Military Review

Grenade "Bounce Imaging Explorer" for salvation

10
After the devastating 2010 earthquake in Haiti, rescue teams landed in Port-au-Prince in search of survivors. Francisco Aguilar, a former graduate student in the field of state. politicians struck stories about lifeguards who relied on expensive and sophisticated visual surveillance systems. “Only a few teams were equipped with them, and besides, they needed highly trained specialists to use them,” said Aguilar. In this regard, after some time, Aguilar launched in Cambridge (pc. Mass.), A startup to develop a simpler way to study hard-to-reach places: an inexpensive probe whose dimensions would not exceed the size of a baseball ball and which can be dropped anywhere you want gearmix.ru with a link to popsci.com.


The probe, which was given the name "Bounce Imaging Explorer", has a shock-absorbing shell, it is supplied with six cameras, as well as near-infrared LEDs for illuminating cameras for dark rooms. To use Explorer, the rescuer connects it with a tablet or smartphone and throws the “ball” into the danger zone. The probe immediately begins to photograph the environment, and also takes samples for carbon monoxide, methane, and dangerously high temperatures. After that, the microprocessor inside the probe stitches the photo together, converts the data and transmits them via Wi-Fi. On the connected device, a few seconds after the throw, a circular panorama and complete environmental data appears.

Aguilar very quickly found other opportunities to use the new probe outside of natural disaster zones - for example, in hostilities, in hostage situations, as well as in burning buildings. After that, he began to build work based on feedback from potential buyers. Startup Aguilar in the first months of 18 went through the development of many prototypes. As new requirements arrived, the design improved. After several policemen stated that they would like to hear what was happening in the room, a digital microphone was added to the device.

Firemen, police, inspectors of nuclear power stations and soldiers suggested testing the device, the cost of which, according to Aguilar's idea, should not be 500-1000 dollars. “We want to make it as cheap as possible. This will allow it to be used everywhere, ”says Aguilar.
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. biglow
    biglow 17 May 2013 09: 09
    0
    interesting gizmo Although without the ability to move its capabilities are very limited
  2. Professor
    Professor 17 May 2013 09: 18
    +3
    The inventor was late. Such a papelac was already adopted in 2006.
    Vision Spheres Probe Rooms for Suspects: Technological Solutions Meeting Counter-Terror Indoor Challenges

    http://defense-update.com/20060726_eyeball-r1.html

    http://defense-update.com/20060408_spybowl.html
  3. _KM_
    _KM_ 17 May 2013 10: 51
    +3
    Shock-absorbing is apparently the usual shockproof. :-)
  4. Terrible ensign
    Terrible ensign 17 May 2013 13: 20
    0
    Funny little thing! ..
    It can be very, very useful especially in the initial phase of the assault. The only thing that is not indicated, after what time the information begins to arrive on the operator’s screen ...
    1.In principle, as I see it, use in power police operations - suitable for storming premises, buildings, basements occupied by insurgents (bandits) - "BIE" should be thrown together with the "dawn" and provided with additional protection against the impacting factors of the latter, in the first turn, from a light flash (optical illumination, "burning out" of the CCD-matrix of the camera ...).
    2. It is necessary to think over the place of the "BIE" operator in the combat schedule of the unit conducting the military operation, or the possibility of broadcasting the resulting image on the displays of the unit's fighters' communicators (but the latter is almost fantastic - I have not seen anything like this on specialists yet. Cameras, fiber optics - yes ... but no display for each of the fighters.)
    1. Professor
      Professor 17 May 2013 14: 57
      0
      They didn’t look at those specialists, they don’t give these eggs in plain infantry, the special forces use them.


      1. Alexander IV
        Alexander IV 17 May 2013 19: 54
        0
        Professor, do you by any chance know how much such a "ball" costs?
        1. Professor
          Professor 17 May 2013 20: 34
          +1
          Kopeks, used to cost $ 1500, now it’s already $ 925- cheaper than the Japanese DSLR.
          Security Camera System Remington R1 Eyeball
          1. Alexander IV
            Alexander IV 17 May 2013 21: 20
            0
            Thank you, but I'll probably stay true to my Japanese DSLR)))
  5. Mikhail3
    Mikhail3 17 May 2013 20: 16
    0
    Pancake! I was so hoping that the world would go down a little more. Bombs-machine-guns-tanks-planes ... all of this is nothing. Yesterday. Something that is about to appear as soon as gunsmiths stop holding their heads in the day before yesterday ... well, or develop computer toys in hardware instead of weapons, as we see in various versions of idiotic "cyber armor" ... It will be really hot soon. Or you have to rebuild your whole life. Run solid noise hoods, for example, with the complete impossibility of any activity in low-current systems ...
  6. Gonoriy
    Gonoriy April 23 2016 15: 29
    0
    Interesting, but damp.

Граната «Bounce Imaging Explorer» для спасения

Граната «Bounce Imaging Explorer» для спасенияПосле опустошающего землетрясения в Гаити, произошедшего в 2010 году, в поисках выживших в Порт-о-Пренс высадились спасательные команды. Франциско Агилар, бывшего в то время аспирантом в области гос. политики, поразили истории о спасателях, которые полагались на дорогие и сложные системы визуального наблюдения. «Только некоторые команды были ими оснащены, и кроме того для их использования требовались специалисты имющие высокую подготовку», говорил Агилар. В связи с этим спустя некоторое время Агилар запустил в Кембридже, (шт. Массачусетс), стартап для разработки более простого способа исследования труднодоступных мест: недорогого зонда размеры бы которого не превышали бы размеры мяча для бейсбола и который можно забросить куда угодно сообщает gearmix.ru с ссылкой на popsci.com.

У зонда, которому дали название «Bounce Imaging Explorer», имеется шок-абсорбирующая оболочка, он снабжается шестью камерами, а также около-инфракрасные светодиоды для подсветки камер для темных комнат. Для использования Explorer, спасатель соединяет его с планшетом или смартфоном и забрасывает «мяч» в опасную зону. Зонд сразу же начинает фотографировать окружение, а также берет пробы на угарный газ, метан, и опасно высокие температуры. После этого микропроцессор внутри зонда сшивает фото вместе, конвертирует данные и передает их через Wi-Fi. На связанном устройстве спустя несколько секунд после броска появляется круговая панорама и полные данные об окружении.

Агилар очень быстро нашел другие возможности применить новый зонд и за пределами зон стихийных бедствий – например, при боевых действиях, в ситуациях с заложниками, а также в горящих зданиях. После этого он начал строить работу на основании отзывов потенциальных покупателей. Стартап Агилар в первые 18 месяцев прошел через разработку множества прототипов. По мере поступления все новых требований улучшался дизайн. После того как несколько полицейских заявили, что хотели бы слышать происходящее в комнате, в устройство был добавлен цифровой микрофон.


Пожарные, полиция, инспекторы ядерных электростанций и солдаты предложили протестировать устройство, стоимость которого по задумке Агилара не должна составлять 500-1000 долларов. «Мы хотим его сделать таким дешевым, как только возможно. Это позволит применять его повсеместно», говорит Агилар.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 10
  1. biglow 17 мая 2013 09:09
    штуковина интересная Хотя без возможности перемещатся ее возможности сильно ограничены
    biglow
  2. профессор 17 мая 2013 09:18
    Опоздал изобретатель. Такой папелац уже принят на вооружение в 2006-м году.
    Vision Spheres Probe Rooms for Suspects: Technological Solutions Meeting Counter-Terror Indoor Challenges

    http://defense-update.com/20060726_eyeball-r1.html

    http://defense-update.com/20060408_spybowl.html
  3. _КМ_ 17 мая 2013 10:51
    Шок-абсорбирующая - это видимо обычная противоударная. :-)
  4. Забавная штучка!..
    Может быть весьма и весьма полезной особенно в начальную фазу проведения штурмовых действий. Единственное что не указано, через какое время на экран оператора начинает поступать информация...
    1.В принципе, как мне видится, использование в силовых полицейских операциях - подходит для штурма помещений, строений, подвалов занятых инсургентами (бандитами) - "BIE" должна забрасываться вместе с "зарей" и снабжена дополнительной защитой от воздействующих факторов последней, в первую очередь, от световой вспышки (засветка оптики, "выжигание" ПЗС-матрицы камеры ...).
    2.Необходимо продумать место оператора "BIE" в боевом расписании подразделения проводящего силовую операцию или же возможность трансляции полученного изображения на дисплеи коммуникаторов бойцов подразделения (но последнее уже почти фантастика - пока ничего подобного не видел у спецов. Камеры, фиброоптика - да... а вот чтобы дисплей у каждого из бойцов - нет.)
    1. профессор 17 мая 2013 14:57
      Не у тех спецов смотрели, эти яйца в простой пехоте не дают, ими спецназ пользуется.


      1. Александр IV 17 мая 2013 19:54
        Профессор, Вы случайно не в курсе сколько такой "шарик" стоит?
        Александр IV
        1. профессор 17 мая 2013 20:34
          Копейки, раньше стоил $1500, сейчас уже $925- дешевле японской зеркалки.
          Security Camera System Remington R1 Eyeball
          1. Александр IV 17 мая 2013 21:20
            Спасибо, но я пожалуй останусь верен своей японской зеркалке)))
            Александр IV
  5. михаил3 17 мая 2013 20:16
    Блин! Я так надеялся, что мир еще немного потупит. Бомбы-пулеметы-танки-самолеты... все это - ничто. Вчерашний день. То, что вот-вот появится, как только оружейники перестанут держать свои головы в позавчера... ну или разрабатывать компьютерные игрушки в железе вместо оружия, как мы видим в разных вариантах идиотической "киберброни"... Скоро будет по настоящему жарко. Или придется перестроить всю свою жизнь. Запустить сплошные шумовые колпаки например, с полной невозможностью никакой активности слаботочных систем...
  6. Gonoriy 23 апреля 2016 15:29
    Интересно, но сыровато.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня