Finnish war through the platoon commander

3
A lot has been written about the war that started 71 a year ago, at the end of November 1939, over the past 10-15 years. The battles were preceded by a complex alignment of political forces in Europe, which forced Stalin to "move" the Finnish border, which was in close proximity to Leningrad ...

Often, publications on the Soviet-Finnish war boil down to evidence that the Red Army demonstrated complete military helplessness. It did not take into account the fact that the army was given an almost impossible task - to attack a perfectly prepared line of defense at the most inconvenient time for this - during the Finnish winter!

The authoritative British military historian Liddel Garth wrote about it like this: “An impartial analysis of military actions makes it possible to establish the true reasons for the failure of the Russians in the initial period. The terrain conditions in all respects impeded the advancement of the advancing troops. Numerous natural obstacles limited the possible directions of attack. On the map, the area between Lake Ladoga and the Arctic Ocean seemed rather wide, but in fact it represented a dense network of lakes and forests, which created ideal conditions for conducting stubborn defenses. Moreover, on the Soviet territory near the border, there was only one railway line (the Leningrad-Murmansk line), from which, along the entire length of 800 miles, only one line reached the border. This led to the fact that only three divisions took part in the breakthroughs on the narrowest parts of Finnish territory (in the messages of the Finnish press, the scale of the actions of the Russians was greatly exaggerated), while four divisions were used for the bypass maneuver north of Lake Ladoga.

Alas, the English historian to the reasons for the initial failures of the Red Army, which managed, after all, to break through the impregnable line of Mannerheim, reacted much more objectively than many domestic authors.

In the same UK, the computer used for solving military tasks was offered the raw data of the Soviet offensive of the 1939 year. To begin with, the computer refused to "fight" at minus forty degrees. And after the data that did not suit him were removed, he “broke through” the Mannerheim line with the help of several atomic strikes on it. The computer did not find another solution!

The soldiers and commanders of the Red Army broke through the system of Finnish fortifications without atomic "mushrooms". Here's how one of those who managed to win in unbelievable conditions after the first tragic lessons — platoon commander Nikolai Mitrofanov, who was sent to the front on the very first day of the war - November 30 of the year 1939, described what happened then:

“The train has become. The team: “Unload!” The railway station burnt by the Finns, a pile of stones, highly sticking burnt pipes and logs, deep craters from the shells - all this immediately caught my eye and was imprinted in the brain, and all around it was white and dead. The division headquarters had to go all the way to 30 kilometers. Having built on divisions, started. Well, Finland! We walked in the middle of a dense forest. And he had neither end nor edge. Pine, spruce, birch, slim and beautiful, he rose high to the sky. And around the snow; one has only to get off the road, and one can knee-deep, waist-high ...

Dawn found us dancing "wild dance" in one place. Frost is not lower - 50 ° mercilessly burned his legs, arms, grabbed his nose. The icy balaclava warmed little. Ahnul shrapnel gap. Answering Finnish, our battery struck. We were between two fires, and our and Finnish shells flew over us. Anyone who has not gone through the harsh school of war is probably hard to imagine how you can crawl on your stomach in deep snow. Leaning their hands, people fall over their shoulders. In order to push the foot, you need to get a firm ground. Snow pours over the collar, mittens, boots. Every meter gets later, despite the fifty-degree frost. Great will power, nerves of steel, courage and perseverance - these are the qualities that a Red Army fighter should have in winter conditions ...

We lay in some kind of drainage ditch, and snipers hit us like an open target. I asked Mishin: “Well, Sergey, will we move forward?”. Thinking, he replied: “The main forces remained in their original positions. We jumped out and now paid for it. Today we lost a lot of people. We are shot dead, well, disguise as killed "...

The frost burned our hot bodies in earnest. An ice crust formed on the overcoats; it crunched at the slightest movement. There was no way to roll over either, since the enemy immediately opened fire, and then, willy-nilly, you had to dig in the snow. My nose was cold, my hands were cold, my knees were cold, but my legs were still unbearable. And we all lay there, unable to move either hand or foot, chained by the enemy's fire. Chills beat like in a fever, our teeth clanged. The last hours before the darkness, I lay in some half-forgotten ...

We follow tanks and beat. We hit the attics, the roofs, the windows. Cracking, rattling machines, hit guns. It's getting hot. Crossroads of the road. Gasped mine. The caterpillar scattered like a head-mounted tank. The tank froze. Our movement froze, he blocked our path. We run into a dilapidated barn. A tank gun was staring right at us. No maids. Shells are scattered around. The decision comes by itself. A gun in the opposite direction, a shell in the chamber, a jerk for the cord and ... a terrible explosion shook the barn, smoke, dust, boards, sticks and rubble fell upon us from above. When the smoke cleared, I saw one of the "artillerymen" wounding a bandage on his leg. The second one was already done by the comrades who arrived in time. It turned out: leaving the gun, the Finns poured sand into the barrel ... ".

And in the early morning of March 13, 1940 of the year, the day the war ended, and the peace treaty with Finland entered into force on Soviet conditions, the Commissar of Mitrofanov, he was shot through the shoulder with a Finnish bullet. He described the day as follows: “Machine guns were beating from the ground. Deafeningly loud - tra-ta-ta-ta. Silence again. The wounded returned. The orderly said that in one tent they killed one and wounded one. It's getting light. Somewhere a tool was dull and distant, and then another and another. The blows were increasing all the time, and soon a continuous continuous hum stood over the surroundings. Vyborg bombed! It is difficult to describe such a bombing. No description can not be this rumble. Motors roared continuously in the air. The glow of the fire engulfed the entire garrison. The air was filled with smoke and fumes. Well, finished chatting. Give the Finn heat. And, as if on cue, everything was silent, calmed down, only leaving airplanes were rumbling in the air. Silence around. Strange somehow! ”

But we say goodbye to our hero. He returned to Moscow with a military order on his chest: “The train was slowly approaching the platform. Passengers crowded at the exit to the vestibule. I could not wait. Hurry up. Countless stream of passengers and greeters rushed to the platform. Whistles of locomotives, car sirens, trams, people, people, people. The first time I was even confused. I'm used to the whistling of shells, howling mines, the rattle of machine guns and the shells breaking. Behind, unexpectedly, someone hung on his neck, and hot kisses burned his lips, cheeks, nose, and his wife’s quiet, dear, almost already forgotten voice repeated: “Kohl, dear Kohl! Kohl is back. "
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. pavlo
    0
    January 11 2011
    Yes, they are heroes, what else to say!
  2. 0
    December 13 2012
    The ancestors were able to fight. In such conditions, not only did it survive, but also win to manage!
  3. 0
    October 13 2016
    Purely for reference:
    1) winter was chosen because in the summer there are continuous swamps and lakes, you can advance only by narrow defile
    2) in December-January, the frost was -10-15, the thickness of the snow cover was about 15-20 cm.
    3) -40-50 frosts and deep snowdrifts - this is February 1940.
    4) the main reason for the failure of the first assault - disgusting intelligence and lack of forces - the troops of only one Leningrad military district.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Финская война глазами взводного командира

Финская война глазами взводного командира
О войне, начавшейся 71 год назад, в конце ноября 1939 года за последние10-15 лет написано очень много. Боям предшествовал сложный расклад политических сил в Европе, заставивший Сталина «двигать» финскую границу, находившуюся в непосредственной близости от Ленинграда…

Зачастую публикации на тему советско-финской войны сводятся к доказательствам того, что Красная Армия продемонстрировала-де полную военную беспомощность. При этом совершенно не учитывалось то обстоятельство, что перед армией была поставлена почти невыполнимая задача – наступать на прекрасно подготовленную линию обороны в самое неудобное для этого время – во время финской зимы!

Авторитетнейший британский военный историк Лиддел Гарт писал об этом так: «Беспристрастный анализ военных действий дает возможность установить истинные причины неудачи русских в первоначальный период. Условия местности во всех отношениях затрудняли продвижение наступавших войск. Многочисленные естественные препятствия ограничивали возможные направления наступления. На карте участок между Ладожским озером и Северным Ледовитым океаном казался довольно широким, но фактически он представлял собой густую сеть озер и лесов, что создавало идеальные условия для ведения упорной обороны. Более того, на советской территории вблизи границы проходила только одна железнодорожная линия (линия Ленинград – Мурманск), от которой, на всем протяжении в 800 миль, к границе тянулась лишь одна ветка. Это привело к тому, что в прорывах на самых узких участках финской территории участвовало всего по три дивизии (в сообщениях финской печати масштабы действий русских значительно преувеличивались), в то время как для обходного маневра севернее Ладожского озера использовалось четыре дивизии».


Увы, английский историк к причинам первоначальных неудач Красной Армии, сумевшей, в конце концов, прорвать неприступную линию Маннергейма, отнесся куда объективнее многих отечественных авторов.

В той же Великобритании компьютеру, используемому для решения военных задач, предложили исходные данные советского наступления 1939 года. Для начала компьютер отказался «воевать» при минус сорока градусах. А после того, как не устраивающие его данные убрали, «прорвал» линию Маннергейма при помощи нескольких атомных ударов по ней. Другого решения компьютер не нашел!

Бойцы и командиры Красной Армии прорывали систему финских укреплений без атомных «грибов». Вот как происходившее тогда описывал один из тех, кто сумел после первых трагических уроков победить в немыслимых условиях – командир взвода Николай Митрофанов, направленный на фронт в первый же день войны – 30 ноября 1939 года:

«Поезд стал. Команда: «Разгружайся!» Сожженная финнами железнодорожная станция, груда камней, высоко торчащие обгорелые трубы и бревна, глубокие воронки от снарядов – все это сразу бросилось в глаза и запечатлелось в мозгу, а кругом – бело и мертво. До штаба дивизии предстояло пройти путь в 30 километров. Построившись по подразделениям, тронулись. Ну и Финляндия! Мы шли среди густого леса. И не было ему ни конца, ни края. Сосновый, еловый, березовый, стройный и красивый, высоко поднимался он к небу. А кругом снег; стоит только сойти с дороги, и можно провалиться по колено, по пояс…

Рассвет застал нас танцующими «дикий танец» на одном месте. Мороз не ниже - 50° нещадно жег ноги, руки, хватал за нос. Обледенелые подшлемники мало согревали. Ахнул шрапнельный разрыв. Отвечая финской, ударила наша батарея. Мы были между двух огней, над нами проносились и наши, и финские снаряды. Тому, кто не прошел суровую школу войны, пожалуй, трудно представить, как можно ползти на животе по глубоком снегу. Опираясь руками, люди проваливаются по плечи. Для того чтобы сделать толчок ногой, необходимо достать твердую почву. Снег сыплется за воротник, в рукавицы, в валенки. Каждый метр достается потом, несмотря на пятидесятиградусный мороз. Большая сила воли, стальные нервы, мужество и настойчивость – вот те качества, которыми должен обладать боец Красной Армии, действующий в зимних условиях…

Мы лежали в какой-то водосточной канаве, и снайперы били по нам, как по открытой мишени. Я спросил у Мишина: «Ну как, Сергей, будем двигаться вперед?». Подумав, он ответил: «Основные силы остались на исходных позициях. Мы выскочили и вот теперь за это поплатились. Сегодня мы потеряли много людей. Нас расстреливают лежачих, ну и маскируйся под убитого»...

Мороз не на шутку обжигал наши разгоряченные тела. На шинелях образовалась ледяная корка, она хрустела при малейшем движении. Перевернуться тоже не было никакой возможности, так как противник тут же открывал огонь, и тогда волей-неволей приходилось зарываться в снег. Мерз нос, мерзли руки, мерзли колени, но еще невыносимей мерзли ноги. А мы, все лежали, не имея возможности двинуть ни рукой, ни ногой, прикованные огнем противника Озноб бил, как в лихорадке, зубы лязгали. Последние часы перед темнотой я пролежал в каком-то полузабытьи...

Мы идем за танками и бьем. Бьем по чердакам, по крышам, по окнам. Трещат, стрекочут автоматы, бьют орудия. Становится жарко. Перекресток дороги. Ахнула мина. Со звоном разлетелась гусеница подголовным танком. Танк замёр. Замерло и наше движение, он загородил нам дорогу. Вбегаем в полуразрушенный сарай. Прямо на нас уставилась танковая пушка. Прислуги нет. Вокруг разбросаны снаряды. Решение приходит само. Орудие в противоположную сторону, снаряд в патронник, рывок за шнур и... страшный взрыв потряс сарай, дым, пыль, доски, палки и щебень обрушились на нас сверху. Когда дым рассеялся, я увидел одного из «артиллеристов», мотающего на ногу бинт. Второму уже делали перевязку подоспевшие товарищи. Выяснилось: покидая орудие, финны набили в ствол песку...».

А ранним утром 13 марта 1940 года, в день, когда закончилась война, и вступил в силу мирный договор с Финляндией на советских условиях, комвзвода Митрофанов, был ранен навылет в плечо финской пулей. Он так описал этот день: «С земли били пулеметы. Оглушающе громко – тра-та-та-та. Снова тишина. Вернулись раненые. Санитар сообщил, что в одной палатке одного убило и одного ранило. Светает. Где-то глухо и отдаленно ухнуло орудие, затем еще и еще. Удары все учащались, и вскоре сплошной непрерывный гул стоял над окрестностью. Выборг бомбят! Трудно описать такую бомбежку. Никакому описанию не поддается этот гул. В воздухе непрерывно рокотали моторы. Зарево пожара охватило весь гарнизон. Воздух наполнился дымом и гарью. Ну, кончили чикаться. Дают финну жару. И, как по команде, все смолкло, затихло, только в воздухе еще рокотали уходящие самолеты. Тишина кругом. Странно как-то!».

Но простимся с нашим героем. Он вернулся в Москву с боевым орденом на груди: «Поезд медленно подходил к платформе. У выхода в тамбур толпились пассажиры. Не терпелось. Скорей. Бесчисленный поток пассажиров и встречающих хлынул на перрон. Свистки паровозов, сирены машин, звонки трамваев, люди, люди, люди. Первое время я даже растерялся. Я привык к свисту снарядов, вою мин, трескотне автоматов и разрывам снарядов. Сзади, неожиданно, кто-то повис на шее, и горячие поцелуи обожгли губы, щеки, нос, а тихий, грудной, родной и уже почти забытый голос жены повторял: «Коля, милый Коля! Коля вернулся».
Первоисточник: http://segodnia.ru/" class="text" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://segodnia.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. pavlo 11 января 2011 21:26
    Да герои они-что еще сказать!
    pavlo
  2. копарь 13 декабря 2012 09:37
    Умели воевать предки.В таких условиях мало того что выжить,так еще и победить умудриться!
  3. Molot1979 13 октября 2016 12:21
    Чисто для справки:
    1)зима была выбрана потому, что летом там сплошные болота и озера, наступать можно только по узким дефиле
    2) в декабре-январе мороз был -10-15, толщина снежного покрова порядка 15-20 см.
    3) морозы -40-50 и глубокие сугробы - это уже февраль 1940.
    4) основная причина неудачи первого штурма - отвратительная разведка и недостаток сил - войска только одного Ленинградского военного округа.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня