Military Review

Lend-Lease record holder Studebaker US6

10
If we talk about the most massive truck that was delivered to the Soviet Union during the Great Patriotic War, then this is, of course, the famous American Studebaker US6. More precisely, this car was generally the absolute leader among all types of military equipment, which, according to Lend-Lease, came to the USSR during the Second World War. This is a three-axle machine that had two wheel formula options: 6X6 or 6X4. Of the nearly 197 thousands produced by Studebaker US6, more than 100 thousands ended up in the Soviet Union. Of these, more than half were either destroyed during the war or seriously damaged. However, even after the war, it was these American-made trucks that went on the roads of the USSR for quite a long time.


Today, the Russian army has many more options for using trucks for its own purposes. Both ordinary trucks for transporting personnel and special truck tractors for transporting various types of cargo are used here. All details about the order of trucks can be found on the website. http://tdrusavto.ruwhere are various options for technology.

Returning to the Studebaker US6, it is worth noting that it significantly exceeded the trucks that were produced at that time in the Soviet Union. Its lifting capacity reached almost 2,5 tons with a dead weight of about 4500 kg. Used for the movement of gasoline fuel. In this case, the flow rate at a speed of about 50 km / h reached 39-40 liters per hundred kilometers.

An interesting fact that indicates that the Studebaker US6 was not exploited by the American army itself. The reason here is not at all that the Americans considered this truck worse than the analogs produced by other companies. The true reason is not the coincidence of the parameters of the car engine under the standards that existed at that time.

One of the most famous variations of using Studebaker US6 is the Katyusha rocket launcher. Including from this American car rockets were launched that effectively hit the enemy at a great distance. In addition to the Studebaker US6 rocket launchers were placed on Soviet cars: for example, on the BM-13. Monument "Katyusha" on the chassis Studebaker US6 can be seen in the museum on Poklonnaya Hill in the Russian capital.
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. smoker
    smoker 14 May 2013 20: 49 New
    +2
    Actually, BM-13 is the name of the launcher, not of the Soviet car, and the Soviet car on the chassis of which BM-13 was mounted during the Second World War is ZIS-6
  2. Chicot 1
    Chicot 1 15 May 2013 00: 04 New
    +4
    One word - legend.
  3. Rjn
    Rjn 15 May 2013 18: 35 New
    +1
    Something awkward about the Katyusha. What they just didn’t install, for a long time to list, and only standardization in the form of BM-13N (normalized) on Studer’s chassis completed this search for a better foundation.
    1. Andrey77
      Andrey77 26 May 2013 12: 30 New
      +1
      BM-13N survived almost to the BM-21 Grad. :)
  4. Bad_gr
    Bad_gr 18 May 2013 10: 53 New
    +2
    According to Studebaker, I can add that he used a vacuum on the brakes. This is at a time when we had a cable on a lorry (hence, one of the most massive breakdowns in a lorry is the back of the driver's seat). But the patency of the cars said: "Where a lorry has not passed, Studebaker has nothing to do there."
    1. Rjn
      Rjn 20 May 2013 10: 53 New
      +1
      Yes, Studebaker had a brake system with a hydraulic actuator and a vacuum booster.
    2. Andrey77
      Andrey77 26 May 2013 12: 32 New
      +1
      Our Russian ... A lorry is easier to push. :)
  5. Bosk
    Bosk 26 May 2013 16: 38 New
    +1
    As I understand it, the students didn’t give the Americans after the war ... or did they still ship it?
    1. Bad_gr
      Bad_gr 26 May 2013 19: 38 New
      +1
      Quote: Bosk
      As I understand it, the students didn’t give the Americans after the war ... or did they still ship it?

      They gave it completely equipped (of course, those machines that were not ditched in the war). The Americans checked the completeness, loaded onto the ship, and right on the ship, the car went under the press. Scrap briquettes were already going to America.
      1. Bosk
        Bosk 29 May 2013 23: 30 New
        +1
        It turns out those few who, after the war, traveled along the roads of the Union ... were assembled from ditched cars?
  6. Fedya
    Fedya 7 October 2013 20: 27 New
    0
    Actually, Studer ate up to 50 liters!

Военное обозрение

Рекордсмен ленд-лиза Studebaker US6

10
Если говорить о самом массовом грузовике, который поставлялся Советскому Союзу в годы Великой Отечественной войны, то это, конечно же, знаменитый американский Studebaker US6. Точнее, этот автомобиль был вообще абсолютным лидером среди всех видов военной техники, которая по ленд-лизу приходила в СССР в годы Второй мировой. Это трёхосная машина, которая имела два варианта колёсной формулы: 6Х6 или 6Х4. Из почти 197 тысяч произведённых Studebaker US6 более 100 тысяч в конечном итоге оказались в Советском Союзе. Из них более половины были либо уничтожены во время войны, либо серьёзным образом повреждены. Однако и после войны в течение достаточно долгого времени по дорогам СССР ходили именно эти грузовые автомобили американского производства.


Сегодня у российской армии гораздо больше вариантов для использования грузовиков в своих целях. Используются здесь как обычные грузовики для перевозки личного состава, так и специальные седельные тягачи для транспортировки различных видов грузов. Все подробности о заказе грузовой техники можно найти на сайте http://tdrusavto.ru, где представлены различные варианты техники.

Возвращаясь к автомобилю Studebaker US6, стоит отметить, что он существенно превосходил те грузовики, которые производились на тот момент в Советском Союзе. Его грузоподъёмного доходила почти до 2,5 тонн при собственной массе около 4500 кг. Для передвижения использовалось бензиновое топливо. При этом расход при движении со скоростью около 50 км/ч доходил до 39-40 л на сто километров.

Интересен факт, который свидетельствует, что Studebaker US6 не эксплуатировался самой американской армией. Причина здесь вовсе не в том, что американцы считали этот грузовик хуже аналогов, произведённых другими компаниями. Истинная причина – не совпадение параметров двигателя автомобиля под существовавшие в то время стандарты.

Одной из самых известных вариаций использования автомобиля Studebaker US6 является ракетная установка «Катюша». В том числе и с этого американского автомобиля запускались ракеты, которые эффективно поражали противника на большом расстоянии. Помимо Studebaker US6 ракетные установки ставились на советские автомобили: например, на БМ-13. Памятник «Катюше» на шасси Studebaker US6 можно увидеть в музее на Поклонной горе в российской столице.
10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. курильщик
    курильщик 14 мая 2013 20:49 Новый
    +2
    Вообще-то БМ-13 это название пусковой установки, а не советского автомобиля, а советский автомобиль на шасси которого монтировалась БМ-13 в годы ВОВ это ЗИС-6
  2. Chicot 1
    Chicot 1 15 мая 2013 00:04 Новый
    +4
    Одно слово - легенда...
  3. RJN
    RJN 15 мая 2013 18:35 Новый
    +1
    Что-то несуразное по поводу "Катюши". На что её только не устанавливали, долго перечислять, и только стандартизация в виде БМ-13Н (нормализованный) на шасси Студера завершила эти поиски лучшей основы.
    1. Андрей77
      Андрей77 26 мая 2013 12:30 Новый
      +1
      БМ-13Н дожила практически до БМ-21 "Град". :)
  4. Bad_gr
    Bad_gr 18 мая 2013 10:53 Новый
    +2
    По Студебекеру могу добавить, что у него на тормозах использовался вакуум. Это в то время, когда у нас на полуторке стояли тросиковые (отсюда, одна из самых массовых поломок в полуторке - спинка сиденья водителя). Но проходимости машин говорили: " Где полуторка не прошла, там и Студебекеру делать нечего."
    1. RJN
      RJN 20 мая 2013 10:53 Новый
      +1
      Да, у Студебекера тормозная система была с гидроприводом и вакуумным усилителем.
    2. Андрей77
      Андрей77 26 мая 2013 12:32 Новый
      +1
      Наше русское ... Полуторку толкать легче. :)
  5. Bosk
    Bosk 26 мая 2013 16:38 Новый
    +1
    Как я понял Студеры после войны американцам не отдавали...или потом всё-таки отгружали?
    1. Bad_gr
      Bad_gr 26 мая 2013 19:38 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: Bosk
      Как я понял Студеры после войны американцам не отдавали...или потом всё-таки отгружали?

      Отдавали полностью укомплектованные (разумеется, те машины, которые не были угроблены на войне). Американцы проверяли комплектность, грузили на корабль и прямо на корабле машина шла под пресс. В Америку шёл уже металлолом в брикетах.
      1. Bosk
        Bosk 29 мая 2013 23:30 Новый
        +1
        Получается те немногие которые после войны ездили по дорогам Союза...были собраны из угробленных машин?
  6. Fedya
    Fedya 7 октября 2013 20:27 Новый
    0
    Вообще то Студер жрал до 50ти литров !