Military Review

US military budget: cuts too slow

13
The Pentagon continues to implement the plans of the presidential administration to reduce military spending. Due to the unfavorable financial situation, the US leadership is forced to reduce budget expenditures, which affects, among other things, the amount of funding of the military. Over the next ten years, the United States intends to reduce the budget deficit by about 1,8 trillion dollars. However, only a third of this amount will be compensated by an increase in revenue, the remaining 60-65% will be replenished by optimizing costs.




The other day, US Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel announced the approximate plans of his department, according to which in the coming years we will be able to achieve significant savings. Over the next five years, the complex of measures taken will save about 34-35 billions of dollars, and in the next five-year period bring the total amount of savings to 150 billions. At the same time, as Hagel notes, the implementation of these plans is possible only if the Pentagon, the Congress and the presidential administration overcome the current impasse in the negotiations and can stop the recently begun sequestration of the military budget. During the sequestration, the military department until the end of the current fiscal year (until September 30) should be forced to save a billion dollars in 41. When such conditions are met, there is a risk of losing some of the defense potential, so Pentagon analysts are busy creating new plans to cut costs without appreciable damage to defense capability.

According to the draft defense budget announced the other day, the United States military will spend 624 a billion dollars in the next fiscal year. This is roughly 14-15% of the total expenditures planned for 2014 for the year. 525-530 billions will go to the maintenance of the armed forces, the purchase and creation of new weapons and equipment. Another about 90 billions are planned to be spent on the continuation of the operation in Afghanistan. Finally, 8,5-9 billions will go to work related to maintaining the state of nuclear weapons and nuclear reactors on ships and submarines. For comparison, the Pentagon was allocated 2013 billion for 633 fiscal year. Thus, the savings in the future reporting period will not reach even ten billion. Nevertheless, the leadership of the US military department intends to gradually reduce the budget due to minor expenses and insignificant programs.

Under the “knife” of reduction are several projects that have recently had high hopes. So, in the coming years, the US armed forces will not receive a new infantry fighting vehicle, but transport pilots aviation you will have to use Lockheed C-130 Hercules aircraft with the available equipment - its modernization is also postponed indefinitely. Also, the Pentagon is forced to abandon the continuation of the purchase of unmanned aerial vehicles RQ-4 Global Hawk, the modernization of cruisers such as Ticonderoga, etc.

Along with saving on some projects, the US military will continue to develop others. Thus, the construction of the Lockheed Martin F-35 Lightning II fighter in the 2014 fiscal year is planned to spend about 8,4 billion dollars. The new warships (mostly destroyers of the Arleigh Burke type) will leave almost 11 billions. A slightly smaller amount (of the order of 10 billions) will be spent on the development of military space technology. It is noteworthy that in the 2014 fiscal year, the Pentagon is going to allocate at least 4,5-4,7 billion to cybersecurity. This can be interpreted as proof of the priority of this area.

Small savings will be achieved by adjusting plans for building a global missile defense system. First of all, it is the rejection of the fourth stage of the program with the corresponding consequences. On the development of the new SM-3 Block 2B anti-missiles and a number of other systems, only next year they will be able to save about 500-550 million dollars. Nevertheless, the cost of missile defense will still exceed nine billion. In addition to the SM-3 Block 2B missiles, new reconnaissance satellites for detecting launches of ballistic missiles fell under the reduction. Thanks to this, over the next five years, the Pentagon will additionally save about 1,9-2 billions.

However, the money saved on the missile defense system will actually remain in this program. By reducing costs, it is planned to finance some other work. For example, in the coming years, Alaska may deploy a dozen new interceptor missiles. In addition, the development of existing anti-missile systems will continue: Aegis, THAAD, Patriot air defense system, etc. Due to such a redistribution of money, ultimately, the savings on missile defense will allow for five years to reduce costs only by 600 million dollars.

Similarly, the plans of the military department regarding the air component of the nuclear triad look similar. In 2014, there are no costs for the creation of new nuclear warheads. At the same time, the Pentagon is going to allocate 380 millions of dollars for the creation of new missiles and bombers. As for aviation weapons in general, in the near future, only new high-precision missiles and bombs will be developed.

The last point of the program to reduce military spending is salaries for military and civil servants. The first plan is to reduce the number of the latter and optimize their health insurance programs. In addition, the growth rate of salaries will decrease in 2014. In the current 2013, the salaries of soldiers and officers increased by 1,7%, and in the next fiscal year, the increase will be only one percent.

As a result of all the measures taken, the Pentagon’s leadership intends to gradually optimize expenditures and reduce the military budget without appreciable losses in defense capability. While it is not entirely clear whether he will be able to realize his plans. The fact is that the figures voiced by C. Hagel are only the views of the military department of the presidential administration on the necessary funding. The proposed draft military budget now has to go through Congress. Judging by recent events, the congressmen will fight for every dollar and the Ministry of Defense will most likely have to make some concessions and further reduce the planned costs. The differences between Congress and the Pentagon are already visible: the proposals of the military mean much less savings than congressmen require. So, disputes over the US military budget for the 2014 fiscal year will continue and it is not quite clear how this document will look like at the time of adoption.


On the materials of the sites:
http://ria.ru/
http://lenta.ru/
http://defensenews.com/
http://washingtonpost.com/
Author:
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Trailer
    Trailer April 15 2013 08: 07
    14
    Faithful path go comrades! Only better to go running!
    1. Russian
      Russian April 15 2013 09: 25
      +4
      Do not you think that this is all dust in the eye? Everyone says a lot about this reduction, but if you really look, they remove only secondary projects, but they are not going to refuse the main ones! Like, we are cutting our budget, we can be unloaded, and in general we are peaceful and good. Something I don’t really believe in these assurances, with these Anglo-Saxons you should always keep your ear sharp, otherwise you can easily hang noodles on your ears!
      1. Yeraz
        Yeraz April 15 2013 11: 10
        -2
        Quote: р_у_с_с_к_и_й
        Do not you think that this is all dust in the eye? Everyone says a lot about this reduction, but if you really look, they remove only secondary projects, but they are not going to refuse the main ones! Like, we are cutting our budget, we can be unloaded, and in general we are peaceful and good. Something I don’t really believe in these assurances, with these Anglo-Saxons you should always keep your ear sharp, otherwise you can easily hang noodles on your ears!

        I completely agree. From America’s cutting budget, a lot of news modernized this, bought it, developed this news about the bottom more than from the increasing budget of the Russian Federation, a strange budget cut No.
      2. Joker
        Joker April 15 2013 11: 26
        +2
        Americans are not fools, they will not destroy their army. They closed unnecessary projects, optimized the army and that's it. As I said, you should not expect reductions, the US will exist until 3 World will begin, and there either they will write off their debts or they will disappear, and while this debt grows, grows and grows and nobody decides because silenok is not enough, and besides, everyone is sitting on the dollar, now Europe will refuse the euro and switch over to the dollar and we are in the 4-th place in the world for the accumulation of the dollar, so the United States itself will not be bent.
        1. Batman
          Batman April 15 2013 13: 03
          +2
          the euro was originally dependent on the dollar. The world is very difficult to get rid of the dollar, because all attempts at deliverance are hardened ...
  2. Firstvanguard
    Firstvanguard April 15 2013 08: 17
    +4
    For greater budget savings, I offer the population of the Pentagon ubitsapastenu wassat
  3. UFO
    UFO April 15 2013 09: 35
    +1
    "SLOW" is not the right word, "find the guilty and punish"! To reduce faster. And the fact that the new BMP will not be received is good news! laughing
  4. Standard Oil
    Standard Oil April 15 2013 09: 40
    +2
    I suggest that the Americans quietly crawl away from all the countries where they have remained due to a misunderstanding, into their viper and there they will quietly make ends. am
  5. evgenii67
    evgenii67 April 15 2013 09: 54
    +4
    Hello everyone! While this is only blah blah blah, they are reducing our buildup, but still their military budget is almost 10 times bigger than ours, but we can say that they have cut into fu-35 ..... but we also have - good luck ....! That's when I hear that planes fall there every month (from old age, from lack of repair, from the fact that pilots fly little), when I see that they are folding their bases abroad, and most importantly when I’ll see that they will not be able to fight (Afghanistan, Iraq) and impose their vile essence on other peoples and states, THEN I WILL TELL NORMAL REDUCTION
  6. Canep
    Canep April 15 2013 10: 53
    +3
    If you want, you don’t want, but the Americans will have to shrink and flee their bases from many camps. With their debt of 17 trillion, this is the only thing left. True, you can arrange a World War III — the war will write everything off, and as history shows, Americans can do it.
  7. Explore
    Explore April 15 2013 11: 24
    +1
    If they withdraw their troops from the territory of other states, close military bases abroad and stop fighting (as well as finance any), they will save half their military budget even without abandoning promising developments. And so - stupidly everything.
    They cut prospective research and social programs, but give away money to Israel, the SSA, the Baltic Limitrophs and our white-tape prostitute, pah - the opposition.
  8. _Forgiven_
    _Forgiven_ April 15 2013 23: 54
    +1
    Let them cut the budget faster, otherwise Assad hesitated to chase the militants paid by amers throughout Syria. If this would have been painless for the people, then okay. But the situation is difficult in the country, and here, as for evil, the budget is not being cut properly
  9. Krapovy32
    Krapovy32 April 16 2013 06: 35
    +1
    It is necessary to send advisers to them, as they were to us in the 90s. Serdyukov with his aunts. Oh, they quickly optimize everything for them and sell the unnecessary lol
  10. HAM
    HAM April 16 2013 13: 31
    0
    Cheburan will print new dollars - the rest of the world will quietly eat it. That's it.

Военный бюджет США: сокращение идет слишком медленно

Пентагон продолжает воплощать в жизнь планы администрации президента по сокращению военных расходов. Из-за неблагоприятной финансовой ситуации руководство США вынуждено уменьшать бюджетные расходы, что сказывается в том числе и на объемах финансирования военного ведомства. За ближайшие десять лет Соединенные Штаты намерены сократить дефицит бюджета примерно на 1,8 триллиона долларов. При этом лишь треть от указанной суммы будет компенсирована увеличением доходов, оставшиеся 60-65% восполнят за счет оптимизации расходов.

Военный бюджет США: сокращение идет слишком медленно


На днях министр обороны США Ч. Хейгел огласил примерные планы своего ведомства, согласно которым в ближайшие годы удастся добиться значительной экономии. Комплекс принимаемых мер позволит в течение следующих пяти лет сэкономить около 34-35 миллиардов долларов, а в следующий пятилетний период довести общую сумму экономии до 150 миллиардов. В то же время, как отмечает Хейгел, воплощение этих планов возможно только если Пентагон, Конгресс и администрация президента выйдут из сложившегося тупика в переговорах и смогут остановить недавно начавшийся секвестр военного бюджета. В ходе секвестра военное ведомство до конца текущего финансового года (до 30 сентября) должно в принудительном порядке сэкономить 41 миллиард долларов. При выполнении таких условий существует риск потери некоторой части оборонного потенциала, поэтому аналитики Пентагона заняты созданием новых планов сокращения расходов без ощутимого вреда для обороноспособности.


Согласно оглашенному на днях проекту оборонного бюджета, военные США в следующем финансовом году намерены израсходовать 624 миллиарда долларов. Это примерно 14-15% от общего количества запланированных на 2014 год расходов. 525-530 миллиардов уйдут на содержание вооруженных сил, закупку и создание новых вооружений и техники. Еще около 90 миллиардов планируется потратить на продолжение операции в Афганистане. Наконец, 8,5-9 миллиардов уйдут на работы, связанные с поддержанием состояния ядерных вооружений и атомных реакторов на кораблях и подлодках. Для сравнения, на 2013 финансовый год Пентагону было выделено 633 миллиарда. Таким образом, экономия в будущем отчетном периоде не достигнет и десяти миллиардов. Тем не менее, руководство американского военного ведомства намерено постепенно сокращать бюджет за счет второстепенных расходов и малозначимых программ.

Под «нож» сокращения попадают несколько проектов, на которые в последнее время возлагались большие надежды. Так, в ближайшие годы американские вооруженные силы не получат новую боевую машину пехоты, а пилотам транспортной авиации придется пользоваться самолетами Lockheed C-130 Hercules с имеющимся составом оборудования – его модернизация тоже отложена на неопределенное время. Также Пентагон вынужден отказаться от продолжения закупок беспилотных летательных аппаратов RQ-4 Global Hawk, модернизации крейсеров типа Ticonderoga и т.п.

Одновременно с экономией на одних проектах американские военные продолжат развитие других. Так, на строительство новых истребителей Lockheed Martin F-35 Lightning II в 2014 финансовом году планируется затратить порядка 8,4 миллиарда долларов. На новые военные корабли (в основном это будут эсминцы типа Arleigh Burke) уйдет без малого 11 миллиардов. Немного меньшая сумма (порядка 10 миллиардов) будет потрачена на развитие военных космических технологий. Примечательно, что в 2014 финансовом году Пентагон собирается выделить на кибербезопасность не менее 4,5-4,7 миллиарда. Это можно расценивать в том числе и как доказательство приоритета данной области.

Небольшая экономия будет достигнута за счет корректирования планов по строительству глобальной системы противоракетной обороны. В первую очередь, это отказ от четвертого этапа программы с соответствующими последствиями. На разработке новой противоракеты SM-3 Block 2B и ряда других систем только в будущем году удастся сэкономить порядка 500-550 миллионов долларов. Тем не менее, расходы на ПРО все равно превысят девять миллиардов. Помимо ракет SM-3 Block 2B под сокращение попали новые разведывательные спутники обнаружения пусков баллистических ракет. Благодаря этому в течение ближайших пяти лет Пентагон дополнительно сэкономит около 1,9-2 миллиардов.

Однако сэкономленные на ПРО деньги фактически останутся в этой программе. За счет сокращения расходов планируется профинансировать некоторые другие работы. К примеру, в ближайшие годы на Аляске возможно развертывание полутора десятков новых ракет-перехватчиков. Кроме того, продолжится развитие имеющихся противоракетных систем: Aegis, THAAD, ЗРК Patriot и т.д. Из-за подобного перераспределения денег в конечном итоге экономия на противоракетной обороне позволит за пять лет сократить расходы лишь на 600 миллионов долларов.

Похожим образом выглядят и планы военного ведомства относительно воздушной составляющей ядерной триады. В 2014 году не предусматриваются какие-либо расходы на создание новых ядерных боевых частей. В то же время, на создание новых ракет и бомбардировщиков Пентагон собирается выделить 380 миллионов долларов. Что касается авиационного вооружения в целом, то в ближайшем будущем будут разрабатываться лишь новые высокоточные ракеты и бомбы.

Последним пунктом программы сокращения военных расходов идут зарплаты военных и гражданских служащих. В первую очередь планируется сократить численность последних и оптимизировать программы их медицинского страхования. Кроме того, в 2014 году уменьшится темп роста зарплат. В текущем 2013-м жалование солдат и офицеров увеличилось на 1,7%, а в следующем финансовом году прирост составит всего один процент.

В результате всех принимаемых мер руководство Пентагона собирается постепенно оптимизировать расходы и уменьшить военный бюджет без ощутимых потерь в обороноспособности. Пока не совсем понятно, удастся ли ему воплотить в жизнь свои планы. Дело в том, что озвученные Ч. Хейгелом цифры представляют собой лишь взгляды военного ведомства администрации президента на необходимые объемы финансирования. Предложенный проект военного бюджета теперь должен пройти через Конгресс. Судя по последним событиям, конгрессмены будут биться за каждый доллар и министерству обороны, скорее всего, придется идти на некие уступки и дополнительно сокращать планируемые расходы. Разногласия Конгресса и Пентагона видны уже сейчас: предложения военных подразумевают значительно меньшую экономию, чем требуют конгрессмены. Так что споры вокруг военного бюджета США на 2014 финансовый год продолжатся и пока не совсем понятно, как будет выглядеть этот документ к моменту принятия.


По материалам сайтов:
http://ria.ru/
http://lenta.ru/
http://defensenews.com/
http://washingtonpost.com/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13
  1. Karavan 15 апреля 2013 08:07
    Верной дорогой идете товарищи! Только лучше уж перейти на бег!
    1. р_у_с_с_к_и_й 15 апреля 2013 09:25
      А вам не кажется, что это всё пыль в глаза? Уж больно много об этом сокращении всё говорят, а если реально посмотреть, то они убирают всего-навсего второстепенные проекты, а от главных и не собираются отказываться! Типо, мы сокращаем свой бюджет, разружаемся можно сказать, и вообще мы миролюбивые и хорошие. Что-то я не особо верю в эти заверения, с этими англо-саксами надо всегда держать ухо в остро, а то запросто понавешают лапшу на уши!
      1. Yeraz 15 апреля 2013 11:10
        Цитата: р_у_с_с_к_и_й
        А вам не кажется, что это всё пыль в глаза? Уж больно много об этом сокращении всё говорят, а если реально посмотреть, то они убирают всего-навсего второстепенные проекты, а от главных и не собираются отказываться! Типо, мы сокращаем свой бюджет, разружаемся можно сказать, и вообще мы миролюбивые и хорошие. Что-то я не особо верю в эти заверения, с этими англо-саксами надо всегда держать ухо в остро, а то запросто понавешают лапшу на уши!

        Полностью согласен.Че то из сокращающего бюджета америки очень много новостей модернезировали это,купили то,разработали се и этих новостей про низ больше чем из увеличивающегося бюджета РФ,странноватое сокращение бюджета no
      2. Joker 15 апреля 2013 11:26
        Американцы не дураки, армию свою уничтожать не будут. Закрыли не нужные проекты, оптимизировали армию и все. Как я и говорил рассчитывать на сокращения не стоит, США будут существовать пока не начнется 3-я мировая, а там либо они спишут свои долги, либо исчезнут, а пока этот долг будет расти, расти и расти и никто им не указ, потому как силенок не хватает, да к тому же все сидят на долларе, сейчас Европа от евро откажется и перейдет заново на доллар и мы на 4-м месте в мире по накоплению доллара, так что США сама по себе не загнется.
        1. Batman 15 апреля 2013 13:03
          евро изначально было зависимым от доллара. От доллара очень трудно избавиться миру, т.к. все попытки избавления - жестко присекаются...
          Batman
  2. Firstvanguard 15 апреля 2013 08:17
    Для пущей экономии бюджета предлагаю населению пентагона убицаапстену wassat
  3. НЛО 15 апреля 2013 09:35
    " МЕДЛЕННО", не то слово, "найти виновных и наказать"! Чтоб быстрее сокращались. А то, что новую БМП не получат - это радует! laughing
  4. Standard Oil 15 апреля 2013 09:40
    Предлагаю американцам потихому уползти, из всех стран где они по недоразумению еще остались, в свой гадюшник и там потихому отдать концы. am
  5. evgenii67 15 апреля 2013 09:54
    Привет каждому! Пока это только бла-бла-бла у них идет сокращение у нас наращивание, но все равно их военный бюджет больше нашего почти в 10 раз, да можно говорить что у них распил на фу-35..... но у нас тоже ивеки-дачи....!Вот когда я буду слышать, что каждый месяц там падают самолеты(от старости, от отсутствия ремонта, от того что летчики мало летают), когда увижу, что они сворачивают свои базы за рубежом, и самое главное когда увижу что они не смогут воевать(Афганистан, Ирак) и навязывать свою подлую сущность другим народам и государствам, ВОТ ТОГДА Я СКАЖУ, НОРМАЛЬНОЕ СОКРАЩЕНИЕ
  6. Canep 15 апреля 2013 10:53
    Хочешь не хочешь, а придется американцам сокращаться и базы свои удирать из многих стан. При ихнем долге 17 триллионов, это единственное, что остается. Правда можно III-мировую устроить - война все спишет, и как показывает история Американцы могут пойти на это.
  7. Explorar 15 апреля 2013 11:24
    Если они уберут свои войска с территории других государств, закроют военные базы за рубежом и перестанут воевать (а так же финансировать всякую ) они в половину сэкономят свой военный бюджет даже без отказа от перспективных разработок. А так - тупо все.
    Сокращают перспективные исследования и соцпрограммы, но раздаривают деньги Израилю, ССА, прибалтийским лимитрофам и нашей белоленточной проститутке, тьфу - оппозиции.
    Explorar
  8. _Forgiven_ 15 апреля 2013 23:54
    Пусть по быстрее сокращают бюджет, а то Асад заколебался гонять боевиков проплаченных амерами по все Сирии. Если бы это проходило безболезненно для народа, то ладно. Но ситуация сложная в стране,а тут как на зло бюджет не сокращают должным образом
    _Forgiven_
  9. Краповый32 16 апреля 2013 06:35
    Надо к ним советников заслать , как они к нам в 90-е . Сердюкова с его тетками . Уж они им все быстренько все оптимизируют и ненужное продадут lol
  10. HAM 16 апреля 2013 13:31
    Чебуран напечатает новых долларов-остальной мир это тихо съест и всё.Вот и выход.
    HAM

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня