Military Review

PGM's Last Argument

12
Usually small weapons companies actually have nothing to catch on the arms market, since all the places under the sun have long been occupied. All major government orders go to the titans of the arms world, who appeared a long time ago and are not going to give up their places to anyone else. However, there are exceptions to the rules, and not only small-scale production of weapons becomes the main source of income for small arms companies. Most often this can be observed with sniper weapons, which, although it requires high quality production, but is not always large-scale. Especially when it comes to high-precision models, which the same army and police do not need so much, and a small arms company can quite cope with providing such rifles even to a relatively large army. Larger companies when creating such weapons usually try to create weapons not only for domestic consumption, but also for export. There are a lot of examples of the army or the police turning to small arms companies for sniper weapons, and one of them is the case with the Ultima Ratio rifle (the Last argument), which was then produced by the still small and little-known company PGM.


At the end of the 80 of the last century, both the army and the French police felt a great lack of precise weapons under the patron 7,62х51. In principle, the French lacked such weapons altogether, but since this ammunition was the most common, it was decided to start with it, especially since it covered most of the tasks that usually lie before a sniper. To eliminate this gap, it was decided to start cooperation with the company PGM, which had just completed the development of the necessary type of weapon and began to actually produce this rifle. Having tested the weapons, it was decided to put this rifle into service with the army and police as soon as possible, which was done, in turn, allowing PGM to evolve and become world-famous, and even “tweak” new types of weapons, among which are and CWS. But about this weapon in other articles.

What is this weapon. In fact, the PGM Ultima Ratio rifle is the simplest model, based on a longitudinally sliding bolt locking the barrel bore when rotated three stops. It feeds weapons from a detachable magazine with a capacity of 5 or 10 cartridges. The barrel of the weapon has a non-chromed bore, it is also noteworthy that there are fins on the outer side of the barrel for better cooling, although it seems that the design of the weapon does not imply a rapid rate of firing. The barrel of the rifle is free-hanging, fixed only on the receiver and does not apply to other elements of the weapon. The barrel is fastened using 4 bolts that pass through the receiver, entering the notch under the barrel chamber, which allows not only to securely fix the barrel, but also relatively quickly remove and install it with just one key. The rifle butt is fixed, it has the ability to be adjusted according to the height of the cheek support, as well as along its length. The weapon has folding bipods that are adjustable in height and can also be equipped with an additional “leg” under the rifle butt. The weapon does not have its own open aiming devices, which can be attributed to minuses, since if the telescopic sight is damaged, the rifle will be absolutely useless. The mount for the optical sight is relatively short, mounted on the receiver on top.

Another interesting point is that, despite the not the most powerful ammunition, the barrel of the weapon is equipped with a fairly large muzzle brake-recoil compensator, instead of a weak flame arrester. This has made it possible to significantly reduce the recoil when shooting, which is already quite tolerable, and in combination with the shock-absorbing butt butt plate, make it really comfortable for the shooter.

Despite the rather wide use of light alloys in weapons, it was not so easy, mainly due to the heavy barrel. So the weight of the rifle equals 7,39 kilograms with a length of 1158 millimeters. The length of the barrel is 600 millimeters. A remarkable point is that the manufacturer turned out to be too honest, indicating in the effective range of the weapon the distance of 800 meters. Due to this, this rifle usually loses in "theoretical" comparisons with more common and well-known samples, although in practice it shows exactly the same results as the best samples for the cartridge 7,62 x51.

A little later, two more versions of the weapon “The Last Cause” appeared, after which the main model received a prefix to the name “Intervention”. Later versions of the rifle received the names Commando I and Commando II. These samples differed in shorter compared to the original barrel, as well as folding butt. The fins for cooling disappeared from the barrel of the weapon. Separately, DTK were reworked, which required shorter gun barrels. Option Commando I rifle is a sample with a barrel length of 550 millimeters, weight 6,26 kilogram and length 1108 and 823 millimeter with a folded and folded butt, respectively. Rifle with the designation Commando II is an even more compact sample. Has a barrel length equal to 470 millimeters, weight 6,12 kilogram and length 1028 and 743 millimeter with buttress folded and folded.

Despite the fact that the “Last argument” rifle is in its essence the simplest type of weapon, it stands out in particular among many others in that it gave a start in life to a small arms company that, without a government order, would remain, most likely, little known. Now PGM’s weapons are known not only in France, but throughout Europe, the company has also reached the US arms market, but there it’s still “fighting” without success - there is very high competition with local companies.
Author:
Photos used:
weaponland.ru
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. bazilio
    bazilio 20 May 2013 09: 42 New
    +3
    Well, what can I say - a completely standard rifle, well, maybe it loses some samples in ergonomics - few picatinny strips, little plastic, not multi-caliber and so on. But in general it turned out simply but with taste.
    1. carbofo
      carbofo 20 May 2013 14: 07 New
      +4
      Good things are often quite simple.
      1. Ch0sen1
        Ch0sen1 20 May 2013 16: 49 New
        +3
        The main thing for a sniper is the quality of the barrel, and the number of picatini slats is secondary, in principle, one is enough.
        1. bazilio
          bazilio 20 May 2013 17: 59 New
          0
          Quote: Ch0sen1
          The main thing for a sniper is the quality of the barrel, and the number of picatini slats is secondary, in principle, one is enough.

          I completely agree. It's just that other analogues of obpicatinin are complete, and here is such a short little bar.
          About the trunk "The gun barrel has a non-chromed bore"
          On the one hand, chrome plating gives a greater resource to the barrel, but if the steel is solid, then it is possible without chrome. Another question that arises is the method of manufacturing the barrel bore — rotational forging, drilling, or what?
          1. scrabler
            20 May 2013 18: 48 New
            +1
            According to the method of manufacturing the trunk, I can’t say anything for sure, but the fact that the trunk without thunder more precisely is a well-known fact, but it is more exposed to external influences.
            1. Mister X
              Mister X 20 May 2013 20: 18 New
              0
              On the manufacturer’s website, in the PGM338 model description, in the Barrel / Caliber section
              I found this expression: Phosphate-coated matt finish
      2. edge
        edge 21 May 2013 04: 09 New
        0
        Quote: carbofo
        Good things are often quite simple.

        recently watched the R-93 Blazer (option tactics), well, very similar .....
  2. the47th
    the47th 20 May 2013 12: 17 New
    +1
    The barrel fins are really superfluous; without it, a rifle could be made cheaper and easier.
  3. report4
    report4 20 May 2013 13: 20 New
    0
    It is not entirely clear the lack of open sights. Well, the weight of the barrel also raises questions. It is a pity that there are no shooting tables and generally no data on dispersion, barrel life, etc., which could be constructively evaluated, discussed, and compared.
  4. alex-cn
    alex-cn 20 May 2013 15: 56 New
    +2
    the ribs are useful not only and not so much for cooling the trunk. they give it extra rigidity, which is very useful for accuracy
    1. scrabler
      20 May 2013 18: 47 New
      0
      If these are longitudinal valleys along the trunk, then I agree without question, and if such as on the first photo, then it is doubtful that they add rigidity.
  5. alex-cn
    alex-cn 20 May 2013 19: 26 New
    0
    I agree. wrote looking at the second option. why cross do not understand
  6. Raphael_83
    Raphael_83 20 May 2013 20: 12 New
    0
    Ay, Cyril, well done! Respected, respected, father! The article is a bit short, but quite informative, and the sample is relatively little known.
    Liked by the basic model:
    although it seems that the design of the weapon does not imply a fast pace of fire.
    ... This is truly - not a trunk, but a solid radiator, "handbrake" chorus resting.
    And correct, if I’m mistaken, but what exactly was the phrase Ultima Ratio Regum francs printed on guns? If true, then even a certain historical symbolism can be traced.
  7. Mister X
    Mister X 20 May 2013 20: 25 New
    +2
    A more detailed description of the trunks for Ultima Ratio

    Intervention

    L = 600 mm (23.6 ") - Cylindrical, Ø25 mm
    Heat disperser / glued muzzle brake.
    Calibers available: 308W (12 "), 7mm08Rem (9.5"),
    260Rem (9 "), 300Sav (12"), 6.5x47 Lapua (8 "), Norma 6XC (8"), 243W (10 ")

    Commando i

    L = 550 mm (21.65 ") / Light fluted contour
    Fixed or detachable muzzle brake
    Calibers available: 308W (12 "), 7mm08Rem (9.5")

    Commando ii

    L = 470 mm (18.5 ") / Light fluted contour
    Fixed or detachable muzzle brake
    Calibers available: 308W (12 "), 7mm08Rem (9.5")

    Silent barrel

    L = 400 mm (18.5 ") / L = 705 mm with silencer
    Detachable integral silencer
    Calibers available: 308W (8 "), 300Sav (8")
  8. Mister X
    Mister X 20 May 2013 20: 33 New
    +1
    Cyril did not mention the two models that the manufacturer offers:
    - Hecate II 12.7x99 mm NATO cal.
    - PGM338 Lapua Magnum

    Apparently, articles about them are being written.
    1. Raphael_83
      Raphael_83 20 May 2013 20: 44 New
      0
      Well, after all, he also wrote that the manufacturer also offers SWR (just the same "Hecate"), "but more on that in another article." hi So we will see.
      1. Mister X
        Mister X 20 May 2013 20: 58 New
        0
        hi As the saying goes, "Mea culpa".
        good
    2. scrabler
      21 May 2013 09: 10 New
      0
      Smashed into three separate articles, it was possible to blind everything into a heap, but it would not be so. A slightly different class of weapon, plus the version for the .338LM cartridge can only be called conditionally French, since it was developed by a designer from another company

"Последний довод" от компании PGM

Обычно небольшим оружейным компаниям ловить на рынке оружия фактически нечего, так как все месте под солнцем уже давно заняты. Все крупные государственные заказы достаются титанам оружейного мира, которые появились очень давно и не собираются уступать свои места кому-то еще. Однако есть и исключения из правил, и не только мелкосерийное производство оружия становиться основным источником дохода небольших оружейных фирм. Чаще всего это можно наблюдать со снайперским оружием, которое хоть и требует высокого качества производства, но не всегда бывает масштабным. Особенно если речь идет о высокоточных образцах, которых той же армии и полиции нужно не так много и небольшая оружейная компания вполне может справиться с обеспечением подобными винтовками даже относительно большой армии. Более крупные компании при создании подобного оружия обычно стараются создать оружие не только для внутреннего потребления, но и для экспорта. Примеров того, что армия или полиция обращалась к небольшим оружейным компаниям за снайперским оружием огромное количество и одним из них является случай с винтовкой Ultima Ratio (Последний довод), которую производила тогда еще небольшая и малоизвестная компания PGM.

"Последний довод" от компании PGMВ конце 80-х годов прошлого века и армия, и полиция Франции ощущала большой недостаток в точном оружии под патрон 7,62х51. В принципе, французам вообще недоставало подобного оружия, но так как данный боеприпас был самым распространенным, то начать было решено именно с него, тем более что он покрывал большинство задач, которые обычно стоят перед снайпером. Для устранения этого пробела было решено начать сотрудничество с компанией PGM, которая как раз закончила разработку необходимого образца оружия и приступила к фактически штучному производству этой винтовки. Проведя испытания оружия, было решено в максимально короткие сроки поставить эту винтовку на вооружение армии и полиции, что и было сделано, в свою очередь, позволив компании PGM развиться и стать всемирно известной, да еще и «настрогать» новых образцов оружия, среди которых есть и КСВ. Но об этом оружии в других статьях.

Что представляет из себя это оружие. На самом деле винтовка PGM Ultima Ratio это простейший образец, в основу которого лег продольно-скользящий затвор, запирающий канал ствола при повороте на три упора. Питается оружие из отъемного магазина вместимостью 5 или 10 патронов. Ствол оружия имеет нехромируемый канал ствола, примечательно также, что по внешней стороне ствола идут ребра для лучшего охлаждения, хотя вроде бы как конструкция оружия не подразумевает быстрый темп ведения огня. Ствол винтовки свободновывешенный, закреплен только на ствольной коробке и не касается других элементов оружия. Крепление ствола осуществляется при помощи 4 болтов, которые проходят через ствольную коробку, входя в вырезу под патронником ствола, что позволяет не только надежно зафиксировать ствол, но и относительно быстро снять и установить его при помощи только одного ключа. Приклад винтовки фиксированный, имеет возможность регулироваться по высоте упора для щеки, а также по своей длине. Оружие имеет складывающиеся регулируемые по высоте сошки, а также может комплектоваться дополнительной «ногой» под прикладом винтовки. Своих открытых прицельных приспособлений оружие не имеет, что можно отнести к минусам, так как если оптический прицел будет поврежден, то винтовка станет абсолютно бесполезной. Планка крепления для оптического прицела относительно короткая, установлена на ствольной коробке сверху.


"Последний довод" от компании PGMЕще одним интересным моментом является то, что, несмотря на не самый мощный боеприпас, ствол оружия оснащается достаточно крупным дульным тормозом-компенсатором отдачи, вместо слабенького пламегасителя. Это позволило в значительной степени снизить отдачу при стрельбе, которая и так вполне терпимая, а в сумме с амортизирующим затыльником приклада сделать ее действительно комфортной для стрелка.

Несмотря на достаточно широкое использование легких сплавов в оружии оно оказалось не таким уж и легким, в основном благодаря тяжелому стволу. Так вес винтовки равняется 7,39 килограммам при длине 1158 миллиметров. Длина же ствола составляет 600 миллиметров. Примечательным моментом является то, что производитель оказался слишком честным, указав в эффективной дальности оружия дистанцию 800 метров. За счет этого данная винтовка обычно проигрывает в «теоретических» сравнениях с более распространенными и известными образцами, хотя на практике она показывает точно такие же результаты, как и лучшие образцы под патрон 7,62х51.

"Последний довод" от компании PGMЧуть позже, появилось еще два варианта оружия «Последний довод», после чего основная модель получила приставку к имени «Intervention». Поздние же варианты винтовки получили имена Commando I и Commando II. Отличались эти образцы более коротким в сравнении с оригиналом стволом, а также складывающимся прикладом. Со ствола оружия исчезло оребрение для охлаждения. Отдельно были переработаны ДТК, что потребовали более короткие стволы оружия. Вариант винтовки Commando I представляет собой образец с длиной ствола 550 миллиметров, весом 6,26 килограмм и длиной 1108 и 823 миллиметра с разложенным и сложенным прикладом соответственно. Винтовка с обозначением Commando II представляет собой еще более компактный образец. Имеет длину ствола, равную 470 миллиметров, вес 6,12 килограмм и длину 1028 и 743 миллиметра с разложенным и сложенным прикладом.

Несмотря на то, что винтовка «Последний довод» является по своей сути простейшим образцом оружия, она особенно выделяется среди многих других тем, что дала путевку в жизнь небольшой оружейной компании, которая бы без государственного заказа так и осталась бы, быстрее всего, малоизвестной. Теперь же оружие компании PGM знают не только во Франции, но и во всей Европе, добралась компания и до оружейного рынка США, но там пока она «воюет» безуспешно – очень высокая конкуренция с местными компаниями.
Автор: Карасик Кирилл

Использованы фотографии: weaponland.ru

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. bazilio 20 мая 2013 09:42
    Ну что тут скажешь- вполне стандартная винтовка, ну может проигрывает по эргономке некоторым образцам- мало планок пикатини, мало пластика, не мультикалиберная и тп. Но в целом получилось просто но со вкусом.
    1. carbofo 20 мая 2013 14:07
      Хорошие вещи достаточно часто очень простые.
      1. Ch0sen1 20 мая 2013 16:49
        Главое у снайперки - качество ствола, а количество планок пикатини вторично, в принципе достаточно и одной.
        1. bazilio 20 мая 2013 17:59
          Цитата: Ch0sen1
          Главое у снайперки - качество ствола, а количество планок пикатини вторично, в принципе достаточно и одной.

          Полностью согласен. Просто другие аналоги обпикатинины по полной, а тут такая коротенькая планочка.
          По поводу ствола "Ствол оружия имеет нехромируемый канал ствола"
          С одной стороны хромирование дает больший ресурс стволу, но если сталь добротная то можно и без хрома. Еще вызывает вопрос способ изготовления канала ствола- ротационная ковка, сверление или что?
          1. scrabler 20 мая 2013 18:48
            По способу изготовления ствола ничего не могу сказать точно, но то что ствол без грома точнее это уже давно известный факт, вот только и внешним воздействиям он подвержен больше.
            1. Mister X 20 мая 2013 20:18
              На сайте производителя, в описании модели PGM338, в разделе Barrel / Calibre
              я нашел такое выражение: Phosphate-coated matt finish
      2. гурт 21 мая 2013 04:09
        Цитата: carbofo
        Хорошие вещи достаточно часто очень простые.

        смотрел недавно R-93 Блазер(вариант тактик),ну очень похожи.....
  2. the47th 20 мая 2013 12:17
    Оребрение ствола действительно лишнее, без него винтовку можно было сделать дешевле и легче.
  3. report4 20 мая 2013 13:20
    Не совсем понятно отсутствие открытых прицельных приспособлений. Ну и вес ствола тоже вызывает вопросы. Жаль, что нет таблиц стрельбы и вообще данных по рассеиванию, ресурсу ствола и много пр., что можно было бы конструктивно оценить, обсудить и сравнить.
  4. алекс-сп 20 мая 2013 15:56
    ребра полезны не только и не столько для охлаждения ствола. они придают ему дополнительную жесткость, что очень полезно для точности стрельбы
    1. scrabler 20 мая 2013 18:47
      Если это продольные долы по стволу, то тут без вопросов согласен, а если такие как на первом фото, то сомнительно что они добавляют жесткости.
  5. алекс-сп 20 мая 2013 19:26
    согласен. писал глядя на второй вариант. зачем поперечные не понимаю
  6. Рафаэль_83 20 мая 2013 20:12
    Ай, Кирилл, молодца! Уважил, уважил, отец! Статья коротковата, но вполне информативна, да и образец относительно малоизвестный.
    Понравилось по базовому образцу:
    хотя вроде бы как конструкция оружия не подразумевает быстрый темп ведения огня.
    . Вот уж воистину - не ствол, а сплошной радиатор, "ручники" хором отдыхают.
    И поправьте, если ошибаюсь, но ведь фразу Ultima Ratio Regum именно франки на пушках печатали? Если правда, то даже некий исторический символизм прослеживается.
  7. Mister X 20 мая 2013 20:25
    Более подробное описание стволов для Ultima Ratio

    Intervention

    L = 600 mm (23.6") - Cylindrical, Ø25 mm
    Heat disperser/glued muzzle brake.
    Calibres available : 308W (12"), 7mm08Rem (9.5"),
    260Rem (9"), 300Sav (12"), 6.5x47 Lapua (8"), Norma 6XC (8"), 243W (10")

    Commando I

    L = 550 mm (21.65") / Light fluted contour
    Fixed or detachable muzzle brake
    Calibres available : 308W (12"), 7mm08Rem (9.5")

    Commando II

    L = 470 mm (18.5") / Light fluted contour
    Fixed or detachable muzzle brake
    Calibres available : 308W (12"), 7mm08Rem (9.5")

    Silenced barrel

    L = 400 mm (18.5") / L = 705 mm with silencer
    Detachable integral silencer
    Calibres available : 308W (8"), 300Sav (8")
  8. Mister X 20 мая 2013 20:33
    Кирилл не упомянул о двух моделях, которые предлагает производитель:
    - Hecate II 12.7x99 mm NATO cal.
    - PGM338 Lapua Magnum

    Видимо, статьи про них в процессе написания.
    1. Рафаэль_83 20 мая 2013 20:44
      Ну так ведь он же написал, что производитель предлагает также и КСВ (как раз-таки "Геката"), "но об этом в другой статье" hi Так что будем посмотреть.
      1. Mister X 20 мая 2013 20:58
        hi Как говорится, "Mea culpa".
        good
    2. scrabler 21 мая 2013 09:10
      Разбил на три отдельные статьи, можно было все в кучу слепить, но уже не то было бы. Немного разное оружие по классу, плюс вариант под патрон .338LM можно назвать только условно французским, так как разрабатывался он конструктором из другой компании

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня