Military Review

6 May 1715 in Russia published the first "Military Article"

5
6 May 1715 in Russia published the first "Military Article" 6 May 1715 was the first military criminal and military procedure code - “Military Article” - issued in the Russian state. It was designed by Tsar Peter I during the creation of the regular army. The military article of Peter I of 1715 consisted of 24 chapters, which were divided into 209 articles (articles) and included in the second part of the Military Charter. The military article was valid until the reign of Emperor Nicholas I, when the Code of Laws of the Russian Empire was introduced.


The military's article contained the basic principles of criminal responsibility, the concept of crime, the purpose of punishment, the list of military crimes and set the penalties for them. It also contained a provision on necessary defense and extreme necessity, a list of mitigating and aggravating circumstances.

The military article was borrowed from foreign sources, first of all the Swedish articles of Gustav Adolf were used in their later processing of 1683 (under King Charles XI). True, significant changes were made in the system of punishments, they became more severe, and in the defining part, and interpretations were added for each article. In addition, other European legal documents, imperial German laws, Danish and Dutch statutes, and ordinances of Louis XIV were used in the compilation of the article. Thus, the Military Article was actually a compilation of various European sources. It was prepared by several persons, among whom was the king and cabinet secretary Makarov.

A crime according to the Article was a socially dangerous act that caused harm to the state. A criminal was a person who violated the law, broke the prohibitions established by law. Crimes were divided into intentional, reckless and accidental. When committing intentional or reckless crimes, criminal liability was imposed. The crime was divided into stages: intent, attempted crime and a completed crime. In some cases, in particular for state crimes (an attempt on a monarch, insult, revolt or treason), the law established the punishment for intent. The attempted crime could have been completed and unfinished. The objectives of the punishment were intimidation, isolation of the offender and compensation for damage.

The military's article was, first of all, intended, as its name implied, for the military and was to be used by military courts. Their jurisdiction included persons serving the armed forces. The Article was applied in general courts, as a collection of criminal law.

The military article contained the following types of crimes:

- Against the faith (chapters 1,2). The group of religious crimes included blasphemy, idolatry, witchcraft, violation of the order in the administration of church rituals in the army, church revolt. Punishment relied secular, up to the death penalty.

- State (political) crimes (Ch. 3, 16 and 17). Political crime was treason, armed rebellion or indignation against the sovereign, the plan to kill or capture the monarch, insult the king word, condemn the actions or intentions of the king, secret negotiations with the enemy, opening a password, transferring information about fortifications.

- War crimes (Ch. 4 - 15). They included evasion of military service, desertion. Experienced soldiers were punished with a whip and sent to galleys who had served for less than a year — punished with gauntlets. Soldiers who had voluntarily appeared, deserters were punished more gently and left in the army. Flight from the battlefield was punished by death, while escaping an entire military unit officers were punished. Most severely punished for looting, surrender of fortifications, fortresses. However, the punishment was mitigated or canceled if ammunition, food ran out of the fortress, there were no people to continue protection. Punished for evading military service, insubordination to military discipline, violation of the rules of guard duty, improper treatment of prisoners.

- Official crimes. This group included bribery, embezzlement, abuse of power for the purpose of scrape. The punishment was the gallows. Also official misconduct related to non-payment of taxes, disobedience to the authorities, refusal to perform official duties.

- Crimes against order, management and court. Breaking and destroying decrees, perjury, false oath. They punished cutting off two fingers and penal servitude. Fake stamps and documents. Counterfeiting, unauthorized chasing or admixing of other metals to a coin, was punished by burning. Reducing the weight of money was punished by deprivation of honor and confiscation of property.

- Crimes against decency (public order and peace). Harboring criminals, the maintenance of dens, fights, riots and suspicious gatherings, misappropriation of false names and nicknames with the aim of causing harm, singing obscene songs and pronouncing obscene speeches. Punished, mostly bodily, in some cases, the death penalty.

- Crimes against the person. Murder was punishable by death by beheading. Interestingly, suicide was added to the murder. The suicide was supposed to be dragged through the streets and buried in a “dishonest” place. Injuries, mutilation. In particular, for hitting a knife, the criminal was nailed for an hour with a nail to the board, and then punished with gauntlets. Insult by action: who struck his cheek, the executioner also beat his cheek in front of the formation; took out the sword, but not hit, cut off his hand. For insulting the word punished six months in prison. The slanderer was punished for the crime in which he accused an honest man.

- Property crimes (Ch. 21). Mere theft (up to 20 rubles) was punished with gauntlets, self-mutilation and hard labor. The mitigating circumstances were petty theft, theft due to the difficult financial situation and hunger. A qualified theft was considered theft with a sum of more than 20 rubles, 4 times, during a natural disaster (fire, etc.), from a military arsenal, a guard duty place, from a soldier or officer, from a church. Punished by death - hanging or wheeling. For the robbery committed without weapons corporal punishment was relied upon, the death penalty was in arms. The night thief could have been killed on the spot, as he could have penetrated with the aim of killing. Intentional arson was punishable by death, arson through negligence - compensation for damages. Hiding a find was equated with conscious theft. Transferring the discovery to the authorities should have received a third of its price. The non-return of the property deposited was considered theft.

- Crimes against morality (sex). The rape of a young man or a man (sodomy) by a man was punished with death penalty or a reference to galleys. Banefulness - corporal punishment. Rape - the death penalty or the eternal reference to the galleys. Adultery - corporal punishment, temporary hard labor, etc. (depending on the circumstances of the case). If the spouse forgave the traitor, the punishment was softened. Heresy punished by the "church rules." Incest (incest) - the death penalty. The birth of an illegitimate child - the culprit was to contain the mother and child. In addition, church repentance and imprisonment were provided for.

The main types of punishment were the death penalty, corporal punishment, urgent and indefinite exile, hard labor, confiscation of property, imprisonment and a fine. The death penalty was divided into simple - hanging, shooting, beheading and skilled - wheeling, quartering, burning, pouring the throat with metal. Corporal punishment was subdivided into painful — beating with whip and gauntlets, and self-inflicting — cutting off parts of the body (fingers, hands, ears, nose), applying stigma. Punishing with hard labor, they could send them to galleys, to build fortifications and enterprises.

For officers, there were special types of punishment: temporary or permanent resignation from service; deprivation of rank, demotion in the ordinary; arrest; deprivation of vacation; It was considered the most severe and shameful punishment - defamation or civil death, that is, the person lost legal capacity. Confused was considered to be expelled "from among good people and faithful", could not act as a witness, file a lawsuit, for any crimes other than murder committed against the condemned, it was not supposed to be a criminal punishment. In 1766, this punishment was replaced by deprivation of rights, that is, the restriction of certain elements of legal capacity, and not their complete abolition.
Author:
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Byordovvv1
    Byordovvv1 6 May 2013 07: 56 New
    +1
    Severely, but apparently adequate for the time. Once you have remembered Peter's laws, it means you expect quartering and burning. Serdyukov's "women's battalion", according to the laws of Petrovsky, should be hanged immediately!
  2. soldat1945
    soldat1945 6 May 2013 09: 53 New
    +1
    Maybe I’ll write a little about the topic, but just now I’ve thought that for 14 years of service I received a typographically printed charter for the aircraft and methodological manuals only two times, like a canopy of gold we take care of the old manuals and manuals, the new one, if you give birth, the maximum for what you can count this on an electronic copy in which there may be whole samples missing, it’s interesting someone will be engaged in supplying special forces. literature or not?
  3. omsbon
    omsbon 6 May 2013 10: 05 New
    0
    Oh, Tsar Peter Alekseevich was not tolerant, although this is probably one of the reasons why Peter the Great went down in history!
  4. grafin
    grafin 6 May 2013 11: 08 New
    0
    December 22, 1714 on the flyleaf however not May 15
  5. Alekseev
    Alekseev 6 May 2013 19: 26 New
    0
    "The defiled one was considered to be ejected" from among the kind people and faithful ""
    And now? Three years do not hold leadership positions in state. service! lol

6 мая 1715 г. в России издан первый «Артикул воинский»

6 мая 1715 г. в России издан первый «Артикул воинский» 6 мая 1715 г. в Российском государстве был издан первый военно-уголовный и военно-процессуальный кодекс – «Артикул воинский». Он был разработан царем Петром I в период создания регулярной армии. Воинский артикул Петра I 1715 г. состоял из 24 глав, которые были разделены на 209 артикулов (статей) и его включили в качестве второй части в Воинский устав. Воинский артикул действовал вплоть до правления императора Николая I, когда был введен Свод законов Российской империи.

Артикул воинский содержал основные принципы уголовной ответственности, понятие преступления, цели наказания, перечень воинских преступлений и устанавливал меры наказания за них. В неё также было положение о необходимой обороне и крайней необходимости, список смягчающих и отягчающих обстоятельств.

Воинский артикул был заимствован из иностранных источников, в первую очередь были использованы шведские артикулы Густава Адольфа в их позднейшей обработке 1683 г. (при короле Карле XI). Правда, были сделаны значительнее изменения в системе наказаний, они стали более суровыми, и в определительной части, а также были добавлены толкования для каждой статьи. Кроме того, в составлении артикула были использованы и другие европейские правовые документы, имперские немецкие законы, датский и голландский уставы, ордонансы Людовика XIV. Таким образом, Артикул воинский фактически был компиляцией различных европейских источников. Подготовили его несколько лиц, среди которых был царь и кабинет-секретарь Макаров.


Преступлением по Артикулу называлось общественно опасное деяние, которое причинило вред государству. Преступником назывался человек, который нарушил закон, преступил запреты установленные законом. Преступления делились на умышленные, неосторожные и случайные. При совершении умышленных или неосторожных преступлений вводилась уголовная ответственность. Преступление разделялось на этапы: умысел, покушение на преступление и законченное преступление. В некоторых случаях, в частности за государственные преступления (покушение на особу монарха, его оскорбление, бунт или измена) законом устанавливалось наказание уже за умысел. Покушение на преступление могло быть оконченным и неоконченным. Целями наказания были устрашение, изоляция преступника и возмещение причиненного ущерба.

Артикул воинский был, прежде всего, предназначен, что и следовало по его названию, для военных и должен был применяться военными судами. В их юрисдикцию входили и лица обслуживающие вооруженные силы. Применялся Артикул и в общих судах, как сборник уголовного права.

Воинский артикул содержал следующие виды преступлений:

- Против веры (главы 1,2). В группу религиозных преступлений входило богохульство, идолопоклонство, колдовство, нарушение порядка при отправлении церковных обрядов в войсках, церковный мятеж. Наказания полагались светские, вплоть до смертной казни.

- Государственные (политические) преступления (гл. 3, 16 и 17). Политическим преступлением считалась измена, вооруженный бунт или возмущение против государя, замысел убить или взять в плен монарха, оскорблением словом царя, осуждение действий или намерений царя, тайные переговоры с врагом, открытие пароля, передача сведений об укреплениях.

- Воинские преступления (гл. 4 – 15). В них входили уклонение от воинской службы, дезертирство. Опытных солдат наказывали кнутом и отправляли на галеры, прослуживших менее года – наказывали шпицрутенами. Добровольно явившихся солдат-дезертиров наказывали мягче и оставляли в армии. Бегство с поля боя наказывалось смертью, при бегстве целой воинской части наказывали офицеров. Максимально жестко наказывали за мародерство, сдачу укреплений, крепостей. Однако наказание смягчалось или отменялось, если в крепости кончались боеприпасы, продовольствие, не было людей для продолжения защиты. Наказывали за уклонение от воинской службы, неподчинение воинской дисциплине, нарушение правил караульной службы, неправильное обращение с пленными.

- Должностные преступления. В эту группу входили взяточничество, казнокрадство, злоупотребление властью в коростных целях. Наказанием была виселица. Также к должностным преступлениям относились неплатежи налогов, неповиновение начальству, отказ от выполнения служебных обязанностей.

- Преступления против порядка, управления и суда. Срывание и уничтожение указов, лжесвидетельство, лжеприсяга. Наказывали отсечением двух пальцев и каторгой. Подделка печатей и документов. Фальшивомонетничество, самовольная чеканка или примешивание других металлов к монете, наказывалось сожжением. Уменьшение веса денег наказывалось лишением чести и конфискацией имущества.

- Преступления против благочиния (общественного порядка и спокойствия). Укрывательство преступников, содержание притонов, драки, бунты и подозрительные сборища, присвоение ложных имен и прозвищ с целью причинения вреда, распевание непристойных песен и произнесение нецензурных речей. Наказывали, в основном, телесно, в ряде случаев смертной казнью.

- Преступления против личности. Убийство, каралось смертной казнью через отсечение головы. Что интересно, к убийству было причислено и самоубийство. Самоубийцу полагалась волочить по улицам и закопать в «бесчестном» месте. Телесные повреждения, нанесение увечий. В частности, за удар ножом преступнику на час прибивали руку гвоздем к доске, а затем наказывали шпицрутенами. Оскорбление действием: ударившего по щеке, палач также бил перед строем по щеке; вынувшему шпагу, но не ударившему, отсекали руку. За оскорбление словом наказывали полугодом тюрьмы. Клеветник наказывался за то преступление, в котором он обвинял честного человека.

- Имущественные преступления (гл. 21). Простую кражу (до 20 рублей) наказывали шпицрутенами, членовредительством и каторгой. Смягчающими обстоятельствами была мелкая кража, воровство из-за тяжелого материального положения и голода. Квалифицированной кражей считалось воровство с суммой более 20 рублей, в 4 раз, во время стихийного бедствия (пожар и пр.), из военного арсенала, места караульной службы, у солдата или офицера, из церкви. Наказывали смертью – повешение или колесование. За грабеж совершённый без оружия полагались телесные наказания, с оружием в руках – смертная казнь. Ночного вора можно было убить на месте, так как он мог проникнуть и с целью убийств. Умышленный поджог наказывался смертью, поджог по неосторожности – возмещение убытков. Утаивание находки приравнивалось к сознательному воровству. Передавший начальству находку должен был получить треть её цены. Невозвращение отданного на хранение имущества считалось воровством.

- Преступления против нравственности (половые). Изнасилование мужчиной юноши или мужчины (мужеложество) наказывали смертной казнью или ссылкой на галеры. Скотоложество – телесные наказания. Изнасилование – смертная казнь или вечная ссылка на галеры. Прелюбодеяние – телесные наказания, временная каторга и т. д. (в зависимости от обстоятельств дела). Если супруг прощал изменницу, наказание смягчали. Двоеженство наказывали по «церковным правилам». Кровосмешение (инцест) – смертная казнь. Рождение внебрачного ребенка – виновник должен был содержать мать и ребёнка. Кроме того, предусматривалось церковное покаяние и тюремное заключение.

Основными видами наказания были смертная казнь, телесные наказания, срочная и бессрочная ссылка, каторга, конфискация имущества, тюремное заключение и штраф. Смертная казнь делилась на простую – повешенье, расстрел, отсечение головы и квалифицированную – колесование, четвертование, сожжение, залитие горла металлом. Телесные наказания подразделялись на болезненные - битье кутом и шпицрутенами, и членовредительские – отрубание частей тела (пальцев, рук, ушей, носа), нанесение клейма. Наказывая каторгой, могли направить на галеры, сооружение укреплений и предприятий.

Для офицеров существовали специальные виды наказания: временная или постоянная отставка от службы; лишение чина, разжалование в рядовые; арест; лишение отпуска; наиболее тяжелым и позорным наказанием считалось – шельмование или гражданская смерть, то есть лицо лишалось правоспособности. Ошельмованный считался извергнутым «из числа добрых людей и верных», не мог выступать в качестве свидетеля, вступать с иском, за любые преступления кроме убийства, совершённые против ошельмованного, не полагалось уголовного наказания. В 1766 году это наказание заменили на лишение прав, то есть ограничение отдельных элементов правоспособности, а не полную их отмену.
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. Byordovvv1 6 мая 2013 07:56
    Сурово, но видимо адекватно тому времени. Раз вспомнили петровские законы, значит жди четвертование и сожжение. "Женский батальон" Сердюкова, по Законам петровским, должен быть повешен немедля!
  2. soldat1945 6 мая 2013 09:53
    Может быть не много ни в тему напишу но что то только сейчас задумался, что за 14 лет службы получал типографски напечатанный устав для ВС и методические пособия всего два раза, как навес золота бережем старые руководства и пособия, новое если и рожают то максимум на что можно расчитывать это на электронную копию в которой бывает целые обзацы отсутствуют, интересно кто нибудь займется снабжением войск спец. литературой или нет?
    soldat1945
  3. omsbon 6 мая 2013 10:05
    Ох, не толерантен был царь Петр Алексеевич, хотя наверное это одна из причин, почему в историю вошел под именем Петр Великий!
  4. grafin 6 мая 2013 11:08
    22 декабря 1714 года на форзаце однако а не мая 15
  5. алексеев 6 мая 2013 19:26
    "Ошельмованный считался извергнутым «из числа добрых людей и верных»"
    А сейчас? Три года не занимать руководящие должности на гос. службе! lol

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня