Military Review

PL B-31. Submerged fire

4
In 1967, the so-called "six-day war" broke out in the Middle East between Israel and the Arab group. The war was raging not only in the desert, but also in the Mediterranean. The Arab and Israeli ships were burning. The American reconnaissance ship Liberty attacked by Israeli planes burned. Somewhat later, a monstrous fire broke out on the Soviet submarine B-31. There were victims. For the first time after the war, our sailors were buried in the sea, lowering their bodies, wrapped in sheets and with ballastins attached to their feet, into the depths of a kilometer depth ...


PL B-31. Submerged fire


What happened in the hot summer of 1967 in the Mediterranean? I managed to find participants in those dramatic events — Senior Assistant to the B-31 Commander Captain-Lieutenant (now the Captain of the 1 rank), Golubev, Assistant Commander Vasily Andreyevich Viktorov, Motor Commander Vladimir Vladimirovich Stefanovsky. Here is what they told:

Golubev: "We went to the usual military service in the Atlantic from our home base in Polar. Everything went on as usual, and suddenly there was an order from Moscow: to follow the surface position to Gibraltar, force the strait under water and secretly move forward to the eastern part of the Mediterranean Sea. that the war began in the Middle East, they did not tell us on the radio. They simply turned us around without explaining the situation.

Later it became known that the Soviet government did not expect such a rapid development of events in the Sinai Peninsula. Moscow immediately began to ship all the nearest to the hot region. And a large diesel submarine "B-31" with nuclear torpedoes in the nose devices was deployed heading east. However, she was not destined to arrive in the designated area.

After midnight - only the watches were changed - somewhere in 0-10, the foreman of 2 article Vlasov, the commander of the bilge division, went to smoke in the diesel compartment. The boat was under the RDP (device for diesel operation under water) and the sailors were allowed to smoke in the fifth compartment, where there was a powerful flow of air to the diesel engines in the PAD mine (air supply to diesel engines). There, in a legalized place for smoking, a common-use lighter was hung on the shelf. Vlasov struck, flashed a spark, but the light did not catch fire — gasoline ran out. The foreman took off the lighter and headed to the central post, where a gas canister stood in the latrine enclosure. Officially keep gasoline on submarines is prohibited. But the mechanical engineer took gasoline for long voyages. Often, the electric motor of the economist and other aggregates were filled with seawater, and then there was no better means for washing the rotor than the mixture of gasoline and acetone. Washed, of course, on the surface ...

Type gasoline in a small lighter was uncomfortable. Vlasov poured over his knees, shoes. But the lighter is filled. The foreman unwittingly struck - check whether it will burn. He did not even have time to think anything. It was a reflex, familiar to very many smokers. I took the lighter and my fingers worked - the teal ... Gasoline knees immediately flashed. Vlasov jumped up in horror and knocked over the canister. Flames shot up to the ceiling of the latrine. The watch officer saw a living fireball jump out of the enclosure and rush into the second compartment through the open bulkhead door. The central post was instantly clouded with smoke.
- Boatswain, pop up! - Commander Captain 2 rank Oleg Bochkarev managed to shout.

The first mate was in the fourth compartment - in the radio room. Listened news. Hearing the alarm signal, immediately rushed to the central post. There already a mechanical engineer blew ballast tanks. In the fever, everything was immediately blown away - the boat resurfaced and swayed.

Then began a chain of large and small misadventures - the law of harm worked in full. Roll out the IDP view (air and foam fire extinguishing boat), but the foam supply tap turned out to be clogged with cork dust. They turned on the pump to bring down the flames, but the bilge in a hurry incorrectly shut off the valve, and it began to swing at itself, like on exercises for fighting for survivability. Soon it became impossible to be in the compartment even in the IDA devices (isolating breathing apparatus). The fire was gaining strength - gasoline was burning, paint was burning layered on the bulkheads, spindle oil was burning, which filled the hydraulics systems, the navigator's wooden door was burning ...

The commander gave the order to leave the compartment. He hoped to strangle the fire, sealed the central post. All those who were near the mine shaft, rushed upstairs to the bridge. A mechanic with a mechanic jumped into the fourth, and the commander, political officer and assistant Viktorov - in the second. So the crew was torn in two ...

Stern
- Check - is there anyone left in the center! - shouted the chief mechanic. He pulled the rubber mask, dived into clouds of smoke and flame. He was not long, and Golubev was worried. He threw heavy canisters on his chest and climbed into the flaming compartment. Immediately collided with a mechanic. Returned to the fourth.
- Checked?
“I checked ...” the gasped mechanic exhaled to the end.
- No one?
- No one ...

Alas, there were still four sailors left in the center ... They learned about their fate when the assistant Viktorov and his group entered the emergency compartment for reconnaissance. At the same time, no one missed the boatswain, two bilge and the commander of the radiometrist department. In the stern they thought that they had time to go to the nasal compartments, in the nose they thought that the guys managed to climb the bridge, on the bridge they believed that everyone had left the central post. There was no connection between these three groups separated by fire and sea. Golubev tried in vain to call an emergency telephone in the nasal compartments, but the telephone cable, like other communications, was damaged by fire.

The situation is awful: a semi-flooded submarine is deprived of control - it rolls over on the waves like a big pontoon. The worst thing is that any surface vessel could have run into it in the darkness of the night, especially since the traffic in the Strait of Tunis is quite intense. And in the nose - torpedoes with nuclear combat charging compartments.

Stern
Here in the terminal - the seventh - compartment crammed the most people. The air in the adjacent compartments was gassed to a life-threatening standard. Some have already swallowed carbon monoxide and lay in their beds. The worst thing was that the air in the feed began to deteriorate rapidly. Even healthy was difficult to breathe, that talk about the poisoned. Golubev glanced anxiously at the lifeless bodies that rolled in their bunks to the pitching rhythm. Oh, how needed a doctor. But he stayed in the nose compartment ... It would be possible to remove the emergency hatch. But who could guarantee that he is not under water? Suddenly, the steps of someone's thunder rattled overhead. Lazy iron. Then everything calmed down.

Golubev: “We immediately understood that the feed was above water. The hatch was separated, but the lid only slightly lifted. The air went, but sometimes a wave overwhelmed the gap. They wanted to press the lid off with a sliding stop. But they didn’t find anything to rest on the hatch shaft ... Then the thought came to blow the fuel-ballast tanks. This would allow raising the stern above the water. But it turned out that there was nothing to blow. Compressed air blew away all the time when they surfaced ... There was a reserve - the commander group. managed to float - sour the purge valves. " Suddenly the boat abruptly slipped on the nose and fell on the starboard side. What happened? Drown? Someone jumped?

Bridge
On the bridge, too, noticed that the boat abruptly slipped into the water. In this case, the torpedo-loading hatch in the nose superstructure, through which the commander managed to escape, went under water. Captain 2-th rank Bochkarev took his place on the bridge, but what's the use. None of his teams could be executed. There was no connection with the compartments. And here is the report of the signalman:
- Left forty - goal. Bearing does not change. Moves to us.

Everyone who was on the bridge, anxiously stared at the red-green navigation lights that appeared on the left side of the board. Directly on the boat was someone's ship. Bochkarev shouted to the signalman:
- Give the red rocket!

Over the night sea flashed and crumbled into three red stars flare. However, the ship went without changing the course - right on the boat.
- Give one more!

And the second rocket had no effect. An incomprehensible ship stubbornly went to the ram. It was a military time, and someone could easily get into the head to ram an unknown submarine. However, it could also be a sentinel, who spotted on his radar a large immovable object of unknown purpose.
- Shoot him right in the room! - ordered Bochkarev.

The signalman fired a rocket into the oncoming ship ...

Bow compartment
Viktorov: "In the second compartment, we kept the defense until after the days of opportunity. When the concentration of carbon monoxide gas became deadly, we moved to the first compartment ..."

After leaving the central post, the commander of the boat, the deputy for political affairs Nikolay Myasoedov, the assistant to the captain-lieutenant Viktorov, the head of the RTS, the ship doctor, senior lieutenant of the medical service Sergey Smirnov, torpedoists and electricians were here. Separated torpedo loading hatch leading upward. As soon as Bochkarev and Myasoedov managed to get out through it onto the nasal superstructure, the boat sagged heavily with a trim on the bow and a roll on the starboard. Luke instantly battened down. Now, no one could enter or exit. One misfortune does not come. The fire in the central post entailed many unpredictable other misfortunes. So, the ventilation valve of the ballast tank №3 spontaneously opened, it was instantly filled, and the boat was thrown down. The valve worked because the pressure dropped in the hydraulic system, heated and, apparently, damaged by a fire in the central post. The already difficult situation worsened even more.

Bridge
Unknown watchdog abandoned his intention to ram a submarine. The fifth rocket, fired almost into the windshields of the wheelhouse, forced him to turn away ... It had passed! The navigator, Senior Lieutenant Nikolai Yurchenko, caught himself in the very first minutes: there was a track map on the padding table! And he rushed into the thick of the central post to save an invaluable document. He made his way into the burning wheelhouse, grabbed a map from the table, hid it like a banner in the bosom, and climbed the bridge over the 10-meter shaft, burning his palms on the heated handrails.

Stern
The ninth compartment resembled a gas chamber. It was possible to hold out, breathing half-poisoned, densely breathed air, in a matter of hours. The emergency hatch leading to the top did not open, something stuck at the top, and this was another trick of the law of harm. But Golubeva at this moment was worried about another misfortune: a neglected pump continued to work in the central post. She was catching water in the hold, and the boat was heavy picking up new tons of deadly ballast. Who knows what other tank will spontaneously fill with water? And then a deadly dive into the depths ... Fortunately, the connection with the nasal compartment itself was restored. Golubev asked Assistant Viktorov to sneak into the central post and turn off the switchboard №1, from which the pump was powered.

Nose
“We tried to open the bulkhead door and exit to the second compartment,” says Vasily Viktorov. - But the washbasin door fell between the rack and lid. No matter how they fought, they could not get out. It was possible to open us only from the outside, in the same way as the prisoners of the seventh compartment. Our situation was complicated by the fact that the foreman of 2-th article Vlasov, the culprit of the fire, smelled chlorine. This we just did not have enough! But poisonous gas could be released only in one case - if sea water got into the accumulator pits of the second compartment. But the second was absolutely sealed, I was sure of that. However, others began to sniff and talk about chlorine. It was a kind of mass psychosis - it was enough for one to utter a terrible word, as well as to others it seemed that they, too, smell the smell of gas. It took a tremendous effort of will to stop the imminent panic. There is no chlorine and can not be!

Stern
To solve the problem with the air, Golubev and the mechanic decided to switch the fan, sucking the air for diesel engines through the shaft of the RDP to the compartment, and throw away the spoiled air through the gas-guiding gander. Tried - it turned out. In the musty stench of the seventh compartment went marine ozone. People breathed, cheered up ... Golubev decided to enter the central post. Apparently the fire died down there. He put on an IDA machine and went through three compartments in a difficult way, dedicating himself with an emergency lantern. The fire in the central has indeed ceased. From above, from the bridge, even the upper hatch was removed. But as soon as the Chief Officer approached the "chestnut" - inter-compartment intercom, like a charred "chestnut", unable to withstand a light touch, he collapsed on the deck, raising a swarm of sparks. Upstairs it was decided that the fire had resumed and had the hatch secured. Golubev returned to the stern. The main thing in which he was convinced was that the pump did not drive the water into the hold, but pumped "the sea into the sea." He stopped her, knocking out the switchboard.

Bow compartment
Viktorov: “By morning, the situation was so stabilized that the miner Senior Lieutenant Valery Khristenko came down to the central post from the bridge. He freed the door jammed and released us from the trap. I went to reconnaissance to the central post. shock: Vladimir Skvortsov, a foreman of 2 article, was lying in the doorway of the radiometry crews. His head was badly burned ... A little later, descending into the hold of the central post, I saw the bodies of three more of our sailors, boatswain Sergei Uvarov, of young bilge Dima Mincia and foreman of 1-th article of George Avvakumov. All of them rushed here in a fire, hoping to hide in a large refrigerating chamber where meat is usually stored. But the camera was locked with a padlock ... Carbon monoxide was harder air, the first thing he poured into the hold ... The bodies of the dead were transferred to the torpedo compartment. It is the coolest on the boat. "

At dawn 16 July, the submarine "B-31" surfaced in a cruising position, vented the compartments and was able to give a little turn. It was found out why the inhabitants of the aft compartment could not open the hatch to the end. It turns out that the watch officer Miner Khristenko, when the stern of the boat came out of the water, decided to open the emergency rescue hatch from the outside. While he was trying to do this, a stray wave washed him overboard. At the same time, he left the fencing cover raised, and she jammed the hatch. By incredible happiness, the second wave threw Khristenko onto the hull of the boat, and he wisely hurried to escape from such adventures on the bridge. Immediately they began to contact Moscow by radio, but found that the shifter, which fed the transmitter, was filled with hydraulics oil. In addition, the scale on the equipment strongly faded from carbon monoxide - it was impossible to distinguish the numbers of frequencies. Telegraphs attempted to go on the air on a low-power emergency transmitter. After many attempts, a Soviet ship relayed the signal from the B-31 to the central communications hub, and Moscow learned of the night tragedy. We were instructed to wait at the designated point for a surface ship, to mark our place for passing ships in batches of five red missiles. But the stock of missiles was pretty much spent during the "duel" with an unknown guard. It was necessary to save signal cartridges. The senior mate is almost blind, swallowing smoke. I could barely see through the binoculars the silhouette of a ship going for help.
- Cruiser?

But it was a big anti-submarine ship. Exchanged information - what's what. From towing refused. Follow him as leader. BOD led to the island of Lampedusa. There, on the anchor bank, stood the native mother ship Magomet Hajiyev. First of all, they began to decide what to do with the bodies of the dead. "Hajiyevites" said that delivery to the Union is possible only in one case, if the corpses are put in formalin. But there is no formalin in such quantity. So, it is necessary to bury in the sea ... The bodies of the dead were in the first compartment. In the heat of a subtropical summer, they have already begun to decompose. The stench went such that the watch of torpedoes with nuclear warheads refused to stand on duty. On the third day of the dead sailors were transferred to the floating base, and "Magomet Hajiyev" was removed from the anchor. Send with a lowered flag in the open sea, and there, as it is necessary on naval ritual, betrayed bodies sewn up in one-time sheets the depth. For the first time after the war, sailors were buried at sea ...

Author:
Originator:
http://www.deepstorm.ru/DeepStorm.files/45-92/dts/641/B-31/B-31-2.htm
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. svp67
    svp67 22 May 2013 10: 21 New
    +9
    Yes, once again I’m convinced that for often someone’s feat becomes the result of someone’s stupidity. Sorry for the guys ... the grave is the whole ocean.
    1. Misantrop
      Misantrop 22 May 2013 11: 03 New
      +4
      This is most often the case. The fire of the 9th compartment on the K-19 was also the fault of the personnel. 28 people ... And how many there were, similar cases ...
  2. bubla5
    bubla5 22 May 2013 11: 11 New
    +3
    Yes, in life it’s so constant, one laxity pulls and reveals the more severe ones, sorry for the sailors
  3. pensioner
    pensioner 22 May 2013 12: 54 New
    0
    Yeah ... It's sad to read all this. But we have to. Recently I read a good book by Shigin (?.?.) "Compartments on fire" on this topic. About the not very famous disasters of the Soviet submarine fleet. Many materials were published there for the first time (from the words of the Author).
  4. Vovka levka
    Vovka levka 22 May 2013 22: 59 New
    +1
    Heroism is almost always a consequence of gouging.
    1. Misantrop
      Misantrop 22 May 2013 23: 09 New
      0
      Quote: Vovka Levka
      Heroism is almost always a consequence of gouging.
      Very often - a stranger.
      1. Vovka levka
        Vovka levka 23 May 2013 20: 26 New
        0
        Fact, fact.
  5. Oddyrash
    Oddyrash 26 May 2013 18: 20 New
    0
    Sorry guys!
  6. wheel
    wheel 26 May 2013 22: 11 New
    +1
    and what happened to the culprit of the accident?
  7. slacker
    slacker 22 June 2013 22: 19 New
    +2
    They say correctly: smoking - harm your health!

ПЛ Б-31. Пожар в подводном положении

В 1967 году на Ближнем Востоке разразилась так называемая "шестидневная война" между Израилем и группировкой арабских стран. Война полыхала не только в пустыне, но и в Средиземном море. Горели арабские и израильские корабли. Горел атакованный израильскими самолетами американский разведывательный корабль "Либерти". Несколько позже чудовищный пожар разразился на советской подводной лодке "Б-31". Были жертвы. Впервые после войны наших моряков хоронили в море, спуская тела, закутанные в простыни и с привязанными к ногам балластинами, в пучину километровой глубины...

ПЛ Б-31. Пожар в подводном положении


Что же случилось жарким летом 1967 года в Средиземном море? Мне удалось найти участников тех драматических событий - старшего помощника командира "Б-31" капитан-лейтенанта (ныне капитана 1-го ранга запаса) Голубева, помощника командира Василия Андреевича Викторова, командира моторной группы Владимира Владимировича Стефановского. Вот что они рассказали:


Голубев: "Мы вышли на обычную боевую службу в Атлантику из родной базы в Полярном. Все шло своим чередом, и вдруг приказ из Москвы: следовать в надводном положении к Гибралтару, форсировать под водой пролив и скрытно выдвигаться в восточную часть Средиземного моря. О том, что на Ближнем Востоке началась война, по радио нам не сообщили. Просто развернули нас без объяснения ситуации. Что к чему, узнали по "голосам"...

Уже потом стало известно, что советское правительство не ожидало столь стремительного развития событий на Синайском полуострове. Москва немедленно стала стягивать все ближайшие к горячему региону корабли. И большая дизельная подводная лодка "Б-31" с ядерными торпедами в носовых аппаратах была развернута курсом на восток. Однако ей не суждено было прибыть в назначенный район.

После полуночи - только сменились вахты - где-то в 0-10 старшина 2-й статьи Власов, командир отделения трюмных отправился покурить в дизельный отсек. Лодка шла под РДП (устройство для работы дизеля под водой) и матросам разрешалось курить именно в пятом отсеке, где шел мощный приток воздуха к дизелям по шахте ПВД (подачи воздуха к дизелям). Там же в узаконенном месте для курения висела на шкертике зажигалка общего пользования. Власов чиркнул, сверкнула искра, но огонек не загорелся - кончился бензин. Старшина снял зажигалку и направился в центральный пост, где в выгородке гальюна стояла канистра с бензином. Официально держать бензин на подводных лодках запрещалось. Но инженер-механики брали бензин в длительные плавания. Нередко заливали электромотор экономхода да и другие агрегаты морской водой, и тогда не было лучшего средства для промывки ротора, чем смесь бензина с ацетоном. Промывали, разумеется, в надводном положении...

Набирать бензин в маленькую зажигалку было неудобно. Власов облил себе колени, ботинки. Но вот зажигалка заправлена. Старшина невольно чиркнул - проверить, будет ли гореть. Он даже не успел ничего подумать. То был рефлекс, знакомый очень многим курильщикам. Взял зажигалку и пальцы срабатывают сами - чирк... Сразу же вспыхнули облитые бензином колени. Власов в ужасе вскочил и опрокинул канистру. Пламя взметнулось к подволоку гальюна. Вахтенный офицер увидел, как живой огненный ком выскочил из выгородки и метнулся во второй отсек через открытую переборочную дверь. Центральный пост мгновенно заволокло дымом.
- Боцман, всплывай! - успел крикнуть командир капитан 2-го ранга Олег Бочкарев.

Старпом находился в четвертом отсеке - в радиорубке. Слушал новости. Услышав сигнал аварийной тревоги, немедленно кинулся в центральный пост. Там уже инженер-механик продувал балластные цистерны. В горячке продули сразу все - лодка всплыла и закачалась.

Дальше началась цепь больших и малых злоключений - закон вредности сработал по полной схеме. Раскатали вьюшку ВПЛ (воздушно-пенного пожаротушения лодочная), но краник подачи пены оказался забитым пробковой крошкой. Пустили помпу, чтобы сбить пламя, но трюмный в спешке неправильно перекрыл клапана, и та стала качать сама на себя, как на учениях по борьбе за живучесть. Вскоре в отсеке стало невозможно находиться даже в аппаратах ИДА (изолирующих дыхательных аппаратах). Пожар набирал силу - горел бензин, горела наслоенная по переборкам краска, горело веретенное масло, которым заполнялись системы гидравлики, горела деревянная дверь штурманской рубки...

Командир дал приказ покинуть отсек. Он надеялся задушить огонь, загерметизировав центральный пост. Все, кто находился возле рубочной шахты, ринулись наверх, на мостик. Старпом с механиком шарахнулись в четвертый, а командир, замполит и помощник Викторов - во второй. Так экипаж оказался разорванным надвое...

Корма
- Проверь - не остался ли кто в центральном! - крикнул старпом механику. Тот, натянув резиновую маску, нырнул в клубы дыма и пламени. Его не было долго, и Голубев забеспокоился. Сам вскинул на грудь тяжеленные баллоны и полез в пылающий отсек. Тут же столкнулся с механиком. Вернулись в четвертый.
- Проверил?
- Проверил... - выдохнул в конец задохшийся механик.
- Никого?
- Никого...

Увы, в центральном еще оставалось четыре моряка... Об их судьбе узнали, когда помощник Викторов со своей группой вошел на разведку в аварийный отсек. Тогда же никто не хватился боцмана, двух трюмных и командира отделения радиометристов. В корме думали, что они успели перейти в носовые отсеки, в носу считали, что ребятам удалось подняться на мостик, на мостике полагали, что центральный пост покинули все. Связи между эти тремя группами, разделенными между собой пожаром и морем, не было. Голубев тщетно пытался дозвониться по аварийному телефону в носовые отсеки, но телефонный кабель, как и другие коммуникации, был поврежден огнем.

Ситуация аховая: полувсплывшая подлодка лишена управления - переваливается на волнах, как большой понтон. Самое страшное, что на нее в ночной темени могло наскочить любое надводное судно, тем более, что движение в Тунисском проливе довольно интенсивное. А в носу - торпеды с ядерными боевыми зарядными отделениями.

Корма
Здесь в концевом - седьмом - отсеке набилось больше всего народа. Воздух в смежных отсеках оказался загазован до жизнеопасной нормы. Кое-кто уже наглотался угарного газа и валялся в койках. Самое скверное, что воздух в корме начинал быстро портиться. Даже здоровым было трудно дышать, что говорить об отравленных. Голубев с тревогой поглядывал на безжизненные тела, которые переваливались в койках в такт качке. Ах, как нужен был врач. Но он остался в носовом отсеке... Можно было бы отдраить аварийный люк. Но кто мог поручиться, что он находится не под водой? Вдруг поверху загремели чьи-то шаги. Лязгнуло железо. Потом все стихло.

Голубев: "Мы сразу поняли, что корма над водой. Отдраили люк, но крышка лишь слегка приподнималась. Воздух пошел, но порой в щель захлестывала и волна. Хотели отжать крышку раздвижным упором. Но не нашли, во что его можно упереть в шахте люка... Тогда пришла мысль продуть топливно-балластные цистерны. Это позволило бы приподнять корму над водой. Но тут выяснилось, что дуть-то нечем. Сжатый воздух весь стравили, когда всплывали... Оставался резерв - командирская группа. Но и ее не удалось пустить в ход - закисли клапаны продувания". Вдруг лодка резко просела на нос и завалилась на правый борт. Что случилось? Тонем? Кто-то наскочил?

Мостик
На мостике тоже заметили, что лодка резко просела в воду. При этом торпедопогрузочный люк в носовой надстройке, через который успел выбраться командир, ушел под воду. Капитан 2-го ранга Бочкарев занял свое место на мостике, но что толку. Ни одна из его команд не могла быть выполнена. Связи с отсеками не было. А тут доклад сигнальщика:
- Слева сорок - цель. Пеленг не меняется. Движется на нас.

Все, кто был на мостике, с тревогой уставились на красно-зеленые ходовые огни, возникшие слева по борту. Прямо на лодку шел чей-то корабль. Бочкарев крикнул сигнальщику:
- Дай красную ракету!

Над ночным морем вспыхнула и рассыпалась на три красные звезды сигнальная ракета. Однако корабль шел, не меняя курса,- прямо на лодку.
- Дай еще одну!

И вторая ракета не возымела никакого эффекта. Непонятный корабль упрямо шел на таран. Время было военное, и кому-нибудь вполне могло взбрести в голову таранить неизвестную субмарину. Впрочем, это мог быть и сторожевик, который засек на своем радаре большой неподвижный объект непонятного назначения.
- Стреляй ему прямо в рубку! - распорядился Бочкарев.

Сигнальщик пальнул ракетой в надвигающийся корабль...

Носовой отсек
Викторов: "Во втором отсеке мы держали оборону до после дней возможности. Когда концентрация угарных газов стала смертельно опасной, перешли в первый отсек..."

Здесь после оставления центрального поста оказались командир лодки, заместитель по политчасти Николай Мясоедов, помощник капитан-лейтенант Викторов, начальник РТС, корабельный врач старший лейтенант медслужбы Сергей Смирнов, торпедисты и электрики. Отдраили торпедопогрузочный люк, ведущий наверх. Едва Бочкарев и Мясоедов успели выбраться через него на носовую надстройку, как лодка грузно просела с дифферентом на нос и креном на правый борт. Люк мгновенно задраили. Теперь никто не мог ни войти в него, ни выйти. Одна беда не приходит. Пожар в центральном посту повлек за собой множество непредсказуемых других бед. Так, самопроизвольно открылся клапан вентиляции балластной цистерны №3, она мгновенно заполнилась, и лодка притопилась. Клапан сработал потому, что упало давление в системе гидравлики, раскаленной и, видимо, поврежденной пожаром в центральном посту. И без того нелегкое положение ухудшилось еще более.

Мостик
Неизвестный сторожевик отказался от своего намерения таранить подводную лодку. Пятая ракета, пущенная едва ли не в лобовые стекла ходовой рубки, заставила его отвернуть... Пронесло! Штурман старший лейтенант Николай Юрченко спохватился в первые же минуты: там на прокладочном столе осталась путевая карта! И он ринулся в пекло центрального поста спасать бесценный документ. Он пробился в горящую рубку, схватил со стола карту, спрятал, как знамя, за пазуху, и поднялся на мостик по 10-метровой шахте, обжигая ладони о раскаленные поручни.

Корма
Девятый отсек напоминал душегубку. Продержаться, дыша полуотравленным, густо надышанным воздухом, можно было считанные часы. Аварийный люк, ведущий наверх, не открывался, его что-то заклинило наверху, и это было очередной подлянкой закона вредности. Но Голубева в эту минуту беспокоила другая беда: в центральном посту продолжала работать запущенная помпа. Она нагоняла в трюм воду, и лодка тяжелела, набирая новые тонны смертельно опасного балласта. Кто знает, какая еще цистерна самопроизвольно заполнится водой? И тогда смертельный нырок в глубину... По счастью, сама по себе восстановилась связь с носовым отсеком. Голубев попросил помощника Викторова пробраться в центральный пост и отключить распредщит №1, от которого запитывалась помпа.

Нос
- Мы попытались открыть переборочную дверь и выйти во второй отсек, - рассказывает Василий Викторов. - Но дверь умывальника попала между кремальерой и крышкой. Как ни бились, а выбраться не смогли. Открыть нас можно было только извне, точно так же, как и узников седьмого отсека. Наше положение осложнялось еще и тем, что старшина 2-й статьи Власов, виновник пожара, учуял запах хлора. Этого нам только не хватало! Но ядовитый газ мог выделяться только в одном случае - если в аккумуляторные ямы второго отсека попала морская вода. Но второй был абсолютно герметичен, я был в этом уверен. Однако и другие стали принюхиваться и говорить о хлоре. Это было нечто вроде массового психоза - стоило одному произнести страшное слово, как и другим стало казаться, что они тоже чуют запах газа. Понадобилось огромное усилие воли, чтобы прекратить назревавшую панику. Никакого хлора нет и быть не может!

Корма
Чтобы решить проблему с воздухом, Голубев и механик решили переключить вентилятор, засасывающий воздух для дизелей через шахту РДП на отсек, а испорченный воздух выбрасывать через газотводной гусак. Попробовали - получилось. В затхлый смрад седьмого отсека пошел морской озон. Люди задышали, повеселели... Голубев решил проникнуть в центральный пост. Судя по всему пожар там утих. Он надел аппарат ИДА и отправился через три отсека в нелегкий путь, посвечивая себе аварийным фонарем. Огонь в центральном и в самом деле утих. Сверху, с мостика, даже отдраили верхний люк. Но едва старпом подошел к "каштану" - межотсечному переговорному устройству, как обугленный "каштан", не выдержав легкого прикосновения, рухнул на палубу, подняв рой искр. Наверху решили, что пожар возобновился и задраили люк. Голубев вернулся в корму. Главное, в чем он убедился - помпа не гнала воду в трюм, а перекачивала "море в море". Он остановил ее, вырубив распредщит.

Носовой отсек
Викторов: "К утру обстановка настолько стабилизировалась, что с мостика в центральный пост спустился минер старший лейтенант Валерий Христенко. Он высвободил заклинившую дверь и выпустил нас из западни. Я отправился на разведку в центральный пост. Едва пролез между стволов выдвижных устройств, как испытал первое потрясение: в дверях рубки радиометристов лежал старшина 2-й статьи Владимир Скворцов. Голова его сильно обгорела... Чуть позже, спустившись в трюм центрального поста, я увидел тела еще трех наших моряков - боцмана Сергея Уварова, молодого трюмного Димы Минчия и старшину 1-й статьи Георгия Аввакумова. Все они при пожаре бросились сюда, надеясь укрыться в большой холодильной камере, где обычно хранится мясо. Но камера была заперта на висячий замок. Взломать его не успели... Угарный газ тяжелее воздуха, первым делом он потек в трюм... Тела погибших перенесли в торпедный отсек. Он самый прохладный на лодке".

На рассвете 16 июля подводная лодка "Б-31" всплыла в крейсерское положение, провентилировала отсеки и смогла дать небольшой ход. Выяснилось, почему обитатели кормового отсека не смогли открыть люк до конца. Оказывается, вахтенный офицер минер Христенко, когда корма лодки вышла из воды, решил открыть аварийно-спасательный люк извне. Пока он пытался это сделать, шальная волна смыла его за борт. При этом он оставил поднятой крышку ограждения, и она заклинила люк. По невероятному счастью, вторая волна забросила Христенко на корпус лодки, и он благоразумно поспешил укрыться от подобных приключений на мостике. Тут же стали связываться с Москвой по радио, но обнаружили, что переменник, который питал передатчик, залит маслом гидравлики. К тому же шкалы на аппаратуре сильно выцвели от угарного газа - невозможно было различать цифры частот. Радиотелеграфисты попытались выйти в эфир на маломощном аварийном передатчике. После многих попыток какой-то советский корабль ретранслировал сигнал с Б-31 на центральный узел связи, и Москва узнала о ночной трагедии. Получили указание ждать в назначенной точке надводный корабль, свое место обозначать для проходящих судов сериями из пяти красных ракет. Но запас ракет был изрядно потрачен во время "поединка" с неизвестным сторожевиком. Приходилось экономить сигнальные патроны. Старпом почти ослеп, наглотавшись дыма. С трудом разглядел в бинокль силуэт идущего на помощь корабля.
- Крейсер?

Но это шел большой противолодочный корабль. Обменялись информацией - что к чему. От буксировки отказались. Пошли за ним как за лидером. БПК привел к острову Лампедуза. Там, на якорной банке, стояла родная плавбаза "Магомет Гаджиев". Первым делом стали решать, что делать с телами погибших. "Гаджиевцы" заявили - доставка в Союз возможна только в одном случае, если трупы будут положены в формалин. Но формалина в таком количестве нет. Значит, придется хоронить в море... Тела погибших находились в первом отсеке. В жаре субтропического лета они уже начали разлагаться. Смрад пошел такой, что вахтенные у торпед с ядерными боеголовками отказывались стоять на посту. На третий день погибших моряков перенесли на плавбазу, и "Магомет Гаджиев" снялся с якоря. Отошли с приспущенным флагом в открытое море, и там, как положено по военно-морскому ритуалу, предали зашитые в разовые простыни тела глубине. Впервые после войны хоронили моряков в море...

ПЛ Б-31. Пожар в подводном положении
Автор: Черкашин Н.А.
Первоисточник: http://www.deepstorm.ru/DeepStorm.files/45-92/dts/641/B-31/B-31-2.htm


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 4
  1. svp67 22 мая 2013 10:21
    Да,лишний раз убеждаюсь,что за частую чей то подвиг становиться следствием чей то глупости. Жаль ребят...могила - весь океан.
    1. Misantrop 22 мая 2013 11:03
      Чаще всего именно так и бывает. Пожар 9-го отсека на "К-19" тоже был по вине личного состава. 28 человек... А сколько их было, подобных случаев...
      Misantrop
  2. bubla5 22 мая 2013 11:11
    Да в жизни так постоянно ,одна расхлябанность тянет и вскрывает за собой более тяжкие,жалко моряков
  3. пенсионер 22 мая 2013 12:54
    Да уж...Грустно всё это читать. Но надо. Недавно на эту тему прочитал хорошую книгу Шигин(?.?.) "Отсеки в огне". Про не очень известные катастрофы советского подводного флота. Многие материалы там напечатаны впервые (со слов Автора).
  4. Vovka Levka 22 мая 2013 22:59
    Героизм, это почти всегда последствие раздолбайства.
    Vovka Levka
    1. Misantrop 22 мая 2013 23:09
      Цитата: Vovka Levka
      Героизм, это почти всегда последствие раздолбайства.
      Очень часто - чужого.
      Misantrop
      1. Vovka Levka 23 мая 2013 20:26
        Факт, то факт.
        Vovka Levka
  5. OddyRash 26 мая 2013 18:20
    Жаль ребят!
    OddyRash
  6. калёсик 26 мая 2013 22:11
    а что стало с виновником аварии?
  7. бездельник 22 июня 2013 22:19
    Правильно говорят: курить - здоровью вредить!
    бездельник

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня