Military Review

The last knockout of Nikolai Stein

10
The last knockout of Nikolai SteinPoor king, left without empire and tea leaves! He wrote in his diary everything he did, saw and heard, without thinking about the consequences. His favorite activity was hunting ravens and stray cats in Tsarskoselsky Park. So for every killed crow and cat there was a place in the royal diary. So what? Napoleon is no match for our last king, and shot all the chickens on St. Helena. “I must kill someone!” He said.


However, I am not going to write about Tsar Nicholas. I intend to devote my essay to Vladimir Stein, who was so frivolously placed by the sovereign: his diary fell into the hands of the security officers. And not only about Vladimir Nikolaevich I am going to write. I would like to tell you about the whole Pleiade of Steins, who for two centuries faithfully served Russia and, I hope, will serve.

FROM THE KIND OF GERMAN BARONS

I lived in Germany for more than 15 years and I dare to say: there is no German who would not know who Baron Karl Freigerr von Stein is (1757 – 1831). This man in 1807 – 1808 served as Prime Minister of Prussia. Together with his successor Hardenberg, he implemented progressive reforms in this country, the main of which was the abolition of serfdom. Stein, a fierce antibonapartist, had to flee from Berlin after the defeat of Prussia by Napoleon. First, he settled in Vienna, and then in St. Petersburg. Being a man of charming and gifted by nature brilliant abilities, he quickly won the trust of the Russian emperor, became his friend and adviser. They say that it was Stein who persuaded Alexander I not to go to the world with Bonaparte and not to interfere with Kutuzov to lead military operations. But not only the advice was limited to Baron. He organized agent intelligence in the rear of the French troops, through agents, conducted decomposition work in the invading army, and when Napoleon was driven out of Russia, he set up supplying the Russian army with food and fodder for cavalry.

In those years, many honest Germans donned Russian military uniforms and fought against the "foe" under the Russian flags, showing courage and heroism. Among such Germans was, for example, an outstanding military historian and theorist of the art of war, a colonel, and subsequently General von Clausewitz, the author of the famous monograph “1812 Year”.

After the collapse of the Napoleonic Empire, Karl von Stein returned to Prussia, where he held high positions until the end of his days.

Some of the Baron’s descendants remained in Russia, accepted Orthodoxy and entered the service in the Russian army, although they retained a bit of “background” in front of their last name.

OFFICER BONE

And here in front of me are the service records of Steins, obtained in the Central State Military Historical Archive of the USSR by the descendants of the famous baron, about whom Madame de Stael, the smartest woman of her time, wrote: "This is a man of the ancient stock who lives alone in the hope of seeing his Fatherland free."

All Steins were, if I may say so, exemplary officers of the Russian army. They did not ask for service, they did not refuse service. Not a single comment in all track records! Some rewards and rewards. Only a list of all Russian and foreign orders of Lieutenant General Konstantin Lvovich von Stein (1829 – 1888), a participant in the war for the liberation of Bulgaria from the Turkish yoke, takes up half a page of typewritten text. And his brother, Colonel Nikolai Lvovich von Stein (1839 – 1910), was welcomed by the authorities of that time. The son of Nikolai Lvovich, Vladimir Nikolaevich (the one who went to the tsar to Tobolsk), made a brilliant career. By the 35 years he had already been vice-governor in Kovno (the former name of the Lithuanian Kaunas), Voronezh and Mogilev. Yes, and family life has improved. On the eve of the First World War, he married a pretty girl, Ksenia Alexandrovna Malakhova. She was the granddaughter of General of Infantry (Army General) Nikolai Nikolaevich Malakhov - Commander of the Moscow Military District. Ksenia gave birth to Vladimir three sons - Boris, Nikolay and Sergey, which will be discussed below.

Let us remember that it was in Mogilev that the headquarters of the Supreme Commander of the Russian Army, whom the Tsar appointed himself, was located. Apparently, here, Vladimir Stein got into the circle of people especially close to the emperor, which entailed fatal consequences for him. Under the Soviet regime, Vladimir only briefly left prisons, camps and places of expulsion. In the end, he was still shot. This happened in 1938 during the Yezhovshchina period. It will take several decades, and the employee of the USSR Prosecutor General’s Office Viktor Ivanovich Ilyukhin (later a State Duma deputy from the Communist Party faction) will review all criminal cases against Vladimir Stein and fully rehabilitates him. And the widow of the executed will live up to 90 years. She will have to not only raise her sons, grandchildren and great-grandchildren, but also teach Soviet children the French language, which she, of course, spoke perfectly.

Stalin said that the son is not responsible for his father. To some extent, this was true. My father disappeared in the gulag, but this did not prevent me from graduating from the university and attaining a rather high position on the Soviet social scale.

MY GRANDSON - BARONESSA

How did the fate of the sons of Vladimir Stein? The eldest, Boris, was a civil engineer. Sergey became an actor, worked for a long time at the All-Union Radio. The post-war generation of radio listeners remembers him as the director of the “Youth” program. Nikolai lived a short life, but bright. In 30, the whole country knew and loved him, because he was a famous athlete, boxing champion of the Soviet Union. As a sacred relic, I hold in my hands a membership book issued to Nicholas by the Spartak company. In 41, he voluntarily went to the front. He fought valiantly. I quote the memoirs of his commander, a well-known gymnast of the prewar period, General, Hero of the Soviet Union Gleb Vladimirovich Baklanov, who would not have written these lines if Nikolay Stein did not save his life: “I bend the corner of the shed and head-on with a German. We were both taken aback by surprise. But he has a gun in his hands. Another split second - and he probably will shoot. And at that moment, because of my left shoulder, Nikolay Stein deals a direct knockout blow to the chin to the German. The German briefly twitches his head and falls backwards. Dry shot pistol. The fascist will not rise again. ”

Here I sit and think: some uncle Vasya will read my essay at a pub and say: “Fool! It was necessary in the first battle to run across to the Germans. Those would take it with open arms. Still would! The descendant of the great baron von Stein, son of the repressed! ”What shall I say to that? First, Nikolay has only one last name from the Germans. He felt like a Russian. Secondly, as the events of the newest stories, the homeland is betrayed by the rubbish and parochial cattle, not remembering kinship. People with such genetics as Nikolai Stein did not betray either their fatherland or their comrades.

Nikolai Stein accepted his last fight from the village of Lyubavino near Naro-Fominsk on October 22 of the year 1941. And he was at that time 27 years. There he lies in a mass grave. On the obelisk is clearly read his name.

Sergey Stein also fought, but death bypassed him.

The daughter of Nikolay Stein, Irina Nikolaevna Yurchenko, devoted her entire working life to sport. She was a doctor-coach of the Soviet national teams of figure skaters, gymnasts, double fighters, equestrians. The doctor-trainer seems to be an imperceptible person, and in fact many high-profile records not only on the account of world-famous athletes, but also on the account of this smallest doctor with her medicines and syringes. The sports world knows and honors Irina Nikolaevna.

It so happened that I intermarried with the descendants of Baron Carl von Stein. Native great-granddaughter of champion Nikolay Stein became my own granddaughter. Her name is Sasha. She is well aware of her pedigree. When she was seven years old, she once said to me: “Grandfather, I cannot spank on the pope, because I am a baroness.”

Time abruptly unfolded human fate. Only Irina Nikolaevna still heals athletes. Her son, Nikolai, named after his grandfather Nikolai Stein, became an entrepreneur. Baroness Sasha works in an insurance company. The son of Sergei Vladimirovich Stein, Vladimir, who speaks Italian and French, is the editor-translator in the Gosfilmofonde. There are a lot of foreign films bought today, so there is enough work.

That's all. In conclusion, I would like to sincerely thank the widow of Sergey Vladimirovich Stein - Tamara Alexandrovna, as well as Irina Nikolaevna Yurchenko (nee Stein) and her son Nicholas for providing the most interesting historical material that formed the basis of this essay.
Author:
Originator:
http://nvo.ng.ru
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. nickname 1 and 2
    nickname 1 and 2 April 22 2013 09: 29
    +6
    Glory to the hero!

    Another proof - everyone who lives on this earth becomes Russian! What kind of currents, waves emanate from the Russian land and embrace everyone living with their native ties! Each HOMELAND magnifies this earth! And does not want to betray her.
    1. Garrin
      Garrin April 22 2013 20: 00
      +3
      Quote: nick 1 and 2
      And does not want to betray her.

      Now, however, a different trend has begun. It seems like Russians, but they sell their homeland with offal, wholesale and retail. Starting from the Labeled and further on the list. am
      And to the Steins, I can only bow low to my feet. This is a paradox.
    2. wax
      wax April 22 2013 23: 36
      +1
      This is the very proof that Russian can be of any nationality. Bagration showed it perfectly. This was sensitively felt by Stalin. Russian is a worldview. Moreover, such a worldview that puts a limit to the worldview of Western greed. This limit is the only and last bastion that protects civilization from self-destruction. Glory to the Russians!
  2. NektoRU
    NektoRU April 22 2013 11: 28
    +2
    Russian is not only nationality only, but also a state of mind :-)!
  3. Igarr
    Igarr April 22 2013 12: 50
    0
    Alexey Rostovtsev, thank you.
    I read it with great pleasure.
    But, the young Baroness - still spank on the pope.
    Because otherwise .... they can forget. About the fact that they are baronesses. And they serve - the homeland.
  4. knn54
    knn54 April 22 2013 16: 45
    +1
    The language does not turn to call him German.
    1. Mikhail3
      Mikhail3 April 22 2013 21: 24
      0
      But why? Russian German, everything is fine. And Russian Lithuanians and Russian Buryats, even Russian blacks are. In the meantime, the Russians are invincible!
  5. Black
    Black April 22 2013 17: 10
    0
    Thank you for the article.
    I had many friends, classmates from the Volga Germans. In the 90s, many went to Vaterland. ... they try to live closer together (our mentality), they are very worried about their common homeland, I hope that our children will not have to fight.
  6. Colonel
    Colonel April 22 2013 18: 22
    -1
    Great article, thanks. But why are you talking about Uncle Vasya?
  7. Strategy
    Strategy April 22 2013 20: 17
    +1
    I don’t understand who beat Napoleon - Karl Stein or Mikhail Kutuzov ?! winked But in essence - a worthy dynasty, a worthy family tree. About Uncle Vasya just in vain!
  8. I think so
    I think so April 22 2013 23: 00
    -3
    And what did the author of the article want to say? I still didn’t understand ... Toli, that the king of the d.u.s.r.k., although the same German, felts that some Stein and his relatives served well ... So what? Who knows who and whom he served well ... An empty article if not to say that sheer mura ...

Последний нокаут Николая Штейна

Последний нокаут Николая ШтейнаБедный царь, оставшийся без империи и заварки к чаю! Он заносил в свой дневник все, что делал, видел и слышал, не задумываясь о последствиях. Любимым его занятием была охота на ворон и бродячих кошек в Царскосельском парке. Так вот для каждой убитой вороны и кошки нашлось место в царском дневнике. Ну и что? Наполеон не чета нашему последнему царю, а перестрелял всех кур на острове Святой Елены. «Должен же я кого-нибудь убивать!» – говорил он.

Однако я не собираюсь писать о царе Николае. Свой очерк я намереваюсь посвятить Владимиру Штейну, которого так легкомысленно подставил государь: его дневник попал в руки чекистов. И не только о Владимире Николаевиче собираюсь я писать. Мне хотелось бы рассказать о целой плеяде Штейнов, которые на протяжении двух столетий верой и правдой служили России и, хотелось бы надеяться, послужат еще.

ИЗ РОДА НЕМЕЦКИХ БАРОНОВ


Я жил в Германии более 15 лет и смею утверждать: нет немца, который бы не знал, кто такой барон Карл Фрайгерр фон Штейн (1757–1831). Этот человек в 1807–1808 годах занимал пост премьер-министра Пруссии. Вместе со своим преемником Гарденбергом он осуществил в этой стране прогрессивные реформы, главной из которых была отмена крепостного права. Штейну, яростному антибонапартисту, пришлось бежать из Берлина после разгрома Пруссии Наполеоном. Сначала он обосновался в Вене, а затем в Петербурге. Будучи человеком обаятельным и одаренным от природы блестящими способностями, он быстро завоевал доверие русского императора, стал его другом и советчиком. Говорят, что именно Штейн убедил Александра I не идти на мировую с Бонапартом и не мешать Кутузову руководить военными действиями. Но не только советами ограничивался барон. Он организовал агентурную разведку в тылах французских войск, через агентуру вел разложенческую работу в армии вторжения, а когда Наполеона погнали из России, наладил снабжение Русской армии продовольствием и фуражом для конницы.

В те годы многие честные немцы надели российскую военную форму и воевали против «супостата» под российскими знаменами, проявляя мужество и героизм. В числе таких немцев был, к примеру, выдающийся военный историк и теоретик военного искусства, полковник, а впоследствии генерал фон Клаузевиц, автор известной монографии «1812 год».

После крушения наполеоновской империи Карл фон Штейн вернулся в Пруссию, где до конца своих дней занимал высокие посты.

Кто-то из потомков барона остался в России, принял православие и поступил на службу в Русскую армию, хотя частичку «фон» перед фамилией сохранил.

ОФИЦЕРСКАЯ КОСТОЧКА

И вот передо мной послужные списки Штейнов, добытые в Центральном государственном военно-историческом архиве СССР потомками прославленного барона, о котором мадам де Сталь, умнейшая женщина своего времени, писала: «Это человек античного склада, живущий одной лишь надеждой видеть свое Отечество свободным».

Все Штейны были, если можно так выразиться, образцово-показательными офицерами Русской армии. На службу не напрашивались, от службы не отказывались. Ни одного замечания во всех послужных списках! Одни поощрения и награды. Лишь только перечень всех русских и иностранных орденов генерал-лейтенанта Константина Львовича фон Штейна (1829–1888), участника войны за освобождение Болгарии от турецкого ига, занимает полстраницы машинописного текста. Да и брата его, полковника Николая Львовича фон Штейна (1839–1910), тогдашние власти привечали. Сын Николая Львовича, Владимир Николаевич (тот самый, что ездил к царю в Тобольск), сделал блестящую карьеру. К 35 годам он уже побывал вице-губернатором в Ковно (прежнее название литовского Каунаса), Воронеже и Могилеве. Да и семейная жизнь наладилась. Накануне Первой мировой войны он женился на прелестной девушке Ксении Александровне Малаховой. Она была внучкой генерала от инфантерии (генерала армии) Николая Николаевича Малахова – командующего Московским военным округом. Ксения родила Владимиру трех сыновей – Бориса, Николая и Сергея, о которых речь пойдет ниже.

Давайте вспомним, что именно в Могилеве находилась Ставка Верховного главнокомандующего Русской армии, коим царь назначил себя. Видимо, здесь Владимир Штейн попал в круг лиц, особо приближенных к императору, что повлекло за собой роковые для него последствия. При советской власти Владимир лишь на короткое время покидал тюрьмы, лагеря и места высылки. В конце концов его все-таки расстреляли. Случилось это в 1938 году в период ежовщины. Пройдет несколько десятилетий, и сотрудник Генеральной прокуратуры СССР Виктор Иванович Илюхин (позднее депутат Госдумы от фракции КПРФ) пересмотрит все уголовные дела на Владимира Штейна и полностью его реабилитирует. А вдова казненного проживет до 90 лет. Ей доведется не только растить сыновей, внуков и правнуков, но также учить советских детей французскому языку, которым она, само собой, владела в совершенстве.

Сталин сказал, что сын за отца не отвечает. В какой-то степени это соответствовало действительности. Мой отец сгинул в ГУЛАГе, однако это не помешало мне окончить университет и достигнуть довольно высокого положения на советской социальной лестнице.

МОЯ ВНУЧКА – БАРОНЕССА

Как же сложилась судьба сыновей Владимира Штейна? Старший, Борис, был инженером-строителем. Сергей стал актером, долго работал на Всесоюзном радио. Послевоенное поколение радиослушателей помнит его как режиссера программы «Юность». Николай прожил жизнь короткую, но яркую. В 30-е годы его знала и любила вся страна, потому что был он знаменитым спортсменом, чемпионом Советского Союза по боксу. Как священную реликвию держу я в руках членскую книжку, выданную Николаю обществом «Спартак». В 41-м он добровольно ушел на фронт. Воевал доблестно. Цитирую воспоминания его командира, известного гимнаста предвоенной поры, генерала, Героя Советского Союза Глеба Владимировича Бакланова, который не написал бы этих строк, если бы Николай Штейн не спас ему жизнь: «Огибаю угол сарая и лоб в лоб сталкиваюсь с немцем. Мы оба опешили от неожиданности. Но у него в руках автомат. Еще доля секунды – и он, наверное, выстрелит. И в это мгновение из-за моего левого плеча Николай Штейн наносит немцу прямой нокаутирующий удар в подбородок. Немец коротко вздергивает голову и падает навзничь. Сухой выстрел пистолета. Фашист больше не встанет».

Вот сижу и думаю: прочтет мой очерк какой-нибудь дядя Вася в пивном баре и скажет: «Дурак! Надо было в первом же бою перебежать к немцам. Те бы его с распростертыми объятиями приняли. Еще бы! Потомок великого барона фон Штейна, сын репрессированного!» Что я скажу на это? Во-первых, у Николая от немцев осталась одна фамилия. Он ощущал себя русским. Во-вторых, как показали события новейшей истории, родину предает помоечное и местечковое быдло, не помнящее родства. Люди с такой генетикой, какая была у Николая Штейна, ни отечества, ни товарищей не предают никогда.

Свой последний бой Николай Штейн принял у деревни Любавино под Наро-Фоминском 22 октября 1941 года. А было ему в ту пору 27 лет. Там он и лежит в братской могиле. На обелиске четко читается его фамилия.

Сергей Штейн тоже воевал, но смерть обошла его стороной.

Дочь Николая Штейна, Ирина Николаевна Юрченко, всю свою трудовую жизнь отдала спорту. Она была врачом-тренером советских сборных команд фигуристов, гимнастов, двоеборцев, конников. Врач-тренер вроде бы незаметный человек, а ведь многие громкие рекорды не только на счету всемирно знаменитых атлетов, но и на счету этой самой маленькой докторши с ее лекарствами и шприцами. Спортивный мир знает и чтит Ирину Николаевну.

Случилось так, что я породнился с потомками барона Карла фон Штейна. Родная правнучка чемпиона Николая Штейна стала моей родной внучкой. Зовут ее Сашенькой. Она прекрасно осведомлена о своей родословной. Когда ей было лет семь, она однажды сказала мне: «Дедушка, меня нельзя шлепать по попе, потому что я – баронесса».

Время круто развернуло людские судьбы. Только Ирина Николаевна по-прежнему врачует спортсменов. Сын ее, Николай, названный так в честь своего деда Николая Штейна, стал предпринимателем. «Баронесса» Сашенька работает в страховой компании. Сын Сергея Владимировича Штейна, Владимир, владеющий итальянским и французским языками, – редактор-переводчик в «Госфильмофонде». Зарубежных фильмов-то покупают нынче много, так что работы хватает.

Вот, собственно, и все. В заключение хотелось бы искренне поблагодарить вдову Сергея Владимировича Штейна – Тамару Александровну, а также Ирину Николаевну Юрченко (урожденную Штейн) и ее сына Николая за предоставленный интереснейший исторический материал, который лег в основу этого очерка.
Автор: Алексей Ростовцев
Первоисточник: http://nvo.ng.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 10
  1. ник 1 и 2 22 апреля 2013 09:29
    Слава герою!

    Еще одно доказательство - русскими становятся все кто проживает на этой земле! Какие то токи , волны исходят из земли русской и каждого проживающего родными узами охватывают! Каждый РОДИНОЙ величает эту землю! И не желает предавать ее.
    ник 1 и 2
    1. Garrin 22 апреля 2013 20:00
      Цитата: ник 1 и 2
      И не желает предавать ее.

      Сейчас, однако, иная тенденция пошла. Вроде и русские, а Родину продают с потрохами, оптом и в розницу. Начиная с Меченого и далее по списку. am
      А Штейнам, только низко в ноги поклониться могу. Вот ведь парадокс.
    2. вакса 22 апреля 2013 23:36
      Это то самое доказательство, что русский может быть любой национальности. Это прекрасно показал Багратион. Это чутко чувствовал Сталин. Русский - это мировоззрение. Причем такое мировоззрение, которое кладет предел мировоззрению западной алчности. Этот предел и есть единственный и последний бастион, охраняющий цивилизацию от самоуничтожения. Слава Русским!
  2. NektoRU 22 апреля 2013 11:28
    Русский - это не только национальность только, но и состояние души :-)!
  3. Игарр 22 апреля 2013 12:50
    Алексей Ростовцев, спасибо.
    Прочитал с великим удовольствием.
    Но, молоденьких баронесс - все-таки шлепают по попе.
    Потому что иначе....они могут забыть. Про то, что они - баронессы. И служат - Родине.
  4. knn54 22 апреля 2013 16:45
    Язык не поворачивается назвать его немцем.
    1. михаил3 22 апреля 2013 21:24
      Да почему? Русский немец, все нормально. И русские литовцы и русские буряты, даже русские негры бывают. А пока это так - русские непобедимы!
  5. Чёный 22 апреля 2013 17:10
    Спасибо за статью.
    У меня было много приятелей- однокашников из поволжских немцев. В 90-е многие уехали в фатерлянд. ... стараются жить поплотнее друг к другу(ментальность то наша), очень переживают за общую Родину, надеюсь, что нашим детям воевать не придется.
  6. colonel 22 апреля 2013 18:22
    Прекрасная статья, спасибо. Но только зачем Вы так про дядю Васю?
  7. Strategia 22 апреля 2013 20:17
    Я, таки не понял, кто разбил Наполеона - Карл Штейн или Михаил Кутузов?! winked А по существу - достойная династия, достойная родословная. Про дядю Васю точно зря!
  8. Я так думаю 22 апреля 2013 23:00
    И что хотел сказать автор статейки? Я так и не понял ... Толи, что царь д.у.р.а.к, хоть и немец то же, толи, что какой-то Штейн и его родственники хорошо служили ... Ну и что? Мало ли кто и кому хорошо служил ... Пустая статейка если не сказать, что сплошная мура ...

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня