal memory and eternal glory to the heroes who defeated fascism !!!
  9. redwar6
    redwar6 April 5 2013 00: 07 New
    0
    Wow, this is a man .. It’s a pity that such people die ..
  10. Elena Kotok
    Elena Kotok April 6 2013 00: 03 New
    0
    Unfortunately, Philip Horvat forgot to indicate that the article "The Feat of Pilot Boris Gomolko" was published in the magazine "Aviation and Cosmonautics" # 9 2012 and with additional photos on the site "Red Falcons".
    http://airaces.narod.ru/all9/gomolko.htm

Подвиг лётчика Бориса Гомолко

Подвиг лётчика Бориса Гомолко… В 30-х годах прошлого века многие харьковские газеты с некоторым, характерным для советской прессы пафосом и восторгом, писали об открытии первого в южной республике Всеукраинского аэроклуба. Восторг был, в общем-то, понятен: воздушный транспорт в то время активно развивался, помогая осваивать огромные пространства молодого советского государства, без авиации невозможно было представить сельское хозяйство, военную промышленность. Идеологическая кампания в поддержку развивающейся авиации шла с широким размахом – передовицы в газетах, передачи на радио, речи вождей…

Наверное, поддавшись именно этому призыву – «Комсомолец на самолёт!», юный Борис Мефодиевич Гомолко и записался в харьковский аэроклуб. Занятия в нём помогли Борису в дальнейшем поступить в Армавирскую военно-авиационную школу лётчиков.

А спустя месяц после начала войны Борис Гомолко поступает на службу в 520-й истребительный авиационный полк, которым командует майор Степан Никитович Чирва.


Полк в августе 1941 года был сформирован в Рыбинске (состоял поначалу из самолётов ЛаГГ-3, истребителей имевших среди лётчиков прозвание «роялей» или «утюгов»). Начал войну полк на Волховском фронте, а с середины апреля 1942 года - базировался в Саратовской области, в посёлке Баланда. Здесь 520-й иап доукомплектовывают самолётами ЯК-1, в числе которых были и улучшенные, более скоростные машины. Соответственно идёт и переобучение лётного состава на новенькие «ЯКи».

Уже в первые дни сентября 1942 года 520-й полк перелетает на аэропорт Вихлянцево города Камышин, под Сталинградом. Задача, поставленная перед лётчиками Верховным Главнокомандующим достаточна серьёзна: удержать вражескую армию на подступах к Сталинграду, не дать выйти немецким войскам к Камышину, то есть – к Волге.

Несмотря на то, что война уже длилась больше года, превосходство в воздухе всё ещё сохранялось за немцами. Советские же авиачасти нуждались в большем количестве самолётов, молодым лётчикам – выпускникам авиашкол и училищ - порой не хватало боевого опыта. И отработка методик пилотирования, воздушные бои, штурманская подготовка и полёты в группе - всё это приходилось нарабатывать на передовых, прифронтовых аэродромах, непосредственно в бою…

В Вихлянцево полк совместно с 431-м иап и 563-м иап входит в состав 283 авиадивизии. Дивизионный командир, полковник В. А. Китаев, отдаёт приказ прикрывать парами Камышин в течение нескольких дней: это позволяло подтянуться на аэродром всему техническому составу, лётчики же могли познакомиться детально с районом будущих боевых действий, провести авиационные тренировки.

7 сентября от командования поступило указание перебазироваться на аэродром Алтухово (находившийся всего в 7 километрах от командного пункта 16-й Воздушной армии).


Подвиг лётчика Бориса Гомолко
Группа лётчиков из состава 520-го истребительного авиационного полка


А следующий день можно довольно детально восстановить по описаниям очевидцев. Майор Чирва вылетел с первой группой самолётов в районе 11 часов утра, довёл их до Алтухово, и пошёл за вторым подразделением. При подходе к Вихлянцево Чирва услышал гул приближающихся самолётов немецких бомбардировщиков – всего их было десять «Хейнкелей-111», на высоте 2000-2500 метров: они летели бомбить Камышин.

Решение Чирвой было принято мгновенно – атаковать противника. Приказ командира группы (состоящей из десяти самолётов) «правым разворотом с набором высоты» начать преследование немецких бомбардировщиков. Первый «Хейнкель» был сбит самим майором Чирвой, и, видя такой стремительный натиск советской авиации, немцы не выдержали и развернулись, потеряв боевой порядок, вразброс полетели обратно.

Советские лётчики, однако, продолжили атаку. Старший сержант Борис Гомолко смело ринулся в атаку, сбил один самолёт, и даже израсходовав все боеприпасы, - из боя не вышел. Направившись ко второму бомбардировщику, он подходит к нему вплотную и винтом обрубает его хвостовое оперение. Ещё один «Хейнкель» идёт к земле…

Самолёт же самого Бориса Гомолко неожиданно начинает разваливаться прямо в воздухе, и герою ничего не остаётся, как покинуть лётную машину на парашюте.

Интересно, что этим подвиг Гомолко не исчерпывается. Опустившись на землю, он видит как неподалёку от него – так же, на парашютах спустились и двое вражеских лётчиков. Реакция Бориса была молниеносной – одного немца он тут же убивает из пистолета. Второго Гомолко берёт в плен и ведёт в свою часть.

В разных источниках почему-то различные разночтения, касающиеся того, сколько Борис Мефодьевич человек пленил, пишут, что он в одиночку чуть ли не группу немецких офицеров захватил. Например, фронтовик-корреспондент газеты «Красная звезда» Н. Н. Денисов в своей книге «1418 дней фронтового корреспондента» пишет: «Мы присутствовали на допросе одного из этих лётчиков - лейтенанта. Эскадра, в которой он служил, понесла более чем триста процентов потерь - её состав за последнее время трижды обновлялся самолётами и экипажами. Из других пленных гитлеровцев запомнился обер-лейтенант... рыжий детина с мясистым лицом и бегающими водянистыми глазами. Он сказал: «Мы не думали, что русские будут так упорны».

Подвиг лётчика Бориса Гомолко


13 сентября 1942 года лётчику Борису Гомолко было присвоено звание лейтенанта, и он был награждён орденом Ленина.

Проведя несколько дней в лазарете, Гомолко снова взмывает в воздух на самолёте, уже в новой должности командира звена. И продолжает боевые вылеты, сбивая очередные вражеские бомбардировщики. Однако, герою, к сожалению, недолго оставалось воевать…

Подвиг лётчика Бориса Гомолко
Приказ №247 Народного Комиссара Обороны СССР

о мужестве и храбрости, проявленных пилотом 2-й эскадрильи 520-го истребительного авиаполка старшим сержантом Гомолко Б. М. в воздушном бою


№0759 10 сентября 1942 г.

8 сентября 1942 г. на высоте 2500 м группа истребителей 520-го истребительного авиационного полка встретила 10 бомбардировщиков Хе-111.

Старший сержант Гомолко Борис Мефодьевич, совершающий свой первый боевой полет, врезается в их строй и огнем пулеметов и пушки сбивает одного Хе-111, в последующих атаках, израсходовав весь боекомплект, пошел на таран другого бомбардировщика.

Винтом и мотором отрубает хвостовое оперение Хе-111, в результате чего бомбардировщик врага разрушается в воздухе и падает.

Старший сержант Гомолко, приземляясь на парашюте, приготовился для встречи снижающихся на парашютах фашистских летчиков, при попытке их оказать сопротивление, расстреливает одного летчика, а другого берет в плен.

Тов. Гомолко, как истинный сын своей Родины, проявил исключительный героизм и отвагу.

Этот героический поступок тов. Гомолко подтверждает еще раз, что кто, не жалея сил, презирая смерть, беззаветно проявляет храбрость, стойкость, мужество и героизм, тот всегда добивается победы над врагом.

Дело чести и доблести всего летного состава Военно-воздушных сил Красной Армии — бить фашистских воздушных пиратов, как бьет их старший сержант Гомолко.

Приказываю:

За проявленное мужество и храбрость в воздушном бою с десятью бомбардировщиками Хе-111 пилоту 2-й эскадрильи 520-го истребительного авиационного полка старшему сержанту Гомолко Борису Мефодьевичу присвоить внеочередное военное звание «лейтенант», командиру 283-й истребительной авиадивизии представить тов. Гомолко к правительственной награде.

Приказ прочесть всему личному составу ВВС Красной Армии.

Заместитель Народного комиссара обороны СССР генерал-лейтенант авиации НОВИКОВ

РГВА, ф. 4, оп. 11, д. 72, л. 433-434. Подлинник.


В военных источниках происходит путаница с датой смерти Бориса Мефодиевича. Дело в том, что его однофамилец, тоже лётчик, Александр Гомолко погиб на Курской дуге 12 июля 1943 года. Герой же нашего повествования погиб 24 сентября 1942 года.

В этот день, на очередном боевом задании (также неподалёку от Сталинграда) вместе с лётчиками 563 иап, Гомолко сталкивается с отрядом из двадцати немецких истребителей Me-109. В ходе тяжёлого боя Бориса Мефодиевича тяжело ранят, но он, тем не менее, успевает посадить свой самолёт. Ранение лётчика, однако, было настолько серьёзным, что врачи госпиталя, куда его спешно привезла санитарная машина от места падения самолёта, сделать ничего не смогли: Борис Гомолко умирает.

Похоронен Гомолко был в Алтухово, рядом с располагавшейся тут в годы войны санчастью. Позже, в 70-х годах, останки Бориса Мефодиевича и других бойцов были перезахоронены в братской могиле советских воинов посёлка Октябрьский, в Волгоградской области…

Подвиг лётчика Бориса Гомолко
Перезахоронение останков лётчика в посёлке Октябрьский Ольховского района Волгоградской области
Автор: Филипп Хорват


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 11
  1. cth;fyn 4 апреля 2013 09:58
    Мужик крут, словить пулю и посадить самолет ни каждый сможет, вечная слава Герою!
  2. Нагайбак 4 апреля 2013 10:02
    "В 30-х годах прошлого века многие харьковские газеты с некоторым, характерным для советской прессы пафосом и восторгом, писали об открытии первого в южной республике Всеукраинского аэроклуба."
    Интересно, а сейчас сколько осталось с советских времен? А еще интереснее сколько вновь создано? Да и у нас тоже...интересно сколько осталось. Сколько создано можно и не спрашивать. С пафосом... эва вон как... а как же еще тогда было писать. Не было же ничего, а тут создали аэроклуб!!! А сейчас денег нет ни на что. Молодежью тогда занимались и молодые люди видели, что у них передовая страна. Поэтому боролись на войне за нее, подвиги совершали. А сам Б. Гомолко красавец... еще и с экипажем разобрался. Статья хорошая, но мне кажется вступление несколько не задалось. Автор этот факт отметил с позиции сегодняшнего дня. А тогда...тогда все было впервые и вновь, отсюда восторг и пафос.
  3. Snoop 4 апреля 2013 10:45
    Статье плюс, но также непонятна ирония про пафос и восторг вначале статьи.
    Думаю если бы в моей местности открыли бесплатный аэроклуб для молодежи и установили стипендию за освоение летного дела без отрыва от производства или учебы...местные газеты бы писали не с меньшим пафосом и восторгом.
  4. Прапор Афоня 4 апреля 2013 11:00
    Слава Героям, недавшим фашистким захватчикам топтать нашу Родину, Слава Победителям!!!
  5. Чёный 4 апреля 2013 11:09
    Я в 70-х годах несколько лет учился в Октябрьской школе. На месте аэродрома у п.Альтухов мы, мальчишки, находили в то время много "интересного". А где-то в 77 нашли целый блиндаж- оставленный, как будто недавно. В школе есть очень неплохой музей 16 Воздушной Армии.
    Перезахоронение происходило в мае 75 года- к 30-летию победы. Был установлен памятник. В поселок на 9 мая в 75 году съехались более двухсот летчиков - ветеранов. Тогда еще таких молодых....
    На фотографии - 9мая 2010 года.
  6. avt 4 апреля 2013 14:26
    Цитата: Чёный
    . В поселок на 9 мая в 75 году съехались более двухсот летчиков - ветеранов. Тогда еще таких молодых....
    На фотографии - 9мая 2010 года.

    good СПАСИБО что помнят ! И чтут память ! Значить жизнь отдали не напрасно .
    avt
    1. Чёный 4 апреля 2013 19:40
      Цитата: avt
      СПАСИБО что помнят

      Это нам надо говорить спасибо ИМ, тем кому мы обязаны.
  7. Sirocco 4 апреля 2013 14:31
    Да уж, век живи век учись. Не знал я о таком подвиге, и об этом человеке. Не хуже Гастело.
  8. dmitry46 4 апреля 2013 17:00
    А сколько еще героев лежат в земле.... Героев о которых мы не знаем...
    На примере таких Людей надо воспитывать нашу молодежь!!! Вечная память и вечная слава героям победившим фашизм!!!
    dmitry46
  9. redwar6 5 апреля 2013 00:07
    Ничего себе,вот это мужик..Жаль что такие погибают..
    redwar6
  10. Елена Коток 6 апреля 2013 00:03
    К сожалению, Филипп Хорват забыл указать, что статья "Подвиг лётчика Бориса Гомолко" была опубликована в журнале "Авиация и космонавтика" №9 2012 и с дополнительными фотографиями на сайте "Красные соколы".
    http://airaces.narod.ru/all9/gomolko.htm
    Елена Коток

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня