Military Review

Chief of staff of the highest class

1
30 June marks the 90 anniversary of the birth of the well-known commander, Colonel-General Dmitry Aleksandrovich Grinkevich (1923 — 2009).


The son of a rural teacher from the village of Kuravo in the Pogarsky District of the Oryol (now Bryansk) Region, Dmitry Grinkevich barely managed to finish high school and go to university when the Great Patriotic War began. Like any young man of that time, he considered it his duty to stand up for the Fatherland and, without waiting for the summons from the military registration and enlistment office, volunteered for the front. Participated in hostilities at the Bryansk, 1, and 2 of the Belorussian fronts. Having started a war as a soldier, having drunk a bitter cup of defeats and retreats in the initial period and having experienced the joy of victories in the final stage, he met 9 May 1945 with the captain, deputy battalion commander.

After the war, Dmitry Aleksandrovich Grinkevich consistently held the posts of battalion commander, chief of staff, regiment commander and commander of a motorized rifle division. Rapid career advancement is achieved through rare diligence, constant work on oneself, and improved military knowledge. In 1945, he graduated from the Higher Officer Courses "Shot", the following year - Higher Officer Armored School, in 1956 - Military Academy named after M.V. Frunze, and in 1965, the Military Academy of the General Staff.

Since 1965, he has consistently served in the operational headquarters as the chief of the operational section of the army headquarters, chief of the army headquarters, chief of the military district and chief of staff of the Group of Soviet Forces in Germany. In all these important posts, he shows professionalism and great organizational skills. Especially these qualities manifested themselves in the GSVG, where he had to solve complex strategic tasks performed by a large group of various types of troops and special forces, as well as interact with units and formations of the National People’s Army of the GDR. Dmitry Aleksandrovich paid a lot of attention to the arrangement of personnel and providing him with the necessary living conditions, he was caring and attentive to people. And subordinates answered the same.

As a professional and honored commander in 1981, he is appointed Chief of the Ground Forces General Staff. This post made completely different demands in solving a much larger range of tasks on the scale of all the Ground Forces in close cooperation with other branches of the Armed Forces. Much attention was paid to the construction and development of the Ground Forces as the main and most numerous service of the Armed Forces, mobilization work, preparation of strategic reserves, improvement and development of weapons systems. Much was done to equip the Main Committee and improve the life of the officer corps, especially with regard to the provision of housing. Many officers and generals for this recall him with a kind word.

This is how his immediate superior General of the Army Valentin Varennikov, then commander-in-chief of the Ground Forces, spoke about Colonel-General D. Grinkevich: “He did a lot to improve the work of the General Staff and constantly helped the headquarters of military districts. For the Commander-in-Chief, the Main Headquarters was, of course, the main pillar in the resolution of all our problems, our relations were good and open. He, like the other deputy commanders, came to me at any time without knocking. YES. Grinkevich was the chief of staff of the highest class and took upon himself many major questions. ”

In addition to military service, Dmitry Aleksandrovich Grinkevich paid great attention to social work. Three times he was elected deputy of the Supreme Soviet of the RSFSR, was a delegate of a number of party congresses. Using his position, he did a lot for ordinary people. We must not forget about the great assistance that he provided to his fellow countrymen in the Bryansk region. His soulful generosity, the ability to perceive the pain of others as his own will remain forever in the memory of all who knew him and with whom he had to communicate.

MORE THAN fifty years old Dmitriy Aleksandrovich gave service in the Armed Forces. His homeland labor praised highly. He was awarded the Orders of Lenin, the October Revolution, the Red Banner, the Red Banner of Labor, three orders of the Patriotic War, three - the Red Star, the Order "For Service to the Homeland in the Armed Forces of the USSR" III degree, many medals, including a number of foreign states.

After his retirement in 1991, Dmitry Alexandrovich worked for more than 10 for years in the General Staff as a consultant. For almost four years now, he has passed away, but he still remains in our memory, and his good deeds will never be forgotten. Grateful countrymen commemorated him. In Pogar secondary school, where he studied, a memorial plaque was installed and a museum was created. On the day of Dmitry Aleksandrovich's 90 anniversary, the veterans of the Main Command of the Ground Forces, members of the Bryansk association, and his fellow countrymen bow their heads before the memory of a worthy son of the Fatherland.

Veterans of the Main Command of the Ground Forces, members of the Bryansk community.
Originator:
http://redstar.ru/
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. sergey32
    sergey32 3 July 2013 18: 42 New
    +2
    I am proud of such fellow countrymen! We would live so worthy.

Начальник штаба высшего класса

Начальник штаба высшего класса30 июня исполняется 90 лет со дня рождения известного военачальника генерал-полковника Дмитрия Александровича ГРИНКЕВИЧА (1923—2009).

Сын сельского учителя из села Кураво Погарского района Орловской (ныне Брянской) области, Дмитрий Гринкевич едва успел окончить среднюю школу и поступить в университет, как началась Великая Отечественная война. Как любой молодой человек того времени, он посчитал своим долгом встать на защиту Отечества и, не дожидаясь повестки из военкомата, добровольцем ушёл на фронт. В боевых действиях участвовал на Брянском, 1-м и 2-м Белорусских фронтах. Начав войну солдатом, испив горькую чашу поражений и отступлений в начальный период и пережив радость побед на заключительном этапе, он встретил 9 Мая 1945-го капитаном, заместителем командира батальона.

После войны Дмитрий Александрович Гринкевич последовательно занимает должности командира батальона, начальника штаба, командира полка и командира мотострелковой дивизии. Быстрое продвижение по служебной лестнице достигается благодаря редкому трудолюбию, постоянной работе над собой, совершенствованию военных знаний. В 1945 году он оканчивает Высшие офицерские курсы «Выстрел», на следующий год - Высшую офицерскую бронетанковую школу, в 1956 году - Военную академию имени М.В. Фрунзе, а в 1965-м - Военную академию Генерального штаба.


С 1965 года последовательно проходит службу в оперативных штабах на должностях начальника оперативного отдела штаба армии, начальника штаба армии, начальника штаба военного округа и начальника штаба Группы советских войск в Германии. На всех этих ответственных постах он показывает профессионализм и большие организаторские способности. Особенно эти качества проявились в ГСВГ, где ему пришлось решать сложные стратегические задачи, выполняемые большой группировкой различных родов войск и специальных войск, а также взаимодействовать с частями и соединениями Национальной народной армии ГДР. Дмитрий Александрович уделял много внимания обустройству личного состава и обеспечению ему необходимых условий жизни, был заботливым, внимательным к людям. И подчинённые отвечали тем же.

Как профессионала и заслуженного командира в 1981 году его назначают начальником Главного штаба Сухопутных войск. Эта должность предъявляла совершенно иные требования в решении гораздо большего круга задач в масштабе всех Сухопутных войск при тесном взаимодействии с другими видами Вооружённых Сил. Большое внимание уделялось строительству и развитию Сухопутных войск как основному и самому многочисленному виду Вооружённых Сил, мобилизационной работе, подготовке стратегических резервов, совершенствованию и развитию систем вооружения. Много было сделано для обустройства Главкомата и улучшения быта офицерского состава, особенно это касалось обеспечения жильём. Многие офицеры и генералы за это вспоминают его добрым словом.

Вот как отзывался о генерал-полковнике Д. Гринкевиче его непосредственный начальник генерал армии Валентин Варенников, в то время главнокомандующий Сухопутными войсками: «Он немало сделал для совершенствования работы Главного штаба, постоянно помогал штабам военных округов. Для главкома Главный штаб был, разумеется, основной опорой в разрешении всех наших проблем, отношения у нас были хорошие, открытые. Он, как и другие заместители главкома, заходил ко мне в любое время без стука. Д.А. Гринкевич был начальником штаба высшего класса и брал на себя многие крупные вопросы».

Помимо военной службы Дмитрий Александрович Гринкевич большое внимание уделял общественной работе. Трижды избирался депутатом Верховного Совета РСФСР, был делегатом ряда партийных съездов. Используя своё положение, он многое сделал для простых людей. Нельзя забывать о той большой помощи, которую он оказывал землякам на Брянщине. Его душевная щедрость, способность воспринимать чужую боль как собственную навсегда останутся в памяти всех, кто его знал и с кем доводилось ему общаться.

БОЛЬШЕ пятидесяти лет Дмитрий Александрович отдал службе в Вооружённых Силах. Его ратный труд Родина высоко оценила. Он награждён орденами Ленина, Октябрьской Революции, Красного Знамени, Трудового Красного Знамени, тремя орденами Отечественной войны, тремя - Красной Звезды, орденом «За службу Родине в Вооружённых Силах СССР» III степени, многими медалями, в том числе ряда иностранных государств.

После выхода в 1991 году в отставку Дмитрий Александрович больше 10 лет работал в Генеральном штабе консультантом. Вот уже почти четыре года, как его не стало, но он по-прежнему остаётся в нашей памяти, и его добрые дела никогда не будут забыты. Благодарные земляки увековечили память о нём. В погарской средней школе, где он учился, установлена памятная доска и создан музей. В день 90-летия со дня рождения Дмитрия Александровича ветераны Главкомата Сухопутных войск, члены Брянского землячества, а также его земляки низко склоняют голову перед памятью достойного сына Отечества.

Ветераны главкомата Сухопутных войск, члены Брянского землячества.
Первоисточник: http://redstar.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1. сергей32 3 июля 2013 18:42
    Горжусь такими земляками! Нам бы так достойно прожить.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня