Military Review

Evaluation of the actions of the Russian army in South Ossetia

6
The response of the Russian army to the situation in South Ossetia was seriously hampered by the fact that the Vladikavkaz-Tskhinval road (167 km) was the only one and had very limited carrying capacity. The troops suffered heavy losses while advancing in columns towards Tskhinval, a large number of accidents occurred. Redeployment of reinforcements by air was not used due to the actions of the Georgian air defense. The duration of the advancement of troops through the Rokk tunnel and the need to quickly concentrate parts from different regions of the country created an impression of the slowness of our command for the average man.

In about a day, the Russian army grouping in the region was doubled. The speed and success of their reaction, as well as subsequent actions, were unexpected not only for the leadership of Georgia, but also for the countries of the West. For three days on a limited and extremely difficult for natural conditions operational direction a group of troops was created, capable of taking effective actions and inflicting a quick defeat on a group of troops of the Georgian army that was not inferior in size.

This bet during the war manifested many shortcomings in the current state of the army, the concept of its development and improvement. First of all, it is worth recognizing that in terms of operational and technical equipment, the army was not ready for such a conflict. During the first day of the fighting, the advantage of the Russian Air Force in the air was not outlined, and the absence of air guards in the advancing troops allowed Georgia to shell Tskhinval for 14 hours. The reason was that the task forces of the Russian Air Force could not allocate specialists to the troops without the parallel deployment of the CP and ZKP. There was no army in the air aviation, Tanks equipment advanced into the conflict zone without air cover. Neither airborne assaults nor methods of helicopter mobile mining detachments were used at the Georgian withdrawal sites.

Evaluation of the actions of the Russian army in South Ossetia


Traditionally, the weaknesses of the Russian army are fighting at night, communications, reconnaissance and logistics. Although in this conflict, due to the weakness of the enemy, these shortcomings did not play a significant role in the hostilities. For example, the absence in the troops of the complex “Zoo-1”, intended for reconnaissance of artillery positions and rocket launchers, complicated the life of the Russian military. This complex is able to detect flying projectiles and rockets and determine the point of shot within a radius of 40 km. It takes less than a minute to process the target and produce the data for shooting. But these complexes in the right place at the right time was not there. Correction of artillery fire was carried out on the radio. Therefore, the suppression of the Georgian artillery was not effective enough, it often changed its position and fired not with the battalion, but with individual guns.

The 58 army of the SKVO had mostly obsolete tanks (75% - T-62 and T-72). For example, the T-72B tank has dynamic protection or “reactive armor” of the first generation. There were a number of T-72BM tanks, but the “Contact-5” complex mounted on them does not withstand hitting tandem cumulative munitions that were in service with the Georgian army. The night sights of our tanks, developed even 30 years ago, are hopelessly outdated. In reality, they are "blind" from the flashes of shots, and visibility is only a few hundred meters. Infrared illuminators are able to increase the range of aiming and targeting, but at the same time they unmask the tank a lot. Older tanks did not have an identification of "friend or foe", thermal imagers and GPS.

In the columns of the Russian troops were all the same BMP-1 "aluminum" tanks with thin armor, primitive observation devices and sights. The same sad picture with armored personnel carriers. Occasionally it was possible to meet the technician equipped with screens or additional armor. To this day, motorized infantry, paratroopers, reconnaissance ride "riding armor", so safer. The machine is not protected from undermining a landmine or armor-piercing projectile, which would have burned everything from the inside. The columns went along the Zar road, leaving not so much padded as broken machinery. Under Java, a part of the attacking vehicle got up, ran out of fuel, had to wait for its delivery from the side of the Rokk tunnel.



The experience of counterterrorist operations in the North Caucasus had a negative impact on the Russian army. The methods and skills acquired there were ineffective against the fight against the mobile adversary, and the units were hit by firebags of the Georgian military. Also, our units often fired at each other, incorrectly determining their position on the ground. After the conflict, 58 military personnel admitted that they often used American GPS, but after two days of fighting, the map of Georgia became just a white spot. The adjustment of fire was carried out using optical devices developed in the 60-80-s of the last century. Remote sensing of the surface using a reconnaissance satellite was not used, because parts lacked receivers. During the battles, poor organization of interaction between units and subunits was noted.

The Air Force engaged only to a limited extent. Perhaps this was due to political restrictions: for example, objects of transport, communications, industry, government bodies of Georgia were not subjected to attacks from the air. An obvious lack of a modern high-precision air force was noted weapons, primarily with the possibility of satellite guidance, X-555 missiles, anti-radar combat missiles for X-28 (90 km range) and H-58 (120 km range). The main strike weapons of aviation remain conventional bombs and unguided missiles. The Russian group consisted of only one middle-class UAV complex, the Bee. Such a "mechanical insect" weighing about 140 kg. and radius of action in 60 km. well established itself in the Chechen campaigns. Unfortunately, now due to a relatively small resource of application, this technique has physically worn out.

This war showed that the commander of the Air Force, to which the regiments of army aviation were subordinated, in the absence of the corresponding armies in the combined armies, could not actually constitute and plan the work of aviation — to assign regiments and squadrons in the interests of motorized rifle divisions every day. It is unlikely that this is generally possible when the communication system is overloaded with requests from the "infantry". Perhaps that is why army aviation 58 army was not involved for the implementation of operational-tactical assault forces.



It should be especially emphasized that the control of aviation is complicated by the fact that there are simply no specialists in the use of army aviation in the air armies and in the Air Force apparatus. After the departure of the qualified leadership of the departments and divisions, the “specialists” on the combat use of helicopter formations became the managers from aviation and air defense. So it’s not the fault of the people from the Air Force and Air Defense and the ground forces that don’t know the specifics that they were not ready to plan and put into practice the attached aviation, which was manifested in the military operation of the army.

When analyzing the actions of the army in the conflict, the lack of joint commands (in the US there are already about 20 years) and the rather weak GLONASS grouping and the associated non-use of guided mines and shells such as "Brash", "Centimeter", "Edge", and not using electronic warfare to suppress Georgian air defense. And the most important thing is the late arrival of reconnaissance data (space and radio direction-finding intelligence, radio, EW), who were unable to inform the country's leadership in a timely manner about the deployment and concentration of the Georgian army.
Originator:
http://topwar.ru"rel =" nofollow ">http://topwar.ru
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Alex55
    Alex55 14 January 2011 01: 35
    +4
    Wild delirium sucked from a finger and not true.

    What is the relation between the adjusted artillery precision munitions Smelchak, Centimeter, Gran (also also Kitolov and Krasnopol), guided by laser illumination, to satellite navigation systems? What does electronic warfare have to do with intelligence? Systems, electronic warfare systems were actively used during the military operations - the Su-34, in the mode of active jamming (thanks to its most powerful airborne electronic warfare system), Mi-8RB helicopters. It was they who suppressed, starting from the 9th, the Georgian Buk systems, not allowing they inflict more serious losses on Russian aviation (it is reliably known that out of the 6 lost planes, only 2 were shot down by Georgian air defense, the rest with friendly fire). And this is a lie throughout the article.
  2. Andrey
    Andrey 22 January 2011 22: 25
    +1
    Six aircraft in three days (officially) - disastrously ... One strategic. In fact, there are more ... A month of war and aviation in Russia there?
  3. n key
    n key 29 November 2011 18: 35
    +1
    Hmm, this war showed the same thing that the generals always didn’t give a shit, the soldiers were left to their own devices, as always the boys won the whole war. Well, at least the Georgians with fighting spirit had problems, and they would have lost even more :(
  4. kopar
    kopar 11 December 2012 14: 19
    +1
    The main thing is that the lessons learned during this war will benefit us. After the collapse of the 90s, I’m glad that they could work at least like that. And do not screw up in the end. The Slavs have more positive, dirt and so much ......
  5. Herman 4223
    Herman 4223 8 January 2017 00: 57
    +1
    The United States only on the first day, desert storm operations lost seven aircraft (according to official figures), four of our aircraft is a huge loss? The suppression of artillery was not effective? And where did they go? Problems with the organization? And when they never happen? The broken equipment on the marches will always be and the fuel in the tanks runs out, but you have to stand and wait for the delivery, but this does not happen in other armies, will it forgive? We did not fight with the gang, but with the army and won quickly, if there were gross miscalculations, it would hardly have happened, the opposite is obvious.
  6. Herman 4223
    Herman 4223 8 January 2017 01: 38
    0
    Bad Assessment

Оценка действий российской армии в Южной Осетии

Ответным действиям российской армии на ситуацию в Южно Осетии серьезно мешало то, что дорога Владикавказ—Цхинвал (167 км) была единственной и имела очень ограниченную пропускную способность. Большие потери войска понесли при выдвижении в колоннах в сторону Цхинвала, произошло большое количество ДТП. Переброска подкреплений по воздуху не использовалась из-за действий грузинской ПВО. Длительность выдвижения войск через Роккский тоннель и необходимость быстро сосредоточить части из различных регионов страны создали у обывателя впечатление медлительности нашего командования.

Примерно за сутки группировка российской армии в регионе была увеличена вдвое. Быстрота и успешность их реакции, а также последующие действия оказались неожиданностью не только для руководства Грузии, но и для стран Запада. За трое суток на ограниченном и крайне трудном по природным условиям операционном направлении была создана группировка войск, способная осуществлять эффективные действия и нанести быстрое поражение не уступающей в численности группе войск грузинской армии.

Пари этом в ходе войны проявились многие недостатки в нынешнем состоянии армии концепции ее развития и совершенствования. Прежде всего, стоит признать, по уровню оперативного и технического оснащения армия оказалась не готова к такому конфликту. В течение первого дня боев не наметилось преимущество российских ВВС в воздухе, а отсутствие в наступающих войсках авианаводчиков позволило Грузии в течение 14 часов обстреливать Цхинвал. Причина оказалась в том, что оперативные группы российских ВВС не смогли выделить в войска специалистов без параллельного развертывания КП и ЗКП. В воздухе отсутствовала армейская авиация, танки техника выдвигались в зону конфликта без прикрытия с воздуха. Не применялись ни воздушные десанты, ни способы вертолетных передвижных отрядов минирования на участках отхода грузинских сил.


Оценка действий российской армии в Южной Осетии


Традиционно слабыми сторонами русской армии остаются боевые действия ночью, связь, разведка и тыловое обеспечение. Хотя в данном конфликте, из-за слабости противника, эти недочеты не сыграли существенной роли в боевых действиях. К примеру, отсутствие в войсках комплекса «Зоопарк-1», предназначенного для разведки позиций артиллерии и ракетных установок, усложнило жизнь российским военным. Данный комплекс в состоянии засекать летящие снаряды и ракеты и определять точку выстрела в радиусе 40 км. Для обработки цели и выдачи данных для стрельбы требуется меньше минуты времени. Но данных комплексов в нужном месте и в нужное время не оказалось. Корректировка огня артиллерии осуществлялась по радионаводке. Поэтому подавление грузинской артиллерии оказалось недостаточно эффективным, она часто меняла свои позиции и стреляла не побатарейно, а отдельными орудиями.

58 армия СКВО располагала по большей части устаревшими танками (75% - Т-62 и Т-72). К примеру, танк Т-72Б имеет динамическую защиту или «реактивную броню» еще первого поколения. Было некоторое количество танков Т-72БМ, но установленный на них комплекс «Контакт-5» не выдерживает попадания тандемных кумулятивных боеприпасов, которые находились на вооружении армии Грузии. Ночные прицелы наших танков, разработанные еще 30 лет назад, безнадежно устарели. В реальных условиях они «слепнут» от вспышек выстрелов, а видимость составляет всего несколько сотен метров. Инфракрасные осветители способны увеличивать дальность прицеливания и наведения, но при этом сильно демаскируют танк. Старые танки не имели системы опознавания «свой-чужой», тепловизоров и GPS.

В колоннах российских войск шли все те же БМП-1 «алюминиевые» танки с тонкой броней, примитивными приборами наблюдения и прицелами. Такая же печальная картина с бронетранспортерами. Изредка можно было встретить технику, оборудованную экранами или дополнительной броней. По сей день мотопехота, десантники, разведка ездят «верхом на броне», так безопаснее. Машина не защищена от подрыва фугаса или бронебойного снаряда, который выжег бы все изнутри. По Зарской дороге колонны шли, оставляя не столько подбитую, сколько сломанную технику. Под Джавой часть наступающей техники встала, кончилось горючее, пришлось ждать его подвоза со стороны Роккского тоннеля.

Оценка действий российской армии в Южной Осетии


Отрицательное влияние на российскую армию оказал опыт контртеррористических операций на Северном Кавказе. Приобретенные там приемы и навыки были неэффективны против борьбы с мобильным противником, были отмечены попадания частей в «огневые мешки» грузинских военных. Также наши части нередко обстреливали друг друга, неправильно определяя свое положение на местности. Военнослужащие 58 армии после конфликта признавались, что нередко использовали американскую GPS, но уже после двух дней боев, карта Грузии там стала просто «белым пятном». Корректировка огня осуществлялась с помощью оптических приборов разработанных еще в 60-80-х годах прошлого века. Дистанционное зондирование поверхности с помощью спутника-разведчика не использовалось, потому что в частях не хватало приемников. В ходе боев была отмечена плохая организация взаимодействия между частями и подразделениями.

ВВС задействовались лишь в ограниченной степени. Возможно, это было связано с политическими ограничениями: так, не подвергались атакам с воздуха объекты транспорта, связи, промышленности, органы государственного управления Грузии. Отметилась очевидная нехватка в ВВС современного высокоточного оружия, прежде всего с возможностью спутникового наведения, ракет «Х-555», ракет противорадиолокационной борьбы для «Х-28» (дальность 90 км) и «Ч-58» (дальность 120 км). Основным ударным вооружением авиации остаются обычные бомбы и неуправляемые ракеты. В состав российской группировки входил лишь один комплекс БПЛА среднего класса – «Пчела». Такое «механическое насекомое» весом около 140 кг. и радиусом действия в 60 км. хорошо зарекомендовало себя еще в чеченские кампании. К сожалению, сейчас из-за сравнительно небольшого ресурса применения, данная техника физически износилась.

Данная война показала, что командующий объединением ВВС, которому были подчинены полки армейской авиации, при отсутствии в общевойсковых армиях соответствующих отделов, фактически не мог составлять и планировать работу авиации – каждые сутки ставить задачи полкам и эскадрильям в интересах мотострелковых подразделений. Маловероятно, что это вообще возможно, когда система связи будет перегружена заявками от «пехоты». Возможно, поэтому армейская авиация 58 армии не привлекалась для осуществления оперативно-тактических десантов.

Оценка действий российской армии в Южной Осетии


При этом надо особо подчеркнуть, что управление авиацией затруднено тем, что в воздушных армиях и в аппарате ВВС специалистов по применению армейской авиации просто нет. После ухода квалифицированного руководства управлений и отделов «специалистами» по боевому применению вертолетных соединений стали управленцы из авиации и ПВО. Так что это не вина людей из состава ВВС и ПВО и не знающих специфики сухопутных войск, что они оказались не готовы к планированию и применению на практике приданной авиации, что и проявилось в военной операции армии.

При анализе действий армии в конфликте к недостаткам можно отнести и отсутствие объединенных командований (в США существуют уже около 20 лет) и довольно слабую группировку ГЛОНАСС и связанное с этим неприменение управляемых мин и снарядов типа «Смельчак», «Сантиметр», «Грань», и не использование средств радиоэлектронной борьбы, для того чтобы подавить ПВО Грузии. И самое главное это запоздалое поступление разведданных (космической и радиопеленгаторной разведки, радио, РЭБ), которые своевременно не смогли проинформировать руководство страны о развертывании и концентрации грузинской армии.
Первоисточник: http://topwar.ru" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://topwar.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 4
  1. Alex55 14 января 2011 01:35
    Дикий бред,высосанный из пальца и не соответствующий действительности.

    Какое отношение имеют корректируемые артиллерийские высокоточные боеприпасы Смельчак,Сантиметр,Грань(еще также Китолов и Краснополь),наводящиеся с помощью лазерной подсветки,к системам спутниковой навигации?Какое отношение имеет РЭБ к разведданным? Системы,РЭБ активно использовались во время боевых действий - Су-34,в режиме постановки активных помех(благодоря его мощнейшему бортовому комплексу РЭБ), вертолеты Ми-8РБ.Именно они подавили,начиная с 9-го числа,грузинские комплексы Бук,не позволив им нанести Российской авиации более серьезные потери(достоверно известно,что из 6-ти потерянных самолетов,только 2 сбито грузинской ПВО,остальные дружественным огнем).И так по всей статье вранье.
    Alex55
  2. Andrey 22 января 2011 22:25
    Шесть самолетов за три дня (официально) - плачевно...Один стратегический. На самом деле их больше... Месяц войны и авиации в России нет?
    Andrey
  3. Nkey 29 ноября 2011 18:35
    мда , война эта показала все тоже , что и всегда генералам насрать , солдаты брошены на произвол судьбы , как всегда пацаны всю войну и выйграли . Хорошо хоть у грузин с боевым духум проблемы были , а так еще бы больше потеряли :(
    Nkey
  4. копарь 11 декабря 2012 14:19
    Главное чтоб уроки извлеченные в ходе этой войны пошли нам на пользу.После развала 90-х радует что хоть так смогли сработать.А не облажаться в конец.Славяне-больше позитива,грязи и так хватает......

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня