Military Review

It was near Kursk

6
After the defeat in the battle of Stalingrad, the German command, planning the 1943 summer campaign, decided to launch a major offensive on the Soviet-German front in order to regain the lost strategic initiative. The attention of the German troops was riveted to the area of ​​Orel, Kursk and Belgorod, where the so-called Kursk bulge was formed on a relatively small sector of the front during the winter-spring offensive of the Soviet troops. The Germans planned to encircle and destroy significant forces of the Red Army with a blow of two army groups from the north and south in the general direction of Kursk.


The Soviet command began to pull up to the front. One of such associations of the Supreme Command Headquarters was the 70 Army, the backbone of which was the border guards and soldiers of the internal troops of Central Asia, Siberia and the Far East. The army arrived in the Kursk area in February 1943 of the year and, after short offensive battles, went over to the defense on the northern face of the Kursk bulge. The union took an active part in repelling the onslaught of the Nazis on Kursk from the north in July 1943, and then in the counteroffensive in the Orel region.

The heroic defense of height 253.5 (code name - “height 88.0”) of the infantry battalion under the command of Major I.A. became a bright page in the Battle of Kursk. Shilkov on the right flank of the 140 th Infantry Division 70 th Army. A participant in the battles in this direction, the now living retired colonel Anatoly Isaakovich Tsvetkov, told the correspondent of Krasnaya Zvezda about the heroism of the soldiers. That's how it was.

Dig deeper into the ground

At a height of 253.5, the battalion took possession at the end of February 1943 and, by order of the command, secured it. For four months, the unit improved its defense. The order of the commander of the Central Front, Colonel General K.K. Rokossovsky was simple and understandable to anyone: "To dig deeper into the ground." This meant that each compartment, each crew, crew had to quickly prepare trench sections, trenches for guns, mortars and tanks, shelters for personnel, communication moves for maneuver. And all this had to be done in good faith, with strict observance of camouflage measures in order to withstand the upcoming attacks of the enemy.

The commander of the battalion, Major Shilkov, recalled how, even at the border school, in the engineering training classes, the cadets were taught not only to self-absorb quickly and competently, but also to build dugouts and to build simple barriers. Serious school officer maturity, the correct assessment of the situation for Lieutenant Shilkov was the service in the Far East. The skills obtained in the school were very useful for a young officer on the border, when it was necessary to equip a strong point of the outpost and ways to maneuver border guards.

So, near Kursk, Shilkov, looking at the height defended by his soldiers, noted with satisfaction that the battalion area of ​​defense, company strong points turned into a powerful center of resistance, ensuring reliable control over the terrain.

Yesterday’s border guards worked with twinkle-fourteen hours, remembering the order of the commander of the front: to turn every defensive position into an insurmountable obstacle for the Nazis.

The battalion commander meticulously examined the trench of the machine-gun crew of the corporal Polyanova. The position equipped according to all the rules of engineering art was well disguised, it had a cellar for ammunition. Shilkov remembered how the calculation of this Altai boy ensured a successful reflection of the recent night attack by the Nazis when they tried to throw the border guards from this key height.

“And the sappers did their work,” the battalion commander noted to himself. They set up anti-tank and anti-personnel minefields and wire barriers in front and on the flanks of the defense area. The approaches to the leading edge were shot. In a word, it was a tough nut in the regiment's order of battle.

Describing the overall defense of the 13 and 70 armies on the northern flank of the Kursk salient, Marshal of the Soviet Union G.K. Zhukov reported to the Supreme Commander IV Stalin: “The defense of the armies is organized correctly and deeply echeloned. Army equipped with three lines of defense. And the most developed is the first (main) strip of 10 – 15 km depth. The defense was built primarily as an anti-tank, with a system of anti-tank strongholds and nodes to a depth of 30 – 35 km. ”

At the point of impact

The night of 5 July, 1943, was sweltering and restless. The night before, Major Shilkov from the regimental headquarters was instructed to prepare the battalion to repel a possible enemy attack at dawn. Without closing my eyes, I, together with the chief of staff and the political officer, would stumble around the divisions until the morning, clarifying the situation and encouraging the subordinates.

To disrupt the advance of fascist troops on Kursk, Soviet troops at dawn on July 5, 1943 inflicted large-scale artillery and aviation attacks, because of which the Nazis were able to go on the offensive with a delay of several hours. They brought down the main power of their forces north of Kursk at the junction between the 13th and 70th armies. In the strip of the 70th army, the strongest attack fell on the 140th rifle division of Major General A.Ya. Kiseleva, and in particular on her 96th rifle regiment under the command of Colonel A.S. Grigoryeva. The key position in the defense of the regiment at an altitude of 253.5 was occupied by the 2nd infantry battalion of Major I.A. Shilkova.

Later on the heroic defense of this point, the commander of the Central Front, Colonel-General KK Rokossovsky in his book “The Soldier's Duty” wrote: “I remember that the Nazis attacked this height on the first day of the attack several times. In the evening I ask the commander Ivan Vasilyevich Galanin:
- How is the height of 88.0?
“In our hands,” the commander replies.
On the second day, the enemy introduced fresh forces and re-attacked the altitude several times. To the right and to her left he managed to wedge a little into the defense of our troops.

I ask Galanin at night:
- Does the height of the 88.0 hold?
“Hold on,” the commander replies confidently.
So it was the next two days - 7 and 8 July. The enemy managed to penetrate into our defense only on 2 – 8 km, and did not take the height of 88.0. Will this be smoothed out in people's memory? ”

Four days and nights

And the events unfolded as follows. In the first attack, the enemy threw against the battalion to 40 tanks. The fighters, quickly restoring defensive forces, met the Nazis with fire of all kinds weapons. 4-I rifle company under the command of Lieutenant MS The head was able to repel the strike, but when the fascists began to bypass the right flank, the battalion commander transferred his reserve there - the 2 th infantry squad of the 6 th rifle company, which, together with the artillerymen, broke this maneuver of the Nazis and forced them to withdraw. Particularly distinguished in that battle was the machine-gunner Nikolai Lysov, who with accurate fire destroyed up to fifteen fascists and their machine-gun crew. Being wounded, the brave warrior continued to strike the Nazis.

Fierce battles fought all divisions of the battalion. 5-I rifle company under the command of Lieutenant Z.I. Igonina successfully repelled two enemy attacks and held her position. 6-I rifle company of Lieutenant MI Korochenko, having beaten off three fascist attacks, was forced to retreat to the second trench on the left flank. Mortar platoon battalion commanded by Lieutenant V.R. Lazarev, replacing firing positions, aptly struck those who were attacking the Nazis.

All fighters showed courage, bravery and heroism. So, the commander of the economic star foreman M.M. Musabaev, being cut off from the main forces of the battalion, managed to deliver ammunition and food to the front line. In that battle, he died.

Almost in full surroundings, the battalion repulsed two more enemy attacks until dusk. The night passed anxiously, they were disturbed by the attacks of the enemy’s scouts, the sky was lit up with rockets, the shelling did not stop.

July 6 Day did not bring relief to the battalion soldiers. It began with new attacks by the fascists with the support of artillery and mortars, as well as air strikes. The first two battalion attacks managed to repel, inflicting significant losses on the enemy. 7 tanks and several armored personnel carriers were burning in front of the battalion front. But the third attack, anticipating that the fascists launched a squall of fire on the Red Army, was the most fierce. The enemy threw 4 th and 5 th mouth to the infantry battalion with tanks. The threat of a battalion’s defense cut into two parts. Major Shilkov sent a platoon of anti-tank guns under the command of Senior Lieutenant F.I to the place of the breakthrough. Markushina, as well as a battery of anti-tank artillery attached, repulsed this attack. Especially distinguished in this case is the calculation of sergeant Sergey Blokhin's anti-tank gun. They shot down three enemy tanks, and when the gun failed, Blokhin, already wounded, knocked out another tank with an anti-tank grenade.

Fearlessness and bravery were shown in that battle by the commander of the 2 infantry platoon of the 6 company - reserve battalion - foreman I.L. Maslov. When the fascists tried to encircle the battalion, he led the fighters into a counterattack and forced the nazis to withdraw to their original position.

At the most crucial moment of the battle for the height, the battalion major Shilkov advanced into the battle formations of the 4 Company and personally supervised the elimination of the enemy tanks and infantry at the junction of the 4 and 5 companies. He was wounded in the shoulder, but did not leave the battlefield and continued to command the battalion.

The night of July 7 was relatively quiet, with the exception of the attempts of the fascist scouts to probe the battalion’s defense on the left flank, where the 6 th infantry company was defending. But these attempts were stopped by fire. At dawn, after an artillery raid, the Nazis threw against the height of up to two infantry battalions with 20 tanks. A particularly fierce battle broke out over the strong point of the 4 th rifle company. He often went hand to hand. In this battle, the squad leader junior sergeant Ivan Krivchun proved himself a real bogatyr. He bravely entered into a fight with the three Nazis. One of them shot from a machine gun, and the other two finished off with a butt, although he himself was wounded in the leg.

The attack of the fascists from the rear was also successfully repelled. Before our positions, the enemy left up to 30 corpses, but did not break through to the battalion command post at the height of 253.5. Repulse the attack of the Nazis on the orders of the regimental commander helped volley Guards mortars ("Katyusha"), which covered the battle formations of the enemy, deployed to attack.

On the third day of the fighting for the height, the battalion’s mortar bomber showed their best qualities, firing on the fascist infantry battalion at the junction of the 4 and 5 companies. When the material part of the mortar platoon was put out of action, the soldiers, together with the reserve of the battalion, took up a firing position in the rear of the combat order of the subunit and repulsed two attacks of the Nazis from this direction.

On the night of July 8, several soldiers with supplies of ammunition and food were able to make their way to the heroic defenders of the 253.5 altitude through the enemy’s battle formations. This inspired the border guards, inspired new forces in them.

The fourth day of the battalion’s defense began, like the last, at dawn, at 4 in the morning. On the position of the battalion again fell tons of shells, mines and bombs. At the height, in fact, there was not a single piece of land, not plowed by explosions. But when the fascist infantry and tanks went on the attack, they were again met by fire. Meanwhile, the defenders of the 253.5 height melted, there was a shortage of ammunition. Now the Nazis made their way to the battalion command post. It seemed impossible to stop them. At this time, the commander Shilkov, together with officers and soldiers on the command post, occupied the all-round defense in the trench restored during the night and continued to fight off the fascists who were pressing. Chief of Staff Captain S.P. Pavement caused artillery fire on himself. This was not expected by the Nazis and, having lost the 3 tank and up to two infantry platoons, retreated to their original position.

But trouble never comes alone. A group of fascists managed to break through at the junction of the 5 and 6 mouth and reach the rear of the 4 company. In this difficult situation, Major Shilkov decided to gather the remaining fighters and commanders and counterattack the wedged enemy. The fight went hand to hand, in which the upper hand was won by the border guards. Private Nikolai Velichko and corporal Ivan Zubakov managed to defeat five Nazis, and Sergeant Sergey Gavrilov defeated a Nazi officer.

By the evening of July 8, the survivors repulsed two more enemy attacks, but kept their height.

Forever in people's memory

When, at dawn on 9 July, infantrymen and tankers of 19's tank corps of General Vasilyev made their way to the height, they saw a terrible picture: German tanks and armored personnel carriers burned down around the height, the corpses of the Nazis were lying around, lined guns were piling up. In the battalion only 63 people remained in the ranks. The battalion commander was injured a second time, the chief of staff and the political officer were killed, more than half of the officers and sergeants were wounded due to injuries. And yet the battalion was alive.

After July 12, the battalion of Major I.A. Shilkov was replenished with personnel and military equipment, and he took part in the counteroffensive of the Soviet troops on the Oryol sector. Then the former border guards participated in the battles to the west of Bryansk, freed Trubchevsk, forced the rivers Sozh and Dnieper.

The feat of the 2 Infantry Battalion in the defense of Kursk was highly appreciated by the command: most soldiers and officers were awarded orders and medals, and the commander, Major I.A. Shilkov became a knight of the Order of Lenin.

... After the war, at a height of 253.5, a modest obelisk was installed with the inscription: "Here in July, 1943 fought to the death by the fascist invaders, the frontier guards Major Shilkov and won." The stingy lines, but how many destinies follow them, how much steadfastness and dedication!
Author:
Originator:
http://redstar.ru/
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. waisson
    waisson 9 July 2013 07: 14
    +7
    ETERNAL MEMORY OF HEROES!
    1. afire
      afire 9 July 2013 17: 13
      +1
      Eternal Glory! God forbid this happen again
  2. Russ69
    Russ69 9 July 2013 07: 23
    +6
    How many more heroes and exploits of that war remained unknown.
    It seems to me that it’s not even possible to describe everything and has not survived, either in memory or in documents, and there are no more witnesses.
    No matter how much I read about the war, the question always arises in my head, but he himself could, as they were then?
  3. rugor
    rugor 9 July 2013 08: 26
    +3
    Glory to the great feats of war heroes !!!
  4. sokrat-71
    sokrat-71 9 July 2013 08: 41
    +7
    Good article. Yes, the farther from the war, the less chance of learning about the exploits of heroes. Thanks to the author.
  5. omsbon
    omsbon 9 July 2013 09: 04
    +4
    Eternal memory and eternal glory to those who stood to death!
    How many such modest obelisks on our earth? Memory of Major I.A. Shipkovo and his border guards, we must save!
  6. Trapperxnumx
    Trapperxnumx 9 July 2013 09: 15
    +3
    Viva !!! Glory! Eternal glory through the ages !!!
  7. Hort
    Hort 9 July 2013 11: 40
    +4
    Yes, the Battle of Kursk and our soldiers took one of the most worthy places in history. Given that the Germans pushed the defense of the Red Army to the full depth, we were able to completely exhaust them and, with counterattacks, finally set the direction of movement - back to the West. Eternal Glory to the Heroes!
  8. valokordin
    valokordin 9 July 2013 16: 53
    0
    I imagine that among the fighters of the battalion would be Koch, Chubais, his deputy and Nemtsov. Where would they go?
    1. Akhtuba73
      Akhtuba73 9 July 2013 18: 04
      +2
      How where? "Svoi" are nearby, jump over the parapet, and towards the brothers ... stick your tear-stained muzzle into the fascist shoulder and whine about the bloodthirsty regime. And the next attack would have gone next to the comrades ...
    2. Hort
      Hort 10 July 2013 10: 51
      0
      wherever, in the first battle would have "died heroically." as sometimes in penalty (and not only) units they did with bad commanders;)
  9. Bekzat
    Bekzat 12 July 2013 17: 48
    0
    Greetings to all, Borders, they did not disgrace the Homeland and Honor, survived !!! Eternal Glory to the Heroes !!! I already took pride, as I read that Shilkov was a border guard.

Рубрика "Мнения" : Здесь выкладываются абсолютно различные мнения-статьи посетителей сайта, а также статьи с других сайтов для обсуждения. Администрация сайта по поводу этих новостей может иметь мнение, отличное от мнения авторов материалов.

Это было под Курском

Это было под КурскомПосле поражения в Сталинградской битве немецкое командование, планируя летнюю кампанию 1943 года, решило провести крупное наступление на советско-германском фронте, чтобы вернуть утраченную стратегическую инициативу. Внимание немецких войск было приковано к району Орла, Курска и Белгорода, где на относительно небольшом участке фронта в ходе зимне-весеннего наступления советских войск образовался так называемый Курский выступ. Немцы планировали ударом двух групп армий с севера и юга в общем направлении на Курск окружить и уничтожить значительные силы Красной Армии.

Советское командование начало подтягивать к фронту пополнение. Одним из таких объединений Резерва Ставки Верховного Главнокомандования была 70-я армия, костяк которой составили пограничники и воины внутренних войск Средней Азии, Сибири и Дальнего Востока. Армия прибыла в район Курска в феврале 1943 года и после непродолжительных наступательных боёв перешла к обороне на северном фасе Курского выступа. Объединение приняло активное участие в отражении наступления гитлеровцев на Курск с севера в июле 1943 года, а затем в контрнаступлении в районе Орла.

Яркой страницей в Курской битве стала героическая оборона высоты 253.5 (кодовое название – «высота 88.0») стрелковым батальоном под командованием майора И.А. Шилкова на правом фланге 140-й стрелковой дивизии 70-й армии. О героизме воинов корреспонденту «Красной звезды» рассказал участник боёв на этом направлении ныне здравствующий полковник в отставке Анатолий Исаакович Цветков. Вот как это было.


Глубже зарываться в землю

Высотой 253.5 батальон овладел ещё в конце февраля 1943 года и по приказу командования закрепился на ней. На протяжении четырёх месяцев подразделение совершенствовало свою оборону. Приказ командующего Центральным фронтом генерал-полковника К.К. Рокоссовского был прост и понятен любому: «Глубже зарываться в землю». Это означало, что каждое отделение, каждый расчёт, экипаж должны были в короткие сроки подготовить участки траншей, окопы для орудий, миномётов и танков, укрытия для личного состава, ходы сообщения для манёвра. И всё это надо было сделать на совесть, со строгим соблюдением мер маскировки, чтобы противостоять предстоящим атакам противника.

Командир батальона майор Шилков вспомнил, как ещё в пограничном училище на занятиях по инженерной подготовке курсантов учили не только быстро и грамотно самоокапываться, но и строить блиндажи, возводить простейшие заграждения. Серьёзной школой офицерской зрелости, правильной оценки обстановки для лейтенанта Шилкова стала служба на Дальнем Востоке. Полученные в училище навыки как нельзя лучше пригодились молодому офицеру на границе, когда надо было оборудовать опорный пункт заставы и пути манёвра пограничных нарядов.

Вот и под Курском Шилков, оглядывая обороняемую его солдатами высоту, с удовлетворением отмечал, что батальонный район обороны, ротные опорные пункты превращаются в мощный узел сопротивления, обеспечивающий надёжный контроль над местностью.

Вчерашние пограничники трудились с огоньком по двенадцать – четырнадцать часов, помня наказ командующего фронтом: превратить каждую обороняемую позицию в непреодолимую преграду для гитлеровцев.

Комбат придирчиво осматривал окоп пулемётного расчёта ефрейтора Полянова. Оборудованная по всем правилам инженерного искусства позиция была хорошо замаскирована, имела погребок для боеприпасов. Шилкову вспомнилось, как расчёт этого алтайского паренька обеспечил успешное отражение недавней ночной атаки гитлеровцев, когда они пытались сбросить пограничников с этой ключевой высоты.

«И сапёры справно сделали своё дело», – отмечал про себя комбат. Они установили перед фронтом и на флангах района обороны противотанковые и противопехотные минные поля и проволочные заграждения. Подходы к переднему краю были пристреляны. Словом, это был крепкий орешек в боевом порядке полка.

Характеризуя в целом оборону 13-й и 70-й армий на северном фланге Курского выступа, Маршал Советского Союза Г.К. Жуков докладывал Верховному Главнокомандующему И.В. Сталину: «Оборона армий организована правильно и глубоко эшелонирована. Армии оборудовали по три полосы обороны. Причём наиболее развитой является первая (главная) полоса глубиной 10–15 км. Оборона построена прежде всего как противотанковая, с системой противотанковых опорных пунктов и узлов на глубину 30–35 км».

На острие удара

Ночь на 5 июля 1943 года выдалась душной и беспокойной. Накануне вечером из штаба полка майор Шилков получил указание подготовить батальон к отражению на рассвете возможной атаки противника. Не сомкнув глаз, вместе с начальником штаба и замполитом до утра мотался по подразделениям, уточняя обстановку и подбадривая подчинённых.

Для срыва наступления фашистских войск на Курск советские войска на рассвете 5 июля 1943 года нанёсли противнику масштабный артиллерийский и авиационный удары, из-за которых гитлеровцы смогли перейти в наступление с опозданием на несколько часов. Они обрушили основную мощь своих сил севернее Курска на стыке между 13-й и 70-й армиями. В полосе 70-й армии сильнейшая атака пришлась на 140-ю стрелковую дивизию генерал-майора А.Я. Киселёва, и в частности на её 96-й стрелковый полк под командованием полковника А.С. Григорьева. Ключевую позицию в обороне полка на высоте 253.5 занимал 2-й стрелковый батальон майора И.А. Шилкова.

Позже о героической обороне этой точки командующий Центральным фронтом генерал-полковник К.К. Рокоссовский в своей книге «Солдатский долг» писал так: «Помнится, что эту высоту в первый день наступления фашисты атаковали несколько раз. Вечером спрашиваю у командарма Ивана Васильевича Галанина:
– Как высота 88.0?
– В наших руках, – отвечает командарм.
На второй день противник ввёл свежие силы и вновь атаковал высоту несколько раз. Справа и слева от неё ему удалось немного вклиниться в оборону наших войск.

Спрашиваю ночью у Галанина:
– Высота 88.0 держится?
– Держится, – уверенно отвечает командующий.
Так было и последующие двое суток – 7 и 8 июля. Враг сумел вклиниться в нашу оборону лишь на 2–8 км, а высоту 88.0 так и не взял. Разве такое изгладится в памяти народной?»

Четыре дня и ночи

А события разворачивались так. При первой атаке противник бросил против батальона до 40 танков. Бойцы, быстро восстановив оборонительные coopужения, встретили фашистов огнём из всех видов оружия. 4-я стрелковая рота под командованием старшего лейтенанта М.С. Головни сумела отразить удар, но когда фашисты стали обходить правый фланг, комбат перебросил туда свой резерв – 2-й стрелковый взвод 6-й стрелковой роты, который совместно с артиллеристами сорвал этот манёвр гитлеровцев и заставил их отойти. Особенно отличился в том бою пулемётчик Николай Лысов, который метким огнём уничтожил до полутора десятков фашистов и их пулемётный расчёт. Будучи раненным, храбрый воин продолжал разить гитлеровцев.

Ожесточённые бои вели все подразделения батальона. 5-я стрелковая рота под командованием лейтенанта З.И. Игонина успешно отразила две атаки противника и удержала свои позиции. 6-я стрелковая рота старшего лейтенанта М.И. Коротченко, отбив три атаки фашистов, была вынуждена отойти во вторую траншею на левом фланге. Миномётный взвод батальона под командованием лейтенанта В.Р. Лазарева, сменив огневые позиции, метко разил наседавших гитлеровцев.

Все бойцы проявляли мужество, храбрость и героизм. Так, командир хозвзвода старшина М.М. Мусабаев, будучи отрезанным от основных сил батальона, сумел доставить боеприпасы и продукты на передовую. В том бою он погиб.

Почти в полном окружении батальон до сумерек отбил ещё две атаки противника. Ночь прошла тревожно, беспокоили вылазки разведчиков противника, небо озаряли ракеты, не прекращался обстрел.

День 6 июля не принёс облегчения воинам батальона. Он начался новыми нападениями фашистов при поддержке артиллерии и миномётов, а также ударов с воздуха. Две первые атаки батальон сумел отбить, нанеся противнику существенные потери. Перед фронтом батальона горели 7 танков и несколько бронетранспортёров. Но третья атака, предваряя которую фашисты обрушили на красноармейцев шквал огня, была самой ожесточённой. Враг бросил в стык 4-й и 5-й рот до батальона пехоты с танками. Нависла угроза рассечения обороны батальона на две части. К месту прорыва майор Шилков направил взвод противотанковых орудий под командованием старшего лейтенанта Ф.И. Маркушина, а также батарею приданной противотанковой артиллерии и отбил эту атаку. Особенно отличился при этом расчёт противотанкового орудия сержанта Сергея Блохина. Они подбили три танка противника, а когда орудие вышло из строя, Блохин, уже будучи раненным, подбил противотанковой гранатой ещё один танк.

Бесстрашие и отвагу проявил в том бою командир 2-го стрелкового взвода 6-й роты – резерва батальона – старшина И.Л. Маслов. Когда фашисты попытались окружить батальон, он повёл бойцов в контратаку и принудил гитлеровцев отойти в исходное положение.

В самый ответственный момент боя за высоту комбат майор Шилков выдвинулся в боевые порядки 4-й роты и лично руководил ликвидацией прорыва танков и пехоты противника на стыке 4-й и 5-й рот. Он получил ранение в плечо, но не покинул поля боя и продолжил командовать батальоном.

Ночь на 7 июля прошла относительно спокойно, за исключением попыток фашистских разведчиков прощупать оборону батальона на левом фланге, где оборонялась 6-я стрелковая рота. Но эти попытки были пресечены огнём. С рассветом, после артиллерийского налёта, гитлеровцы бросили против высоты до двух пехотных батальонов с 20 танками. Особенно жестокий бой разгорелся за опорный пункт 4-й стрелковой роты. Он часто переходил врукопашную. Настоящим богатырём показал себя в этом бою командир отделения младший сержант Иван Кривчун. Он смело вступил в схватку с тремя гитлеровцами. Одного из них застрелил из автомата, а двух других прикончил прикладом, хотя и сам получил ранение в ногу.

Успешно была отражена и атака фашистов с тыла. Перед нашими позициями противник оставил до 30 трупов, но так и не прорвался к командному пункту батальона на высоте 253.5. Отбить атаку гитлеровцев по приказу командира полка помог залп гвардейских миномётов («катюш»), которые накрыли боевые порядки противника, развернувшегося для атаки.

На третий день боёв за высоту свои лучшие качества показали миномётчики батальона, обстрелявшие пехотный батальон фашистов на стыке 4-й и 5-й рот. Когда материальная часть миномётного взвода была выведена из строя, бойцы совместно с резервом батальона заняли огневую позицию в тылу боевого порядка подразделения и отразили две атаки гитлеровцев с этого направления.

В ночь на 8 июля к героическим защитникам высоты 253.5 через боевые порядки противника сумели пробиться несколько солдат с запасами боеприпасов и продовольствия. Это воодушевило пограничников, вселило в них новые силы.

Четвёртый день обороны батальона начался, как и прошлые, на рассвете, в 4 часа утра. На позицию батальона вновь обрушились тонны снарядов, мин и бомб. На высоте, по сути, не осталось ни одного клочка земли, не перепаханного взрывами. Но когда фашистская пехота и танки перешли в атаку, они вновь были встречены огнём. Между тем силы защитников высоты 253.5 таяли, ощущалась нехватка боеприпасов. Вот уже гитлеровцы пробились к командному пункту батальона. Казалось, остановить их невозможно. В это время комбат Шилков вместе с находящимися на КП офицерами и солдатами заняли круговую оборону в восстановленном за ночь окопе и продолжали отбиваться от наседавших фашистов. Начальник штаба капитан С.П. Мостовой вызвал огонь артиллерии на себя. Этого не ожидали гитлеровцы и, потеряв 3 танка и до двух взводов пехоты, отошли в исходное положение.

Но беда никогда не приходит одна. Группе фашистов удалось прорваться на стыке 5-й и 6-й рот и выйти в тыл 4-й роте. В этой сложной обстановке майор Шилков решил собрать оставшихся бойцов и командиров и контратаковать вклинившегося противника. Схватка перешла врукопашную, в которой верх одержали пограничники. Рядовой Николай Величко и ефрейтор Иван Зубаков сумели одолеть пятерых гитлеровцев, а сержант Сергей Гаврилов – сразить фашистского офицера.

К вечеру 8 июля оставшиеся в живых отбили ещё две атаки противника, но высоту удержали.

Навечно в памяти народной

Когда на рассвете 9 июля к высоте пробились пехотинцы и танкисты 19-го танкового корпуса генерала Васильева, они увидели страшную картину: вокруг высоты догорали немецкие танки и бронетранспортёры, всюду валялись трупы гитлеровцев, громоздились подбитые орудия. В батальоне остались в строю лишь 63 человека. Комбат был ранен второй раз, погибли начальник штаба и замполит, вышли из строя из-за ранений более половины офицеров и сержантов. И всё же батальон был жив.

После 12 июля батальон майора И.А. Шилкова пополнили личным составом и боевой техникой, и он принял участие в контрнаступлении советских войск на Орловском направлении. Затем бывшие пограничники участвовали в боях западнее Брянска, освобождали Трубчевск, форсировали pеки Сож и Днепр.

Подвиг 2-го стрелкового батальона при защите Курска по достоинству оценило командование: большинство солдат и офицеров было награждено орденами и медалями, а комбат майор И.А. Шилков стал кавалером ордена Ленина.

…После войны на высоте 253.5 установили скромный обелиск с надписью: «Здесь в июле 1943 г. насмерть сражались с немецко-фашистскими захватчиками пограничники майора Шилкова и победили». Скупые строки, но сколько за ними судеб, сколько стойкости и самоотверженности!
Автор: Марина Елисеева
Первоисточник: http://redstar.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 6
  1. waisson 9 июля 2013 07:14
    ВЕЧНАЯ ПАМЯТЬ ГЕРОЯМ!
    waisson
    1. afire 9 июля 2013 17:13
      Вечная Слава! не дай бог такому повториться
  2. русс69 9 июля 2013 07:23
    Сколько еще героев и подвигов , той войны остались неизвестны.
    Мне кажется, все даже описать не возможно и не сохранилось уже, ни в памяти, ни в документах, да и свидетелей уже нет.
    Сколько ни читаю о войне, всегда вопрос в голове возникает, а сам бы смог, как они тогда?
  3. rugor 9 июля 2013 08:26
    Слава великим подвигам героев войны!!!
  4. sokrat-71 9 июля 2013 08:41
    Хорошая статья. Да, чем дальше от войны, тем меньше шансов узнать о подвигах героев. Спасибо автору.
  5. omsbon 9 июля 2013 09:04
    Вечная память и вечная слава стоявшим насмерть!
    Сколько на нашей земле таких вот скромных обелисков? Память о майоре И.А. Шипкове и его пограничниках мы должны сохранить!
  6. Trapper7 9 июля 2013 09:15
    Виват!!! Слава! Вечная слава в веках!!!
  7. Хорт 9 июля 2013 11:40
    да, Курская битва и наши воины заняли одно из достойнейших мест в истории. Учитывая, что немцы продавили оборону РККА на всю глубину, нам удалось их полностью измотать и контрударами окончательно задать направление движения - на ЗАпад обратно. Вечная Слава Героям!
  8. valokordin 9 июля 2013 16:53
    Представляю, что в числе бойцов батальона были бы Кох, Чубайс,его заместитель и Немцов. Куда бы они делись?
    1. Ахтуба73 9 июля 2013 18:04
      Как куда? "Свои" же рядом, перемахни через бруствер, и навстречу братьям... ткнуться заплаканной мордой в фашистское плечо и скулеть про кровожадный режим. А в следующую атаку шли бы уже рядом с камрадами...
    2. Хорт 10 июля 2013 10:51
      куда куда, в первом же бою бы "героически погибли". как иногда в штрафных (и не только)подразделениях делали с плохими командирами ;)
  9. Bekzat 12 июля 2013 17:48
    Приветствую всех, Погранцы, не посрамили Родину и Честь, выстояли!!! Вечная Слава Героям!!! Меня аж гордость взяла, как прочитал что Шилков пограничник.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня