Military Review

Russian victories in the Caucasus: the seizure of the Bayazet pashalyk and the defense of Akhaltsikha in 1829

7
The campaign in 1828 in Transcaucasia was successful for the Russian army. After taking Akhalkalaki and Akhaltsykh (Russian victories in the Caucasus: the capture of Akhalkalaki and the Akhaltsikhe battle in 1828), Russian troops 17 of August without a battle occupied the fortress Atshur (Atskuri). Atshur fortress was located at the southern entrance to the Borzhomi gorge. The fortress captured 14 guns and 300 pounds of gunpowder. Then the Russian troops occupied Ardagan, which stood at an important crossroads of mountain roads. It was captured 31 gun.


Capture of the Bayazet pashalyk

The success of Paskevich’s corps predetermined victories in other areas. On the left flank of the corps deployed against the Ottoman Empire, in the east of the Armenian region, a detachment operated under the command of Prince A. Chavchavadze (1786 — 1846). Alexander Garsevanovich was the head of the Armenian region formed from the Erivan and Nakhichevan khanates.

Chavchavadze came from a noble family, his father, Prince Garsevan Revazovich Chavchavadze, Ambassador of the Kings Heraclius II and George XII in Russia, signed the Russian Empire in 1783 from Georgia (Kartli-Kakheti kingdom). Alexander Garsevanovich was brought up in the Passion building, then at home, under the supervision of his father, one of the most educated people of that time. In his youth, Alexander succumbed to the influence of supporters of the independence of the Georgian kingdom, fled from his parental home and, together with some other Georgian noblemen, joined Prince Parnoz, son of King Heraclius II, who raised the banner of the uprising. The uprising was quickly put down, Chavchavadze, at the request of Tsitsianov, was sent to Tambov for three years. However, the link was short, the young prince was sent to the Page Corps, in 1809, he was released from him as a lieutenant in the Hussar Life Guards Regiment. From 1811, he was an adjutant of the Caucasian commander in chief, Marquis Paulucci, with whom he carried out diplomatic and military assignments. During one of them was wounded. He took part in the Patriotic War 1812 of the year, the foreign campaigns of the Russian army, was, as an adjutant of Barclay de Tolly, during the capture of Paris.

In 1817, he returned to Transcaucasia. Already in the rank of colonel, transferred from the Leib Hussars to the Nizhny Novgorod Dragoon Regiment, which was stationed in Kakheti. From 1812, he became the commander of the Nizhny Novgorod regiment, then he moved to the Georgian Grenadier Regiment, and in 1823 in the year he made a military service, he served for special assignments under A. P. Yermolov. It should be noted that the managerial and military talents of the prince combined with his poetic gift - Chavchavadze was a talented poet. After the conquest of Paskevich of the Erivan khanate, he was promoted to major general, became the regional chief and commander of the troops in the Erivan region.

Russian victories in the Caucasus: the seizure of the Bayazet pashalyk and the defense of Akhaltsikha in 1829

Alexander Garsevanovich Chavchavadze.

When war broke out with Turkey, Alexander Chavchavadze commanded 2-thousand detachment: from 2-battalions Nasheburgskogo Infantry Regiment, 3-x mouth Sevastopol (1400 people regular infantry), 200 Cossacks of the Don Belova regiment, 400 Muslims and Armenians Erivan equestrian militia and 6 guns. The detachment was to conduct offensive operations against the Bayazet pashalyk, which borders on the Armenian region. The Turkish region was predominantly populated by Armenians, which favored the Russian offensive.

The local Balul Pasha was indecisive, which Chavchavadze took advantage of. On August 25, a Russian detachment invaded Turkey and August 27 suddenly found itself in front of the walls of Bayazet. The fortress after a little resistance capitulated. In three weeks, Russian troops took the fortress of Bayazet and occupied the main cities of the three Bayazetan sanjaks: Toprak-Kale, Khamur and Diyadin. Sanjak in Turkey called the administrative unit, the average between the vilayet (pashalyk) and Kadylyk (county). On September 22, Chavchavadze informed Paskevich about the full occupation of the Bayazet pashalyk by Russian troops. “Well done Chavchavadze!” Exclaimed the Caucasian governor. Paskevich petitioned for awarding the brave Major-General Chavchavadze with the Order of Saint. Anna 1-th century., And that was done.

Chavchavadze tried to develop success, although he had a very small detachment. Russian troops advanced further along the Alashkert Valley. On the left bank of the Euphrates, 90 versts from Erzerum, Russian banners began to fly. Erzerum ruler tried to oust the Russians from the fortress Toprak-Kale, but could not. Paskevich by this time reduced the number of Russian troops in Northern Persia, the shah's government reduced its debt to Russia. The liberated troops were sent to the Bayazet pashalyk.

In general, the 1828 campaign of the year was successful for the Separate Caucasian Corps: six fortresses were captured, including such powerful ones as Kars and Akhaltsykh, three locks, about 8 thousand enemy soldiers captured, more than 300 guns and 195 banners captured. The corps itself in this campaign lost 3200 people killed, wounded and dead from diseases. The onset of winter, which was very harsh in the mountains, ended the campaign. In the conquered territories in the fortresses they left in the garrisons - 15 infantry battalions, 4 Cossack regiments and three companies of artillery. The rest of the troops retreated to their territory. In Russia, the public enthusiastically perceived the success of the Separate Caucasus Corps. The warriors of the Caucasian corps were compared with the wonder-heroes of Alexander Suvorov. Paskevich became the hero of the war 1828-1829.



Atskuri.

Turkish army counteroffensive

The successes of the Russian army in the South Caucasus caused fear in Istanbul and irritation of the Sultan. Erzerumsky Ghalib Pasha and Commander-in-Chief Kios-Magomed Pasha lost their posts and were exiled to remote areas of the empire. The title of seraskir (commander-in-chief) was given to Haji-Saleh Meydansky, who was given unlimited powers. The direct leadership of the troops was entrusted to Gakki-pasha and Sivaz. They were given large powers and funds, instructing them to repel the pashalyks captured by the Russians. In the near and far border areas, total mobilization began to be carried out, planning to put 200 under the gun to the spring with thousands of people with 136 guns. For the fortress of Akhaltsyh, the sultan promised Ahmad Bek to Adjara, the largest feudal lord in Akhaltsykh pashalyk, the title of three-tailed pasha, the title of ruler of this area and a large monetary reward. Seraskir of Anatolia and Armenia planned not only to recapture the lost lands, but also to transfer military operations to the Russian Transcaucasus — Guria, Kartli, Mingrelia, Imeretia. Georgia had to undergo a devastating invasion.

The Russian command also did not sit idly. 20 thousand recruits were appointed to replenish the Separate Caucasus Corps. But recruits could arrive in the Caucasus only in the spring of 1829, and they still needed to be equipped and trained. Therefore, to start the campaign 1829, had already with the available forces. Paskevich planned to advance on the Erzurum direction, and after taking Erzerum, to go further - on Sivas. This Asian possessions of Turkey cut in half. Baghdad was separated from the Turkish capital.

To replenish the troops, the Russian command led negotiations with Kurdish elders. The Kurds were a significant part of the Ottoman irregular cavalry. Some Kurdish rulers eagerly accepted the offer to serve Russia. He accepted the offer of musha pasha. He asked to keep the post of the pasha - Governor-General Mush and monetary reward. Captain Vochnadze went to him with a secret assignment. The Ottoman dignitary expressed his willingness to recruit 12 for Russia thousand riders, subject to the monthly payment of 10 thousand chervonets. Such an agreement strengthened the Russian position on the left wing. At the same time, by order of the governor in Transcaucasia, four 5-hundreds of Muslim cavalry regiments, two Armenian semi-battalions in Erivan and Nakhichevan, and one battalion from Bayazian Armenians, are formed from hunters (volunteers) to strengthen the current corps. At the same time, an attempt to create 5-thousand failed. Georgian "Zemstvo Militia", as an addition to the temporary police. There was a rumor among the population of Eastern Georgia that the Russian authorities were introducing recruitment duty and taking people into soldiers for 25 years. This caused grumbling among ordinary people. The peasants were ready to repel the Ottoman invasion without exception, but they wanted guarantees that people would return home after the end of the war. From the idea of ​​"Zemstvo militia" decided to give up so as not to cause confusion in the rear. Only the voluntary militia remained - the horse and foot, which the aristocrats recruited from the nobles and their people.

While preparations were under way for a new campaign, alarming news came from Persia. A Russian mission led by Alexander Griboedov was killed in Tehran. Behind this sabotage was the Persian "party of war" and England. The smell of a new war with the Persian state. However, the Shah remembered the recent crushing defeat in the war with Russia 1826-1828. and did not dare to go on a new armed conflict with St. Petersburg. The matter was settled by peace.

In the spring of 1829, Count Erivansky was able to allocate from the almost 50-thousand to the current squad. Separate Caucasian corps about 17-18 thousand people (19 infantry battalions and 8 cavalry and Cossack regiments) with 70 guns. The rest of the troops were supposed to carry out garrison service on the Caucasian line, to defend Georgia, the Black Sea coast, and the border with Persia.

Akhaltsikha Defense

The first to attack the Turkish troops. Ahmad Bey hastened to execute the order of the Sultan and 20 in February 20-th. Ottoman army (5 thousand regular infantry and 15 thousand militia) at 6 field guns mountain passes left Akhaltsikhu. The Russian garrison of the fortress numbered only 1164 people with 3 serf guns and 6 field guns. The garrison was commanded by Major General Vasily Osipovich Bebutov (1791 — 1858).

Prince Vasily Bebutov belonged to an ancient Armenian aristocratic family, who moved to Georgia and held important positions here as hereditary meliks of Tiflis and Jägermeister of the Georgian kings. Vasily Osipovich studied in the 1 Cadet Corps, in 1809 he was enrolled as an ensign in the Kherson Grenadier Regiment stationed in Georgia. During the Turkish campaign 1806-1812, as adjutant to General Tormasov, took part in a number of battles with the Turks and fights with the mountaineers. He fought during the Patriotic War 1812, the north direction. In 1816, Bebutov returned to Transcaucasia again and was appointed adjutant to A.P. Yermolov. Under Yermolov, he participated in two Dagestan expeditions during the conquest of the Kazi-Kumykh Khanate. In 1821, Bebutov was appointed commander of the Mingrelian Chasseurs Regiment, in 1825, the 2 Brigade of the 22 Infantry Division and commanded Imeretia. In the campaign, 1828 of the year distinguished himself in the Akhaltsy battle and the assault of Akhyltsykh. For this assault marked golden with a sword of a sword. Bebutov was appointed head of the Akhaltsikh pashalyk.


Vasily Osipovich Bebutov.

Thanks to the energy of Bebutov and the courage of the troops, the night storming of the fortress was reflected. The Ottomans, irritated by the failure, punched the Christian population of the outskirts, which was favorable to the Russians. The position of the Akhaltsykh fortress, despite its first success, was difficult. The Turkish command organized a siege, which lasted until March 4. The Turks fired on the fortress and tried to deprive it of water. In addition, Ahmed Bek covered himself from the Borzhomi gorge 3-thousand. detachment. The Turks were able to intercept messengers in Tiflis, and the Russian command did not immediately learn about the siege.

The Russian garrison rejected all the proposals of the Ottomans for surrender. On March 4, when a detachment of Colonel Burtsev approached the defenders of the fortress of Akhaltsykh, who crossed Kura, was able to bypass the Turkish barriers, the garrison made a sudden sortie. The siege was lifted, the enemy fled. Pursuing a fled enemy, Bebutov managed to repel two guns and two flags.

Almost at the same time the attack of the trampling pasha failed. Trapezunt Pasha with 8-th. the detachment moved into Guria, but was defeated at the Limani stow, near the Nikolaev fortress by a detachment of Major General Hesse. Ottomans placed great hopes on Guria. Guriansky Prince Machutadze, who had gone over to Turkey, promised to raise local residents against the Russians.
Author:
7 comments
Ad

Our projects are looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. omsbon
    omsbon 1 July 2013 11: 00 New
    +3
    Interesting and informative!
    Thank you, Alexander!
  2. Dmitry 2246
    Dmitry 2246 1 July 2013 11: 18 New
    +2
    I am your regular reader, thank you.
  3. arminidi
    arminidi 1 July 2013 11: 37 New
    +2
    Thank you, Alexander, for the material! Your articles are interesting and instructive. Once again I felt pride in my countrymen good
  4. sokrat-71
    sokrat-71 1 July 2013 20: 34 New
    +1
    Thanks for the informative article.
  5. Karlsonn
    Karlsonn 4 July 2013 13: 13 New
    +1
    Thank you for the article! "+" good
  6. Mista_dj
    Mista_dj 5 July 2013 12: 55 New
    +2
    Thank you for the article!
    The Caucasian war is a white page in my education.
    I ask you to continue further, in the same spirit!
  7. i.xxx-1971
    i.xxx-1971 12 July 2013 23: 31 New
    0
    Our cause is just. The enemy will always be defeated.

Русские победы на Кавказе: захват Баязетского пашалыка и оборона Ахалциха в 1829 году

Кампания в 1828 года в Закавказье была успешной для русской армии. После взятия Ахалкалаки и Ахалцыха (Русские победы на Кавказе: взятие Ахалкалаки и Ахалцихское сражение в 1828 году), русские войска 17 августа без боя заняли крепость Ацхур (Ацкури). Ацхурская крепость располагалась у южного входа в Боржомское ущелье. В крепости захватили 14 пушек и 300 пудов пороха. Затем русские войска заняли и Ардаган, который стоял на важном перекрестке горных дорог. В нём было захвачено 31 орудие.

Захват Баязетского пашалыка

Успех корпуса Паскевича предопределил победы и на других направлениях. На левом фланге развернутого против Османской империи корпуса, на востоке Армянской области действовал отряд под командованием князя А. Г. Чавчавадзе (1786—1846). Александр Гарсеванович был начальником Армянской области образованной из Эриванского и Нахичеванского ханств.


Чавчавадзе происходил из знатного рода, его отец - князь Гарсеван Ревазович Чавчавадзе, посол царей Ираклия II и Георгия XII в России, подписал в 1783 году со стороны Грузии (Картли-Кахетинского царства) Георгиевский трактат с Российской империей. Александр Гарсеванович воспитывался в Пажеском корпусе, затем дома, под наблюдением отца, одного из образованнейших людей того времени. В юности Александр поддался влиянию сторонников независимости Грузинского царства, бежал из родительского дома и вместе с некоторыми другими грузинскими дворянами присоединился к царевичу Парнаозу, сыну царя Ираклия II, который поднял знамя восстания. Восстание было быстро подавлено, Чавчавадзе, по ходатайству Цицианова, был на три года слан в Тамбов. Однако ссылка была непродолжительной, юного князя направили в Пажеский корпус, в 1809 году был выпущен из него подпоручиком в Гусарский лейб-гвардии полк. С 1811 года являлся адъютантом кавказского главнокомандующего, маркиза Паулуччи, у которого он выполнял дипломатические и военные поручения. Во время одного из них был ранен. Принял участие в Отечественной войне 1812 года, Заграничных походах русской армии, был, в качестве адъютанта Барклая-де-Толли, при взятии Парижа.

В 1817 году вернулся в Закавказье. Уже в чине полковника, переведён из лейб-гусарского в Нижегородский драгунский полк, который дислоцировался в Кахетии. С 1812 года стал командиром Нижегородского полка, затем перешёл в Грузинский гренадерский полк, и в 1823 году составив строевую службу, состоял для особых поручений при А. П. Ермолове. Надо отметить, что управленческие и военные таланты князя сочетались с его поэтическим даром – Чавчавадзе был талантливым поэтом. После завоевания Паскевичем Эриванского ханства, был произведён в генерал-майоры, стал областным начальником и командующим войсками в Эриванской области.

Русские победы на Кавказе: захват Баязетского пашалыка и оборона  Ахалциха в 1829 году

Александр Гарсеванович Чавчавадзе.

Когда началась война с Турцией, Александр Чавчавадзе командовал 2-тыс отрядом: из 2-х батальонов Нашебургского пехотного полка, 3-х рот Севастопольского (1400 человек регулярной пехоты), 200 казаков Донского Белова полка, 400 мусульман и армян Эриванского конного ополчения и 6 орудий. Отряд должен был проводить наступательные действия против Баязетского пашалыка, граничащего с Армянской областью. Турецкая область была преимущественно населена армянами, что благоприятствовало русскому наступлению.

Местный Балюль-паша был нерешителен, чем и воспользовался Чавчавадзе. 25 августа русский отряд вторгнулся в пределы Турции и 27 августа внезапно оказался перед стенами Баязета. Крепость после небольшого сопротивления капитулировала. В три недели русские войска взяли крепость Баязет и заняли главные города трех Баязетских санджаков: Топрак-кале, Хамур и Диадин. Санджаками в Турции называли административную единицу, среднюю между вилайетом (пашалыком) и кадылыком (уездом). 22 сентября Чавчавадзе доносил Паскевичу о полном занятии русскими войсками Баязетского пашалыка. «Молодец Чавчавадзе!»— воскликнул кавказский наместник. Паскевич ходатайствовал о награждении отважного генерал-майора Чавчавадзе орденом св. Анны 1-й ст., что и было исполнено.

Чавчавадзе попытался развить успех, хотя и имел совсем немногочисленный отряд. Русские войска продвинулись дальше по Алашкертской долине. На левом берегу Евфрата, в 90 верстах от Эрзерума, стали развеваться русские стяги. Эрзерумский правитель попытался вытеснить русских из крепости Топрак-кале, но не смог. Паскевич к этому времени уменьшил численность русских войск в Северной Персии, шахское правительство уменьшило свой долг перед Россией. Освободившиеся войска были направлен в Баязетский пашалык.

В целом кампания 1828 года была успешной для Отдельного кавказского корпуса: было захвачено шесть крепостей, включая такие мощные как Карс и Ахалцых, три замка, пленено около 8 тыс. вражеских солдат, захвачено более 300 орудий и 195 знамен. Сам корпус в этой кампании потерял 3200 человек убитыми, ранеными и умершими от болезней. Наступление зимы, которая в горах была весьма суровой, завершило кампанию. На завоеванных территориях в крепостях оставили в гарнизонах – 15 батальонов пехоты, 4 казачьих полка и три рот артиллерии. Остальные войска отошли на свою территорию. В России общественность с восторгом воспринимала успехи Отдельного Кавказского корпуса. Воинов Кавказского корпуса сравнивали с чудо-богатырями Александра Суворова. Паскевич стал героем войны 1828-1829 гг.

Русские победы на Кавказе: захват Баязетского пашалыка и оборона  Ахалциха в 1829 году

Русские победы на Кавказе: захват Баязетского пашалыка и оборона  Ахалциха в 1829 году

Ацкури.

Контрнаступление турецкой армии

Успехи русской армии на Южном Кавказе вызвали страх в Стамбуле и раздражение султана. Эрзерумский Галиб-паша и главнокомандующий Киос-Магомед-паша лишились своих постов и были сосланы в отдалённые области империи. Звание сераскира (главнокомандующего) получил Гаджи-Салех Мейданский, которого наделили неограниченными полномочиями. Непосредственное руководство войсками поручалось Гакки-паше Сивазскому. Им выделили большие полномочия и средства, поручив отбить захваченные русскими пашалыки. В ближних и дальних приграничных областях начали проводить тотальную мобилизацию, планируя к весне поставить под ружье 200 тыс. человек при 136 орудиях. За крепость Ахалцых султан пообещал Ахмад-беку Аджарскому, крупнейшему феодалу в Ахалцыхском пашалыке, титул трёхбунчужного паши, звание правителя этой области и большую денежную награду. Сераскир Анатолии и Армении планировал не только отбить утраченные земли, но и перенести военные действия на Русское Закавказье – Гурию, Картли, Мингрелию, Имеретию. Грузия должна была подвергнуться опустошительному нашествию.

Русское командование также не сидело сложа руки. На пополнение Отдельного Кавказского корпуса было назначено 20 тыс. рекрутов. Но новобранцы могли прибыть в Закавказье только весной 1829 года, а их ещё нужно было экипировать и обучить. Поэтому начинать кампанию 1829 года приходилось уже с имеющимися силами. Паскевич планировал наступать на эрзерумском направлении, а после взятия Эрзерума, идти дальше – на Сивас. Этим азиатские владения Турции перерезались пополам. Багдад отделяли от турецкой столицы.

Для пополнения войск русское командование вело переговоры с курдскими старейшинами. Курды составляли значительную часть османской иррегулярной конницы. Некоторые курдские владыки охотно приняли предложение служить России. Принял предложение мушский паша. Он просил оставить за собой пост паши – генерал-губернатора Муша и денежного вознаграждения. К нему с тайным поручением выехал капитан Вочнадзе. Османский сановник выразил готовность набрать для России 12 тыс. всадников, при условии ежемесячной выплаты 10 тыс. червонцев. Такое соглашение усиливало русские позиции на левом крыле. Одновременно по распоряжению наместника в Закавказье для усиления действующего корпуса из охотников (добровольцев) формируют четыре 5-сотеннных полка мусульманской конницы, два армянских полубатальона – в Эривани и Нахичевани, и один батальон из баязетских армян. В то же время провалилась попытка создать 5-тыс. грузинское «земское ополчение», как дополнение к временной милиции. Среди населения Восточной Грузии прошел слух, что русские власти вводят рекрутскую повинность и забирают людей в солдаты на 25 лет. Это вызвало ропот среди простых людей. Крестьяне были готовы поголовно отражать османское вторжение, но хотели гарантий возвращения людей домой, после завершения войны. От идеи «земского ополчения» решили отказаться, чтобы не вызвать смуту в тылу. Осталась только добровольная милиция – конная и пешая, которую аристократы набирали из дворян и их людей.

Пока шли приготовления к новой кампании, из Персии пришло тревожное известие. В Тегеране была перебита русская миссия во главе с Александром Грибоедовым. За этой диверсией стояла персидская «партия войны» и Англия. Запахло новой войной с Персидской державой. Однако шах помнил о недавнем сокрушительном поражении в войне с Россией 1826-1828 гг. и не решился пойти на новый вооруженный конфликт с Петербургом. Дело было улажено миром.

Весной 1829 года граф Эриванский смог выделить в действующий отряд из почти 50-тыс. Отдельного Кавказского корпуса около 17-18 тыс. человек (19 пехотных батальонов и 8 кавалерийских и казачьих полков) при 70 орудиях. Остальные войска должны были нести гарнизонную службу на Кавказской линии, защищать Грузию, Черноморское побережье, границу с Персией.

Оборона Ахалциха

Первыми перешли в наступление турецкие войска. Ахмад-бек спешил выполнить приказ султана и 20 февраля 20-тыс. османское войско (5 тыс. регулярной пехоты и 15 тыс. ополченцев) при 6 полевых орудиях горными перевалами вышло Ахалциху. Русский гарнизон крепости насчитывал всего 1164 человека при 3 крепостных орудиях и 6 полевых пушках. Гарнизоном командовал генерал-майор Василий Осипович Бебутов (1791—1858).

Князь Василий Бебутов принадлежал к древнему армянскому аристократическому роду, который переселился в Грузию и занимал здесь важные должности наследственных правителей-меликов Тифлиса и егермейстеров грузинских царей. Василий Осипович учился в 1-м кадетском корпусе, в 1809 году был зачислен прапорщиком в Херсонский гренадёрский полк, дислоцированный в Грузии. Во время турецкой кампании 1806-1812 гг., будучи адъютантом генерала Тормасова, принял участие в ряде сражений с турками и схваток с горцами. Воевал во время отечественной войны 1812 года на северном направлении. В 1816 г. Бебутов снова вернулся в Закавказье и был назначен адъютантом при А. П. Ермолове. При Ермолове участвовал в двух дагестанских экспедициях при покорении Кази-Кумыхского ханства. В 1821 году Бебутов назначен командиром Мингрельского егерского полка, в 1825 году - 2-й бригады 22-й пехотной дивизии и управляющим Имеретией. В кампании 1828 года отличился в Ахалцыском сражении и штурме Ахылцыха. За этот штурм отмечен золотой с бриллиантами шпагой. Бебутов был назначен начальником Ахалцыхского пашалыка.

Русские победы на Кавказе: захват Баязетского пашалыка и оборона  Ахалциха в 1829 году

Василий Осипович Бебутов.

Благодаря энергии Бебутова и храбрости войск ночной штурм крепости был отражен. Османы, раздраженные неудачей, врезали христианское население предместий, которое было благосклонно к русским. Положение Ахалцыхской крепости, несмотря на первый успех, было тяжелым. Турецкое командование организовало осаду, которая продолжалась до 4 марта. Турки вели обстрел крепости и пытались лишить её воды. Кроме того, Ахмед-бек прикрылся со стороны Боржомского ущелья 3-тыс. отрядом. Турки смогли перехватить гонцов в Тифлис, и русское командование не сразу узнало об осаде.

Все предложения османов о капитуляции русский гарнизон отверг. 4 марта, когда на помощь защитникам Ахалцыхской крепости подошел отряд полковника Бурцева, который переправившись через Куру, смог обойти турецкие заслоны, гарнизон сделал внезапную вылазку. Осада была снята, противник бежал. Преследуя разбежавшегося неприятеля, Бебутов успел отбить два орудия и два знамени.

Почти одновременно провалилась атака трапезундского паши. Трапезунтский паша с 8-тыс. отрядом двинулся в Гурию, но был разбит при урочище Лимани, около Николаевской крепости отрядом генерал-майора Гессе. На Гурию османы возлагали большие надежды. Перешедший на сторону Турции гурийский князь Мачутадзе обещал поднять местных жителей против русских.
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 7
  1. omsbon 1 июля 2013 11:00
    Интересно и познавательно!
    Спасибо, Александр!
  2. Дмитрий 2246 1 июля 2013 11:18
    Я Ваш постоянный читатель, спасибо.
  3. arminidi 1 июля 2013 11:37
    Спасибо, Александр, за материал! Ваши статьи интересны и поучительны. Я еще раз почувствовал гордость за своих земляков good
    arminidi
  4. sokrat-71 1 июля 2013 20:34
    Спасибо за познавательную статью.
  5. Karlsonn 4 июля 2013 13:13
    Спасибо за статью! "+" good
  6. Mista_Dj 5 июля 2013 12:55
    Благодарю Вас за статью!
    Кавказская война - белая страница в моём образовании.
    Прошу продолжать и дальше, в том-же духе!
  7. i.xxx-1971 12 июля 2013 23:31
    Наше дело правое. Враг всегда будет разбит.
    i.xxx-1971

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня